Event

Coaching for the “Low Power Network”

A boot camp for the Internet of Things


The participants at Swisscom’s LPN boot camps experimented with such things as a “swarm electrical network” and worldwide machine monitoring.


Texts: Urs Binder,




Both workshops were fully booked and there wasn't a free seat in the house: On 7 and 8 February, around 25 participants for each of the “LPN boot camps” arrived at the Swisscom building at Pfingstweidstrasse in Zurich. The abbreviation stands for “Low Power Network”, which specifically refers to the LoRaWAN technology. In the theoretical part of the course in the morning, the participants received basic technical knowledge, which they were then able to put into practice in the afternoon. To this end, everyone received an “LPN Maker’s Kit” with an Arduino-compatible development board, various sensors and actuators, and all necessary accessories to enter the world of LoRaWAN.


First steps

Swisscom operates a network of LoRaWAN base stations across Switzerland that can be used to connect sensors and other devices within the Internet of Things in a power-saving manner and across long distances, and to exchange data from users’ systems. And that was precisely the topic of the boot camp: How do you add an IoT device to the LoRaWAN network (onboarding)? How do you send messages and how do you receive messages from the network? Which types of projects can be implemented well with this technology, and which projects are better suited to other wireless technologies? What are the specific advantages and disadvantages of LoRaWAN as a comparison? And what particularities and costs apply to Swisscom’s network?


Taking their first steps into LoRaWAN was the most important issue for most participants, as specific projects are still a rarity. This does not apply to Elektron AG, as Product Manager Marc Länzlinger explains: “IoT and LoRa have long been a central issue for Elektron. We have offered networked public lighting with centralised control over IoT for many years, and we are now expanding this into full smart city solutions. One option for this is LoRaWAN, but we also use other IoT networks such as the IP-based Mesh 6loWPAN.”



LPN-Bootcamp

Wide field of participants: the LPN boot camp included teachers, developers and engineers, among others.


Michael Albrecht, ICT Manager at Otto Suhner AG, is participating in the boot camp along with Suhner’s CTO. “We would like to find out what the advantages of LoRaWAN are, all the things it can be used for, what it costs and whether the technology is suited to our company.” There are some application ideas already: “We imagine that we could monitor our machines around the world using IoT in order to optimise usage and efficiency.”


A look at the list of participants demonstrates wide interest in LoRaWAN in various industries, from IoT-focused solution providers to logistics and financial services providers and manufacturers of small solar storage plants, who can form autonomous “swarm electrical networks”. An IT teacher from the canton of Jura, a developer and a network engineer from information services for the city of Winterthur and various researchers and students from the ETH completed the group.



LPN Maker’s Kit

The “LPN Maker’s Kit” with a development board, sensors and all necessary accessories to enter the world of LoRaWAN.


Detailed explanation

As is so often the case, with LoRaWAN the devil is in the detail. For onboarding, for example, various URLs and keys are required. LoRaWAN generally works bidirectionally, but depending on the device class, the connected devices remain available to receive only very briefly for energy saving reasons. This also places a great demand on the response time of the backend systems, for example the users’ application servers.


The boot camp participants received expert support from LPN specialists who work at the IoT-focused supplier Actility – whose platforms are also used by Swisscom’s LoRaWAN network –, from the Ticino-based digitisation specialist Gimasi, who put together the LPN Maker’s Kit, and from the Swisscom experts Nico Vonau and Adrian Fuchs.

LPN remains a hot issue

You can find more information about the next boot camps and LPN in general on the Swisscom LPN web page.


“Today, we can take measurements much more cheaply and simply and branch out into applications for which existing systems were too expensive or too difficult to realise.”


Justin D’Atri, Partnership Coordinator at Innet AG.


Justin D’Atri, Partnership Coordinator at the Swiss domestic environmental monitoring company Innet AG, was able to benefit immediately from the collective expert knowledge present: One problem with a LoRaWAN-networked distance sensor when it is used as a “smart waste sensor” to measure the fill level of waste containers to help route optimisation was solved at the boot camp.



