Interview

Digitalisation

«Swiss people are often too cautious»


Digitalisation is a huge challenge for the Swiss economy. Which action companies need to take is explained by Christian Petit, who is responsible for Swisscom’s corporate business.


Hansjörg Honegger, 17




Hansjörg Honegger: Your job involves close contact with Swisscom’s corporate customers. What will be the main focus of these companies in the new year?


Christian Petit: The key objective being pursued by many companies is sustainably boosting their competitiveness both in Switzerland and abroad, and increasing their efficiency.


This is, however, nothing new. What does this specifically refer to at this point in time?


I am convinced that digitalisation will make it possible for companies to achieve both these objectives. Be this by developing new digital business models, or by boosting efficiency on the basis of process automation. There are, by the way, analyses that reveal that digitalisation allows savings of up to 90 percent to be achieved.

Christian Petit, Head of the Enterprise Customers Division

Christian Petit has been Head of the Enterprise Customers Division at Swisscom (Switzerland) Ltd since 2014 and is a member of the Group Executive Board. In 2000, he transferred from Debitel to Swisscom. He has held a variety of top positions, including Head of the Residential Customers Division from 2007 to 2013, where he was responsible for the rollout of Swisscom TV and the redesigning of the Swisscom shops. Christian Petit holds an MBA from the ESSEC business school (Ecole Supérieure des Sciences Economiques et Commerciales) in Cergy Pontoise, France.


That’s hard to believe.


It is now possible to build factories that are fully automated, right down to logistics and administration. Solutions like this need to be discussed by many companies. It makes an exact analysis of the opportunities necessary.


It does, however, also involve job cuts.


I see things more positively. You could also say that these companies are not migrating, and are instead staying in Switzerland, where they are creating highly qualified jobs. I believe that certain job profiles will disappear in future – and new ones will be created in their place. This development occurs during every technological revolution, and will take a similar course this time as well.




Where is Swisscom positioning itself during this transition?


We guide our customers into digitalisation. We have identified four major topic areas: Developing new business models, designing customer experiences, automating business processes and introducing new working environments into companies.


All of these are things that Swisscom itself needs to do.


That’s right, we are also facing these challenges. Accordingly, we don't just provide advice, instead we are also implementing all these things ourselves – as we have been doing for several years now.


Are Swisscom residential customers being made into some sort of guinea pig for corporate business?


No, the residential customer business is far too important for Swisscom. Our corporate customers do, however, appreciate that we are speaking from experience.


«It’s likely that we Swiss are often too cautious»


When it comes to software development in particular, the tempo is decisive. Are Swiss companies fit enough in this regard?


A quick go-to-market and the maturity of a product represent conflicting priorities. It’s likely that we Swiss are often too cautious, and want too much. In future, however, more and more products will be launched which have not been perfected, and will undergo further development, or be discontinued, according to customer feedback. We are, of course, talking about Minimum Viable Products (MVP).


In which industries do you consider Switzerland to be a leader in terms of digitalisation, and where are companies lagging behind?


All industries that need to compete on an international level are forced to take a leading role. SME in the industrial sector, along with major chemicals and pharmaceutical corporations, are true leaders. We see less progress being made in industries that operate on the domestic front, such as energy or, in part, banks as well.




Does the size of the companies make a difference?


No, digitalisation doesn't have to be expensive and can also be implemented by taking smaller steps. Larger companies are, in contrast, at a disadvantage, because they have more complex structures and are therefore less agile.


The risk of reacting to hype is a large one at the moment. What would you recommend to these companies?


It is essential that the companies take an interest in, and understand, new technologies. This is the time to try things out, and to take small steps. And starting out where it hurts is a good approach. This might means starting in customer contact at one company, while at another company, the workplace culture needs to be changed.


«Digitalisation puts smaller companies at an advantage»


How can companies locate these pain points and the corresponding solutions? They don’t have any experience with it.


