IFZ Fintech Study 2017

IFZ Fintech Study 2017

Swiss fintech is taking off


The efforts of the federal government and the collaboration of companies could make Switzerland the world’s leading fintech hub – as long as there are experts, investors and niche markets.


Text: Christoph Widmer,




After Singapore, Switzerland offers the world’s best prerequisites for fintech firms. That is the conclusion of the Institute for Financial Services (IFZ) and the fintech study it carried out this year: The competence centre based in Zug carried out a comprehensive analysis of the fintech sector in Switzerland – and concluded that Switzerland has great potential as a location.


Growth through collaboration

At the end of 2016, the IFZ surveyed 190 Swiss fintech companies – 17 percent more than the year before. The number of companies involved increased, particularly in the credit and deposit industry, followed by the sectors of banking infrastructure, blockchain and cryptocurrencies.


“The number of companies involved increased, particularly in the credit and deposit industry, followed by the sectors of banking infrastructure, blockchain and cryptocurrencies.”


The study states that early signs that the Swiss fintech market has good chances were visible in 2015. The sector is now showing additional growth and the reason is consistent collaboration. State bodies are working on putting together a fintech framework, for example. The Federal Council would like to ease regulations in order to reduce the barriers faced by future fintech providers trying to enter the market. The aim is to make Switzerland a more attractive and even more competitive financial centre.




Digital ecosystems are the key to success for the future of banking.



Sascha Gysel

Leiter Think Tank e-foresight




According to the study, collaboration between start-ups was another factor contributing to the growth of the fintech market. For young companies in particular, the conditions in Switzerland are optimum. The financial landscape of the country does not have enough to offer growing companies, however. As announced by the IFZ in its study last year, more and more Swiss fintech companies are tapping into foreign markets. In doing so, they benefit from foreign venture capitalists and specialists – bypassing the current dearth of experts in Switzerland’s technology sector.


Niche offerings are needed

The Swiss fintech sector does not represent a risk to the banking industry: many fintech companies collaborate with banks and are getting more and more involved in the areas of SaaS or licence fees. Established banks earn their income, however, from commission fees, trading and interest.


“Many fintech companies collaborate with banks and are getting more and more involved in the areas of SaaS or licence fees.”


Most Swiss fintech firms are expanding, thanks to the B2B business with financial institutions, while the country’s banks are increasingly turning to foreign fintech providers. There is only one course open to Swiss fintech companies: they have to specialise. Only companies that serve a niche market can keep up with global competition. Here is how Sascha Gysel, manager of Swisscom’s digital banking think-tank e-foresight, sees the issue: “With experts and capital – including from abroad – Switzerland can establish itself as a worldwide competence centre for fintech.”



More on the topic

IFZ-Fintech-Studie 2017

IFZ-Fintech-Studie 2017

Schweizer Fintech hebt ab


Durch die Anstrengungen des Bundes und der Zusammenarbeit von Unternehmen könnte die Schweiz das weltweit führende Fintech-Zentrum werden – sofern sie Fachkräfte, Investoren und Nischenmärkte fördert.


Text: Christoph Widmer,




Die Schweiz hat – nach Singapur – die weltweit besten Voraussetzungen für Fintech-Firmen. Zu diesem Schluss kommt das Institut für Finanzdienstleistungen IFZ mit seiner diesjährigen Fintech-Studie: Das Zuger Kompetenzzentrum führte dazu eine umfassende Analyse zur hiesigen Fintech-Branche durch – und räumt dem Standort Schweiz grosses Potenzial ein.


Wachstum durch Zusammenarbeit

Das IFZ zählte Ende 2016 190 Schweizer Fintech-Unternehmen – 17 Prozent mehr als im Vorjahr. Vor allem beim Kredit- und Einlagengeschäft nahm die Unternehmensanzahl weiter zu, gefolgt von den Sektoren Banking-Infrastruktur sowie Blockchain und Kryptowährungen.


«Vor allem beim Kredit- und Einlagengeschäft nahm die Unternehmensanzahl weiter zu, gefolgt von den Sektoren Banking-Infrastruktur sowie Blockchain und Kryptowährungen.»


Erste Anzeichen für die guten Chancen des Schweizer Fintech-Markts habe es schon 2015 gegeben, heisst es in der Studie. Nun zeigt die Branche weiteres Wachstum. Der Grund: stetige Zusammenarbeit. So wirken die staatlichen Einrichtungen an einem Fintech-Rahmenwerk. Dank erleichterter Regularien will der Bundesrat Markteintrittshürden für kommende Fintech-Anbieter verringern. Das Ziel: ein attraktiverer und noch wettbewerbsfähigerer Finanzplatz Schweiz.




«Digitale Ökosysteme sind das Erfolgsrezept für zukünftiges Banking.»



Sascha Gysel

Leiter Think Tank e-foresight




Laut der Studie trug auch die Zusammenarbeit unter den Start-ups zum Wachstum des Fintech-Markts bei. Gerade für die jungen Unternehmen seien die Bedingungen in der Schweiz optimal. Für wachsende Unternehmen bietet die hiesige Finanzlandschaft aber zu wenig: Wie vom IFZ in seiner letztjährigen Studie angekündigt, erschliessen immer mehr Schweizer Fintech-Firmen ausländische Märkte. Sie profitieren dabei von ausländischen Risikokapitalgebern und Spezialisten – auch wenn der gesamte Schweizer Technologie-Sektor derzeit unter einem Fachkräftemangel leidet.


Es braucht Nischenangebote

Für die Bankenbranche stellt der Schweizer Fintech-Sektor keine Gefahr dar: Viele Fintech-Unternehmen kollaborieren mit den Banken und sind immer mehr in den Bereichen SaaS oder Lizenzgebühren tätig. Die Einnahmequellen etablierter Banken hingegen bleiben die Vermittlungsgebühren, der Handel und die Verzinsung.


«Viele Fintech-Unternehmen kollaborieren mit den Banken und sind immer mehr in den Bereichen SaaS oder Lizenzgebühren tätig.»


Die meisten Schweizer Fintech-Firmen expandieren dank des B2B-Geschäfts mit Finanzinstituten, während sich hiesige Banken zunehmend an ausländische Fintech-Anbieter wenden. Den Schweizer Fintech-Unternehmen bleibt nur eines: Sie müssen sich spezialisieren. Nur wer eine Nische bedient, kann im globalen Wettbewerb mithalten. Dazu Sascha Gysel, Leiter des Digital Banking Think Tank e-foresight von Swisscom: «Mit Fachkräften und Kapital – auch aus dem Ausland – kann sich die Schweiz als weltweites Kompetenzzentrum für Fintech etablieren.»



Mehr zum Thema