Expansion of Enterprise Cloud Services

Interview with Marcel Walker, Head of Network & Cloud

«This cloud is unique in Switzerland»


Swisscom is introducing two new cloud services. Why this offer is unique in Switzerland is explained by Marcel Walker, Head of Network & Cloud.


Text: Hansjörg Honegger, images: © Daniel Brühlmann, 30. September 2017




Swisscom is introducing Enterprise Service Cloud and Enterprise Cloud for SAP Solutions: What’s new? Swisscom has offered cloud services for a long time.


These clouds are specifically set up for companies that value being located in Switzerland, in terms of data storage, as well as access to local experts. It is integration that sets us apart. Our Enterprise Service Cloud is primarily targeted at customers with complex IT landscapes and, in the case of the cloud solution for SAP, at customers who wish to operate their existing SAP landscape in the cloud. We place particular value on network and security integration and offer powerful Managed Services. In the future, we will complement the hybrid architecture with global cloud offers.



Marcel Walker, Head of Network & Cloud, Swisscom



What sets the Enterprise Service Cloud and SAP Cloud apart from other service providers’ offers?


We integrate networks and security solutions with cloud platforms in Switzerland and abroad. This is combined with local service management in various regions. Swisscom is the only provider with its own network and data centres. Our security solutions have a great reputation on the market. Managed Services, such as Managed OS or databases, for example, ensure that the infrastructure services always remain up-to-date with a high degree of automation. In the SAP environment, there are specific services available to customers who wish to have their SAP solution - hosted in Switzerland - operated with a high degree of automation. We are now making all these services available in a highly standardised manner with «Pay As You Use» tariff models. Of course, this will be made available under an integrated Service Management Layer.


Marcel Walker

Marcel Walker, 54, is Head of Network & Cloud, as well as being a member of the Executive Board of Swisscom Enterprise Customers. He began his career in banking and was the CEO of Comit, a leading provider of IT solutions to the finance sector, over a number of years. Since 2014, Marcel Walker has managed the Network & Cloud Solution Center and ensures that Swisscom retains its leading role in the digitisation of the Swiss economy.

A cloud of this kind is really nothing new. Why has it taken Swisscom such a long time, in relative terms, to come up with this solution?


That's right. We were one of the first companies in Switzerland to develop a cloud for businesses around three-and-a-half years ago. Our strategy was to select the best one from various providers and to then assemble it. This approach didn’t work for various reasons.


What was the consequence?


We refocussed on our really distinguishing features: Service management, security, network integration and proximity to customers. We purchase the cloud architecture technology – which, incidentally, was not yet available in this way on the market four years ago – from a strategic partner. No one else on the Swiss market is positioned like we are today.


Who are the strategic partners?


It’s Dell/EMC and VMware – partners who are providing these technologies across the globe with very good reputations. The global cloud partners are Amazon Web Services and Microsoft Azure.





Many companies – especially the large ones – have already switched to the cloud. Is there even still a market with new customers for Swisscom?


Absolutely. There are a great number of companies in Switzerland that have yet to take that big step into the cloud. Many took some tentative first steps but no more than that. Now, the issue has come of age and companies are looking for their own individual route into the cloud – this is where we reach out a hand with our local experts, even for global offers.


Were you under a lot of pressure from customers?


Of course. But our customers see the complexity of the offer and they want the solution to really work from the second switch-on. In any case, the greatest pressure came from ourselves.


What do customers want? Do medium-sized companies in Switzerland gravitate towards Public Cloud, Hybrid Cloud or Private Cloud? And: Is there even anyone who can still afford the last one?


Two years ago, most companies still wanted a Private Cloud. Today, it’s all about Hybrid Cloud. Our cloud is also fully hybrid; the customer determines which applications should run where and which data need to be secured where. Always taking into consideration the demands on the network, which are sometimes really complex, and the necessary security architecture.


Taking the step towards migrating an operative IT system into the cloud is difficult. How does Swisscom support its customers in this process?


We have a consultation and transformation framework called «Journey to the Cloud». This covers various modules. It starts with an inventory and evaluates, together with the customer, what should run where: data storage, performance, locations, applications, security. The actual migration has to be prepared meticulously.





And what if the customer realises that the offer doesn’t quite fit?


The customer usually evaluates its partner with the help of specialist advisors. Pilot installations can also be carried out as part of tenders.