Many customers know where the real problems lie. A consultant can provide technical support and help keep the calm. I can give you an example: After Google, Swisscom has the largest development team in Switzerland working on artificial intelligence. Our customers profit from this knowledge.


In which direction will Swisscom develop over the next few years?


Swisscom will be operating IT infrastructure for its customers with increasing frequency. At the same time, we will accompany our customers on their journey to a more agile IT that caters closely to the requirements of the different company divisions.


Have you lost interest in the traditional network business?


Quite the opposite. It will remain very important. Cloud-based networks allow us to develop and roll out complex network solutions very quickly. Three years ago, this took weeks, but now and in future it is only a matter of minutes


How do you motivate the employees when their working environment is evolving so rapidly?


The employees know that a lot of changes are happening. However, management needs to explain to them where the journey will take them, and how it will meet its social responsibility. Transparency is of key importance.


How do you inspire employee motivation even when positions are at risk?


It is not difficult to inspire motivation in such an exciting climate. However, employees need to believe in themselves, maintain a positive attitude and know where they want to be in five years’ time. This is what personal responsibility involves, and it is not something that can be delegated to the employer.


«We need to make an informed decision about whether to pursue everything that is possible»


How has digitalisation changed your leadership of your employees?


Nowadays, employees want managers who act as coaches. Managers should help qualify their employees, and open doors for them.


This is nothing new, and is something employees wanted 40 years ago.


Today, however, we have the opportunity to do exactly that. A management style based on giving orders is definitely becoming a thing of the past. This also involves having managers admit their mistakes.


What is your own personal passion?


Ethics. The way we approach the changes to come, and what we do with the technological opportunities. Today, scientists are discussing how to defy death. Which begs the question: Should we really pursue everything that is possible? This leads to tremendous areas of conflict for managers: Where do limits need to be imposed?


When the competition breaks through the boundaries and is doing business: Can a company like Swisscom intentionally refuse to follow?


Of course! Swisscom, in particular, can’t just do anything it likes. We need to hold an informed discussion about what we would like to do, and what we don’t want to do. We have, however, been feeling this pressure for some time now.





More on the topic

Interview Christian Petit

Digitalisierung

«Wir Schweizer sind oft zu vorsichtig»


Die Digitalisierung ist für die Schweizer Wirtschaft eine riesige Herausforderung. Welche Branchen vorne mitmischen müssen und warum künftig mehr unreife Produkte lanciert werden, erklärt Christian Petit, verantwortlich für das Grosskundengeschäft der Swisscom.


Hansjörg Honegger, 17




Hansjörg Honegger: Sie sind in Ihrer Funktion in nahem Kontakt zu den Grosskunden von Swisscom. Was treibt diese Firmen im neuen Jahr um?


Christian Petit: Das wichtigste Ziel vieler Unternehmen ist die langfristige Stärkung ihrer Wettbewerbsfähigkeit im In- und Ausland und die Erhöhung ihrer Effizienz.


Das ist aber nichts Neues. Was heisst das konkret zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt?


Ich bin der Überzeugung, dass die Digitalisierung den Unternehmen ermöglicht, beide Ziele zu erreichen. Sei es durch die Entwicklung von neuen digitalen Geschäftsmodellen oder mittels Effizienzgewinn durch Prozessautomatisierung. Es gibt übrigens Analysen die zeigen, dass mittels Digitalisierung Einsparungen von bis zu 90 Prozent möglich sind.

Christian Petit, Leiter Geschäftsbereich Enterprise Customers

Christian Petit leitet seit 2014 den Geschäftsbereich Enterprise Customers bei Swisscom (Schweiz) AG und ist Mitglied der Konzernleitung. Im Jahr 2000 wechselte er von Debitel zu Swisscom. Er bekleidete verschiedene führende Positionen, u.a. von 2007 bis 2013 als Leiter Geschäftsbereich Privatkunden, wo er für die Einführung von Swisscom TV und die Neugestaltung der Swisscom-Shops verantwortlich war. Christian Petit besitzt ein MBA ESSEC (Ecole Supérieure des Sciences Economiques et Commerciales) aus Cergy Pontoise, Frankreich.


