ICOs are permitted in Switzerland, provided they comply with the legal system





Initial Coin Offerings

ICOs are permitted in Switzerland, provided they comply with the legal system


Switzerland has entered the global marketplace for ICOs. These ICOs are set to bring about a permanent change in corporate financing. They are legal, provided the rules are followed. 


Text: Matthias Niklowitz, Images: Nathan Kaiser, 12. October 2017




What is an ICO?


Nathan Kaiser: ICO stands for Initial Coin Offering. We also talk about TGEs, which stands for Token Generating Events. New tokens or coins are issued in return for cash. Strictly speaking, this is no longer corporate financing in many cases, as these days, the revenue generated by ICOs does not necessarily go to the company or the entity generating the tokens.


What are the characteristics of the tokens? 


Kaiser: The characteristics of the tokens are also becoming increasingly diverse. In this regard, we don’t necessarily talk about cryptocurrencies anymore, as many new tokens are designed as tools or utility tokens, the monetary value of which is purely a background function. 


ICOs sound a lot like IPOs – what are the most significant differences? 


Kaiser: The majority of ICOs are not an investment in a company and there is no intention to subject them to the typical funding requirements. In addition, tokens are not intended to replace shares. They do not represent any ownership status, nor do they confer any voting or similar rights. 




What do you, as an investor, receive when you invest money privately in an ICO? 


Kaiser: As has already been outlined, there are very few rights when compared with shares. More recent ICOs go so far as to classify the cash payment by the “investor” as a donation. The investor has little more than trust in the issuers of the coins. 


What kinds of companies undertake an ICO? 


Kaiser: ICOs come from all manner of different places - from larger, existing companies with millions of existing customers to the backyard operation being run by three novices. The ideas, business models, maturity, specialist technical knowledge and legitimacy are just as varied. 


Can Swiss SMEs also participate? 


Kaiser: Yes, as a general rule, the Swiss legal system and the Swiss authorities do not prevent this. In my view, even the message that was recently released by the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA) should not be understood to be putting an end to this. FINMA has said that ICOs are permissible, provided they are in line with the current legal system. This does not give free rein, but it does give the green light to those who stick to the rules.

If SMEs have a suitable business idea, an ICO allows it to be developed quickly on the basis of the level of interest in that idea and also enables the equally rapid establishment worldwide of a new digital ecosystem. It was not previously possible for SMEs to achieve an economy of scale of this magnitude. 


Why don’t any large companies do this instead of flotation on the stock market or capital increases? 


Kaiser: It is simply a matter of time until the legal framework has been consolidated, the general conditions have been more clearly defined and the exuberance has subsided. 




Is an ICO an alternative to crowdfunding? 


Kaiser: From a legal standpoint, the answer to this is no; however, when you look at the facts, it clearly is. The balancing act of a compliant ICO lies in its ability to overcome the sometimes significant obstacles in the areas of third-party financing, crowdfunding and the protection of investors and consumers. 


There have been ICOs with totals in excess of USD 200 million. How reputable are these companies?


Kaiser: There is indeed a handful of projects with proceeds in excess of USD 100 million. Some of these have legal advisors from the best law firms and possess highly complex, yet legitimate documentation and equally complex structures. Others, such as the DAO to cite the most recent example, are not just lacking in legal background; they also lack technical understanding. The rest are somewhere in between. 


Is there a bubble in token prices? 


Kaiser: Yes. There absolutely is.


And what does the future hold for ICOs? 


Kaiser: Stable and probably a bit more boring than at present. I don’t think there is any turning back now. 

About Nathan Kaiser

Nathan Kaiser is a founding partner of the Eiger law firm, which has its registered offices in Shanghai and Taipei and is currently a research fellow at Harvard University in Boston. Having spent two decades in China, the Swiss lawyer moved to Boston in 2017 in order to conduct research into the legal issues surrounding technological phenomena such as fintech, AI and Blockchain. Alongside his activities as a lawyer and researcher, Nathan performs duties on numerous management boards and boards of directors. For example, he supported the Zurich-based consulting firm, xUpery, through its digital transformation and also acted as a founding member of the venture company, Space Angels, which promotes start-ups in the aerospace industry across the globe.





Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.





More on the topic

ICOs sind in der Schweiz zulässig, wenn sie die Rechtsordnung einhalten





Initial Coin Offerings

ICOs sind in der Schweiz zulässig, wenn sie die Rechtsordnung einhalten


Bei ICOs ist die Schweiz zum weltweiten Marktplatz aufgestiegen. Diese ICOs werden die Unternehmensfinanzierung nachhaltig verändern. Sie sind legal, wenn die Spielregeln eingehalten werden.


Text: Matthias Niklowitz, Bilder: Nathan Kaiser, 12. Oktober 2017




Was ist ein ICO?


Nathan Kaiser: ICO steht für Initial Coin Offering. Man spricht auch von TGE für Token Generating Event. Neue Token bzw. Coins werden für Geld ausgeben. Eine Unternehmensfinanzierung im engeren Sinn ist es oft nicht mehr, denn der Erlös von ICOs fliesst nicht mehr zwingend in ein Unternehmen oder auch nicht mehr zwingend in das Vehikel, das die Token generiert.