The cloud business is ultimately profitable thanks to its large degree of scalability. Is Switzerland big enough for this type of business?


Absolutely. From Autumn 2017, we are also integrating capabilities offered by Amazon and Microsoft Azure. The important thing is this: Swisscom is the service provider. The customer doesn’t have to monitor different platforms, we integrate everything. That’s massively important, especially when it comes to security.


Swisscom now also offers SAP in the cloud. What does that mean exactly?


We are the largest SAP service provider in Switzerland. Up to now, our customers’ SAP environments have run on dedicated servers located with us. We will now migrate everything onto Enterprise Cloud for SAP Solutions. That is extremely attractive for both existing customers and new ones. The customer gets an integrated solution and can – in Switzerland, uniquely – operate its existing SAP landscape from the cloud, even for the HANA workload. We take care of network integration, security and performance. This takes a huge amount of pressure off the customer.


Are there also other specific solutions, for example for banks or insurance companies, which entail very exacting demands in terms of compliance?


Swisscom is the largest outsourcing provider for Swiss banks. The increased safety requirements from the FINMA circular will be implemented in the Enterprise Service Cloud at the end of Q1/2018. 


The development, operation and implementation of such a cloud requires highly qualified specialists, just like consultation. Is that a problem?


No. Swisscom has a very good reputation as an employer, which is also recognised by young professionals.


Will companies with their own IT still exist in 10 or 15 years’ time?


The question isn’t whether they will still have their own IT. The question is which tasks the internal IT will cover. We are convinced that infrastructure services such as network, cloud and security will be obtained largely from specialist service providers. This gives companies the space to focus their IT specialists on the development of services which help to differentiate the company’s market presence.



Enterprise Service Cloud

The Enterprise Service Cloud is a universal cloud, which covers everything from infrastructure and platform services to managed services and outsourcing. It makes it possible to integrate an existing, even hybrid, IT landscape into the cloud and runs in Swisscom data centres. It complements and completes Swisscom’s other cloud offers, which can be fully integrated.

Go to product


Enterprise Cloud for SAP Solutions

With Enterprise Cloud for SAP Solutions, customers can acquire virtual SAP HANA servers in just a few hours and adapt them dynamically or boot up test systems for new processes within minutes. The servers and entities can be managed at the touch of a button via a self-service portal and are invoiced based on needs. Enterprise Cloud for SAP Solutions can also be fully integrated into Swisscom’s other cloud offers.

Go to product

To Swisscom’s complete cloud offer






More on the topic

Erweiterung Enterprise Cloud Services

Interview mit Marcel Walker, Head of Network & Cloud

«Diese Cloud ist einmalig in der Schweiz»


Swisscom bringt zwei neue Cloud-Services. Warum das Angebot einmalig ist für die Schweiz, erklärt Marcel Walker, Head of Network & Cloud.


Text: Hansjörg Honegger, Bilder: © Daniel Brühlmann, 07. September




Swisscom bringt Enterprise Service Cloud und Enterprise Cloud for SAP Solutions. Was ist neu? Cloud-Angebote von Swisscom gibt’s ja schon länger.


Diese Clouds sind spezifisch für Unternehmen aufgesetzt, die auf den Standort Schweiz Wert legen: Sowohl bei der Datenhaltung als auch beim Zugriff auf lokale Experten. Wir differenzieren uns durch die Integration. Bei der Enterprise Service Cloud richten wir uns primär an Kunden mit komplexen IT-Landschaften, bei der Cloud-Lösung für SAP an Kunden, die ihre bestehende SAP-Landschaft in der Cloud betreiben wollen. Wir legen besonders grossen Wert auf die Netzwerk- und Security-Integration und bieten mächtige Managed Services. In Zukunft ergänzen wir die hybride Architektur mit globalen Cloud-Angeboten.



Marcel Walker, Head of Network & Cloud, Swisscom



Was unterscheiden die Enterprise Service Cloud und SAP Cloud vom Angebot anderer Dienstleister?