Das ist kaum zu glauben.


Heute ist es möglich, Fabriken zu bauen, die komplett automatisiert sind, bis tief in die Logistik und die Verwaltung. Solche Lösungen stehen für viele Unternehmen zur Diskussion. Es verlangt eine genaue Analyse der Möglichkeiten.


Das heisst aber auch einen Abbau von Arbeitsplätzen.


Ich sehe es positiver. Man könnte auch sagen, dass diese Firmen nicht abwandern, sondern in der Schweiz bleiben und hier hoch qualifizierte Arbeitsplätze schaffen. Ich glaube, dass gewisse Jobprofile in Zukunft verschwinden – doch dafür werden neue geschaffen. Diese Entwicklung zeigte sich bei jeder technologischen Revolution und wird auch dieses Mal ähnlich verlaufen.




Wo positioniert sich Swisscom in diesem Wandel?


Wir begleiten unsere Kunden in die Digitalisierung. Wir haben vier grossen Themenbereiche identifiziert: Die Entwicklung neuer Geschäftsmodelle, die Gestaltung der Kundenerlebnisse, die Automatisierung der Geschäftsprozesse und die Einführung neuer Arbeitswelten in den Firmen.


Alles Dinge, die Swisscom auch selbst tun muss.


Richtig, wir stehen selbst vor diesen Herausforderungen. Wir sind entsprechend nicht einfach nur Berater, sondern wir setzen alle diese Dinge – übrigens schon seit einigen Jahren - selbst um.


Sind die Swisscom-Privatkunden sowas wie Versuchskaninchen für das Grosskundengeschäft?


Nein, das Privatkundengeschäft ist viel zu wichtig für Swisscom. Unsere Grosskunden schätzen es aber sehr, dass wir aus Erfahrung reden.


«Es gibt Analysen die zeigen, dass mittels Digitalisierung Einsparungen von bis zu 90 Prozent möglich sind.»


Gerade bei der Software-Entwicklung ist Tempo ausschlaggebend. Sind Schweizer Firmen fit genug in dieser Hinsicht?


Es gibt ein Spannungsfeld zwischen schnellem Go to Market und dem Reifegrad eines Produkts. Wahrscheinlich sind wir Schweizer oft zu vorsichtig und wollen zu viel. In Zukunft werden aber vermehrt Produkte im Markt lanciert werden, die nicht voll ausgereift sind und die gemäss den Kundenfeedbacks weiterentwickelt oder wieder eingestellt werden. Wir sprechen hier von Minimum Viable Products (MVP).


In welchen Branchen sehen Sie die Schweiz eher vorn in Bezug auf die Digitalisierung und wo hinken die Firmen hinterher?


Alle Branchen, die sich internationaler Konkurrenz stellen müssen, sind gezwungen, vorn mitzumischen. KMU im Bereich Industrie, aber auch Grossfirmen in Chemie und Pharmazie sind sehr weit vorn. In Branchen, die ein Heimspiel haben, wie beispielsweise Energie oder zum Teil auch Banken, sehen wir weniger deutliche Fortschritte.




Gibt es einen Unterschied bei den Firmengrössen?


Nein, Digitalisierung muss nicht teuer sein und kann auch in kleineren Schritten umgesetzt werden. Grössere Firmen haben im Gegenteil den Nachteil, dass ihre Strukturen sehr viel komplexer sind und sie darum weniger beweglich sind.


Das Risiko, auf einen Hype zu setzen, ist doch recht gross im Moment. Was ist Ihre Empfehlung an die Unternehmen?


