IoT security

IoT security

Little protection in the Internet of Things


The security surrounding networked devices is not as good as it could be. Some are completely unprotected. In order to change this, developers must quickly integrate security into the design of their products. And users should request secure IoT solutions.


Text: Urs Binder,




The security specialist, Bitdefender, conceived an April Fool's joke in which thousands of hacked internet-connected toasters in the United Kingdom all of a sudden refused to accept anything other than wholemeal bread, at the same time warning their owners of the health risks associated with white bread. However, some of the other incidents associated with the Internet of Things (IoT) are no laughing matter – and, as the title of the Gartner white paper "Musings from Def Con 23" suggests: "Internet of Things Risks Are Bad and Likely to Get Worse". Here are four examples:

 

  • In Germany, hackers managed to access the office network of a steelworks through a combination of spear phishing and social engineering – i.e. by exploiting the human weaknesses of staff members – and from there were able to access the production facilities; this was reported on by the Federal Office for Information Security in 2014. The attackers were able to jam various control components and installations. The consequence: a blast furnace was no longer able to undergo a controlled shutdown and its status remained undefined. The installation suffered severe damage.

  • At US retailer Target, hackers gained access to the network by remotely accessing the building automation system and succeeded in installing malicious code on the card terminals within the company's 1800 stores. This allowed the attackers to steal the card details of 40 million customers. According to Target, the resulting compensation costs amounted to 290 million dollars, not to mention the harm done to the company's image.

  • One Friday afternoon in late November 2016, the message displayed on the screens of ticket machines belonging to the San Francisco transport company, SF Muni, simply stated "You Hacked, ALL Data Encrypted". SF Muni was forced to leave the gates to the platforms open – free public transport for a day and a half. This was not even a targeted attack, as was subsequently revealed by the hacker, "Cryptom27": SF Muni's network was completely open.

  • Towards the end of October 2016, a large number of well-known websites, including Twitter, Amazon, Spotify and Netflix, experienced disruption as a result of a massive denial of service attack on the service provider, Dyn. This was apparently caused by a botnet made up of IoT devices. The security investigator, Brian Krebs, whose blog was also affected, spoke primarily of IP cameras and networked video recorders.

Real threat, little trust

The threat posed by the Internet of Things is very real. This is becoming increasingly true as a result of the explosion in the number of "connected things". Current forecasts by Gartner predict that there will be 6.4 billion IoT devices worldwide by the end of 2016, an increase of 30 per cent when compared with 2015. That number is expected to reach 21 billion by the end of 2020. According to Gartner, around 65 per cent of IoT devices are found in consumer environments, such as in home automation, and 35 per cent are used for industrial applications.





Making the Internet of Things safe


Hints and tips for users and developers of IoT solutions.


To Listical



Making the Internet of Things safe

Hints and tips for users and developers of IoT solutions.


To Listical

HP tested ten home automation devices, including heating thermostats, door locks and smoke alarms, in order to identify security issues; it reached a sobering conclusion: those ten devices presented a total of 250 weak points, i.e. 25 per device. It is hardly surprising that, according to a study conducted by the Ponemon Institute on behalf of HP, not even half of consumers believe that IoT offers more advantages than disadvantages. This is down to concerns regarding security and privacy. However, it is not just consumers, but also companies who are not just seeing the positive aspects of IoT. According to a survey carried out by the US provider AT&T, 58 per cent of the organisations surveyed have zero trust in the security of their IoT devices.


The weaknesses of IoT solutions

In practice, this is reflected in the fact that no safety measures whatsoever have been implemented for numerous IoT devices. One of the reasons behind this may be historical: embedded systems used in industrial settings were originally not networked at all, or were only networked within a single company, and were therefore separated from the internet zone. Today's consumer devices are often still based on platforms that do not offer integrated security, and the solutions that have been based on them, including software and cloud services are, as a result, not designed to provide data security and protection from attacks.


The firmware cannot be updated to the most recent version for some devices. Patch management remains a foreign concept in such cases. This is all the more serious given that the service life of IoT solutions is up to ten years and is therefore significantly higher than that of PCs and mobile devices; this is true of both consumer products and Industry 4.0.


Communication of sensors and actuators with hubs, gateways and cloud services is usually secured, even in the case of wireless protocols such as Zigbee, LoRaWAN, Bluetooth and WiFi. However, it is often the case that static keys are used for this, which are relatively easy to get hold of. Not only that, but users also retain the factory settings for passwords and other security features alarmingly often.


That is why it is so important that security becomes a matter of course, not just for the data transmission protocol, but at each individual level. To date, however, there are still no uniform security standards for end-to-end security in IoT systems. Unlike other industries, such as the banking, medical and automotive sectors, the IoT market is not regulated – a weak foundation for trustworthy solutions.