Wir integrieren das Netzwerk und Sicherheitslösungen mit Cloud-Plattformen in der Schweiz und international. Dies gekoppelt mit lokalem Service-Management in den verschiedenen Landesteilen. Swisscom ist der einzige Anbieter, der ein eigenes Netz und eigene Rechenzentren hat. Unsere Security-Lösungen verfügen über eine sehr hohe Reputation im Markt. Die Managed Services wie beispielsweise Managed OS oder Datenbanken stellen sicher, dass die Infrastruktur-Services mit hohem Automatisierungsgrad immer auf dem neuesten Stand bleiben. Im SAP-Umfeld stehen spezifische Services für Kunden zur Verfügung, die ihre SAP-Lösung – in der Schweiz gehostet – hoch automatisiert betreiben lassen wollen. Alle diese Services stellen wir neu hoch standardisiert mit «Pay As You Use»-Preismodellen zur Verfügung, dies selbstverständlich unter einem einheitlichen Service Management Layer.


Marcel Walker

Marcel Walker, 54, ist Head of Network & Cloud sowie Mitglied des Executive Boards von Swisscom Enterprise Customers. Er begann seine Karriere im Banking und war langjähriger CEO von Comit, einem führenden IT-Lösungsanbieter der Finanzbranche. Seit 2014 führt Marcel Walker das Solution Center Network & Cloud und stellt sicher, dass Swisscom ihre führende Rolle bei der Digitalisierung der Schweizer Wirtschaft behält.

Cloud in dieser Art ist ja nichts wirklich Neues. Warum kommt Swisscom relativ spät mit dieser Lösung?


Stimmt. Wir entwickelten vor rund dreieinhalb Jahren als eine der ersten Firmen in der Schweiz eine Cloud für Unternehmen. Unsere Strategie war, von verschiedensten Anbietern das Beste zu wählen und das dann zu assemblieren. Dieser Ansatz hat aus verschiedenen Gründen nicht funktioniert.


Was war die Konsequenz?


Wir besannen uns auf unsere wirklichen Differenzierungsmerkmale: Service-Management, Sicherheit, Netz-Integration und die Nähe zum Kunden. Die Technologie der Cloud-Architektur – die es vor vier Jahren übrigens so noch nicht auf dem Markt gab – kaufen wir von einem strategischen Partner. So wie wir heute aufgestellt sind, gibt es das sonst nirgends auf dem Schweizer Markt.


Wer sind die strategischen Partner?


Das sind Dell/EMC und Vmware, Partner, die diese Technologien weltweit mit einer sehr hohen Reputation anbieten. Die globalen Cloud-Partner sind Amazon Web Services und Microsoft Azure.





Viele Firmen – vor allem die Grossen – stiegen bereits in die Cloud um. Gibt es für Swisscom überhaupt noch einen Markt für Neukunden?


Absolut. Es gibt sehr viele Unternehmen in der Schweiz, die den grossen Schritt in die Cloud noch nicht gewagt haben. Viele unternahmen versuchsweise erste Schritte, aber nicht mehr. Jetzt ist das Thema den Kinderschuhen entwachsen und die Firmen suchen ihren individuellen Weg in die Cloud – hier reichen wir Hand mit unseren lokalen Experten, auch für globale Angebote.


Hatten Sie viel Druck von den Kunden?


Klar. Aber unsere Kunden sehen die Komplexität des Angebots und sie wollen, dass die Lösung wirklich funktioniert. Den grössten Druck gaben wir uns ohnehin selbst.


Was wollen die Kunden? Tendieren mittelständische Unternehmen in der Schweiz eher zu Public Cloud, zu Hybrid Cloud oder zu Private Cloud? Und: Kann sich letzteres überhaupt noch jemand leisten?


Noch vor zwei Jahren wollten die meisten Firmen eine Private Cloud. Heute ist alles Hybrid Cloud. Auch unsere Cloud ist voll hybrid, der Kunde bestimmt, welche Applikationen wo laufen sollen und welche Daten wo gesichert sein müssen. Immer unter Berücksichtigung der manchmal recht komplexen Anforderungen an das Netzwerk und der notwendigen Sicherheitsarchitektur. 


Der Schritt, eine operative IT in die Cloud auszulagern, ist schwierig. Wie unterstützt Swisscom die Kunden in diesem Prozess?


Wir haben ein Beratungs- und Transformations-Framework mit dem Namen «Journey to the Cloud». Dieses umfasst diverse Module. Es startet mit einer Bestandsaufnahme und evaluiert gemeinsam mit dem Kunden, was wo laufen soll: Datenhaltung, Performance, Standorte, Applikationen, Sicherheit. Die eigentliche Migration muss akribisch vorbereitet werden.





