World Web Forum 2017

World Web Forum 2017

The end of the alpha male


Probably the greatest challenge in times of transformation is not new technologies but instead old, encrusted ways in which people think: By their very nature, they tend to see change as a threat rather than an opportunity. Although you can’t simply order people to adopt a new way of thinking, a cultural shift will achieve the same result. Managers should adopt an exemplary function here.


Text: Michael Lieberherr,




On the first day of the World Web Forum 2017, the speakers presented the soft factors essential to a successful transformation before an audience of over 1000 visitors. With a C-level contingent of almost 90 percent, this helpful advice fell on fertile ground. So model followed model. Long-standing visitors to the Forum could not help noticing that the event has developed into a leadership circle with topics conforming to established practice. Although the World Web Forum is becoming ever more extensive and diverse in scope, it’s also losing its slightly subversive, avant-garde edge. Perhaps the reason for this is the fact that digitisation has finally made it onto the agenda discussed in management boardrooms.


Lazy and narcissistic

It’s clear to behavioural psychologist Herminia Ibarra von Insead why we fail to adapt to new circumstances: When it comes to their networks, “humans are usually lazy and narcissistic”. All too often, people don’t want to step outside their comfort zones, preferring instead to keep like-minded company. Yet the quality of a network cannot be measured in terms of size but rather its ability to incorporate new ideas. Greater diversity leads to better results. A closed network has a similar effect to the filter bubble in a search engine. Another factor subverting individual adaptiveness: Whoever has been preoccupied with the same thing for too long runs the risk of falling into a competence trap. Because the better you are at your job, the more you potentially have to lose by learning something new. By and large, it’s our strengths rather than our weaknesses that stand in the way of transformation.


That humans remain an archaic organism despite digitisation is demonstrated by Mariann Goodwell of The Burning Man. Thousands of people retreat to the desert of Nevada for a week where they live out the utopia of an equal society free of conservative conventions. Together they set about building a common goal: a wooden sculpture several metres in height that is set ablaze at the end. She too emphasises how soft factors such as a sense of belonging and working together for a common goal come into play here. The non-profit organisation meanwhile achieves turnover of 40 million dollars. What on earth would the hippie movement of the late sixties say to that?



World Web Forum in flux

Over 1000 visitors congregated at this year’s World Web Forum in Zurich. As a first, it was held at the Stage One in Oerlikon: Large, bright and with lounges offering ample scope. The edgy and subversive trends characterising previous years have been pushed onto the sidelines. Evolution or pressure to conform? Today almost 90 percent of participants are representatives of senior management levels. The Forum’s gentrification cannot be overlooked – the rebels, nerds and alternative-thinkers are increasingly giving way to individuals dressed in suits and ties.

 

1/6 Herminia Ibarra von Insead, Verhaltenspsychologin

2/6 Marian Goodell, The Burning Man

3/6 Jeff Eggers, langjähriger Berater von Barack Obama

4/6 Michael Wade, IMD Business School Lausanne

5/6 Ed Catmull, Mitbegründer von Pixar

6/6 Sir Tim Berners-Lee, geistiger Vater des World Wide Webs

1/6 Herminia Ibarra von Insead, Verhaltenspsychologin


Heroic leaders on a false mission

Jeff Eggers, ex-Navy Seal and long-standing advisor to Barack Obama, reflected on leadership and people’s tendency to follow strong, almost heroic leader figures in times of upheaval. Taking examples from his time spent actively as a Navy Seal, he illustrated why personal responsibility in teams counts for more than a hierarchical leadership structure. During an attack in Afghanistan, his commando unit nearly lost two soldiers – only the right decisions taken in a democratically led rescue team averted a disaster. The parallels to last year’s keynote speaker David Marquez are striking. A submarine commanding officer in the US Army – he too pleaded for more personal responsibility and control.  


Michael Wade of IMD Business School Lausanne sounded the same note. Nowadays, successful managers regard themselves more as coaches for responsible and independent members of staff. Today’s managers need to be modest and accept that others in the team know more than they do. They should also be able to change their opinions. Especially important: A good boss sets out a vision and shows the general direction to be taken. They leave planning the details up to their employees. They are also always willing to listen: Asking questions and listening to answers – the contrast to conventional management models could not be more apparent. A lot of work is needed at the top before employees adapt to the measures.


