Meta navigation

Press release


Swisscom info and facts

Swisscom to begin research with MIT Sloan School of Management

Berne, 23 August 2018




Swisscom has been working closely with universities such as the EPFL in Lausanne or the ETH Zurich for some time to promote innovation. Now there is a new collaboration: In August 2018, Swisscom began research together with the MIT Sloan School of Management, USA.




Swisscom enters into a partnership with MIT Sloan and intends to apply its latest research methods in process and data analysis. The research is being driven forward by Professor Steven Eppinger, MIT expert for product design and development, Dr. Michael Baeriswyl, Head of Data, Analytics & AI at Swisscom, and Peter Fregelius, Head of TV & Entertainment at Swisscom.

 

For many years MIT has been considered one of the best engineering schools in the world. Baeriswyl: «We are pleased to start our first research projects with MIT. This enables us to combine MIT's unique research capabilities with our expertise in the areas of communication and entertainment in the Swiss market.»

 

Swisscom has already established intensive research partnerships with the universities EPFL and ETH. This way it ensures that the latest findings from science and research are continuously incorporated into the company. The collaboration with MIT is another step towards working with world-class institutions.

Meta Navigation

Mitteilung


Swisscom Infos und Fakten

Swisscom startet Forschungsprojekt mit MIT Sloan School of Management

Bern, 23. August 2018




Um Innovationen voranzutreiben, arbeitet Swisscom schon seit Längerem eng mit Hochschulen wie der EPFL in Lausanne oder der ETH Zürich zusammen. Nun kommt eine neue Partnerschaft hinzu: Im August 2018 hat Swisscom gemeinsam mit MIT Sloan School of Management (USA) ein neues Forschungsprojekt gestartet.




Swisscom geht eine Partnerschaft mit dem MIT Sloan ein und will ihre neuesten Forschungsmethoden in der Prozess- und Datenanalyse anwenden. Die Forschung wird vorangetrieben von Professor Steven Eppinger, dem MIT-Experten für Produktdesign und -entwicklung, von Dr. Michael Baeriswyl, Leiter Data, Analytics & AI bei Swisscom, und von Peter Fregelius, Leiter TV & Entertainment bei Swisscom.

 

Seit vielen Jahren gilt das MIT als eine der besten Ingenieurschulen der Welt. Baeriswyl: «Wir freuen uns, unsere ersten Forschungsprojekte mit dem MIT zu starten. So können wir die einzigartigen Forschungskapazitäten des MIT mit unserer Expertise in den Bereichen Kommunikation und Unterhaltung im Schweizer Markt verbinden.»

 

Swisscom hat bereits intensive Forschungspartnerschaften mit den Universitäten EPFL und ETH aufgebaut. Dadurch stellt sie sicher, dass laufend die neuesten Erkenntnisse aus Wissenschaft und Forschung in das Unternehmen einfliessen. Die Zusammenarbeit mit dem MIT ist ein weiterer Schritt, um weltweit mit erstklassigen Institutionen zusammenzuarbeiten.