Und wenn der Kunde merkt, dass das Angebot nicht passt?


Der Kunde evaluiert normalerweise seinen Partner mit Hilfe von spezialisierten Beratern. Im Rahmen der Ausschreibungen können auch Pilotinstallationen durchgeführt werden.


Das Cloud-Geschäft rentiert letztlich dank der grossen Skalierung. Ist die Schweiz gross genug für diese Art Geschäft?


Absolut. Wir integrieren ab Herbst 2017 auch die Möglichkeiten von Amazon oder Microsoft Azure. Wichtig ist: Swisscom ist der Service-Provider. Der Kunde muss nicht verschiedene Plattformen überwachen, wir integrieren alles. Das ist insbesondere beim Thema Security enorm wichtig.


Swisscom bietet jetzt auch SAP in der Cloud an. Was heisst das genau?


Wir sind der grösste SAP-Service-Provider der Schweiz. Bisher liefen die SAP-Umgebungen unserer Kunden bei uns auf dedizierten Servern. Wir werden jetzt alles auf die Enterprise Cloud for SAP Solutions migrieren. Für bestehende Kunden und auch Neukunden ist das extrem attraktiv. Der Kunde bekommt eine integrierte Lösung und kann – am Standort Schweiz einzigartig – seine bestehende SAP-Landschaft aus der Cloud betreiben, auch für den HANA-Workload. Wir sorgen für Netzwerk-Integration, Sicherheit und Performance. Das entlastet den Kunden enorm.


Gibt es auch andere spezifische Lösungen, beispielsweise für Banken oder Versicherungen, die sehr hohe Compliance-Anforderungen haben?


Swisscom ist der grösste Outsourcing-Provider der Schweizer Banken. Ende Q1/2018 werden die erhöhten Sicherheitsanforderungen aus den FINMA-Rundschreiben in der Enterprise Service Cloud implementiert sein.


Entwicklung, Betrieb und Implementierung einer solchen Cloud verlangen ebenso wie die Beratung nach hoch qualifizierten Fachleuten. Ist das ein Problem?


Nein. Swisscom hat eine sehr gute Reputation als Arbeitgeberin, die auch von jungen Professionals wahrgenommen wird.


Wird es in 10 oder 15 Jahren noch Firmen mit einer eigenen IT geben?


Die Frage ist nicht, ob es noch eine eigene IT geben wird. Die Frage ist, welche Aufgaben die interne IT abdecken soll. Wir sind überzeugt, dass Infrastrukturdienste wie Netz, Cloud und Security grösstenteils von spezialisierten Serviceanbietern bezogen wird. Dies gibt den Firmen Freiraum, ihre internen IT-Spezialisten auf die Entwicklung von Dienstleistungen zu fokussieren, die der Differenzierung der Firma im Marktauftritt dienen.



Enterprise Service Cloud

Die Enterprise Service Cloud ist eine durchgängige Cloud, die von der Infrastruktur über Plattform Services bis hin zu Managed Services und Outsourcing alles abdeckt. Sie ermöglicht, die Cloud die bestehende, auch hybride, IT-Landschaft zu integrieren und läuft in Swisscom Rechenzentren. Sie ergänzt und komplettiert die anderen Cloud-Angebote von Swisscom die sich vollständig integrieren lassen.

Zum Produkt


Enterprise Cloud for SAP Solutions

Mit Enterprise Cloud for SAP Solutions können Unternehmen in nur wenigen Stunden virtuelle SAP HANA Server beziehen und dynamisch anpassen oder innert Minuten Testsysteme für neue Prozesse hochfahren. Die Server und Instanzen lassen sich über ein Self-Service-Portal auf Knopfdruck verwalten und werden bedarfsgerecht abgerechnet. Auch Enterprise Cloud for SAP Solutions lässt sich komplett in die restlichen Cloud-Angebote von Swisscom integrieren.

Zum Produkt

Zum gesamten Cloud-Angebot von Swisscom






Mehr zum Thema


Download: Whitepaper

ISG Provider Lens – Switzerland 2017

ISG vergleicht in dieser Studie die Cloud Provider in der Schweiz. Dabei wird einen vertieften Einblick in die Kategorien Cloud Transformation, IaaS Enterprise und UCaaS gegeben.