Meta navigation

Press release


Swisscom info and facts

Protecting customer data has highest priority

Berne, 20 December 2013




On 18 September 2013 the Neue Zürcher Zeitung NZZ announced that its editorial office was in possession of four data tapes originating from Swisscom data centres. Swisscom immediately filed a criminal complaint against persons unknown. During the investigation, the NZZ refused to reveal its sources and in recent weeks has apparently analysed the data further and also disclosed individual customer names in a further article published on 20 December 2013, even though there is no public interest in the publication of such information. On the contrary, this amounts to a violation of the personal rights of customers. To protect the interests of its customers, Swisscom demands that the NZZ immediately release and destroy those data that are still in its possession and refrain from publishing any further articles; Swisscom is considering legal action against the newspaper.




According to an article published in the NZZ on 18 September 2013, the newspaper’s editorial office was in possession of four data tapes originating from Swisscom data centres. As Swisscom treats the protection of customer data as a matter of the highest priority, it immediately instigated legal proceedings against persons unknown and informed the Federal Data Protection Commissioner. It is still assumed that the act was motivated by criminal intent.

Over the course of the investigation, Swisscom received information about the stolen data tapes and their contents, or at least the data that were not damaged. The tapes contained only data backed up internally by Swisscom between 2008 and 2010. Swisscom was only able to retrieve three of the four stolen data tapes. A fourth tape was allegedly destroyed by whoever passed the others on. This much emerged from the investigations by the public prosecutor. Swisscom can therefore analyse the content of the fourth tape based on the meta data received from the NZZ but can no longer evaluate the individual datasets.




NZZ in breach of privacy rights with its publication

The NZZ is apparently still in possession of a copy of the data and has been evaluating the data further in the last few weeks. Swisscom sees NZZ’s publication as a violation of customers‘ privacy rights. There is no public interest in such publication. In publishing the article over three months after disclosure of the data theft, NZZ must accept that it has violated the privacy rights of Swisscom customers.

To protect its customers‘ interests, Swisscom demands that NZZ immediately hand over and destroy the data that are still in its possession and refrain from publishing names and information on persons that were identified and downloaded from the Swisscom data tapes that came into its possession illegally. To further underline its demands, Swisscom is considering legal action.




Security has been further improved

Swisscom immediately instigated measures aimed preventing a similar incident from recurring. Since 2012, data have been stored only on a variety of hard disks at distributed locations. Due to the fact that the data are distributed, each hard disk contains only individual fragments of data. It would therefore take a great deal of effort to extract any useable information from just one or a small number of hard disks. Additional measures have also been implemented to further increase security. These include installation of a screening system (metal detector and X-ray) in the new data centre in Wankdorf.

Meta Navigation

Mitteilung


Swisscom Infos und Fakten

Schutz von Kundendaten hat höchste Priorität

Bern, 20. Dezember 2013




Bereits am 18. September 2013 machte die Neue Zürcher Zeitung NZZ publik, dass die Redaktion im Besitz war von insgesamt vier Datenbändern, die aus Rechenzentren von Swisscom stammen. Swisscom hat umgehend Strafanzeige gegen Unbekannt eingereicht. Die NZZ berief sich bei den Ermittlungen auf den Quellenschutz und hat in den letzten Wochen die Daten offenbar weiter ausgewertet und in einem weiteren Artikel vom 20. Dezember 2013 auch einzelne Kundennamen veröffentlicht. Für eine solche Publikation besteht jedoch kein öffentliches Interesse. Vielmehr werden die Persönlichkeitsrechte der Kunden verletzt. Um die Interessen ihrer Kunden zu wahren, fordert Swisscom von der NZZ umgehend die Herausgabe und Vernichtung der ihr noch vorliegenden Daten sowie den Verzicht auf weitere Publikationen und prüft rechtliche Schritte gegenüber der Zeitung.




Laut einem Artikel der Neuen Zürcher Zeitung NZZ vom 18. September 2013 war die Redaktion im Besitz von vier Datenbändern, die aus Rechenzentren von Swisscom stammen. Für Swisscom ist der Schutz der Daten ihrer Kundinnen und Kunden von grösster Bedeutung. Daher hat das Unternehmen umgehend Strafanzeige gegen Unbekannt eingereicht und den eidgenössischen Datenschutzbeauftragten informiert. Nach wie vor wird von einem kriminellen Hintergrund ausgegangen.

Im Verlaufe des Ermittlungsverfahrens hat Swisscom Erkenntnisse zu den entwendeten Datenbändern und ihren Inhalten erhalten, soweit diese nicht beschädigt waren. So befanden sich auf den Bändern ausschliesslich interne Backup Daten von Swisscom aus den Jahren 2008 bis 2010. Swisscom hat lediglich drei der vier entwendeten Datenbänder zurückerhalten. Ein viertes Band wurde angeblich durch die Quelle zerstört. Das haben die Ermittlungen der Staatsanwaltschaft ergeben. Swisscom kann daher in Bezug auf das vierte Band zwar die Analyse der Inhalte auf Basis der von der NZZ erhaltenen Metadaten vornehmen, die einzelnen Datensätze jedoch nicht mehr auswerten.




NZZ verletzt mit Publikation Persönlichkeitsrechte der Kunden

Die NZZ verfügt offenbar nach wie vor über eine Kopie der Daten und hat diese in den letzten Wochen weiter ausgewertet. Dass die NZZ nun Namen veröffentlicht, verstösst aus Sicht von Swisscom gegen die Persönlichkeitsrechte der Kunden. Für eine solche Veröffentlichung besteht kein öffentliches Interesse. Mit dem nach über drei Monaten nach der Offenlegung des Datendiebstahls publizierten Artikel nimmt die NZZ die Verletzung von Persönlichkeitsrechten von Swisscom Kunden in Kauf.

Um die Interessen ihrer Kunden zu wahren, verlangt Swisscom von der NZZ umgehend die Herausgabe und Vernichtung der ihr noch vorliegenden Daten und fordert die NZZ auf, die Publikation von Namen und Informationen zu Personen zu unterlassen, die auf den ihnen unrechtmässig zugekommenen Datenbändern der Swisscom identifiziert und ausgelesen wurden. Um den Forderungen Nachdruck zu verleihen, prüft Swisscom zudem rechtliche Schritte gegen die NZZ.




Sicherheit wurde weiter verbessert

Die notwendigen Massnahmen zur Verhinderung eines vergleichbaren Vorfalles wurden von Swisscom umgehend eingeleitet. Bereits seit 2012 werden Daten ausschliesslich auf vielen verschiedenen Hard Disks verteilt gespeichert. Eine Hard Disk hat aufgrund der verteilten Daten nur einzelne Fragmente eines Datenbestandes. Mit einer einzelnen oder weniger Festplatten ist der Aufwand sehr hoch, um überhaupt verwertbare Daten zu erhalten. Um die Sicherheit noch weiter zu steigern, wurden zudem weitere Massnahmen eingeleitet. So wird beispielsweise eine Screening-Anlage (Metalldetektor und Röntgenanlage) im neuen Rechenzentrum Wankdorf eingebaut.