Welche Eigenschaften haben Token?


Kaiser: Auch die Eigenschaften der Token werden immer unterschiedlicher. Man spricht in diesem Zusammenhang gar nicht mehr zwingend von Kryptowährungen, da viele neue Token als Werkzeug, bzw. Utility-Token ausgestaltet werden, wobei die Geld-Funktion in den Hintergrund rückt.


ICO klingt ähnlich wie IPO – was sind die wichtigsten Unterschiede?


Kaiser: Die meisten ICOs sind keine Investition in ein Unternehmen und sie wollen den typischen Finanzierungsvorschriften auch nicht unterstellt sein. Token sollen auch kein Aktien-Ersatz sein. Sie bilden weder Eigentumsverhältnisse ab, noch verleihen sie Stimm- oder vergleichbare Rechte.




Was hat man als Investor in der Hand, wenn man bei einem ICO Geld als Privatinvestor investiert?


Kaiser: Wie bereits skizziert, gibt es kaum Rechte wie bei Aktien. Neuere ICOs gehen so weit, dass sie die geldwerte Leistung des “Investors” als Schenkung qualifizieren. Der Investor hat nicht viel mehr als das Vertrauen in den Coin-Emittenten.


Was für Firmen machen einen ICO?


Kaiser: ICOs kommen aus ganz unterschiedlichen Ecken - von grösseren, bestehenden Unternehmen mit Millionen von bestehenden Kunden bis zu den drei Jugendlichen aus der Garage. Ebenso unterschiedlich sind Ideen, Businessmodelle, Reife, technisches Fachwissen und die Seriosität.


Könnten das auch schweizerische KMUs machen?


Kaiser: Ja, die Schweizerische Rechtsordnung und die Schweizer Behörden stellen dem grundsätzlich nichts in den Weg. Sogar die kürzlich publizierte Nachricht der FINMA kann meines Erachtens nicht als Stopp aufgefasst werden. Die FINMA hat gesagt, dass ICOs zulässig sind, solange sie die bestehende Rechtsordnung einhalten. Das ist kein Freipass, aber grünes Licht für diejenigen, die sich an die Spielregeln halten.

Für KMUs eröffnet gerade ein ICO bei Vorliegen einer treffenden Business-Idee einen raschen Aufbau einer Interessentenbasis und einen ebenso raschen und globalen Aufbau eines neuen, digitalen Ökosystems. Solche Skaleneffekte waren vorher in diesen Grössenordnungen für KMUs nicht möglich


Warum machen das keine grossen Unternehmen anstelle eines Börsenganges oder einer Kapitalerhöhung?


Kaiser: Es ist nur eine Frage der Zeit, bis sich der Rechtsrahmen konsolidiert hat, die Rahmenbedingungen klarer abgesteckt sind und der Überschwang abgeklungen ist.




Ist ein ICO eine Alternative zum Crowdfunding?


Kaiser: Juristisch gesehen wäre das eher ein Nein, faktisch aber ein klares Ja. Die Gratwanderung eines regelkonformen ICOs liegt gerade darin, dass die teilweise hohen Hürden im Bereich Fremdfinanzierung, Crowdfunding und Investoren- sowie Konsumentenschutz vermieden werden können.


Es gab ICOs mit Summen von mehr als 200 Mio. USD. Wie seriös sind solche Firmen?


Kaiser: Es gibt genau eine Handvoll Projekte mit Erlösen von über 100 Mio. USD. Einige davon sind juristisch von den besten Kanzleien beraten, mit hochkomplexer, aber seriöser Dokumentation und ebensolchen Strukturen. Anderen, wie dem DAO als frühestem Beispiel, mangelte es nicht nur am rechtlichen Hintergrund, sondern auch am technischen Verständnis. Der Rest liegt in der Mitte.


Gibt es eine Blase bei den Token-Preisen?


Kaiser: Ja. Einfach ja.


Und wie sieht die Zukunft der ICOs aus?


Kaiser: Solide und wohl um einiges langweiliger, als es zur Zeit der Fall ist. Ich erwarte nicht, dass es einen Weg zurück gibt.



Über Nathan Kaiser

Nathan Kaiser ist Gründungspartner der Anwaltskanzlei Eiger mit Sitz in Schanghai und Taipei und aktuell Research Fellow an der Harvard Universität in Boston. Nach zwei Jahrzehnten in China zog es den Schweizer Rechtsanwalt 2017 nach Boston, um rechtliche Fragen rund um Technologiethemen wie Fintech, AI und Blockchain zu untersuchen. Neben seinen Tätigkeiten als Anwalt und Forscher nimmt Nathan Aufgaben in verschiedenen Vorständen und Verwaltungsräten wahr. Zum Beispiel für das Zürcher Beratungsunternehmen xUpery, das Organisationen bei der digitalen Transformation begleitet, oder auch als Gründer der Venture-Firma Space Angels, die weltweit Raumfahrt-Startups fördert.





Newsletter

Jetzt Newsletter abonnieren und über Trends, Branchen-News und Benchmarks informiert bleiben.





Mehr zum Thema