Industry standard for PaaS





Cloud Foundry Foundation

An alliance for cloud applications


Cloud Foundry standardises PaaS products, making it particularly developer-friendly. Renowned IT industry names are members of the foundation, and are involved in shaping the open-source platform standard. This includes Swisscom and this with great success.





They are all considered major players in the global IT landscape: In this market, companies such as Cisco, IBM, Dell EMC, Suse or SAP are all involved in a relentless battle for customers and market share – and ultimately for the leading position in the IT business. This makes it all the more astounding when these companies suddenly join forces to work together on new platform standards for the software development of today.

And exactly this is the case at the Cloud Foundry. The project, which was originally launched by VMware and Pivotal, became a vendor-neutral foundation in December 2014. Along with the «platinum members» such as Cisco, IBM or SAP, companies such as Google, Microsoft, Suse or HPE are also involved in the project – just like Swisscom is as a founding member of the foundation. The number of users of the platform who have also joined the alliance – for example the Allianz Group, Ford, Philipps or the VW Group – is also remarkable.

 

The aim pursued by the alliance: to develop an industry standard for Platform as a Service environments. As such, Cloud Foundry ensures interoperability: Services for cloud applications are expected to be able to be provided using a non-vendor-dependent and therefore uniform, straightforward user interface. «We want an open platform standard,» as Marco Hochstrasser, the Head of Cloud Platform Development at Swisscom and a member of the Board of Directors of Cloud Foundry, says. «We are therefore using the resources, expertise and input of this group of renowned IT companies and customers in order to develop an open-source standard together.» Swisscom has already been able to make a name for itself in the foundation – and was elected to the Board of Directors of Cloud Foundry in 2015. «This shows that we’ve got a finger on the pulse of the times, and are respected by the global community,» Hochstrasser explains. «We are extremely well positioned here, and our experience means we have a lot to contribute.»




«Cloud Foundry allows companies to operate a 10-year platform strategy.»


Marco Hochstrasser, Head Cloud Platform Development von Swisscom 


Above all, developers are expected to profit from the open-source standard – and this has always been the foundation’s main focus. Hochstrasser explains how developer-friendly the platform is: «Cloud Foundry users won’t, for example, have to know the IP address or the port. While this information is important for the platform itself, all the developers want is for their code to run.» This is also what the foundation’s philosophy is based on: «Here is my source code, run it on the cloud for me, I don’t care how.» Procuring resources or services will become a secondary activity for developers, who can dedicate their full concentration to the USPs of their solutions. The container-based architecture of Cloud Foundry also allows different program languages such as Java, nodejs, Ruby, .NET or Go to be run without problems.


Swisscom asserts itself

The major benefit for customers: Those who decide for a service provider that uses the Cloud Foundry standard won’t need to worry about proprietary lock-in. This is because the standard promises compatibility: «There might be other technologies on the market which are trendier, but they’re also volatile, and change very quickly,» Hochstrasser explains. «Cloud Foundry allows companies to operate a 10-year platform strategy. If at some point they should no longer be happy with their provider, then there are several other Cloud Foundry-certified distributions or providers available.»

The Cloud Foundry Summit is held every year both in Silicon Valley and in Europe . The members meet up at the summit and discuss the latest technological breakthroughs, as well as the further strategy for the standard. A who’s who of the IT industry, as Hochstrasser recently reported from the Valley: «Most providers such as Dell EMC, Cisco and so on are in attendance with the CTO or VP – just getting these together in one room is a logistical tour de force.» And Swisscom is playing a leading role: Cloud Foundry launched a worldwide training and certification program for software developers last March. The foundation used the occasion of the summit to announce that the Swisscom Application Cloud will be used to conduct these certifications. Swisscom prevailed against all the other providers. «We use the resources, expertise and input of this group of renowned IT companies and customers in order to develop an open-source standard for PaaS together.»  Marco Hochstrasser, the Head of Cloud Platform Development at Swisscom and a member of the Board of Directors of Cloud Foundry