Justin D’Atri

Justin D’Atri, Partnership Coordinator at Innet AG


D’Atri was impressed by the new options: “We were building sensor networks before the “cool” term IoT was coined. The devices used to be much bigger – most people will be familiar with the air quality measuring stations alongside motorways. Some of them are the size of fridges! Today’s sensors are smaller; comparable devices could fit into the palm of your hand.” Thanks to new wireless technologies such as LoRaWAN, battery-powered devices also have a long period of autonomy, he continues, going on to mention that wireless networking also offers direct financial benefits: “The most expensive part is wiring up a sensor. Today, we can take measurements much more cheaply and simply and branch out into applications for which existing systems were too expensive or too difficult to realise.”





LPN Experience Center


The top floor of the Swisscom shop at the Stauffacher junction in Zurich (Badenerstrasse 18) is dedicated entirely to the Low Power Network. SME and enterprise business customers can register for a guided tour. Interesting live demos and insights into many fascinating potential applications await. Interested? Contact Simon Prior.




More on the topic

Event

Coaching fürs «Low Power Network»

Ein Bootcamp für das Internet der Dinge


In Low Power Network-Bootcamps von Swisscom können die Teilnehmer lernen, wie man mit der Technologie ein «Schwarm-Stromnetz» baut oder weltweit Maschinen überwacht.


Text: Urs Binder,




Beide Workshops waren voll ausgebucht, kein Sitzplatz blieb frei: Am 7. und 8. Februar fanden sich je rund 25 Teilnehmer zum «LPN Bootcamp» im Swisscom-Gebäude an der Pfingstweidstrasse in Zürich ein. Die Abkürzung steht für «Low Power Network», konkret gemeint ist die LoRaWAN-Technologie. Die Teilnehmer erhielten im theoretischen Teil am Vormittag das technische Grundwissen und konnten am Nachmittag das Gelernte in die Praxis umsetzen. Dazu erhielt jeder einen «LPN Maker’s Kit» mit Arduino-kompatiblem Entwicklungsboard, diversen Sensoren und Aktoren und allem nötigen Zubehör zum Einstieg in die Welt von LoRaWAN.


Erste Gehversuche

Swisscom betreibt ein schweizweites Netz von LoRaWAN-Basisstationen, mit dem sich Sensoren und andere Geräte im Internet der Dinge auf stromsparende Weise über längere Distanzen verbinden und mit anwenderseitigen Systemen Daten austauschen können. Und genau darum ging es im Bootcamp: Wie bucht man ein IoT-Gerät ins LoRaWAN-Netz ein (Onboarding)? Wie setzt man Meldungen ab und wie lassen sich Meldungen aus dem Netz empfangen? Was lässt sich mit der Technologie gut umsetzen, für welche Projekte sind andere Wireless-Technologien besser geeignet? Was sind die konkreten Vor- und Nachteile von LoRaWAN im Vergleich? Und was sind die Besonderheiten und Kosten im Netz von Swisscom?


Ein erster Einstieg in LoRaWAN war denn auch das Anliegen der meisten Teilnehmer, konkrete Projekte sind noch rar. Für die Elektron AG gilt dies nicht, wie Produktmanager Marc Länzlinger ausführt: «IoT und LoRa sind für Elektron schon länger ein zentrales Thema. Seit Jahren bieten wir vernetzte öffentliche Beleuchtung mit zentralisierter Steuerung über IoT und erweitern dies nun auf ganze Smart-City-Lösungen. Eine Option dafür ist LoRaWAN, wir setzen aber auch andere IoT-Netzwerke wie das IP-basierte Mesh 6loWPAN ein.»



LPN-Bootcamp

Breites Teilnehmerfeld: Unter anderen Lehrer, Entwickler und Ingenieure besuchten das LPN-Bootcamp.

 


Michael Albrecht, Leiter ICT bei der Otto Suhner AG, nimmt zusammen mit dem CTO von Suhner am Bootcamp teil. «Wir möchten erfahren, was die Vorteile von LoRaWAN sind, was man damit alles machen kann, was es kostet und ob die Technologie in unser Unternehmen passt.» Anwendungsideen sind vorhanden: «Unsere Vorstellung ist es, unsere weltweit installierten Maschinen mit Hilfe des IoT zu überwachen, um die Auslastung und die Effizienz zu optimieren.»


