New business models, new job profiles

New business models, new job profiles

IoT revolution in the heating sector


Cultural shift at Walter Meier (Klima Schweiz) AG: The new IoT solution for the heat pump service is changing the organisation – right down to new job profiles.


Text: Urs Binder, images: © Luca Zanier,




The first remote diagnostician at Walter Meier is Andreas Schadegg. He’s taking on the new role in addition to technical support of the service technicians. “In addition to the actual remote diagnosis of heat pumps, I him helping with further development of the IoT solution – the rollout has just begun. This combination is interesting for me, allowing me to make something new happen for the company.”

In several cases Schadegg has been able to find a fault before the customer had noticed anything. “We were all really excited, something like at the birth of child, because we were able to identify and correct a problem at an early point in time.”

The background here is that the heating and air-conditioning specialist Walter Meier is now offering the new service “smart-guard” to its heat pump customers. Optimal operation of the heat pump is ensured by systematic monitoring via the IoT platform. In addition, remote maintenance often makes it unnecessary for a service technician to visit the site.



Concentrated heat pump expertise: Andreas Schadegg in the training room of Walter Meier.


New job profiles

At Walter Meier there are two new job profiles since the IoT rollout: The remote diagnostician monitors and controls the heat pumps over the Internet, analyses data, draws conclusions and supports the service technicians. He needs extensive knowledge about heat pump technology and several years of experience in the market. “It is a kind of service technician back-office service”, remarks Thomas Grolp, Head of Intranet and Internet at Walter Meier.

The second new job profile is diagnostics computer scientist: He is familiar with networks and protocols and ensures that the connection works end-to-end, from the heat pump to the analysis platform all the way through to the service dashboard of the remote diagnostician. He also creates training documents, has numerous administrative tasks and works closely with the remote diagnosticians.

According to Thomas Grolp, three to four remote diagnostic centres are planned throughout Switzerland in the first phase. Interest in the new positions within the organisation is great.



Thomas Grolp, Head of Intranet and Internet, is one of the driving forces behind Walter Meier’s IoT project.


Organic cultural shift

Walter Meier has implemented the change primarily as a technology-driven project. However, the transformation into a digitalised company also entails organisational consequences and ultimately requires a fundamental cultural shift.

From the service technicians to logistics through to the Sales department, the new service is affecting all levels of the company. For example, the service technicians have additional tasks during installation of the heat pumps – connecting the mobile network gateway, testing the antenna installation and conducting a test run of the IoT connection take about 15 minutes. The Sales team and Marketing need training – a new product of course has to be marketed.

According to experts, an “Industry 4.0” project absolutely requires a dedicated, interdisciplinary project team that covers the technical and organisational aspects and skills in equal measure and that is supported by management in doing so. Only in this way can technology and the organisation be holistically grasped and conveyed into the new age.



Andreas Schadegg is proud of his new task as a remote diagnostician – pictured here at the company entrance in front of the corporate logo.


The managers should also remain involved throughout the entire project term. In this way they can learn to deal with the new, more complex reality together with all that is uncertain and incalculable. At Walter Meier the idea for the new business model came from top management, and the Management Board is fully behind the path of the digital transformation.

However, “It would be presumptuous to say that we have a new corporate culture already”, says Thomas Grolp, but the enthusiasm to work digitally has been awakened: “The seedcorn has germinated, and it takes a certain amount of time until it becomes a tree. A shift in culture is a long-term process.” There are many ideas for other digital services that they want to manage in an integrated system. According to Grolp, this also corresponds to the strategy of the Management Board.






Everyone pulling together


The project has been implemented by Walter Meier with the continuous support of Swisscom – from concept draft to pilot phase through to operation of the analysis platform. Since the end of 2016, “smart-guard” has been available to the customers in an initial test region; the starting signal for all of Switzerland was given in March 2017.

“Given that we are in an industry sector that moves rather slowly, we have achieved a lot in the two years since the beginning of the project”, says Thomas Grolp with pride.

The idea of making the heat pump service more efficient through an IoT solution came from Service Division Manager Stéphane Nançoz. The project team is interdisciplinary, involving the IT organisation and the Finance department, which examines costs and potential for savings, as well as the Service organisation and Process Management: “Our service operates according to established processes. From the very beginning, we wanted to integrate remote maintenance harmoniously and not have it bypass the existing processes.”

