Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact
Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact

IoT Climate Award – presented by Swisscom

IoT Climate Award
presented by Swisscom

The Swisscom IoT Climate Award honours outstanding achievements of organisations and their contributions towards climate protection. It also helps to inspire the industry to make positive changes and ensure a sustainable future.

IoT Climate Award 2020: These are the winners 

As part of IoT Day 2020, the IoT Climate Award was presented to three innovative companies for the first time on 23 January 2020.

 

The first prize was awarded to Cadec with its "TeleButler" solution. This innovative solution, which allows remote control of heating in holiday homes, significantly reduces CO2 emissions. The appealing design and user-friendly interface were additional factors that convinced the jury.

 

Sensile, the second ranked company, is considered a pioneer in IoT. The remote monitoring of gas and oil tanks has been ensuring more ecological logistics for over 20 years. Only when the tanks nearly are empty they are refilled. This significantly minimizes trips to the tanks.

 

Avelon achieved the third place with their system for monitoring and optimisation of heating, ventilation and cooling installations. The solution contributes to an essential reduction of CO2 and electricity in the main building of the Migros Cooperative Association in Zurich.

Principles of the Swisscom IoT Climate Award

The award ceremony in pictures

1/8

2/8

3/8

4/8

5/8

6/8

7/8

8/8

1/8

Criteria for the award

Quantity

The following savings are possible depending on the area in question. If you have one of these figures, you can use it to register for the IoT for Climate Award.

 

  • Total number of kilometres saved in 2019
  • Total amount of energy saved (e.g. kWh, litres of heating oil/fuel etc.) in 2019
  • Total amount of CO2 saved in 2019 in tons

Intensity

Total number of savings (value in relation to quality) / Total number of sensors in operation in 2019

Innovation

Swisscom will award the innovative character of the solution: Have new hardware or software solutions been developed? Have new measuring techniques been developed? Were efforts made to research or identify new applications?

Customer experience

As a company, how do you rate your project in terms of customer experience? What advantage does your solution provide for the customer? How easy is the solution to use? Is the solution self-explanatory?

Support examples for the IoT Award

IoT can help save CO2 in many different ways. Here are some of the most exciting possibilities:

Smart metering

The automated transmission of consumption data via an IoT connection from intelligent meters (smart meters) eliminates the need for annual meter reading at the end consumer. This means the trips to read meters can be dispensed with.

Remote monitoring

Relates to the remote monitoring of fill levels (e.g. waste bins, filters, silos, etc.) or animals (e.g. farm animals such as cows or sheep) using sensors and the transmission thereof via a Swisscom IoT connection. The savings result from the reduction in the number of control or service runs.

Remote management

Relates to the possibility of remote maintenance to rectify faults or improve systems settings (e.g. heaters). This IoT application reduces service trips in relation to faults or increases the energy efficiency of the systems.

Fleet management

Managing, planning, controlling and monitoring vehicle fleets using IoT enables logistics and transport companies to optimise the routes to be travelled and the rolling stock in use. The savings are achieved by reducing the number of kilometres travelled by vehicles thanks to optimised routes, by reducing the number of vehicles required and providing information and feedback on driving style and vehicle efficiency. 

Your application form

The following application form is sufficient for the application for the Swisscom IoT for climate award 2021.

Jury and Prize

  • Kiva Allgood

    IoT & Automotive, Ericsson

    > LinkedIn


  • Stephen Neff

    CEO myclimate

    > LinkedIn


  • Res Witschi

    Head of Corporate Responsibility, Swisscom (Switzerland) Ltd
    > LinkedIn


From all of the projects entered, three will be awarded the Swisscom IoT Climate Award. They will each receive a Green IoT Award, designed on a wooden board. They will also win a cash amount, which will be paid from the Swisscom Energy Efficiency Fund. The winner will receive CHF 10,000, second and third place will receive CHF 7,000 and 3,000 respectively.

Newsletter Partner Login Netzstatus Kontakt
Newsletter Partner Login Netzstatus Kontakt

IoT Climate Award - präsentiert by Swisscom

IoT Climate Award
präsentiert by Swisscom

Der Swisscom IoT Climate Award würdigt herausragende Leistungen von Unternehmen und deren Beitrag zum Klimaschutz. Er trägt auch dazu bei, die Branche zu Realisierung positiver Veränderungen zu inspirieren und für eine nachhaltige Zukunft Sorge zu tragen.

IoT Climate Award 2020: Das sind die Gewinner

Im Rahmen des IoT Days 2020 wurde am 23. Januar 2020 erstmals der IoT Climate Award an drei innovative Unternehmen verliehen.

 

Als Sieger wurde die Firma Cadec mit ihrer Lösung "TeleButler" ausgezeichnet. Die innovative Lösung, mit der Heizungen in Ferienwohnungen ferngesteuert werden können, reduziert CO2-Emissionen massgeblich. Das visuell ansprechende Design und die einfache Bedienung haben die Jury zusätzlich überzeugt.

