Human and machine-based data labelling

Data Labeling

Who does it better: a human or a machine?


Many companies are sitting on a mountain of uncategorised data. “Data labelling” is, however, important for artificial intelligence to function. Any yet who creates a better quality of data – the human or the machine?


Text: Adrienne Fichter, images: © Keystone,




Digitalisation is rapidly changing the world we live in, and the prophets of doom never get tired of warning us about it: robots will replace manual workers, chatbots and virtual assistants will become the customer advisors of tomorrow, autonomous cars will present a new threat to the livelihoods of taxi drivers. And yet the world doesn’t actually function in such a straightforward, black-and-white way. This is because data-driven business models also create new forms of employment: for example, sorting and categorising unstructured data.



Data is accessible to AI when tagged correctly.



The new digital industrial worker

Much of today’s data simply cannot be read by artificial intelligence. Market researchers assume that only 20 percent of the business data in companies can be sorted by machines. The remaining 80 percent is unstructured, and cannot, as a result, be processed using automation. This means that companies are sitting on a wealth of digital data that they are unable to leverage. Examples of this include documents saved as different file types, e-mail histories or scanned correspondence. This immense body of text, as well as audio and video material, all needs to be translated into metadata. This is the only way for artificial intelligence to identify, for example, whether an image shows a horse or a cow, which terms are being used in an audio recording, which topic is being addressed in a newspaper article and which emotion is being expressed in a tweet. Metadata is therefore indispensable for adaptive software.

This data will continue to be processed by humans. With manual categorisation good data quality can be achieved, according to Marc Steffen, Head of Product Design at the Artificial Intelligence & Machine Learning Group at Swisscom. The head of the Watson computer program at IBM, Guru Banavar, is propagating a radical idea within this context: Employees who have lost their position due to the automation of their job should be retrained as digital blue-collar workers, i.e. data industry workers. This would allow them to perform “data labelling” in future – and keep them in work.




“I teach machines to identify high heels on a photo”




The quality of data becomes even better when not just individual specialists, but rather thousands of people, identify content correctly and tag it. The first crowdsourcing concepts have already become established on the market. New providers such as CrowdFlower or Mighty AI offer community-based categorisation as a service, among other things. The different members more or less allocate topics to individual categories using a smartphone app “as a side job”, when they have time to spare or are out and about. One of the data workers explains her job in a promotional video by Mighty AI: “I teach machines to identify high heels on a photo”

However, data categorisation cannot always be left to outsiders. “Specialist knowledge is sometimes required for tagging the data,” as Steffen explains. “And some data is simply too sensitive to have external staff work on them.” Nonetheless, data labelling is highly promising, even with in-house employees – as long as the right incentives are offered. And this doesn’t necessarily have to be the pay: “It can be motivation enough for employees tobe doing something good for others via data labelling,” as Steffen explains. For example, for barrier-free access: When structured data can be used to teach artificial intelligence to describe the surroundings, blind people can benefit from this. Or the hearing-impaired, when the spoken word is converted into text in real time.

The work isn’t necessarily repetitive. The key to this is “gamification”: Developers are increasingly pursuing a playful approach with their labelling tools. This ensures the work remains interesting for the user. And variety is very important: This allows the same tool to be used for different task areas – from tagging to voice recognition to reading texts aloud, users are given a variety of different tasks to complete.

In the meantime, software has emerged that helps with the data cleansing process. However, these “mining tools” are still lagging behind humans: people are more familiar with the specific context, Marc Steffen is convinced. The interplay between human and machine will be decisive. When the pay is good, a quality of data can be achieved that even machines are unable to provide, as a critical web developer writes in a company blog published by the data labelling provider Explosion AI. And Richard Socher, data scientist at the Salesforce company, also gives preference to humans when in doubt. In a tweet, he writes that you shouldn’t waste too much time with the analysis of machine-learning problems, but rather work on ensuring the data is clean. By training a human for this task.

 



For Salesforce data scientist Richard Socher, it is not machine learning that is most important, but rather clean data storage.




Data Labeling with Swisscom


The Swisscom Competence Centre for Applied Artificial Intelligence develops data labelling tools, among other things. Swisscom provides advice to customers on potential AI applications and on project procedure as a full service. Furthermore, customer data is evaluated in order to develop a suitable solution and integrate it into the respective system – including the labelling tool customised especially for the customers. This allows the user to categorise data and train the AI application.






More on the topic

Data Labeling durch Mensch und Maschine

Data Labeling

Wer kann es besser: Mensch oder Maschine?


Viele Unternehmen sitzen auf einem Berg von nicht kategorisierten Daten. Das «Data Labeling» ist aber wichtig für das Funktionieren von künstlicher Intelligenz. Doch wer schafft die bessere Datenqualität – der Mensch oder die Maschine?


Text: Adrienne Fichter, Bilder: © Keystone,




Die Digitalisierung verändert unsere Welt rasant und die Schwarzmaler warnen lautstark: Roboter werden manuelle Arbeitskräfte ersetzen, Chatbots und virtuelle Assistenten werden die Kundenbetreuer von morgen, autonome Autos werden zur Bedrohung für Taxifahrer. Doch ganz so schwarz-weiss simpel funktioniert die Welt nicht. Denn die datengetriebenen Geschäftsmodelle schaffen auch neue Beschäftigungsformen: Zum Beispiel das Sortieren und Kategorisieren unstrukturierter Daten.



Mit einer richtigen Verschlagwortung werden Daten der KI zugänglich.