A central figure in the team is the heat pump specialist. He has a very good picture of how service technicians work and enormous knowledge of heat pump technology. “This was crucial in defining which data from heat pumps is important for remote diagnosis. He was also involved in negotiations with the manufacturers – for example, adjustments to the heat pump software were necessary.”


Our portfolio: IoT solutions for all requirements


Our industry-independent IoT experts accompany you end-to-end in idea generation, development and implementation of new applications. In this way you can improve your processes, products and services, increase customer satisfaction and stand out from your competitors.

To IoT





More on the topic

Neue Geschäftsmodelle, neue Berufsbilder

Neue Geschäftsmodelle, neue Berufsbilder

IoT-Revolution in der Heizungsbranche


Kulturwandel bei der Walter Meier (Klima Schweiz) AG: Die neue IoT-Lösung für den Wärmepumpen-Service verändert die Organisation – bis hin zu neuen Berufsbildern.


Text: Urs Binder, Fotos: © Luca Zanier,




Der erste Ferndiagnostiker bei Walter Meier heisst Andreas Schadegg. Die neue Rolle übernimmt er zusätzlich zum technischen Support der Servicetechniker. «Neben der eigentlichen Ferndiagnose der Wärmepumpen helfe ich bei der Weiterentwicklung der IoT-Lösung – der Rollout hat ja eben erst begonnen. Diese Kombination ist für mich interessant, ich kann für die Firma etwas bewirken.»

In mehreren Fällen konnte Schadegg bereits einen Fehler feststellen, bevor der Kunde etwas davon gemerkt hätte. «Wir waren hier alle fast so begeistert wie bei der Geburt eines Kindes, weil wir ein Problem frühzeitig erkennen und beheben konnten.»

Der Hintergrund: Der Heizungs- und Klimaspezialist Walter Meier bietet den Wärmepumpenkunden neu den Service «smart-guard» an. Der optimale Betrieb der Wärmepumpe wird durch konsequentes Monitoring via IoT-Plattform gewährleistet. Zudem ist dank Fernwartung oft kein Besuch eines Servicetechnikers vor Ort mehr nötig.



Geballtes Wärmepumpen-Know-how: Andreas Schadegg im Schulungsraum von Walter Meier.


Neue Berufsbilder

Bei Walter Meier gibt es seit der IoT-Einführung zwei neue Stellenprofile: Der Ferndiagnostiker überwacht und steuert die Wärmepumpen übers Internet, analysiert Daten, zieht Schlussfolgerungen und unterstützt die Servicetechniker. Er benötigt umfassendes Wissen über die Wärmepumpentechnologie und mehrjährige Markterfahrung. «Eine Art Servicetechniker-Innendienst», merkt Thomas Grolp an, Leiter Intranet und Internet bei Walter Meier.

Das zweite neue Berufsbild ist der Diagnoseinformatiker: Er kennt sich mit Netzwerken und Protokollen aus und sorgt dafür, dass die Verbindung von der Wärmepumpe über die Analytics-Plattform bis zum Service-Dashboard des Ferndiagnostikers End-to-End funktioniert. Er erstellt zudem Schulungsunterlagen, hat zahlreiche Administrativaufgaben und arbeitet eng mit den Ferndiagnostikern zusammen.

Laut Thomas Grolp sind in einer ersten Phase schweizweit drei bis vier Ferndiagnostiker-Stellen geplant. Das interne Interesse an den neuen Positionen sei gross.



Thomas Grolp, Leiter Intranet und Internet, gehört zu den treibenden Kräften im IoT-Projekt von Walter Meier.


Organischer Kulturwandel

Walter Meier hat das Projekt primär technikgetrieben umgesetzt. Die Transformation zum digitalisierten Unternehmen bringt jedoch auch organisatorische Konsequenzen mit sich und erfordert letztlich einen fundamentalen Kulturwandel.

