RPA used successfully in canton of Zürich

My name is Bot. Automation Bot. RPA has a licence for efficiency

Robotic process automation (RPA) is becoming a fast, efficient and affordable system for all kinds of applications. Swisscom has a wide range to offer the financial sector. The public sector, healthcare providers and logistical businesses can all also benefit from this experience.

Author: Ruben Tavares, Images: iStock, 

May I interest you in a somewhat unconventional option? There is a way to speed up workflows in a targeted way without falling back on the old 'classics' like standardising interfaces and optimising processes. It is called robotic process automation, or RPA for short. Without rebuilding the entire system from scratch, small-scale software applications, or 'bots', carry out simple but crucial tasks. They overcome obstacles when lines of communication have not (yet) been adjusted or handle the tedious extra work created because workflows have not (yet) been precisely coordinated with each other. To sum up, these software robots take on non-value-adding work that is too monotonous, time-consuming and susceptible to errors for human employees – and they can do it 24/7.

However, the fact that the use of RPA is often still regarded as unconventional is due not to the sophisticated technology, which is ready to use immediately, but rather to a lack of awareness about it in some industries. Swisscom's expertise and comprehensive services relating to RPA have been used by banks for many years with considerable success. Other companies, such as those working in healthcare, commerce and logistics, as well as institutions and the public sector, have only recently had their attention drawn to process automation and its benefits. The added value that it offers is plain for them to see.

5 benefits of RPA: Let the bots do the repetitive work – quickly and affordably

  1. Fast: The bot is programmed to do very specific individual tasks. It will do these step by step at high speed, without errors and without getting tired. 'Take the data from the form. Modify the folder structure. Enter the information in the customer file.' The software robot will carry on doing this until it needs to be adapted to a new situation – for example, because there has been a change to a form.

  2. Reliable: Because bots are not subject to human error, they are highly reliable at matching and updating data.

  3. Easily bridging gaps between systems: In the health sector in particular, many systems and technical processes are still not in perfect harmony. RPA can quickly bridge specific gaps in the workflows, such as in patient admission. Something similar applies to automated customs clearance for logistics companies.

  4. Rapid implementation: RPA can be put to good use quickly because there is no need to make changes to existing applications or even IT infrastructure. Bots work via SAP or similar systems.

  5. Affordable: Costs are low relative to the degree of process optimisation that is achieved. Because some of these 'digital employees' can be integrated in a running system as required, it is also easy to calculate the work involved and any potential risk associated with implementation. These benefits led IT analysts at Gartner to forecast that around 85% of medium-sized and large companies would be using RPA by the end of 2022.

Canton of Zürich: 85% increase in efficiency

In addition to numerous projects in banking and a comprehensive system of smart automation introduced at the company itself years ago, Swisscom has worked with the canton of Zürich to develop and implement a series of RPA use cases for the cantonal authorities. These include a system for handling requests for short-time work.

 

 

The COVID-19 pandemic caused short-time work applications among cantonal authorities in Switzerland to skyrocket. The canton of Zürich normally sees ten such requests per month, but the figure abruptly shot up to 30,000. At an average processing time of ten minutes, even recruiting more personnel would not have been enough to prevent severe delays in payment. The canton therefore made use of Swisscom's experience and, early in 2021, introduced an RPA system based on SAP's Intelligent Robotic Process Automation software. The result is that the system has been running stably for more than half a year, while requests now take 85% less work to process. Average processing time has been cut to just 30 seconds. All this was achieved in a period of only ten days between initial contact with Swisscom and the go-live date. A follow-up project is due to automate further administrative processes in the canton of Zürich in autumn 2021. Other cities and cantons are also planning to step up their use of RPA.

RPA boosts efficiency – but is no substitute for comprehensive process optimisation

One of the biggest benefits of RPA – overcoming delays caused when seamless data transfer is not possible or when adapting data from one interface to another – appears to be its main drawback at the same time: Bots are no substitute for state-of-the-art processes with flexible, interlocking workflows. They often make for a somewhat one-size-fits-all solution that covers a lack of process optimisation at system level. It is therefore essential to establish beforehand whether using a bot will actually yield the expected added value in the intended task.


