Digitisation is no ready meal

How companies can tackle digital transformation

Digitisation is no ready meal

At first glance, digitisation is just another item on the to-do list for many companies. Only when they take a closer do they notice the opportunities it offers them for the future. But even those who are ready for digital transformation are faced with the question: how do we start?

Nicolas Fulpius, CDO, Swisscom Enterprise Customers, August 2016

Digitisation is nothing new. Many everyday applications have been digital for decades. What is new, however, is the speed of digitisation. An increasingly integral part of our everyday lives, digitisation is made possible by numerous high-performance networks and smart devices. People, things and machines are becoming more and more connected.

The reason for digitisation is simple: to make the most of the countless opportunities to use these new technologies within our own value chain:


  • in how we work: anytime, anywhere, thanks to Work Smart
  • in how we redefine business processes: fully digitised without media discontinuity
  • in how we create individual customer experiences: relevant information and everything from a single provider
  • in how we develop brand new business models: service instead of product – in other words, cleanliness instead of a road sweeper, mobility instead of vehicles

But what do companies need to do in order to use digitisation profitably?

Digitisation is no ready meal

Let’s be clear: there is no standard recipe for successful digitisation. The lightning speed of digitisation makes it almost impossible to come up with reliable, one-size-fits-all forecasts. What we know today can be old hat by tomorrow. This uncertainty is becoming part of our everyday lives. But that is no reason to give up. Instead, every company should ask itself how digitisation can be integrated into its own business model in a profitable way.

A good place to start is to examine value chains critically from a digital perspective. Whoever uses digitisation can simplify existing processes and offers, and build new services on top of existing ones. Anyone who thinks digitisation does not concern them is playing into the hands of their competitors, who these days are often from other sectors. A quick start is essential. Although they are no recipe for success, here are three practical steps to get started:

1. Digitisation is part of company strategy

Digitisation involves much more than just IT, affecting companies at every level, from process optimisation to employee skills. It therefore needs to be part of company strategy. Senior managers decide which parts of the business are suitable for digital transformation, what should be digitised and in which order of priority. Management must not cling onto past decisions and strategies, but must have the courage to change, even if it means abandoning a project and starting again. Orderly failure must be possible in order to learn. A dedicated team reports directly to senior management, with all relevant activities and measures orchestrated by the Chief Digital Officer.

2. Speed and iteration are essential

These days, it is simply no longer feasible for companies to keep working on a product behind closed doors until it is perfect. It is much better to implement projects using iterative methods and beta versions, make constant improvements and establish interfaces with new technologies. Fast prototyping is a promising strategy, enabling customer or user feedback to be quickly collated before the costs become too high. Time to market is also much shorter with this approach.

3. Promoting digital skills and transformation

Companies must involve their staff in digital transformation because it concerns everyone, from trainees to board members. It will substantially change employee requirements in the long term. Only companies that educate their staff early on and take them with them through the transformation process will be able to access the full potential of digitisation. The speed of the process and the iterative approach also require a complete rethink of the management system. Strict hierarchies and control systems are becoming a relic of the past, replaced by agile organisations and network leadership.


Anyone who wants to be a successful entrepreneur these days needs to be aware that digitisation affects all sectors. Anyone who wants to gain the greatest benefit for their company needs to start experimenting now, try new things and approach transformation in a holistic way. With the right support from management, an agile, adaptive structure and a “fail fast, fail cheap” approach, the move towards digitisation can be successful.

Nicolas Fulpius, Head of Digital Enterprise Solutions and CDO, Swisscom Enterprise Customers

After several years in private equity and venture capital, Nicolas Fulpius was appointed CEO of Veltigroup, which was bought by Swisscom in 2015. He became Chief Digitalization Officer at Swisscom Enterprise Customers in July 2015 and head of the Digital Enterprise Solutions department in June 2016. Nicolas Fulpius has an MBA from the University of St. Gallen and an MSc in engineering from Stanford University.

This might interest you too

Stay up to date at all times

Make use of Swisscom’s expertise and subscribe to our news, which covers the most important topics linked to digital transformation.


Get your company ready for the digital future

Discover how you can shape customer experiences, optimise processes, redefine business models and try new forms of collaboration.

Digitalisierung ist kein Fertiggericht



Wir Unternehmen die digitale Transformation anpacken können

Digitalisierung ist kein Fertiggericht


Auf den ersten Blick ist die Digitalisierung für viele Unternehmen eine weitere Muss-Position auf der Aufgabenliste. Erst auf den zweiten Blick erkennen Firmen deren Chancen für ihre Zukunft. Doch selbst wer für die Transformation bereit ist, sieht sich mit der Frage konfrontiert: Wie starten?


Nicolas Fulpius, CDO Swisscom Enterprise Customers, August 2016


Die Digitalisierung ist nichts Neues. Viele Alltagsanwendungen funktionieren seit Jahrzehnten digitalisiert. Neu ist jedoch die Geschwindigkeit der Digitalisierung, die unser Leben immer mehr prägt. Möglich machen es die zahlreichen, leistungsfähigen Netze und smarten Geräte. Menschen, Dinge und Maschinen sind zunehmend vernetzt.


Die Idee hinter der Digitalisierung ist einfach. Es geht um die unzähligen Möglichkeiten, diese neuen Technologien in der eigenen Wertschöpfungskette einzusetzen:

 

  • In der Art wie wir arbeiten: Standort- und zeitunabhängig dank Work Smart. 
  • In der Neudefinition von Geschäftsprozessen: Voll digitalisiert und ohne Medienbrüche.
  • In der Gestaltung von individuellen Kundenerlebnissen: Relevant im Informationsgehalt und alles aus einer Hand.
  • In der Schaffung von ganz neuen Geschäftsmodellen: Service statt Produkt – also Sauberkeit statt Kehrmaschine, Mobilität statt Fahrzeuge.

