Meta navigation

Press Release


Swisscom info and facts

SBB on board with Low Power Network

Berne, 21 March 2018




SBB has joined forces with Swisscom and Swiss Post for the Internet of Things (IoT). As a cooperation partner in the Low Power Network (LPN), SBB is driving network expansion by bringing additional locations into the network – to the benefit of all network participants. The network already supplies 95 percent of the population.




Door contacts for access monitoring systems, in-room motion sensors and temperature measurements: with Swisscom's nationwide Low Power Network, information can be transmitted inexpensively and independently of the electricity grid. As a new cooperation partner, SBB will bring an additional 150 outdoor locations to the existing network.

 

The cooperation will also bring swift expansion into the 24 largest train stations; indoor coverage that will, in turn, open up new applications for Railcities’ tenants, real estate managers and other stakeholders. For SBB, the expansion of a shared radio network to complement the mobile network was preferable to separate initiatives. The Internet of Things represents an important foundation for the digital, connected future of the rail industry. SBB sees potential in different fields of application; for example, measurements, ordering or monitoring within train stations or on trains.

 

Rapid network expansion through incorporation of Swiss Post locations

The three partners will leverage synergies from the further expansion and operation of the Swisscom-managed IoT infrastructure. They are also working together to expand the IoT and LPN ecosystem – for the benefit of all network users. Swiss Post signed up as the first cooperation partner in 2017. With the additional Post locations, Swisscom was able to expand the network very rapidly and now supplies more than 95 percent of the population. Further cooperation partners are welcome.

 

The three major partners, Swiss Post, Swisscom and SBB, are today jointly investing in the nationwide LPN for Internet of Things applications and developing the ecosystem even further. According to Adrian Bolliger, Head of Mobile Business Services at Swisscom: “The denser the network, the greater the application opportunities for the development of new services. We are delighted to welcome SBB as our second cooperation partner. This will benefit all network participants, no matter whether a start-up, SME or large corporation.” By the end of 2017, 16 million messages were already being transmitted over the LPN every month.

 

The Low Power Network

The Low Power Network is a supplementary network for the Internet of Things. It combines a narrow bandwidth with a high range, and transmits data very energy efficiently, reducing connectivity costs. Depending on the application, battery-powered transmitters can transmit information independently of the electrical network. LPN is based on the open LoRaWAN industry standard. Swisscom has been a member of the LoRa Alliance since January 2015; Swiss Post has been a member since June 2016 (www.lora-alliance.org).

Meta Navigation

Mitteilung


Swisscom Infos und Fakten

Verstärkung für das Low Power Network durch SBB

Bern, 21. März 2018




Die SBB arbeitet beim „Internet der Dinge“ (IoT) ab sofort mit Swisscom und der Schweizerischen Post zusammen. Als Kooperationspartner für das sogenannte Low Power Network (LPN) bringen die SBB weitere Standorte für den Netzausbau ein – davon profitieren alle Netzteilnehmenden. Inzwischen versorgt das Netz bereits 95 Prozent der Bevölkerung.




Türkontakte für Zutrittsüberwachungen, Bewegungssensoren für Raumbelegungen oder Temperaturmessungen: Mit dem flächendeckenden Low Power Network von Swisscom sind Informationen stromnetzunabhängig und kostengünstig übertragbar. Als neue Kooperationspartnerin bringt die SBB mindestens 150 zusätzliche Outdoor-Standorte in das bestehende Netz ein.

 

Die Zusammenarbeit ermöglicht zudem den raschen Ausbau in den 24 grössten Bahnhöfen mit einer Indoor-Abdeckung, was wiederum neue Anwendungsmöglichkeiten für die Mieter, die Immobilienbewirtschaftung und weitere Stakeholder rund um die Railcities eröffnet. Für die SBB ist der Aufbau eines gemeinsamen Funknetzes, das eine Ergänzung zum Mobilfunknetz bildet, zielführender als einzelne Initiativen. Das Internet der Dinge bildet eine wichtige Grundlage für die digitale, vernetzte Zukunft der Bahn. Die SBB sieht Potenzial in verschiedenen Anwendungsfeldern, in Messungen, Bestellungen oder Überwachungen in den Bahnhöfen oder Zügen.

 

Rasche Verdichtung dank Post-Standorten

Die drei Partner nutzen Synergien im weiteren Ausbau und Betrieb der IoT-Infrastruktur, welche Swisscom übernimmt. Zudem erweitern sie gemeinsam das Ökosystem rund um IoT und LPN. Davon profitieren alle Netzbenutzenden. Die Post ist 2017 als erste Kooperationspartnerin eingestiegen. Swisscom konnte dank den zusätzlichen Standorten der Post das Netz rasch verdichten und versorgt inzwischen mehr als 95 Prozent der Bevölkerung. Weitere Kooperationspartner sind willkommen.

 

Mit der Post, Swisscom und SBB setzen mittlerweile drei grosse Partner auf das flächendeckende LPN für Anwendungen des Internets der Dinge und entwickeln das Ökosystem weiter. Adrian Bolliger, Head of Mobile Business Services bei Swisscom sagt: "Je dichter das Netz, desto grösser die Anwendungsmöglichkeiten, um neue Dienstleistungen zu entwickeln. Wir freuen uns sehr über den zweiten Kooperationspartner SBB. Davon werden alle Netzteilnehmer profitieren, egal ob Startup, KMU oder Grossfirma." Ende 2017 wurden pro Monat bereits 16 Millionen Nachrichten über das LPN übermittelt.

 

Das Low Power Network

Das Low Power Network ist ein ergänzendes Netz für das Internet der Dinge. Es bietet eine schmale Bandbreite mit hoher Reichweite und übermittelt Daten sehr energiesparend. Damit senkt es die Vernetzungskosten. Je nach Anwendung können die batteriebetriebenen Sender jahrelang unabhängig vom Stromnetz Informationen übermitteln. LPN basiert auf dem offenen LoRaWAN-Industriestandard. Swisscom gehört seit Januar 2015 der LoRa Alliance an, die Schweizerische Post seit Juni 2016 (www.lora-alliance.org).

 




Kontakt

Haben Sie Fragen an unsere Medienstelle? Setzen Sie sich mit uns in Verbindung.