Meta navigation

Press release


Swisscom info and facts

Digital donation platform letshelp.ch to cease operations

Berne, 16 January 2018




letshelp.ch has been bringing together donors and certified charities on a single platform since mid-2016. However, after 18 months of operation, it has become clear that the donation platform is not attracting sufficient traffic. letshelp.ch will therefore cease operations as of 31 January 2018.




Switzerland is one of the most charitable nations in the world. According to statistics from the Zewo Foundation, in 2016, charities in Switzerland received donations amounting to almost 1.8 billion Swiss francs.

 

The Swiss donation platform letshelp.ch was launched by Swisscom in mid-2016, in partnership with Zewo and Swissfundraising. The platform gave certified charities an efficient and effective means of publicising their projects, and gave donors straightforward access to legitimate projects to which to donate online.




Online platform failing to generate enough donations

According to statistics from Zewo, 99 percent of donations received by certified charities are made through traditional payment channels, such as postal or bank transfer, rather than online. After 18 months of operation, it is apparent that letshelp.ch is not generating sufficient donations, and that demand from Zewo’s 500 approved charities is too low. The maintenance, support and business development costs have proven disproportionately high for all stakeholders, and letshelp.ch will therefore cease operations as of 31 January 2018.

Meta Navigation

Mitteilung


Swisscom Infos und Fakten

Digitale Spendenplattform letshelp.ch stellt Betrieb ein

Bern, 16. Januar 2018




Seit Mitte 2016 bringt letshelp.ch Spenderinnen, Spender und zertifizierte Hilfsorganisationen auf einer digitalen Plattform zusammen. Nach 18 Betriebsmonaten zeigt die Bilanz klar: Die Spendenplattform wird zu wenig genutzt. Daher wird der Betrieb von letshelp.ch per 31. Januar 2018 eingestellt.




Die Schweiz gehört zu den spendenfreudigsten Nationen weltweit. 2016 haben gemäss Zewo-Statistik die Hilfswerke in der Schweiz fast 1.8 Milliarden Schweizer Franken Spenden erhalten.

 

Mitte 2016 lancierte Swisscom in Partnerschaft mit Zewo und Swissfundraising die Schweizer Spendenplattform letshelp.ch. Zertifizierte Hilfsorganisationen konnten ihre Projekte auf der Plattform mit wenig Aufwand und wirkungsvoll einem breiten Publikum präsentieren. Spenderinnen und Spender erhielten einfach Zugang zu vertrauenswürdigen Projekten und konnten online spenden.




Zu wenig Spenden via Onlineplattform

Gemäss Zewo-Statistik erhalten zertifizierte Hilfswerke 99 Prozent der Spenden über klassische Zahlungskanäle wie Post- oder Banküberweisungen und nicht digital. Nach 18 Betriebsmonaten von letshelp.ch zeigt die Bilanz klar: Die Spendenplattform wird zu wenig genutzt und die Nachfrage bei den rund 500 Hilfsorganisationen mit Zewo-Gütesiegel ist zu gering. Der Aufwand für Unterhalt, Betreuung und Akquisition ist für alle Beteiligten unverhältnismässig hoch. letshelp.ch wird deshalb per 31. Januar 2018 eingestellt.