Aber wie sollen Unternehmen vorgehen, um die Digitalisierung gewinnbringend für sich zu nutzen?


Digitalisierung ist kein Fertiggericht

Um es vorweg zu nehmen: Es gibt kein Standardrezept für die erfolgreiche Digitalisierung. Die enorme Geschwindigkeit, die der Digitalisierung eigen ist, macht es fast unmöglich, zuverlässige und allgemeingültige Prognosen zu formulieren. Was wir heute wissen, kann morgen bereits überholt sein. Mit dieser Unsicherheit zu leben, wird Bestandteil unseres Alltags. Das ist jedoch kein Grund, um die Hände zu verwerfen. Stattdessen sollte sich jedes Unternehmen fragen, wie die Digitalisierung gewinnbringend in das eigene Geschäftsmodell integriert werden kann.


Ein guter Startpunkt: Die Wertschöpfungsketten aus digitaler Perspektive kritisch zu hinterfragen. Wer die Digitalisierung nutzt, kann bestehende Abläufe und Angebote vereinfachen und neue Dienstleistungen auf den bestehenden aufbauen. Wer glaubt, die Digitalisierung betreffe ihn nicht, spielt der – neu oft branchenfremden – Konkurrenz in die Hände. Es gilt sofort loszulegen. Wenn auch kein Erfolgsrezept, so doch drei konkrete Schritte, um zu starten:


1. Digitalisierung ist Teil der Unternehmensstrategie

Die Digitalisierung betrifft bei weitem nicht nur die IT, sondern hat Auswirkungen auf alle Ebenen eines Unternehmens: Von Prozessoptimierungen bis zu den Skills der Mitarbeiter. Deshalb muss sie Teil der Unternehmensstrategie sein. Die oberste Unternehmensebene entscheidet, welche Teile des Unternehmens sich für die digitale Transformation eignen und was mit welcher Priorität digitalisiert wird. Das Management darf nicht in verabschiedeten Entscheiden und Strategien verharren, sondern muss den Mut zu Neuem haben – selbst wenn es bedeutet, ein angefangenes Projekt zu stoppen und wieder von vorne zu starten. Ein geordnetes Scheitern muss möglich sein, um zu lernen. Ein dediziertes Team berichtet direkt an die Geschäftsleitung. Der Chief Digital Officer orchestriert dabei alle Aktivitäten und Massnahmen.


2. Geschwindigkeit und Iteration als A und O

Eine Firma kann es sich heute schlichtweg nicht mehr leisten, lange Zeit hinter verschlossenen Türen an einem Produkt bis zur Perfektion zu arbeiten. Viel besser ist, ein Projekt in iterativen (Beta)-Versionen zu realisieren, laufend zu verbessern und die Schnittstellen zu neuen Technologien herzustellen. Fast-Prototyping ist ein vielversprechender Ansatz. So fliesst Kunden- oder Benutzerfeedback schnell ein, bevor zu hohe Kosten entstehen. Ausserdem lässt sich das Time to Market mit diesem Ansatz stark verkürzen.


3. Digitale Kompetenzen und Transformation fördern

Unternehmen müssen ihre Mitarbeiter in die Transformation einbinden, denn sie betrifft vom Praktikant bis zum Verwaltungsrat alle. Sie wird das Anforderungsprofil von Mitarbeitern langfristig stark verändern. Nur Unternehmen, die ihre Mitarbeiter frühzeitig sensibilisieren und auf die Transformationsreise mitnehmen, können das volle Potenzial der Digitalisierung nutzen. Ihre hohe Geschwindigkeit und der iterative Ansatz bedingen zudem ein Umdenken im Führungssystem. Strenge Hierarchien und Kontrollsysteme werden zum Relikt aus der Vergangenheit. Stattdessen erleben agile Organisationen und Netzwerk-Leadership einen Aufschwung.


Wer heute als Unternehmer erfolgreich sein will, sollte sich bewusst sein, dass die Digitalisierung alle Branchen erfasst. Wer den grössten unternehmerischen Nutzen erzielen will, sollte jetzt beginnen zu experimentieren, Neues zu wagen und die Transformation ganzheitlich anzugehen. Mit dem richtigen Impuls des Managements, einer agilen und lernenden Organisation sowie einem „fail fast, fail cheap“-Ansatz gelingt auch der Schritt in die Digitalisierung.

Nicolas Fulpius, Leiter Digital Enterprise Solutions und CDO Swisscom Enterprise Customers

Nach mehrjähriger Tätigkeit in den Bereichen Private Equity et Venture Capital war Nicolas Fulpius CEO der Veltigroup, die 2015 von Swisscom gekauft wurde. Seit Juli 2015 ist er Chief Digitalization Officer bei Swisscom Enterprise Customers und seit Juni 2016 zusätzlich Leiter des Bereiches Digital Enterprise Solutions. Nicolas Fulpius verfügt über einen MBA der Universität St. Gallen und promovierte an der Stanford University in Ingenieurwissenschaften.

 



Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Bleiben Sie immer auf dem Laufenden

Nutzen Sie die Expertise von Swisscom und abonnieren unsere News zu den wichtigsten Themen rund um die digitale Transformation.

Machen Sie Ihr Unternehmen fit für die digitale Zukunft

Entdecken Sie Ihre Möglichkeiten Kundenerlebnisse zu gestalten, Prozesse zu optimieren, Businessmodelle neu zu definieren und neue Wege der Zusammenarbeit zu gehen.

Downloads zum Thema Digitalisierung

Lesen Sie interessante Artikel, Studien und White Paper und vertiefen Sie Ihr Wissen rund um digitale Transformation.