 

Sensile, das zweitplatzierte Unternehmen, gilt als IoT-Vorreiter. Die Fernüberwachung von Gas- und Öltanks sorgt schon seit mehr als 20 Jahren für eine ökologischere Logistik. Erst wenn die Tanks weitgehend leer sind, werden diese neu befüllt. Das minimiert die Fahrten zu den Tanks massiv.

 

Den dritten Platz belegte Avelon mit dem Monitoring und der Optimierung von Heizungs-, Lüftungs- und Kühlungsanlagen. Die Lösung trägt zur entscheidenden Reduktion von CO2 und Strom im Hauptgebäude des Migros Genossenschaftsbundes in Zürich bei.  

Grundsätze des Swisscom IoT Climate Award

Die Preisverleihung in Bildern

1/8

2/8

3/8

4/8

5/8

6/8

7/8

8/8

1/8

Kriterien für die Auszeichnung

Quantität

Je nach Möglichkeit kommt eine der folgenden Einsparungen in Frage. Wenn Sie über eine dieser Zahlen verfügen, können sie sich mit diesen gern anmelden für den IoT for Climate Award.

 

  • Gesamtanzahl an eingesparten Kilometern im Jahr 2020
  • Gesamtmenge an eingesparter Energie (z.B. kWh, Liter Öl etc.) im Jahr 2020
  • Gesamtmenge des Eingesparten CO2 im Jahr 2020 in Tonnen

Intensität

Gesamtzahl der Einsparung (Wert aus dem Aspekt Quantität) / Total Sensoren in Betrieb im 2020. 

Innovation

Swisscom prämiert den innovativen Charakter der Lösung: Wurden neue Hardware- oder Software-Lösungen entwickelt? Wurden neuen Messtechniken entwickelt? Gab es Anstrengungen zur Erforschung neuer Anwendungen?

Kundenerlebnis

Wie beurteilen Sie als Unternehmen Ihr eingegebenes Projekt bezüglich Kundenerlebnis: Welchen Vorteil hat der Kunde von Ihrer Lösung? Wie einfach ist die Lösung in ihrer Anwendung? Ist die Lösung selbsterklärend?

Unterstützungsbeispiele für den IoT-Award

IoT kann auf viele verschiedene Arten dazu beitragen, CO2 einzusparen. Hier sind einige der spannendsten Möglichkeiten aufgeführt:

Smart Metering

Durch die automatisierte Übermittlung der Verbrauchsdaten via IoT-Verbindung von intelligenten Zählern (Smart Meter), fällt die jährliche Zählerablesung beim Endkonsumenten weg. Eingespart werden so die Fahrten, um die Zähler abzulesen. 

Remote Monitoring

Ist die Fernüberwachung von Füllständen (Z.B. Abfallkübel, Filter, Silos etc.) oder Tieren (z.B. Nutztiere wie Kühe oder Schafe) mithilfe von Sensoren und deren Übertragung via Swisscom IoT-Verbindung. Die Einsparung entsteht durch die Reduktion an Kontrollfahrten.

Remote Management

Ist die Möglichkeit durch Fernwartungen Störungen zu beheben oder Anlagen (z.B. Heizungen) besser einzustellen. Durch diese IoT-Anwendung werden Servicefahrten zu Störungen reduziert oder die Energieeffizienz der Anlagen erhöht.

Fleet Management

Das Verwalten, Planen, Steuern und Überwachen von Fahrzeugflotten mittels IoT ermöglicht eine Optimierung der zu fahrenden Routen und des im Einsatz befindenden Rollmaterial bei Logistik- & Transportunternehmen. Die Einsparung entsteht durch vermiedene Fahrzeugkilometer bei optimierten Routen, durch eine kleinere Anzahl benötigte Fahrzeuge sowie durch Informationen und Feedback zu Fahrstil und Fahrzeugeffizienz.

Ihr Bewerbungsformular

Folgendes Bewerbungsformular genügt als Bewerbung für den Swisscom IoT Climate Award 2021:

Jury und Preis

  • Kiva Allgood

    IoT & Automotive, Ericsson

    > LinkedIn


  • Stephen Neff

    CEO myclimate

    > LinkedIn


  • Res Witschi

    Head of Corporate Responsibility, Swisscom (Schweiz) AG

    > LinkedIn


Von den eingegebenen Projekten werden jeweils drei mit dem Swisscom IoT Climate Award ausgezeichnet. Sie erhalten einen Green IoT Award, designt auf einer Holzplatte. Zusätzlich gewinnen sie einen Cashbetrag, der aus dem Swisscom Energieeffizenzfonds fliesst. Der Sieger erhält CHF 10'000, der zweit- und drittplazierte je CHF 7'000 und 3'000.