Public Wireless LAN (PWLAN)

Public Wireless LAN /PWLAN

Tourism with a future: a network for Grindelwald


The digital pioneer among Swiss tourist spots is Grindelwald. Since April 2017, guests have been able to surf seamlessly, and free of charge, in the village centre via outdoor public wireless LAN. And this is only the beginning.


Text: Diana Busch, 




It all began with the 2002 European Curling Championships when journalists were reporting to the whole world from the Grindelwald Sports Centre. This gave Grindelwald its first hint that freely available Internet could become important for visitors. Swisscom was awarded the contract to install the first access points, followed by free WLAN for the guests inside the Sports Centre. And now, 15 years later, the entire village centre has outdoor public wireless LAN (PWLAN).


Simply a good experience

“In the past, when guests were checking into the hotel the first thing they asked was whether they had a balcony with a mountain view. Now they ask for the Internet code,” says Bruno Hauswirth, CEO of Grindelwald Tourism. “We realised that our service concept needed to go further than merely offering PWLAN at various hotspots. Our aim is to offer the guest a consistent experience.”


So anyone arriving at Grindelwald train station can log in to the PWLAN network on their smartphone and surf seamlessly and free of charge throughout the whole village centre. And this isn’t the end of the road: the plan is to have a continuous network that also includes hotels, restaurants and other businesses. The guest will be unaware of the fact that there are different access points.


This integrated service is based on strategic considerations. It improves the quality of the guest’s stay, and they can send photos and videos to family and friends at home very easily and upload them to social media channels. “It’s all about having a lovely holiday while also letting others join in. There is a huge desire to share,” Bruno Hauswirth explains. “This gives our marketing a boost, because there is no more genuine communication than when guests share their holiday experiences online.” Security is also an important matter for Grindelwald, because public networks are particularly difficult to control.




High security level for guests and Grindelwald

Swisscom not only takes care of the operation, access and maintenance of the public WLAN, but also its legal security. Markus Zangger, Swisscom Specialised Sales, explains: “In Grindelwald, all PWLAN users receive a free SMS with a confirmation code. In the process, Swisscom enters into a contract with the end user. If a user does something online that is against the law, we can identify them via their mobile phone number. All data is transferred via our network, which is very well protected from the outside. This makes life hard for would-be hackers.”


These arguments seem to be convincing more and more hotels. The Eiger, Sunstar, Parkhotel Schoenegg and Caprice hotels are already on board. Bruno Hauswirth has received a lot of positive feedback: “The new service is convenient for guests and the management is happy with the all-round service package. Of course, this comes at a price, but costs will fall as the number of participants increases.” The project is still ongoing. We are on the lookout for new hotels, restaurants and businesses that want to take part. 



Digital platform in development

For Bruno Hauswirth, PWLAN is an important basic service on which he is setting up an integrated digital platform with the tweebie app. At present, tweebie is playing the role of tourist guide in Grindelwald, giving guests information on timetables and the weather, as well as tips on what to do in the village. This basic information is only the first step. A year or two from now there will be an integrated visitor’s ticket with which tourists can take the bus from one district to the next. Hotels will also have their place in the app – they can integrate a booking tool and use the message board to communicate with their guests.



Bruno Hauswirth, CEO of Grindelwald Tourism



“However, the main attraction in Grindelwald is still its wonderful natural surroundings. Without WLAN. But wherever it makes sense we want to offer our guests the best possible service.” With this integrated solution, the village at the foot of the Eiger is taking on the role of digital pioneer among Swiss tourist locations.


PWLAN Outdoor offers a public wireless hotspot outdoors. This service is suitable for large areas such as outdoor swimming pools, camping sites and public spaces.


> Find out more

Grindelwald is a digital pioneer, offering guests outdoor public wireless LAN for seamless surfing throughout the entire village centre.





In March 2017, there was a parliamentary decision to tighten the rules for providers of public WLAN. One requirement is that it must be possible to evaluate the communication via hotspots, and for this the Internet users must be identifiable. Swisscom already guarantees this.




More on the topic

Public Wireless LAN (PWLAN)

Public Wireless LAN /PWLAN

Tourismus mit Zukunft: Ein Netz für Grindelwald


Der digitale Pionier unter den Schweizer Tourismusorten heisst Grindelwald. Seit April 2017 können Gäste im Dorfzentrum nahtlos und kostenlos per Outdoor Public Wireless LAN surfen. Und das ist erst der Anfang.


Text: Diana Busch, 




Angefangen hat alles an der Curling-Europameisterschaft 2002, als Journalisten aus dem Sportzentrum Grindelwald in die ganze Welt berichten. Schon damals bekam man in Grindelwald eine erste Ahnung, dass frei verfügbares Internet für die Gäste wichtig werden könnte. Swisscom hat den Auftrag erhalten erste Access Points zu installieren und später freies WLAN für die Gäste innerhalb des Sportzentrums. Heute, 15 Jahre später, ist das ganze Dorfzentrum mit Outdoor Public Wireless LAN (PWLAN) erschlossen.