IoT security is on the up

Various organisations are nevertheless currently working on frameworks and best practices for IoT security, including the IoT Security Foundation and the non-profit OWASP foundation with the "Internet of Things Project". and cloud service providers are increasingly offering platforms for secure communication between IoT devices and cloud services with features that are specifically tailored to the Internet of Things.


Such standards and platforms must provide a broad line of defence against cyber attacks. IoT security should be capable of recognising and repelling attacks; logging unauthorised access attempts; protecting data, both when it is being transferred and when it is being saved, as well as protecting it against subsequent alteration, and preventing counterfeit firmware from being uploaded onto the devices by means of secure booting.


This will only be possible with a combination of security measures implemented at all levels, from authentication and data communication through intrusion detection/prevention to management of the security regulations. Ideally, this will be supported by the hardware within the IoT devices. To this end, modern processors and SoC platforms also provide support at the level of the hardware, which will provide additional security and will help the developers of IoT solutions to make their products secure.




More on the topic


Machine to Machine

New business models and higher levels of efficiency thanks to M2M: With the Internet of Things, everything communicates with everything – utilise the opportunities that the interconnected world has to offer.

IoT-Security

IoT Datensicherheit

Wenig Schutz im Internet der Dinge


Um die Sicherheit der vernetzten Geräte steht es nicht zum Besten. Manche sind völlig ungeschützt. Damit sich das ändert, müssen Entwickler Sicherheit fix ins Produktdesign einbeziehen. Und Anwender sollten sichere IoT-Lösungen verlangen.


Text: Urs Binder,




Dass in Grossbritannien tausende mit dem Internet verbundene, gehackte Toaster plötzlich nur noch Vollkorntoast akzeptiert und ihre Besitzer vor den gesundheitlichen Gefahren des Weissbrots gewarnt haben sollen, war ein Aprilscherz des Sicherheitsspezialisten Bitdefender. Andere Vorfälle im Zusammenhang mit dem Internet of Things (IoT) sind jedoch eine nicht einmal ansatzweise scherzhafte Tatsache – und sie haben es in sich, wie der Titel des Gartner-Whitepapers «Musings from Def Con 23» andeutet: «Die Risiken im IoT sind gravierend, und sie werden immer schlimmer». Vier Beispiele:

 

  • In Deutschland erlangten Hacker via Spear-Phishing und Social Engineering – also durch Ausnutzen menschlicher Schwächen des Personals – Zugriff auf das Büronetz eines Stahlwerks und von dort aus auf die Produktionsanlagen, wie das deutsche Bundesamt für Sicherheit in der Informationstechnik 2014 meldete. Die Angreifer konnten diverse Steuerungskomponenten und Anlagen lahmlegen. Die Folge: Ein Hochofen liess sich nicht mehr geregelt herunterfahren und verblieb in einem undefinierten Zustand. Es kam zu massiven Schäden an der Anlage.

  • Beim US-Detaillisten Target drangen Hacker über den Fernzugriff auf die Gebäudeautomation ins Netz ein und konnten auf den Kreditkartenterminals der 1800 Supermärkte Schadcode installieren. Die Angreifer entwendeten auf diese Weise Kreditkartenangaben von 40 Millionen Kunden. Laut Target lagen die Folgekosten für Entschädigungen bei 290 Millionen Dollar, vom Imageschaden ganz zu schweigen.

  • An einem Freitagnachmittag Ende November 2016 hiess es auf den Displays der Ticketautomaten der San Francisco Verkehrsbetriebe SF Muni nur noch «You Hacked, ALL Data Encrypted». SF Muni sah sich gezwungen, die Zugangsschranken zu den Perrons offen zu lassen – Gratis-ÖV für anderthalb Tage. Es habe sich nicht einmal um einen gezielten Angriff gehandelt, machte sich der Hacker «Cryptom27» im Nachhinein bemerkbar: Das Netz von SF Muni sei völlig offen gewesen.

  • Gegen Ende Oktober 2016 legte ein massiver Denial-of-Service-Angriff auf den Serviceprovider Dyn zahlreiche bekannte Websites lahm, darunter Twitter, Amazon, Spotify und Netflix. Verantwortlich dafür war offenbar ein Botnetz aus IoT-Geräten. Der Sicherheitsforscher Brian Krebs, dessen Blog ebenfalls betroffen war, spricht vor allem von IP-Kameras und vernetzten Videorecordern.  

Bedrohung real, Vertrauen gering

Die Bedrohung aus dem Internet der Dinge ist real. Dies umso mehr, als die Anzahl der «Connected Things» regelrecht explodiert. Die aktuelle Gartner-Prognose verzeichnet für Ende 2016 weltweit 6,4 Milliarden IoT-Geräte, gegenüber 2015 ein Zuwachs von 30 Prozent. Bis Ende 2020 sollen es gegen 21 Milliarden werden. Rund 65 Prozent der IoT-Devices sind laut Gartner in Consumer-Umgebungen wie Home Automation anzutreffen, 35 Prozent in industriellen Anwendungen.





