Interview with Philipp Bielmann





Interview with Philipp Bielmann

“The path to the cloud starts with the right IT strategy.”


Companies need to react to different market conditions, new customer preferences and new technologies in an agile manner, while also developing the right business models. Many companies, however, shy away from embarking on a complicated and expensive exercise with an uncertain outcome. Philipp Bielmann, cloud expert at Swisscom, tells us how the leap into the digital age will succeed with the right cloud strategy.





Mr Bielmann, globalisation and digitalisation are bringing new challenges for the economy. Why are cloud solutions so important?


Philipp Bielmann: Specialist departments are demanding applications that can be adapted at shorter and shorter notice, often on an ad hoc basis, and for very specific problems. Solutions based on cloud services offer the highest level of IT agility. In particular, they allow scalable solutions to be developed and put into operation. In other words: if you leave the cloud out of the equation, you are in danger of missing the boat to the business world of the 21st century.


Often, cloud solutions cannot be set up in isolation, but rather existing systems need to be integrated. What do you need to pay attention to on the journey into the cloud?


The challenges can be best mastered by using a well-considered process. Central to this approach is a process that not only allows for purely technical considerations, but also existing processes and organisational aspects. Swisscom has therefore developed “Journey to the Cloud”, a model that works with a modular system of building blocks and service modules that can be combined. It provides support to companies from planning to the implementation of the cloud transformation by offering professional services.



Flyer “Journey to the Cloud”

Find your way to the cloud and make your company more flexible. The white paper will show you which steps are necessary to do so.

Augmented Reality wird die Art, wie wir mit Menschen und Objekten interagieren, in vergleichbarem Ausmass revolutionieren wie damals die Smartphones»



Philipp Bielmann

Specialised Sales



In the digital age, increasingly demanding customers need to be catered to faster and faster. New business models are needed in order to be able to react to market requirements. What role does the right cloud strategy play


Time-to-market is the watchword of the hour. The technologies in what is known as the “third platform” – this being cloud services, mobility, social networks as well as big data and data analysis – form the basis for innovation and growth. Cloud computing fulfils the requirements of an IT infrastructure that can be optimally scaled to meet current requirements at any time This means that internal processes can be designed to be more flexible and efficient, customer relationships can be improved and new sales opportunities opened up. A clear cloud strategy fills all the gaps in order to transport systems faster and more successfully into the cloud.


Many companies shy away from a transformation to cloud-based IT. The question of cost is often at the forefront. Who can even afford to take this journey into the future?


Based on our cloud assessment and our experience, we can make a considered analysis of all expenses and migration costs. When it comes to the cloud transformation, companies are well advised to choose standardised services and a partner with experience in comparable projects. Complex transformation projects can be implemented quickly and at the lowest possible expense. One-off solutions cobbled together without a clear plan, in contrast, can be extremely expensive and time-consuming.



Everyone knows that a journey should be well planned. What aspects need to be taken into account during the cloud transformation?


You always need to start by clarifying what you are aiming for. Where is the company currently positioned? Which processes can be digitised? The existing IT infrastructure is then analysed carefully and the most suitable deployment and delivery model is chosen. In order to extract the optimum from the opportunities offered by the cloud, the service framework integrates existing processes and organisational structures. This also includes transforming existing systems and applications.



“Journey to the Cloud” will take you on a step-by-step journey to innovative business solutions from the cloud.



Last but not least: which aspects speak in favour of Swisscom’s solutions?


Viewed as a whole, Swisscom offers an outstanding combination of innovative solutions from a single supplier, with extensive expertise, partnership-based customer relationships and the highest security and availability of the services offered. Our customers appreciate the locally based advice, and they attribute great importance to the fact that data in the Swisscom cloud is stored exclusively in Switzerland. Under the label “Professional Services”, we allow our customers to make optimum use of the cloud and to open up new potential for IT and the business as a whole.






This might interest you too


Journey to the Cloud Services

Design your IT of the future together with us in the cloud and guide your company towards digitisation step-by-step and at our own pace, without relinquishing any control of the processes.

Interview mit Philipp Bielmann





Interview mit Philipp Bielmann

«Der Weg in die Cloud beginnt mit der richtigen IT-Strategie.»


Unternehmen müssen agil auf veränderte Marktbedingungen, neue Kundenwünsche und neue Technologien reagieren und passende Geschäftsmodelle entwickeln. Viele Unternehmen schrecken jedoch vor einer komplizierten und teuren Übung mit ungewissem Ausgang zurück. Philipp Bielmann, Cloud-Experte bei Swisscom, sagt, wie der Sprung ins digitale Zeitalter mit der richtigen Cloud-Strategieerfolgreich über die Bühne geht.





Herr Bielmann, Globalisierung und Digitalisierung stellen die Wirtschaft vor neue Herausforderungen. Warum sind Cloud-Lösungen so wichtig?


