Meta navigation

Press release


Swisscom info and facts

Swisscom implements its NATEL infinity Fair Usage Policy with a sense of proportion

Berne, 27 May 2014




Can Swisscom customers really call as much and for as long as they like?

After just two years since its launch, the infinity tarif and the worry-free experience it offers have already convinced more than 1.8 million Swisscom customers. They appreciate the fact that their bill is the same every month and they do not need to worry about how many minutes they are using. If, however, we are led to suspect that a customer’s usage is excessive or abusive, we will contact the customer in question by text message or in person. The vast majority of our customers, though, will never come in contact with this Fair Usage Policy (FUP). Over the course of any given year, we only contact one in a thousand customers




How many minutes can a customer use for phone calls on NATEL infinity?

If a customer uses his or her subscription for personal purposes and for mobile services, there is no defined limit. infinity customers tendto make calls totalling an average of three and a half hours per month. If then, for instance, a customer uses more than 50 or 100 times that in a month, we would consider that unusual. In such a scenario, it may be possible that this customer is using the mobile network for a permanent connection or our services for purposes other than intended, for example to resell them. We will, in such a case, contact the customer and alert him or her to the excessive usage. So far, we have virtually always been able to agree on a solution, such as changing the customer’s subscription to one that is more appropriate to his or her specific needs or offering him or her a landline solution.




Is it only the number of minutes a customer uses that matters?

It is not merelythe number of minutes used that is relevant, but more generally the pattern of use; i.e. whether the mobile network is being used for a permanent, fixed application such as video monitoring or SMS/MMS spamming. That is why we seek to contact the customersin question.


What is the Fair Usage Policy?

The NATEL infinity subscription is intended for normal, personal use. Swisscom reserves the right to cancel or restrict service provision or take other measures at any time,if usage deviates substantially from ordinary levels or there are indications that the SIM card is being used for special purposes (e.g. monitoring applications, machine-to-machine, direct dial-in or permanent connections).



Why does Swisscom have a Fair Usage Policy?

Despite the steady expansion of the mobile network, its capacity is not infinite. Swisscom wants to guarantee every customer network availability. For this to be possible within a shared medium, Swisscom reserves the right to contact customers if it detects or suspects excessive or abusive usage. The motivation behind Swisscom’s actions is primarily one of fairness towards our customers, as it is he only way we can ensure availability and that network quality remains consistently high for all customers.

 

 

How is this being communicated?

Our Fair Usage Policy has been in place since the launch of NATEL infinity and has always been communicated in an open and transparent manner via various channels (www.swisscom.ch/fup). The reason it is little known is because only very few customers are ever directly affected by it.

Meta Navigation

Mitteilung


Swisscom Infos und Fakten

Swisscom setzt Bestimmungen für eine faire Nutzung von NATEL infinity (Fair Usage Policy) mit Augenmass um

Bern, 27.05.2014




Können Swisscom Kunden wirklich so viel telefonieren, wie sie wollen?

Nur zwei Jahre nach der Lancierung nutzen bereits über 1,8 Mio.Swisscom Kunden den infinity Tarif und schätzendie sorglose Nutzung. Sie schätzen es, dass die Rechnung jeden Monat gleich ausfällt und sie beim Telefonieren nicht auf die Dauer achten müssen. Gibt esjedoch Hinweise, dass das Angebot von einem Kunden übermässig oder missbräuchlich genutzt wird, kontaktieren wir den Kunden per SMS oder persönlich. Der weitaus grösste Teilunserer Kunden kommt jedoch gar nie in Berührung mit diesersogenannten Fair Usage Policy(FUP):Wir sind im Laufe eines Jahres nur miteinem Promille unserer Kunden im Gespräch.




Wie lange kann ein Kunde mit seinem NATEL infinity telefonieren?

Es gibt keine festgelegte Grenze, wennder Kunde das Abo für den privaten Eigengebrauch und für die mobile Nutzung einsetzt. Der infinity Kunde telefoniert im Schnitt dreieinhalb Stunden pro Monat. Telefoniert ein Kunde nun beispielsweise über das 50 oder 100fache während eines Monates, ist das aussergewöhnlich. Es besteht dann die Möglichkeit, dass der Kunde das Mobilnetz für eine dauerhafte Verbindung nutzt oder unsere Dienstleistungen zweckentfremdet und zum Beispiel weiter verkauft. Wir gehen in solchen Fällenauf den Kunden zu und weisen ihn auf diese massiv überdurchschnittliche Nutzung hin. Im Gespräch haben wir bisher fastimmer eine Lösung gefunden –beispielsweise mit dem Wechsel auf ein für ihn passenderes Abooder eine Festnetz-Lösung.




Ist denn nur ausschlaggebend, wie lange ein Kundetelefoniert?

Es ist nicht nur die Anzahl telefonierter Minuten für uns relevant, sondern auch die allgemeine Nutzung: Sprich, ob das Mobilfunknetz für eine dauerhaft stationäre Anwendungen eingesetzt wird, wie zum Beispiel bei einer Videoüberwachung oder SMS/MMS-Spamming. Deshalb suchen wir das Gespräch mit den betreffenden Kunden.




Wie lautet die FairUsage Policy?

Das Abo Natel infinity gilt für den normalen Eigengebrauch. Weist Swisscom nach, dass die Nutzung erheblich vom üblichen Gebrauch abweicht oder bestehen Anzeichen, dass die SIM-Karte für Spezialanwendungen (z.B. Überwachungsanwendungen, Maschine-Maschine-, Durchwahl-und Dauer-Verbindungen) benutzt wird, behält sich Swisscom jederzeit vor, die Leistungserbringung einzustellen oder einzuschränken, oder eine andere geeignete Massnahme zu ergreifen.



Warum gibt es eine Fair Usage Policy?

Trotzdes ständigen Ausbaus des Mobilfunknetzes ist dessen Kapazität nicht unendlich. Swisscom möchte jedoch die Netzverfügbarkeit für alle Kunden gewährleisten. Damit dies bei einem sogenannten Shared Medium möglich ist, ist es Swisscom vorbehalten bei übermässiger oder gar missbräuchlicherNutzung, den betroffenen Kunden zu kontaktieren. Swisscom handelt vor allem aus einem Fairness Gedanken unseren Kunden gegenüber, denn nur so können wir sicherstellen, dass die Netzqualität für all unsere Kunden hoch bleibt und wir eine Erreichbarkeit gewährleisten können.


Wo werden diese Informationen kommuniziert?

Unsere Fair Usage Klausel besteht seit derLancierung von NATEL infinity und diese haben wir auch immer offen und transparent auf den verschiedenen Kanälen kommuniziert (www.swisscom.ch/fup). Sie ist darum kaum bekannt, weil nur ganz wenige Kunden mi ihr in Berührung kommen.