The fragility of ideas

Visitors expecting a perfect American pitch from Ed Catmull, one of Pixar’s founders, were disappointed. Nevertheless, he presented for everyone listening attentively probably the most convincing arguments behind the importance of culture. “The principle can be explained in four minutes – but it took four years before everyone understood”, states Catmull. He’s talking about the “fragility of ideas” and the need to protect them. People have to feel good about themselves so they can articulate their ideas. Pixar has established so-called “Brain Trusts”: Groups that value creative ideas in an unbiased environment without preconceptions. Catmull also argued the case for making mistakes. It’s notable that he does not follow the mainstream but instead draws a distinction: There are mistakes and there are mistakes. Those you need for the learning process – and those that are potentially dangerous and need to be avoided. Steve Jobs, a cofounder of Pixar, was a master of turning a defeat into a victory. By going against the accepted thought of the time, he became more emphatic over the course of his life and was able to win over people with the best storytelling. Empathy is one of those words many in a management role struggle to cope with.


Ed Catmull painted a vivid picture of the history behind the cultural transformation of Disney. After The Lion King, the company entered a barren phase devoid of blockbusters. Once Disney had taken over Pixar, they worked together on the culture, giving everyone involved the confidence that articulating your ideas is a good thing. As a result, Disney was able to tap into its old sources of success once again – with exactly the same people who had previously felt blocked for many years: “The talents are there, you simply have to let them blossom”, continues Catmull.


The intellectual father of the World Wide Web, Sir Tim Berners-Lee, impressively demonstrated what it means when employees can unleash their talents: His superiors had long lost track of what they were working on. The result: The invention of the WWW at CERN. Berners-Lee on his epoch-making invention: “I was driven by frustration in information management. I had to gather the data differently at each computer.” Hyperlinks were already available on CD-ROMs, why not transfer the same principle to networked computers? The principle is wonderfully simple. He soon encountered people enthusiastic for his idea all over the world. It was the spirit of collaboration beyond boundaries and borders that motivated everyone. Berners-Lee also confesses: “We were naive. We thought the world would become a better place through networking, that somehow people would understand one another better.” The Internet has led to some wonderful things – take Wikipedia for instance – but it also has its negative dark side. In the current development, the silos of closed platforms like Facebook or LinkedIn in particular run contrary to the idea of a free web as envisaged by the WWW founder.


In summary, it is apparent that wish and reality do not always coincide. For employees and managers alike, KPIs, clear targets and established processes represent simpler and more convenient orientation points than working on a corporate culture or you yourself. Yet the many examples illustrated by the speakers impressively demonstrate what potential can be unleashed in the right culture – especially in times of radical change. And culture is essentially a top-down phenomenon.






Experts live on Stage at Swisscom


Jeff Eggers, keynote speaker at the WWF, former Navy Seal and long-standing advisor to Barack Obama, opened the new series of events “Experts live on Stage" on the Swisscom Business Campus in Zurich. He pleaded for managers with emotional intelligence, who are modest and who frequently leave their teams to decide for themselves. Leaders with empathy could establish networks more effectively, allowing them to communicate better and ultimately shine as a source of inspiration.  


What did those attending think of the new series “Experts live on Stage" in an informal context?


Bettina Kurth, Swiss Life HR Manger Switzerland

“I’m going to take a lot of food for thought home with me. Jeff Egger’s speech shook me up, but in a positive way. It was a valuable opportunity to meet experts and participants interested in the same subjects as myself.”


Cornelia Albert, Zürich Versicherung, Project Manager

“I value the contact and dialogue with like-minded individuals. I’m going to take a number of things from the workshop: At certain points you need to apply positive feedback to organisations, at other points negative feedback is what’s required. I’ve learnt from Jeff Eggers that reorganisation is a sign that something prior to this has gone wrong."