Profile

Process automation is not optional for Ruben – it is an absolutely essential part of being equipped to face the digital challenges to come. That includes the fact that fundamental obstacles need to be overcome, such as the increasing amount of data to be processed.
 
Ruben studied business information systems at Baden-Württemberg Cooperative State University (DHBW), focusing on software engineering. Providing advice on and implementing efficient automation systems make up his core area of expertise. He is responsible for Intelligent Automation & Robotics at Swisscom.




More information

Erfolg für Kanton Zürich: RPA im Einsatz

Mein Name ist Bot, Automation Bot: RPA hat die Lizenz zur Effizienz

Robotic Process Automation (RPA) entwickelt sich zu einer schnellen, effizienten und günstigen Lösung für alle Bereiche. Swisscom hat ein breites Portfolio für die Finanzbranche. Von diesen Erfahrungen können auch öffentlichen Verwaltungen, das Gesundheitswesen oder die Logistik profitieren.

Text: Ruben Tavares, Bilder: iStock, 

Darf es auch ein wenig unkonventionell sein? Es gibt einen Weg, Abläufe gezielt zu beschleunigen, ohne auf „Klassiker“ wie das Vereinheitlichen von Schnittstellen und das Optimieren von Prozessen zurückzugreifen. Dieser Weg heisst Robotic Process Automation, kurz RPA. Ohne das System neu aufzusetzen, erledigen hier kleine Programme beziehungsweise „Bots“ einfache, aber zentrale Aufgaben: Sie überwinden Hürden, wenn Schnittstellen (noch) nicht angepasst sind oder erledigen den enervierenden Mehraufwand, weil Abläufe (noch) nicht exakt aufeinander abgestimmt wurden. Kurz: Diese Software-Roboter übernehmen nicht-wertsteigernde Aufträge, die für Mitarbeiter zu monoton, zu aufwendig und zu fehlersensibel sind - und das 24/7.

Dass der Einsatz von RPA oftmals noch als unkonventionell empfunden wird, liegt allerdings nicht an der ausgefeilten und sofort einsetzbaren Technik, sondern vielmehr am geringen Bekanntheitsgrad bei einigen Branchen: Expertise und umfassende Services von Swisscom im Bereich RPA werden von Banken bereits seit Jahren erfolgreich genutzt. Andere Unternehmen, etwa aus dem Gesundheitswesen, aus Handel und Logistik aber auch Institutionen und öffentliche Verwaltungen wurden erst jetzt auf das Thema Prozessautomatisation und dessen Vorteile aufmerksam. Dabei ist der Mehrwert offensichtlich.

5 Vorteile von RPA: Überlassen Sie repetitive Aufgaben den Bots - kostengünstig und zügig

  1. Schnell: Dem Bot werden einzelne, sehr konkrete Aufgaben einprogrammiert. Diese arbeitet er dann ab - Schritt für Schritt und in hoher Geschwindigkeit, fehlerfrei und immer aufs Neue: „Erfasse die Daten aus dem Vordruck. Modifiziere die Ablagestruktur. Gebe die Information in die Kundendatei ein.“ So lange, bis der Software-Roboter an eine neue Situation angepasst werden muss – etwa, weil sich ein Formular ändert.

  2. Zuverlässig: Weil Bots keine menschlichen Fehler unterlaufen, sind sie hoch zuverlässig beim Datenabgleich und für Datenaktualisierungen.

  3. Einfache Brücken für Systembrüche: Gerade im Health-Sektor sind viele Systeme und technische Prozesse noch nicht perfekt aufeinander abgestimmt. RPA kann einzelne Brüche in den Abläufen zügig schliessen - etwa bei der Patientenaufnahme. Ähnliches gilt auch für die Automatisierung bei der Zollabwicklung von Logistikunternehmen.