Von den Servicetechnikern über die Logistik bis zur Verkaufsabteilung wirkt sich die neue Dienstleistung auf alle Ebenen des Unternehmens aus. Die Servicetechniker zum Beispiel haben bei der Installation der Wärmepumpen zusätzliche Aufgaben – der Anschluss des Mobilfunk-Gateways, die Prüfung der Antenneninstallation und ein Testlauf der IoT-Verbindung nehmen rund 15 Minuten in Anspruch. Das Verkaufsteam und das Marketing brauchen Training, es gilt ja ein neues Produkt zu vermarkten.

Essentiell für den Erfolg eines «Industrie 4.0»-Projekts ist laut Experten ein dediziertes, interdisziplinäres Projektteam, das technische und organisatorische Aspekte und Skills gleichermassen abdeckt und dabei vom Management unterstützt wird. Nur so können Technik und Organisation ganzheitlich erfasst und integrativ ins neue Zeitalter überführt werden.



Andreas Schadegg ist stolz auf seine neue Aufgabe als Ferndiagnostiker – hier am Firmeneingang vor dem Logo des Unternehmens.


Und die Führungskräfte sollten während der ganzen Projektlaufzeit involviert bleiben. So lernen sie mit der neuen, komplexeren Realität samt allen Unsicherheiten und Unwägbarkeiten umzugehen. Bei Walter Meier kam bereits die Idee für das neue Geschäftsmodell aus dem Top-Management, und die Geschäftsleitung steht voll und ganz hinter dem Weg der digitalen Transformation.

Allerdings: «Es wäre vermessen zu sagen, dass wir schon heute eine neue Unternehmenskultur haben», meint Thomas Grolp. Die Begeisterung, digital zu arbeiten, sei jedoch geweckt: «Das Samenkorn ist aufgegangen – bis es zu einem Baum wird, dauert es noch eine gewisse Zeit. Kulturwandel ist ein langfristiger Prozess.» Es gebe viele Ideen für weitere digitale Dienstleistungen, die man in einem Gesamtsystem verwalten wolle. Das entspricht, so Grolp, auch der Strategie der Geschäftsleitung.






Alle ziehen an einem Strick


Das Projekt hat Walter Meier mit durchgängiger Unterstützung durch Swisscom – von der Konzeption über die Pilotphase bis zum Betrieb der Analyseplattform – zügig umgesetzt. Seit Ende 2016 steht «smart-guard» den Kunden in einem ersten Testgebiet zur Verfügung, der schweizweite Startschuss fiel im März 2017.

«Dafür, dass wir in einem eher langsam drehenden Industriezweig unterwegs sind, haben wir in den zwei Jahren seit Projektbeginn viel erreicht», stellt Thomas Grolp mit Stolz fest.

Die Idee, den Wärmepumpen-Service durch eine IoT-Lösung effizienter zu gestalten, kam vom Geschäftsbereichsleiter Service, Stéphane Nançoz. Das Projektteam ist interdisziplinär zusammengesetzt und bezieht neben der IT und der Finanzabteilung, die Kosten und Sparpotential unter die Lupe nimmt, auch die Serviceorganisation und das Prozessmanagement ein: «Unser Service läuft nach festgelegten Prozessen ab. Wir wollten von Anfang an, dass die Fernwartung sich harmonisch eingliedert und nicht an den bestehenden Prozessen vorbeiläuft.»

Eine zentrale Figur im Team ist der Wärmepumpenfachmann. Er hat ein sehr gutes Bild davon, wie Servicetechniker vorgehen, verfügt über enormes Wissen der Wärmepumpentechnologie. «Das war entscheidend bei der Definition, welche Daten von den Wärmepumpen für die Ferndiagnose wichtig sind. Auch bei Verhandlungen mit den Herstellern war er involviert – es waren zum Beispiel Anpassungen der Wärmepumpensoftware nötig.»


IoT-Lösungen für alle Anforderungen


Unsere branchenunabhängigen IoT-Experten begleiten Sie End-to-End bei der Ideenfindung, Entwicklung und Implementierung von neuen Anwendungen. So verbessern Sie Ihre Prozesse, Produkte und Services, erhöhen die Kundenzufriedenheit und grenzen sich von Mitbewerbern ab.

Zu IoT








Mehr zum Thema