Philipp Bielmann: Fachabteilungen verlangen immer kurzfristiger anpassungsfähige Anwendungen, oft ad hoc für ganz bestimmte Probleme. Lösungen auf der Basis von Cloud Services bieten hier die höchstmögliche IT-Agilität. Vor allem ermöglichen sie die Entwicklung und den Betrieb von skalierbaren Lösungen. Kurz gesagt: Wer die Cloud aussen vor lässt, läuft Gefahr, den Anschluss an die Geschäftswelt des 21. Jahrhunderts zu verlieren.


Oft können Cloud-Lösungen nicht auf der grünen Wiese aufgebaut werden, sondern es müssen bestehende Systeme integriert werden. Was ist auf dem Weg in die Cloud zu beachten?


Die Herausforderungen lassen sich am besten mit einem gut überlegten Vorgehen bewältigen. Zentral ist dabei ein Vorgehen, , das nicht nur das rein Technische berücksichtigt, sondern auch die bestehenden Prozesse sowie organisatorische Aspekte. Swisscom hat dabei mit «Journey to the Cloud» ein Modell entwickelt, das mit modular kombinierbaren Bausteinen und Servicemodulen arbeitet. Es unterstützt Unternehmen von der Planung bis zur Umsetzung der Cloud-Transformation mit professionellen Dienstleistungen.



Broschüre «Journey to the Cloud»

Finden Sie Ihren Weg in die Cloud und machen Sie Ihr Unternehmen flexibler. Im Whitepaper erfahren Sie, welche Schritte dafür nötig sind.

«Time-to-Market ist das Gebot der Stunde»



Philipp Bielmann

Specialised Sales



Im digitalen Zeitalter müssen immer anspruchsvollere Kunden immer schneller bedient werden. Neue Businessmodelle sind gefragt, um auf Marktbedürfnisse reagieren zu können. Welche Rolle spielt die richtige Cloud-Strategie dabei?


Time-to-Market ist das Gebot der Stunde! Die Technologien der sogenannten «Dritten Plattform» – also Cloud-Dienste, Mobilität, soziale Netzwerke sowie Big Data und Datenanalyse – bilden die Basis für Innovation und Wachstum. Cloud Computing erfüllt die Anforderungen einer IT-Infrastruktur, die jederzeit optimal auf den aktuellen Bedarf skaliert werden kann. Damit lassen sich interne Prozesse flexibler und effizienter gestalten, Kundenbeziehungen verbessern und neue Umsatzchancen erschliessen. Eine klare Cloud-Strategiefüllt alle Lücken, um Systeme schneller und erfolgreicher auf die Cloud zu transportieren.


Viele Unternehmen schrecken vor einer Transformation zu einer cloudbasierten IT zurück. Im Vordergrund steht oft auch die Kostenfrage. Wer kann sich die Reise in die Zukunft überhaupt leisten?


Auf der Basis unseres Cloud Assessments und unserer Erfahrungen können wir sämtliche Aufwände und Migrationskosten kompetent ermitteln. Bei der Cloud-Transformation setzen Unternehmen mit Vorteil auf standardisierte Services und einen Partner mit Erfahrung in vergleichbaren Projekten. So lassen sich komplexe Transformationsprojekte schnell und mit geringstmöglichem Aufwand umsetzen. Planlos zusammengeschusterte individuelle Lösungen hingegen können enorm kostspielig und zeitintensiv sein.



Eine Reise sollte bekanntlich gut vorbereitet werden. Welche Aspekte sind bei der Cloud-Transformation zu beachten?


Grundsätzlich gilt es zuerst zu klären, welche Ziele angestrebt werden sollen. Wo steht das Unternehmen aktuell? Welche Prozesse können digitalisiert werden? Anschliessend wird die bestehende IT-Infrastruktur sorgfältig analysiert und das geeignete Deployment- und Delivery-Modell gewählt. Um das Optimum aus den Möglichkeiten der Cloud herauszuholen, integriert das Service-Framework bestehende Prozesse und organisatorische Strukturen. Dazu gehört auch die Transformation vorhandener Systeme und Anwendungen.

 



«Journey to the Cloud» führt Sie Schritt für Schritt hin zu innovativen Business-Lösungen aus der Cloud.

 



Zu guter Letzt: Welche Aspekte sprechen für die Lösungen von Swisscom?


Insgesamt bietet Swisscom eine herausragende Kombination von innovativen Lösungen aus einer Hand mit umfangreichem Expertenwissen, partnerschaftlicher Kundenbeziehung und höchster Sicherheit und Verfügbarkeit der angebotenen Dienste. Unsere Kunden begrüssen die lokal verankerte Beratung und legen grossen Wert darauf, dass die Daten in der Swisscom-Cloud ausschliesslich in der Schweiz gehalten werden. Unter dem Label «Professional Services» ermöglichen wir es unseren Kunden, die Cloud optimal zu nutzen und neue Potenziale für die IT und das Geschäft zu erschliessen.





Mehr zum Thema


Journey to the Cloud Services

Designen Sie mit uns Ihre IT der Zukunft in der Cloud und führen Sie Ihr Unternehmen in Ihrem Tempo schrittweise in die Digitalisierung ohne dabei alle Prozesse aus der Hand zu geben.