Cloud Foundry Summit Europe in Basel

Cloud Foundry was holding the Europe Summit this year in Basel: On 11-12 October, developers, enterprises and organisations came together at the Congress Centre to compare notes on the current status and future of the Cloud Foundry standard. The programme at the Basel Cloud Foundry Summit included keynotes, a hackathon and a variety of specialist lectures, including one about cloud-native micro services. In addition, expertsreported on the standard’s latest update. Swisscom not only was attending the summit as a platinum sponsor, but was also holding a keynote speech with Dr Andreas Häberli, CTO of the dorma+kaba Group, which uses the Swisscom Application Cloud to develop new security and access solutions.






Enterprise Application Cloud


Swisscom’s Enterprise Application Cloud is based on the Cloud Foundry standard. The PaaS environment is used by companies to develop applications more quickly and with greater agility, and to have them up and running in Switzerland quickly and straightforwardly. The open-source Cloud Foundry standard allows companies to change from one provider to another without problems. When doing so, the platform is scaled and deployed accordingly within the shortest of times. This makes fast reaction times possible and guarantees companies the agility they need – while all data are secure and are kept in Switzerland.

 

> More infomation

Industriestandard für PaaS





Cloud Foundry Foundation

Eine Allianz für Software-Entwickler


Cloud Foundry vereinheitlicht PaaS-Angebote und ist daher besonders entwicklerfreundlich. Die Grossen der IT-Branche sind Mitglieder der Stiftung und gestalten den quelloffenen Plattformstandard mit. Darunter auch Swisscom – und zwar mit grossem Erfolg.





Sie gehören zu den ganz Grossen in der IT-Landschaft: Konzerne wie Cisco, IBM, Dell EMC, Suse oder SAP liefern sich im Markt einen unerbittlichen Kampf um Kunden, Marktanteile – und letztlich um die Leader-Position im IT-Business. Umso erstaunlicher, wenn diese Unternehmen plötzlich zusammenspannen, um gemeinsam an neuen Plattformstandards für die moderne Softwareentwicklung zu arbeiten.

Genau das ist bei der Cloud Foundry Foundation der Fall. Das Projekt, das ursprünglich VMware und Pivotal gestartet haben, wurde im Dezember 2014 in eine anbieterneutrale Stiftung überführt – und neben den «Platinum Members» wie Cisco, IBM oder SAP sind etwa auch Google, Microsoft, Suse oder HPE Teil des Projekts. Beachtlich sind auch die Anzahl Anwender der Plattform, welche der Allianz beigetreten sind – zum Beispiel Allianz Versicherungen, Ford, Philipps oder die VW Gruppe. Das Ziel der Allianz: einen Industriestandard für Platform as a Service - Umgebungen zu entwickeln. «Wir wollen einen offenen Plattformstandard», erklärt Marco Hochstrasser, Head Cloud Platform Development von Swisscom und Verwaltungsratsmitglied von Cloud Foundry. «Dazu nutzen wir die Ressource, Expertise und Inputs dieser Gruppe von namhaften IT-Unternehmen und Kunden, um einen gemeinsamen open-source-Standard zu entwickeln.» Swisscom war ein Gründungsmitglied der Stiftung und wurde 2015 in den Vorstand von Cloud Foundry gewählt. «Das zeigt, dass wir am Puls der Zeit sind und von der globalen Community anerkannt werden», sagt Hochstrasser. «Wir sind hier sehr gut positioniert und können aufgrund unserer Erfahrung viel beitragen.»



«Mit Cloud Foundry können Firmen eine 10-Jahres-Plattformstrategie fahren.»


Marco Hochstrasser, Head Cloud Platform Development von Swisscom. 