Thomas Grolp, Walter Meier AG, Head of Intranet and Internet

"I was really impressed that even a luminary like Jeff Eggers describes how a leader does not have to be a hero, but should establish democratic structures in the team instead. I like the interactive format: The combination of speaker, workshop and subsequent discussion with the expert.”





More on the topic

World Web Forum 2017

World Web Forum 2017

Das Ende der Alphatiere


Die wohl grösste Herausforderung in Zeiten des Umbruchs sind nicht neue Technologien, sondern die zementierte Denkweise von Menschen: Sie nehmen naturgemäss häufiger Bedrohungen als Chancen wahr. Eine neue Denkart lässt sich nicht verordnen, die richtige Kultur führt jedoch zum gleichen Ziel. Führungspersonen sollten hier eine Vorbildfunktion einnehmen.


Text: Michael Lieberherr,




Am ersten Tag des World Web Forum 2017 präsentierten die Redner den über 1000 Besuchern die weichen Faktoren für die erfolgreiche Transformation. Mit einem C-Level-Anteil von fast 90 Prozent stiessen diese Tipps auf einen idealen Nährboden. So folgten dann auch Modell an Modell. Langjährigen Besuchern des Forums fällt auf, dass sich die Veranstaltung zum Leadership-Zirkel mit konformeren Themen entwickelt. Das Word Web Forum wird umfangreicher und vielfältiger, aber es verliert auch den leicht subversiven, avantgardistischen Charme. Vielleicht liegt es daran, dass die Digitalisierung nun endgültig in der Politik und in den Chefetagen angekommen ist.


Faul und selbstverliebt

Für die Verhaltenspsychologin Herminia Ibarra von Insead ist klar, woran wir in der Anpassung an neue Umstände meistens scheitern: In Bezug auf ihre Netzwerke sind "Menschen generell faul und narzisstisch". Viel zu oft würden Menschen nicht ihre Komfortzone verlassen, sondern nur den Austausch mit Gleichgesinnten suchen. Die Qualität eines Netzwerks messe sich allerdings nicht an der Grösse, sondern an dessen Fähigkeit, neu anzuknüpfen. Mehr Vielfalt führe zu besseren Resultaten. Ein geschlossenes Netzwerk hat einen ähnlichen Effekt wie die Filterblase in einer Suchmaschine. Eine weitere Gefahr für die eigene Anpassungsfähigkeit: Wer zu lange mit demselben beschäftigt ist, läuft Gefahr, in die Kompetenzfalle zu laufen. Denn je besser man in seinem Job wird, desto grösser seien die Opportunitätskosten, um etwas Neues zu lernen. Insgesamt würden uns unsere Stärken in der eigenen Transformation mehr im Wege stehen als unsere Schwächen.


Dass der Mensch trotz Digitalisierung ein archaisches Wesen bleibt, demonstriert Mariann Goodwell von The Burning Man. Tausende Menschen ziehen sich jedes Jahr für eine Woche in die Wüste von Nevada zurück und leben dort auf Zeit das Ideal einer sozialen, konventionsfreien und gleichberechtigten Gesellschaft. Gemeinsam bauen sie an einem Ziel: einer meterhohen Holzskulptur, die am Ende abgefackelt wird. Auch sie betont, was die weichen Faktoren wie Zusammengehörigkeit und gemeinsames Schaffen bewirken. Die Non-Profit Organisation macht inzwischen 40 Millionen Dollar Umsatz. Was wohl die 68er-Hippie-Bewegung dazu sagen würde?



World Web Forum im Wandel

Über 1000 Besucher strömten dieses Jahr ans World Web Forum in Zürich. Neu fand es im Stage One in Oerlikon statt: Gross, hell und Lounges am Laufmeter. Das leicht subversive der letzten Jahre ist in den Hintergrund gerückt. Evolution oder Konformitätsdruck? Heute sind fast 90 Prozent der Teilnehmer Vertreter der Chefetage. Die Gentrifizierung des Forums lässt sich nicht übersehen - die Querköpfe, die Nerds und die Andersdenkenden machen zunehmend den Krawattenträgern Platz.