Die Firmen sollten sich unbedingt mit den neuen Technologien beschäftigen. Es ist die Zeit des Ausprobierens und der kleinen Schritte. Und man sollte da beginnen, wo es schmerzt. Das kann beim einen Unternehmen der Kontakt zum Kunden sein und beim anderen Unternehmen eine Veränderung der Arbeitskultur.


«Kleinere Firmen haben durch die Digitalisierung einen Vorteil»


Wie findet ein Unternehmen diese Painpoints und die entsprechenden Lösungen? Die Erfahrung fehlt ja.


Viele Kunden wissen, wo sie der Schuh drückt. Ein Berater kann technologisch unterstützen und für die nötige Ruhe sorgen. Ich gebe Ihnen ein Beispiel: Swisscom hat in der Schweiz nach Google das grösste Entwicklungsteam für künstliche Intelligenz. Von diesem Wissen profitieren unsere Kunden.


Wohin wird sich Swisscom in den nächsten Jahren entwickeln?


Swisscom wird vermehrt die IT-Infrastruktur für die Kunden betreiben. Gleichzeitig begleiten wir unsere Kunden auf dem Weg zu einer agileren IT, die nah an den Bedürfnissen der Unternehmensbereiche ist.


Das traditionelle Geschäft mit dem Netz ist nicht mehr interessant?


Im Gegenteil. Das bleibt sehr wichtig. Cloud-basierte Netze erlauben es uns, komplexe Netzlösungen sehr schnell zu entwickeln und auszurollen. Vor drei Jahren dauerte das Wochen, heute Tage und in Zukunft noch Minuten.


Wie nimmt man die Belegschaft mit, wenn sich die Arbeitswelt so rasend schnell verändert?


Die Mitarbeitenden wissen, dass sich vieles verändert. Das Management muss aber erklären, wohin die Reise geht und wie es seine soziale Verantwortung wahrnimmt. Transparenz ist sehr wichtig.


Wie wecken Sie die Begeisterung der Mitarbeiter, auch wenn die Arbeitsstelle bedroht ist?


Begeisterung ist nicht schwierig zu wecken in einem so spannenden Umfeld. Aber die Mitarbeiter müssen auch an sich glauben, eine positive Einstellung haben und wissen, wo sie in fünf Jahren stehen wollen. Das ist Teil der Eigenverantwortung und kann nicht an den Arbeitgeber delegiert werden.


«Wir müssen bewusst entscheiden, ob wir alles tun, was möglich wäre»


Wie hat sich durch die Digitalisierung Ihre Art, Mitarbeiter zu führen, verändert?


Mitarbeiter wollen heute Führungskräfte haben, die als Coach auftreten. Vorgesetzte sollen ihre Mitarbeiter befähigen und den Weg freimachen.


Das ist nichts Neues, das wünschten sich die Angestellten schon vor 40 Jahren.


Heute haben wir aber die Möglichkeit, das auch tatsächlich zu tun. Der direktive Führungsstil ist definitiv ein Auslaufmodell. Dazu gehört, dass auch ein Vorgesetzter zu seinen Fehlern steht.


Wo brennt Ihre persönliche Leidenschaft?


Bei der Ethik. Wie wir mit den anstehenden Veränderungen umgehen und was wir mit den technologischen Möglichkeiten tun. Heute diskutiert die Wissenschaft die Überwindung des Todes. Da stellt sich doch die Fragen: Sollen wir wirklich alles tun, was möglich ist? Hier entstehen für Führungskräfte unglaubliche Spannungsfelder: Wo setzen wir die Grenzen?


Wenn die Konkurrenz Grenzen sprengt und Geschäfte macht: Kann eine Firma wie Swisscom bewusst nein sagen?


Klar! Gerade Swisscom kann sich nicht alles erlauben. Wir müssen sehr bewusst diskutieren, was wir tun möchten und was eben nicht. Aber unter diesem Druck stehen wir schon länger.





Mehr zum Thema