Einfach ein gutes Erlebnis

«Früher haben die Gäste beim Einchecken im Hotel zuerst gefragt, ob sie einen Balkon mit Bergsicht haben. Heute fragen sie nach dem Internetcode», erzählt Bruno Hauswirth, Geschäftsführer von Grindelwald Tourismus. «Uns ist klar geworden, dass der Servicegedanke noch weiter gehen muss als nur PWLAN an verschiedenen Hotspots anzubieten. Ziel ist es, dem Gast ein durchgängiges Erlebnis zu bieten.»


Wer im Bahnhof Grindelwald einfährt, kann sich also mit dem Smartphone ins PWLAN-Netz einloggen und im ganzen Dorfzentrum nahtlos und kostenlos surfen. Und es geht noch weiter: Geplant ist ein durchgehendes Netzwerk, in das auch Hotels, Restaurants und Geschäfte eingebunden sind. Der Gast soll nichts davon merken, dass es verschiedene Access Points gibt.


Hinter dem integrierten Service stecken strategische Überlegungen: Die Aufenthaltsqualität der Gäste wird gesteigert und sie können Fotos und Videos einfach an Familie und Freunden zuhause senden und auf die Social-Media-Kanäle hochladen. «Es geht darum schöne Ferien zu verbringen und gleichzeitig alle anderen teilhaben zu lassen. Das Mitteilungsbedürfnis ist enorm», erklärt Bruno Hauswirth. «Im Marketing kommt uns das zugute, denn es gibt keinen ehrlicheren Weg als Gäste, die ihre Ferienerlebnisse online teilen.» Auch die Sicherheit ist für Grindelwald ein wichtiges Thema. Denn gerade bei öffentlichen Netzwerken ist die Kontrolle schwierig.




Hohe Sicherheit für Gäste und Grindelwald

Swisscom übernimmt nicht nur Betrieb, Zugang und Wartung, sondern auch die rechtliche Sicherheit für das Public WLAN. Markus Zangger, Swisscom Specialised Sales, erklärt: «In Grindelwald erhalten alle PWLAN-Nutzer ein kostenloses SMS mit Bestätigungscode. Swisscom geht dabei einen Vertrag mit dem Endbenutzer ein. Falls ein Nutzer online etwas tut, das nicht erlaubt ist, können wir ihn über die Handynummer identifizieren. Alle Daten werden über unser Netz übermittelt, das gegen aussen sehr gut gesichert ist. Das macht Hackern das Leben schwer.»


Diese Argumente scheinen auch immer mehr Hotels zu überzeugen. Schon dabei sind die Hotels Eiger, Sunstar, Parkhotel Schoenegg sowie Caprice. Bruno Hauswirth hat bisher viele positive Rückmeldungen gehört: «Für die Gäste ist der neue Service bequem und das Management schätzt das Rundum-sorglos-Paket. Das hat natürlich seinen Preis. Aber die Kosten werden noch sinken, wenn mehr Partner dazukommen.» Das Projekt ist nämlich nicht abgeschlossen: Neue Hotels, Restaurants und Geschäfte, die teilnehmen wollen, werden noch gesucht.



Digitale Plattform wird entwickelt

Für Bruno Hauswirth ist PWLAN ein wichtiger Basisservice, auf dem er eine integrierte digitale Plattform mit der App tweebie aufbaut. Momentan spielt tweebie in Grindelwald Concierge und gibt Gästen Informationen zu Fahrplänen, Wetter sowie Tipps vor Ort. Diese grundlegenden Informationen sind nur der erste Schritt. In ein bis zwei Jahren soll die Gästekarte integriert werden, mit der Touristen in den bewohnten Gebieten kostenlos Bus fahren. Ausserdem erhalten die Hotels ihren Platz in der App; sie können ein Buchungstool integrieren und das Message Board für die Kommunikation mit Gästen nutzen.



Bruno Hauswirth, Geschäftsführer von Grindelwald Tourismus



«Doch der grosse Teil von Grindelwald ist und bleibt eindrückliche Natur. Ohne WLAN. Aber da, wo es Sinn ergibt, wollen wir unseren Gästen den besten Service bieten.» Das Dorf am Fuss des Eiger übernimmt mit seiner integrierten Lösung die Rolle des digitalen Pioniers unter den Schweizer Tourismusorten.


PWLAN Outdoor bietet einen Public Wireless Hotspot im Freien. Der Service eignet sich für grossflächige Aussengebiete wie Freibäder, Campingplätze, Skigebiete und öffentliche Plätze.


> Mehr erfahren

Grindelwald zeigt sich als digitaler Pionier und bietet Gästen im ganzen Dorfzentrum Outdoor PWLAN für nahtloses Surfen.





Das Parlament hat im März 2017 beschlossen die Regeln für Anbieter von öffentlichem WLAN zu verschärfen. Eine Anforderung ist es, dass die Kommunikation über Hotspots ausgewertet werden kann. Dazu müssen Internetnutzer identifizierbar sein. Swisscom garantiert dies schon heute




Mehr zum Thema