So wird das Internet der Dinge sicher


Empfehlungen und Tipps für Anwender und Entwickler von IoT-Lösungen.


Zum Listical



So wird das Internet der Dinge sicher

Empfehlungen und Tipps für Anwender und Entwickler von IoT-Lösungen.


Zum Listical

HP hat zehn Home-Automation-Geräte wie Heizungsthermostaten, Türschlösser oder Rauchmelder auf Sicherheitsprobleme hin untersucht und ist zu einem ernüchternden Schluss gekommen: Insgesamt wiesen die zehn Devices 250 Schwachstellen auf, pro Gerät also 25. Kein Wunder, dass in einer ebenfalls im Auftrag von HP durchgeführten Studie des Ponemon Institute nicht einmal die Hälfte der Konsumenten finden, IoT bringe mehr Vorteile als Nachteile. Der Grund sind demnach Bedenken punkto Sicherheit und Privatsphäre. Aber nicht nur Konsumenten, sondern auch Unternehmen sehen im IoT nicht nur Positives. So haben laut einer Umfrage des US-Providers AT&T 58 Prozent der befragten Organisationen kein Vertrauen in die Sicherheit ihrer IoT-Geräte.


Die Schwächen der IoT-Lösungen

In der Praxis zeigt sich, dass in vielen IoT-Geräten überhaupt keine Sicherheitsmassnahmen implementiert sind. Ein Grund dafür mag historisch bedingt sein: Embedded-Systeme in der Industrie waren ursprünglich nicht oder allenfalls innerhalb eines einzelnen Unternehmens vernetzt und somit von der Internet-Zone getrennt. Consumer-Geräte basieren noch heute oft auf Plattformen ohne inhärente Sicherheit und die darauf aufbauenden Lösungen inklusive Software und Cloud-Services sind nicht konsequent auf Datensicherheit und Schutz vor Angriffen ausgelegt.


Bei manchen Geräten fehlt etwa die Möglichkeit, die Firmware auf den neuesten Stand zu bringen. Patch Management bleibt in solchen Fällen ein Fremdwort. Dies ist umso gravierender, als die Einsatzdauer von IoT-Lösungen mit bis zu zehn Jahren und mehr deutlich höher liegt als bei PCs und Mobilgeräten, sowohl bei Consumer-Produkten als auch in der Industrie 4.0.


Die Kommunikation der Sensoren und Aktoren mit Hubs, Gateways und Cloud-Services ist üblicherweise gesichert, auch bei Drahtlosprotokollen wie Zigbee, LoRaWAN, Bluetooth oder WLAN. Dabei kommen allerdings oft statische Schlüssel zum Einsatz, die relativ leicht abzugreifen sind. Und die Anwender belassen Passwörter und andere Sicherheitsmerkmale erschreckend oft auf der Werkseinstellung.


Es ist deshalb wichtig, dass Sicherheit nicht nur beim Datenübertragungsprotokoll, sondern auf jeder Ebene zur Selbstverständlichkeit wird. Für die End-to-End-Security in IoT-Systemen fehlen jedoch bis dato einheitliche Sicherheitsstandards. Der IoT-Markt ist nicht reguliert, im Gegensatz zu anderen Branchen wie Banking, Medical oder Automotive – eine schwache Basis für vertrauenswürdige Lösungen.


IoT-Sicherheit im Kommen

Immerhin arbeiten verschiedene Organisationen derzeit an Frameworks und Best Practices für IoT-Sicherheit, darunter die IoT Security Foundation und die Nonprofit-Stiftung OWASP mit dem „Internet of Things Project“. Und Cloud-Provider offerieren zunehmend Plattformen zur sicheren Kommunikation zwischen IoT-Geräten und Cloud-Diensten mit spezifisch auf das Internet of Things zugeschnittenen Features.


Solche Standards und Plattformen müssen eine breite Abwehrfront gegen Cyberattacken gewährleisten. IoT-Security soll Angriffe erkennen und abwehren, unautorisierte Zugriffsversuche protokollieren, die Daten sowohl bei der Übertragung als auch bei der Speicherung und Weiterverarbeitung schützen und durch gesichertes Booten der Geräte verhindern, dass gefälschte Firmware geladen wird.


Das ist nur mit einer Kombination von Sicherheitsmassnahmen auf allen Ebenen möglich, von der Authentifizierung und Datenkommunikation über Intrusion Detection/Prevention bis zum Management der Sicherheitsregeln. Idealerweise wird dies durch die Hardware der IoT-Geräte unterstützt. Moderne Prozessoren und SoC-Plattformen bieten dazu hardwareseitige Unterstützung, die zusätzliche Sicherheit schafft und den Entwicklern von IoT-Lösungen dabei hilft, ihre Produkte sicher zu machen.




Mehr zum Thema