 

SRF Interview: Ideen für die Zukunft

1/6 Herminia Ibarra von Insead, Verhaltenspsychologin

2/6 Marian Goodell, The Burning Man

3/6 Jeff Eggers, langjähriger Berater von Barack Obama

4/6 Michael Wade, IMD Business School Lausanne

5/6 Ed Catmull, Mitbegründer von Pixar

6/6 Sir Tim Berners-Lee, geistiger Vater des World Wide Webs

1/6 Herminia Ibarra von Insead, Verhaltenspsychologin


Heldenhafte Führer auf falschen Fährten

Jeff Eggers, Ex-Navy Seal und langjähriger Berater von Barack Obama, sinniert über Leadership und die Neigung von Menschen, in Zeiten des Umbruchs starken, teils heldenhaften Führerfiguren zu folgen. Mit Beispielen aus seiner aktiven Zeit als Navy Seal illustriert er, wieso Selbstverantwortung in Teams mehr zählt als ein hierarchischer Führungsanspruch. Bei einem Angriff in Afghanistan hat sein Kommando fast zwei Soldaten verloren – nur die richtigen Entscheidungen des demokratisch geführten Rettungsteams haben ein Unglück verhindert. Die Parallelen zum letztjährigen Key Note Speaker David Marquez sind frappant. Auch er – ein U-Boot Kommandant in der amerikanischen Armee – plädierte für mehr Selbstverantwortung und -steuerung.


Ins gleiche Horn bläst Michael Wade von IMD Business School Lausanne. Erfolgreiche Führungspersonen verstehen sich heute vermehrt Coaches für mündige und selbstständige Mitarbeitende. Führungspersonen müssten heute bescheiden sein und akzeptieren, dass andere im Team mehr wissen als sie. Ausserdem sollten sie in der Lage sein, ihre Meinungen zu ändern. Besonders wichtig: Ein guter Chef gibt eine Vision vor und zeigt die generelle Marschrichtung an. Den Detailplan überlässt er seinen Mitarbeitern. Ausserdem ist er immer im Hörmodus. Fragen stellen und zuhören – der Gegensatz zum klassischen Führungsmodell könnte grösser nicht sein. Bevor sich die Mitarbeiter anpassen ist hier viel Arbeit an der Spitze notwendig.


Die Fragilität von Ideen

Besucher, die von Ed Catmull, einem der Gründer von Pixar, einen perfekten amerikanischen Pitch erwarteten, wurden enttäuscht. Nichtsdestotrotz präsentiert er für jene, die genau zugehört haben, die wohl überzeugendsten Argumente für die Wichtigkeit von Kultur. "Das Prinzip ist in vier Minuten erklärt – aber bis es alle verstanden haben, hat es vier Jahre gedauert", so Catmull. Er spricht über die "Fragilität von Ideen", die es zu schützen gilt. Menschen müssten sich wohl fühlen, damit sie ihre Ideen artikulieren können. Bei Pixar gibt es den sogenannten "Brain Trusts": Gruppen, die kreative Ideen in einer unvoreingenommenen Umgebung bewerten. Auch Catmull plädiert dafür, Fehler zu machen. Bemerkenswert jedoch, dass er nicht dem Mainstream folgt, sondern differenziert: Es gebe Fehler und Fehler. Jene, die man brauche zu lernen und jene, die bedrohlich sind und man vermeiden müsse. Steve Jobs, ein Mitbegründer von Pixar, sei ein Meister gewesen, aus seinen grossen Niederlagen zu lernen. Entgegen der weitverbreiteten Meinung sei er im Laufe seines Lebens emphatischer geworden und hätte Menschen mit bestem Storytelling gewinnen können. Empathie ist das Stichwort, mit dem sich viele in ihrer Führungsrolle schwertun.


Ed Catmull erzählt eindrücklich die Geschichte der kulturellen Transformation von Disney. Nach Lion King gelang über mehrere Jahre kein Blockbuster mehr. Nachdem Disney Pixar übernommen hatte, hätten sie zusammen an der Kultur gearbeitet und Menschen eben diese Sicherheit zurückgeben, Ideen zu artikulieren. In der Folge hatte Disney wieder an die alten Erfolge anknüpfen können – mit den exakt gleichen Menschen, die vorher jahrelang blockiert gewesen seien: "Die Talente waren da, man muss sie nur aufblühen lassen," so Catmull.


