Meta navigation

Press release


Swisscom info and facts

Hoval opts for the Swisscom Cloud

Berne, 15. August 2018




Leading international heating and air conditioning expert Hoval has signed a five-year contract to have its server infrastructure and SAP Basis services operated from the Swisscom Cloud.




This represents a major step into the digital future. Hoval, whose heating systems are found in both the Tower of London and Buckingham Palace, has opted for the Swisscom Enterprise Cloud. The international commercial heating system supplier is to be migrated over to the Swisscom Cloud gradually. The five-year contract includes: Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS), SAP Basis operation and related project services for data centre migration. Through this move, Hoval is taking its first step towards full use of the cloud.




Efficiency and agility are essential in the face of a rapidly evolving sector

The energy sector is undergoing dramatic change. In response to this, Hoval set out on its digital journey some years ago and is gradually evolving from a product manufacturer to a service provider. Hoval was also faced with the decision of whether to modernise its two existing data centres or opt for sourcing and cloud services. As Erich Frick, IT Manager at Hoval says: "Finding a suitable partner for our journey into the cloud was intensive and challenging. Although set on this transformation, Hoval's project requirements were many and complex. Given that we are an international company that has grown over the years, our existing IT infrastructure is highly complex. Interface management, for example, will therefore play a key role. We also have to address various security and data protection requirements. In Swisscom, we have found a strong brand and trusted partner whom we can deal with on an equal footing. We are confident that our journey into the cloud will bring us many market and competitive advantages, enabling us to react to market fluctuations with greater efficiency, agility and flexibility."

 

Swisscom runs the infrastructure on the Enterprise Service Cloud with its advanced architecture for automated service provision and billing. For Hoval, Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS) permits an agile alignment of memory capacity and processing power with resource requirements. The SAP Basis services run on the dedicated Swisscom SAP Service Cloud. Besides improved business agility and technical adaptability, it was the flexibility and the mutual trust inspired by long years of cooperation that tipped the scales in favour of Swisscom. The project will run from 1 August 2018 until the first half of 2020 and will be rolled out into the live environment gradually.




Shaping the future in the midst of transformation

In the past, Swisscom has performed many services for Hoval in the mobile, fixed-line and international WAN areas. According to Marcel Walker, Head of Infrastructure Solutions at Swisscom: "We are delighted to have been chosen by a long-standing customer such as Hoval to cover all aspects of their journey into the digital future. Hoval’s confidence in us confirms yet again that we are on the right track with our cloud strategy, which combines a global approach and integration with local personal support."




About Hoval

Hoval is a leading international provider of indoor climate solutions with more than 2,000 employees worldwide. It has been designing and supplying innovative system solutions for more than 70 years. The company exports integrated systems for heating, cooling and ventilation to more than 50 countries and is leading the field in solar-powered water heating and room heating with oil, gas, wood or a heat pump, delivering energy-saving, environmentally-friendly solutions.





Further information

Meta Navigation

Mitteilung


Swisscom Infos und Fakten

Hoval entscheidet sich für die Swisscom Cloud

Bern, 15. August 2018




Der international tätige Heizungs- und Klimatechnikhersteller Hoval bezieht in den nächsten fünf Jahren Serverinfrastruktur und den SAP Basisbetrieb aus der Swisscom Cloud.




Ein grosser Schritt in die digitale Zukunft: Hoval, die unter anderem für die Heiztechnik im Tower von London sowie im Buckingham Palace zuständig ist, entscheidet sich für die Swisscom Enterprise Cloud. Swisscom migriert den weltweit tätigen Industrie-Anbieter schrittweise in die Swisscom Cloud. Der fünfjährige Vertrag umfasst: Infrastructure as a Service(IaaS), den SAP Basisbetrieb sowie die entsprechenden Projektleistungen zur Migration der Rechenzentren. Damit macht Hoval den ersten Schritt in Richtung einer umfassenden Cloud-Nutzung




Branchenveränderungen bedingen Effizienz und Agilität

Die Energiebranche verändert sich aktuell stark. Dementsprechend hat Hoval ihre Digital Journey bereits vor Jahren gestartet und wandelt sich immer mehr vom Produkthersteller zum Servicedienstleister. Zudem stand Hoval vor dem Entscheid, ihre zwei bestehenden Rechenzentren selbst zu erneuern oder auf Sourcing und Cloud Services zu setzen. Erich Frick, IT Leiter von Hoval sagt: "Die Suche nach einem geeigneten Partner für den Schritt in die Cloud war intensiv und anspruchsvoll. Hoval wollte diese Transformation unbedingt angehen, hatte aber viele komplexe Anforderungen an das Projekt. Die bestehende IT-Infrastruktur ist – in einem internationalen Unternehmen, das über Jahre gewachsen ist – sehr komplex. Hier wird beispielsweise das Schnittstellenmanagement eine zentrale Rolle spielen. Daneben beschäftigen uns unterschiedlichste Sicherheits- und Datenschutzanforderungen. Mit Swisscom haben wir einen starken Brand und eine vertrauenswürdige Partnerin auf Augenhöhe gefunden. Wir sind überzeugt, dass uns die Transformation in die Cloud langfristig viele Vorteile auf dem Markt und im Wettbewerb bringt: wir können effizienter, agiler und flexibler auf Marktgegebenheiten reagieren."

 

Die Infrastruktur betreibt Swisscom auf der Enterprise Service Cloud, die über eine hochmoderne Architektur verfügt, mit der sich Services automatisiert bereitstellen und verrechnen lassen. Hoval kann dank Infrastructure as a Serviceagil Speicherplatz und Rechenleistung ihren Ressourcenbedürfnissen anpassen. Die SAP Basis-Betriebsleistungen laufen auf der dedizierten Swisscom SAP Service Cloud. Neben dieser verbesserten Business-Agilität und der technologischen Passgenauigkeit waren für Hoval die bereits langjährige Zusammenarbeit mit Swisscom, die Flexibilität und das gegenseitige Vertrauen ausschlaggebend. Das Projekt läuft ab dem 1. August 2018 bis Erste Hälfte 2020 und geht stufenweise in den produktiven Betrieb über.




Zukunft gestalten in der Transformation

Swisscom hat für Hoval in der Vergangenheit bereits zahlreiche Leistungen rund um Mobile, Festnetz und internationales WAN erbracht. Marcel Walker, Head of Infrastructure Solutions bei Swisscom, sagt: "Es freut uns sehr, dass wir einen langjährigen Kunden wie Hoval nun umfassend bei der Transformation in die digitale Zukunft begleiten dürfen. Das Vertrauen, das uns Hoval schenkt, bestätigt einmal mehr, dass wir mit unserer Cloud Strategie auf dem richtigen Weg sind: globale Ansätze und Integration, aber dennoch lokale, persönliche Betreuung."




Über Hoval

Hoval zählt international zu den führenden Unternehmen für Raumklima-Lösungen und beschäftigt weltweit 2000 Mitarbeiter: innovative Systemlösungen seit mehr als 70 Jahren; Gesamtsysteme zum Heizen, Kühlen und Lüften exportiert in mehr als 50 Länder; mit Sonnenenergie Wasser erwärmen und mit Öl, Gas, Holz oder einer Wärmepumpe die Räume beheizen; Energie sparen und das Klima schonen.





Weitere Informationen