Ein Blick auf die Teilnehmerliste zeigt breites Interesse an LoRaWAN bei den unterschiedlichsten Industrien, von IoT-fokussierten Lösungsanbietern über Logistik- und Finanzdienstleister bis zum Hersteller von kleinen Solar-Speicherkraftwerken, die sich zu einem autonomen «Schwarm-Stromnetz» vernetzen lassen. Ein Informatiklehrer aus dem Kanton Jura, ein Entwickler und ein Netzwerkingenieur der Informatikdienste der Stadt Winterthur sowie diverse Forscher und Studenten der ETH rundeten das Teilnehmerfeld ab. 



LPN Maker’s Kit

Das «LPN Maker’s Kit» mit Entwicklungsboard, Sensoren und allem nötigen Zubehör zum Einstieg in die Welt von LoRaWAN


Aufklärung bis ins Detail

Wie so häufig steckt der Teufel auch bei LoRaWAN im Detail. So braucht es für das Onboarding verschiedene URLs und Schlüssel. Und LoRaWAN arbeitet zwar prinzipiell bidirektional – aber je nach Geräteklasse schalten die verbundenen Devices aus Energiespargründen bloss sehr kurzzeitig auf Empfang. Das stellt auch an die Reaktionszeit der Backend-Systeme, zum Beispiel der Applikationsserver der Anwender, hohe Ansprüche.


Die Bootcamp-Teilnehmer erhielten fachkundige Unterstützung von LPN-Spezialisten des auf IoT fokussierten Anbieters Actility, auf dessen Plattform auch das LoRaWAN-Netz von Swisscom setzt, vom Tessiner Digitalisierungsspezialisten Gimasi, der den LPN Maker’s Kit zusammengestellt hat sowie von den Swisscom-Experten Nico Vonau und Adrian Fuchs.

LPN bleibt Thema

Die Bootcamps vom Februar 2017 waren keineswegs die letzten: Das nächste LPN Bootcamp findet am 10. Mai im Swisscom-Gebäude an der Genfergasse in Bern statt, weitere sind auf den kommenden Herbst und Winter geplant. Nähere Informationen über die Bootcamps und LPN allgemein findet man auf der Swisscom LPN Webage.


«Heute können wir viel günstiger und einfacher Messungen machen und in Anwendungen vorstossen, für die bisherige Systeme zu teuer oder zu schwierig zu realisieren waren.»


Justin D’Atri, Partnership Coordinator Innet AG


Justin D’Atri, Partnership Coordinator beim Innerschweizer Umweltmonitoring-Unternehmen Innet AG, konnte vom geballten Expertenwissen unmittelbar profitieren: Ein Problem mit einem LoRaWAN-vernetzten Distanzsensor, der als «Smart Waste Sensor» zur Messung des Füllstandes von Abfallcontainern zwecks Routenoptimierung eingesetzt wird, konnte direkt am Bootcamp gelöst werden.



Justin D’Atri

Justin D’Atri, Partnership Coordinator bei Innet AG


D’Atri zeigt sich begeistert von den neuen Möglichkeiten: «Wir haben schon Sensornetzwerke gebaut, bevor der coole Begriff IoT aufkam. Früher waren die Geräte viel grösser – die kühlschrankgrossen Luftqualitäts-Messstationen entlang der Autobahnen kennt wohl jeder. Heute sind die Sensoren kleiner, vergleichbare Geräte haben in einer Hand Platz.» Dank neuen Wireless-Technologien wie LoRaWAN hätten die batteriebetriebenen Geräte eine lange Autonomie. Und die drahtlose Vernetzung bringe direkte finanzielle Vorteile: «Das teuerste ist es, einen Sensor zu verkabeln. Heute können wir viel günstiger und einfacher Messungen machen und in Anwendungen vorstossen, für die bisherige Systeme zu teuer oder zu schwierig zu realisieren waren.»





LPN Experience Center


Die obere Etage des Swisscom-Shops am Zürcher Stauffacher (Badenerstrasse 18) ist ganz dem Low Power Network gewidmet. KMU- und Enterprise-Geschäftskunden können sich für eine Führung anmelden. Interessante Live-Demos und Einblicke in zahlreiche interessante Anwendungsmöglichkeiten warten auf Sie! Interessiert? Kontaktieren Sie Simon Prior.




Mehr zum Thema