Der geistige Vater des World Wide Webs, Sir Tim Berners-Lee, demonstriert eindrücklich, was es heisst, wenn Mitarbeiter ihre Talente ausleben dürfen: Seine Vorgesetzten hätten lange gar nicht gewusst, woran sie arbeiteten. Das Resultat: Die Erfindung des WWW am Cern. Bernes-Lee zu seiner epochalen Erfindung: "Mich trieb der Frust über das Informationsmanagement. Auf jedem Computer musste ich die Daten anders zusammenklauben." Hyperlinks habe es bereits auf CD-Roms gegeben, wieso also nicht das gleiche Prinzip auf vernetzte Computer übertragen? Die Einfachheit des Prinzips ist bestechend. Für seine Idee hätte er schnell enthusiastische Menschen auf der ganzen Welt gefunden. Es sei der Geist einer grenzenlosen Zusammenarbeit gewesen, welcher die Leute motiviert hätte. Berners-Lee gesteht auch ein: "Wir waren naiv. Wir dachten, die Welt würde durch die Vernetzung besser werden, Menschen würden sich besser verstehen." Das Internet habe zum Beispiel mit Wikipedia grossartige Dinge hervorgebracht, aber leider auch negative. In der aktuellen Entwicklung laufen dem WWW-Gründer besonders die Silos geschlossener Plattformen wie Facebook oder LinkedIn dem Gedanken eines freien Webs zuwider.


Zusammenfassend fällt auf, dass Wunsch und Realität nicht immer zusammenspielen. Für Mitarbeiter und Führungskräfte sind KPIs, klare Vorgaben und etablierte Prozesse einfachere und bequemere Orientierungspunkte als die Arbeit an der Unternehmenskultur und sich selbst. Die vielen Beispiele der Redner demonstrieren jedoch eindrücklich welche Kraft die richtige Kultur in einem Unternehmen entfalten kann – besonders in Zeiten des Umbruches. Und Kultur wird massgeblich von der Spitze vorgelebt.






Experts live on Stage bei Swisscom


Jeff Eggers, Keynoter Speaker am WWF, Ex-Navy Seal und langjähriger Berater von Barack Obama, eröffnet die neue Veranstaltungsreihe "Experts live on Stage" im Swisscom Business Campus in Zürich. Er plädiert für Chefs mit emotionaler Intelligenz, die bescheiden sind und ihre Teams möglichst häufig selbst entscheiden lassen. Emphatische Leader könnten besser Kontakte knüpfen, würden dadurch besser kommunizieren und am Ende inspirieren.


Wie beurteilen die Teilnehmer die neue Reihe "Experts live on Stage" im familiären Rahmen?


Bettina Kurth, Swiss Life Leiterin HR Schweiz

"Ich nehme viel Gedankenstoff mit. Jeff Eggers Referat hat mich aufgewühlt, aber auf eine positive Art. Der Anlass ist wertvoll, der Experte man kommt einfach mit den Teilnehmern in Kontakt, die sich für die gleichen Themen interessieren."


Cornelia Albert, Zürich Versicherung, Project Manager

"Ich schätze die Nähe und die persönlichen Dialoge. Ich nehme aus dem Workshop vom Anlass mit: An gewissen Stellen muss man Organisationen Energie zuführen, an anderen Stellen Energie entziehen. Von Jeff Eggers nehme ich mit, dass eine Reorganisation ein Zeichen dafür ist, dass schon vorher etwas schiefgelaufen ist."


Thomas Grolp, Walter Meier AG, Leiter Intranet und Internet

"Mich hat beeindruckt, dass sogar eine solche Koryphäe wie Jeff Eggers sagt, dass ein Leader kein Held sein muss, sondern demokratische Strukturen im Team schaffen soll. Mir gefällt das interaktive Format: Die Kombination von Referat, Workshop und die anschliessende Diskussion mit dem Experten."


Zu Experts live on Stage




Mehr zum Thema