Vor allem Entwickler sollen vom quelloffenen Standard profitieren – das war immer der Hauptfokus der Stiftung. Hochstrasser erklärt, wie entwicklerfreundlich die Plattform ist: «Cloud-Foundry-Anwender sollten zum Beispiel keine IP-Adresse und keinen Port kennen müssen. Diese Informationen sind zwar wichtig für die Plattform selber, doch der Entwickler will nur, dass sein Code läuft.» Daher rührt auch das Kredo der Stiftung: «Here is my source code, run it on the cloud for me, I do not care how ». Die Beschaffung von Ressourcen oder Services werden für den Entwickler nebensächlich, er kann sich voll und ganz auf den USP seiner Lösung konzentrieren. Die containerbasierte Architektur von Cloud Foundry ermöglich dabei auch das nahtlose ausführen von verschiedenen Programmiersprachen wie zum Beispiel Java, nodejs, Ruby, .NET oder Go. 


Swisscom behauptet sich

Der grosse Vorteil für Kunden: Wer sich für einen Anbieter mit Cloud-Foundry-Standard entscheidet, hat kaum Herstellerabhängigkeit zu befürchten. Denn der Standard verspricht Kompatibilität: «Andere Technologien im Markt sind zwar trendiger, aber auch volatil, sie verändern sich sehr schnell», erklärt Hochstrasser. «Mit Cloud Foundry können Firmen eine 10-Jahres-Plattformstrategie fahren. Wenn sie mit ihrem Provider nicht mehr zufrieden sein sollten, stehen ihnen mehrere Cloud-Foundry-zertifizierte Distributionen oder Provider zur Verfügung.»

Jedes Jahr findet sowohl im Silicon Valley als auch in Europa der Cloud Foundry Summit statt. Am Gipfel treffen sich die Mitglieder und diskutieren die neusten Technologischen Errungenschaften sowie die weitere Strategie des Standards. Ein Who’s Who der IT-Branche, wie Hochstrasser vom Valley berichtete: «Die meisten Anbieter wie Dell EMC, Cisco usw. waren mit ihrem CTO oder VP vor Ort - nur schon diese in einen Raum zu bekommen, war eine logistische Meisterleistung.» Und Swisscom mischte ganz vorne mit: im März hat Cloud Foundry ein weltweites Trainings- und Zertifizierungsprogramm für Softwareentwickler ins Leben gerufen. Am Gipfel gab die Stiftung bekannt, dass für die Durchführung dieser Zertifizierung weltweit die Swisscom Application Cloud eingesetzt wird. Sie konnte sich gegen alle anderen Anbieter durchsetzen.


Cloud Foundry Summit Europe in Basel

Den Europa-Gipfel führte Cloud Foundry dieses Jahr in Basel durch: Vom 11. bis 12. Oktober tauschten sich im Congress Center Entwickler, Unternehmen und Organisationen über den aktuellen Stand und die Zukunft des Cloud-Foundry-Standards aus. Das Programm des Basler Cloud Foundry Summit umfasste unter anderem Keynotes, einen Hackathon und verschiedene Fachvorträge, zum Beispiel im Bereich cloudnativer Microservices. Zudem berichteten Experten über die neuesten Updates des Standards. Swisscom trat am Gipfel nicht nur als Platinum Sponsor auf, sondern führte auch einen Keynote-Speech mit Dr. Andreas Häberli, CTO der dorma+kaba Gruppe, die für die Entwicklung neuer Sicherheits- und Zutrittslösungen die Swisscom Application Cloud einsetzt.




Enterprise Application Cloud


Die Enterprise Application Cloud von Swisscom basiert auf dem Cloud-Foundry-Standard. Die PaaS-Umgebung dient Unternehmen, schneller und agiler zu entwickeln und ihre Applikationen schnell und einfach in der Schweiz laufen zu lassen. Der quelloffene Cloud-Foundry-Standard erlaubt es Unternehmen, problemlos von einem Anbieter zum anderen zu wechseln. Dabei wird die Plattform innert kürzester Zeit entsprechend skaliert und bereitgestellt. Das ermöglicht schnelle Reaktionszeiten und gewährleistet Unternehmen die nötige Agilität – während alle Daten sicher in der Schweiz gehalten werden.

 

> Mehr Infomationen