Der neue digitale Industriearbeiter

Viele Daten sind heute schlichtweg nicht lesbar für künstliche Intelligenz. Marktforscher gehen davon aus, dass nur 20 Prozent der Geschäftsdaten in Unternehmen von Maschinen geordnet sind. Die übrigen 80 Prozent sind unstrukturiert und können folglich nicht automatisiert verarbeitet werden. Somit sitzen Unternehmen auf einem Schatz digitaler Daten, den sie oft nicht zu heben wissen. Beispiele dafür sind in verschiedenen Dateitypen gespeicherte Dokumente, E-Mail-Verläufe oder gescannte Korrespondenz. Dieser immense Textkorpus, aber auch das Ton- und Bewegtbildmaterial, gilt es, in Metadaten zu übersetzen. Nur so kann eine künstliche Intelligenz etwa erkennen, ob sich auf einem Bild ein Pferd oder eine Kuh befindet, welche Begriffe in einer Audioaufnahme verwendet werden, welches Thema in einem Zeitungsartikel aufgegriffen und welches Gefühl in einem Tweet ausgedrückt wird. Für eine lernfähige Software sind Metadaten daher unerlässlich.

Die Aufbereitung der Daten wird bis auf weiteres von Menschen erledigt. Mit der manuellen Zuordnung könne eine gute Datenqualität erreicht werden, sagt Marc Steffen, Head of Product Design der Artificial Intelligence & Machine Learning Group von Swisscom. Der Chef des Computerprogramms Watson von IBM, Guru Banavar, propagiert dabei eine radikale Idee: Arbeitnehmer, die aufgrund der Automatisierung ihre Arbeitsstelle verloren haben, sollen sich zum digitalen Blue-Collar-Arbeiter, also zum Datenindustriearbeiter umschulen lassen. So könnten sie künftig das «Data Labeling» vornehmen – und wären weiter beschäftigt.




«Ich bringe einer Maschine bei, High Heels auf einem Foto zu erkennen»




Noch besser fällt die Datenqualität aus, wenn nicht einzelne Fachkräfte, sondern gleich Tausende von Personen Inhalte richtig erkennen und vertaggen würden. Erste Crowdsourcing-Konzepte haben auf dem Markt bereits Fuss gefasst. Neue Anbieter wie CrowdFlower oder Mighty AI bieten unter anderem die Kategorisierung durch eine Community als Service an. Verschiedene Mitglieder ordnen quasi «im Nebenjob» Themen via Smartphone-App einzelnen Kategorien zu, zwischendurch und unterwegs. Im Werbevideo von Mighty AI erzählt eine der Datenarbeiterinnen: «Ich bringe einer Maschine bei, High Heels auf einem Foto zu erkennen.»

Die Datenkategorisierung kann man aber nicht in allen Fällen Aussenstehenden überlassen. «Teilweise ist für die Kennzeichnung der Daten Fachwissen erforderlich», erklärt Steffen. «Auch sind manche Daten zu sensibel, um Externe daran arbeiten zu lassen.» Trotzdem ist Data Labeling gut möglich, auch mit internen Mitarbeitenden – solange die richtigen Anreize geboten werden. Das muss nicht unbedingt der Lohn sein: «Für Mitarbeitende kann es nur schon eine Motivation sein, wenn Sie mit Data Labeling Gutes bewirken», erklärt Steffen. Etwa für die Barrierefreiheit: Wenn mit strukturierten Daten einer künstlichen Intelligenz beigebracht werden kann, die Umgebung zu beschreiben, könnten Blinde davon profitieren. Oder Schwerhörige, wenn Gesprochenes in Echtzeit in Text umgewandelt wird.

Repetitiv muss die Arbeit auch nicht sein. Der Schlüssel lautet «Gamification»: Entwickler verfolgen bei ihren Labeling-Tools verstärkt einen spielerischen Ansatz. Dadurch bleibt die Arbeit für Anwender interessant. Wichtig ist dabei Abwechslung: So könnte dasselbe Tool verschiedene Aufgabenbereiche abdecken – von der Verschlagwortung über die Stimmungserkennung bis zum Vorsprechen von Texten hätten Anwender ganz unterschiedliche Aufgaben zu bewältigen.

Mittlerweile gibt es auch schon Software, die Datenbereinigungsprozesse unterstützt. Diese «Mining Tools» sind dem Menschen aber noch unterlegen: Menschen kennen den spezifischen Kontext besser, davon ist Marc Steffen überzeugt. Das Zusammenspiel zwischen Mensch und Maschine werde massgebend sein. Bei einer anständigen Bezahlung erhalte man eine Datenqualität, die Maschinen gar nicht bieten können, schreibt eine kritische Web-Entwicklerin im Unternehmensblog des Data Labeling-Anbieters Explosion AI. Und auch Richard Socher, Datenwissenschaftler beim Unternehmen Salesforce, gibt im Zweifelsfall Menschen den Vorzug. In einem Tweet schreibt er, man solle nicht zu viel Zeit in die Analyse von Machine Learning-Problemen verschwenden, sondern stattdessen für saubere Daten sorgen. Indem man dafür einen Menschen ausbildet.



Für Salesforce-Datenwissenschaftler Richard Socher steht nicht Machine Learning, sondern saubere Datenhaltung im Vordergrund.




Data Labeling mit Swisscom


Das Swisscom Kompetenzzentrum für angewandte Artificial Intelligence entwickelt unter anderem Data-Labeling-Tools. Als Full Service berät Swisscom den Kunden zu möglichen KI-Anwendungen und zum Projektablauf. Darüber hinaus werden Kundendaten ausgewertet, um daraufhin die passende Lösung zu entwickeln und ins jeweilige System zu integrieren – mitsamt einem speziell auf den Kunden zugeschnittenen Labeling-Tool. So kann der Anwender Daten kategorisieren und seine KI-Anwendung trainieren.






Mehr zum Thema