  4. Kurzfristige Implementierung: RPA lässt sich zügig einsetzen, denn es sind keine Änderungen der bisherigen Anwendungen oder gar der IT-Infrastruktur nötig. Bots arbeiten über SAP oder ähnlichen Systemen.

  5. Kostengünstig: Die Kosten sind im Verhältnis zur Prozessoptimierung gering. Da einzelne dieser „digitalen Mitarbeiter“ je nach Bedarf in ein laufendes System integriert werden können, sind auch der Aufwand und ein mögliches Risiko bei der Implementierung gut kalkulierbar. IT-Analyst Gartner bewegen diese Vorteile zu der Prognose, dass der Einsatz von RPA bei Mittel- und Grossunternehmen bis Ende 2022 bei rund 85 Prozent liegen wird.

Kanton Zürich: 85 Prozent Effizienzsteigerung

Neben zahlreichen Projekten im Banking Bereich und eine vor Jahren eingeführten umfassenden Smart Automation im Unternehmen selbst, durfte die Swisscom, gemeinsam mit dem Kanton Zürich, verschiedene RPA Use Cases für die Behörde entwickeln und implementieren. Dazu gehört auch eine Lösung zur Bewältigung von Kurzarbeiteranträgen.

 

 

Die Covid-19-Pandemie hat in der Schweiz zu einer explosionsartigen Zunahme der Kurzarbeitsanträge bei den kantonalen Behörden geführt. Trafen im Kanton Zürich normalerweise zehn Anfragen pro Monat ein, schnellte die Zahl auf plötzlich 30'000. Bei einer durchschnittlichen Bearbeitungszeit von 10 Minuten hätte selbst die Aufstockung des Personals nicht ausgereicht, um deutliche Verzögerungen bei der Auszahlung zu verhindern. Der Kanton nutze deshalb die Erfahrungen von Swisscom und führte im Frühjahr 2021 ein RPA-System ein, das auf der SAP-Lösung "Intelligent Robotic Process Automation" basiert. Das Ergebnis: Das System läuft seit über einem halben Jahr stabil, der Bearbeitungsaufwand für die Anträge hat sich um 85 Prozent reduziert. Die durchschnittliche Bearbeitungszeit verkürzte sich auf nur noch 30 Sekunden. Erfahren Sie mehr im Webinar. Im Herbst 2021 soll ein Folgeprojekt weitere Verwaltungsprozesse im Kanton Zürich automatisieren. Auch andere Städte und Kantone wollen RPA nun verstärkt nutzen. 

RPA macht effizienter – ersetzt aber keine ganzheitliche Prozessoptimierung

Einer der grössten Vorteile von RPA - das Überwinden von Medienbrüchen und das Anpassen von Daten von einer Schnittstelle für die andere – offenbart aber gleichzeitig auch sein Manko: Bots sind kein Ersatz für moderne Prozesse mit flexibel ineinandergreifenden Abläufen. Sie sind oftmals eine eher starre Lösung, die eine fehlende Prozessoptimierung auf Systemebene überdeckt. Deshalb ist es grundlegend vorab zu eruieren, ob der Einsatz eines Bots für das vorgesehene Aufgabenfeld den erwarteten Mehrwert bringt.


Zur Person

Für Ruben ist Prozess-Automatisierung keine Option – sie ist ein Muss, um für die kommenden digitalen Herausforderungen gewappnet zu sein. Dazu gehört, dass grundlegende Hindernisse überwunden werden müssen, beispielsweise die zunehmende Anzahl an zu verarbeitenden Daten.

Ruben hat an der Dualen Hochschule Baden-Württemberg (DHBW) Wirtschaftsinformatik mit Schwerpunkt Software Engineering studiert. Seine Kernkompetenz sind die Beratung und Umsetzung effizienter Automatisierungslösungen. Für Swisscom verantwortet er den Bereich Intelligent Automation & Robotics.




Haben Sie noch Fragen? Wir sind persönlich für Sie da.

Ruben Tavares

Head of Intelligent Automation




Andere Leser interessierte auch: