How companies develop digital business ideas





How companies can tackle digital transformation

Three steps to digitisation


Successful companies are digitised companies”: this statement appears to be becoming increasingly true, but it poses the question: where do you start?


Nicolas Fulpius, CDO, Swisscom Enterprise Customers,




Digitisation is on everyone’s lips – but it’s nothing new. What is new, however, is the speed with which it is affecting more and more areas of our lives, especially at work. It opens up countless opportunities to use connected technologies in our own value chain:

 

  • in how we redefine business processes: fully digitised without media discontinuity, efficient and low-cost
  • in how we create brand new business models: service instead of product – in other words, cleanliness instead of a road sweeper, mobility instead of vehicles;
  • in how we create individual customer experiences: personalised information and everything from a single provider;
  • in how we work: anytime, anywhere, thanks to Work Smart.

No recipe for success, but a start

Anyone who thinks digitisation does not concern them is playing into the hands of their competitors, who are often from other sectors. A quick start is essential. But how? The high speed of digitisation makes it almost impossible to come up with reliable, one-size-fits-all forecasts. What we know today can be old hat by tomorrow. The high speed of digitisation makes it almost impossible to come up with reliable, one-size-fits-all forecasts. What we know today is old hat by tomorrow. Companies need to learn how to live with this uncertainty. At the centre is the question: how can digitisation be profitably integrated into a company’s own business model?

 

Although they are no recipe for success, here are three practical steps to get started:


1. Digitisation is part of company strategy

Digitisation affects companies at every level and involves more than just IT. It therefore needs to be anchored in company strategy. Senior management decides which parts of the business are suitable for digital transformation, what should be digitised and in which order of priority. This requires courage: management must not cling onto past strategies and decisions, even if it means abandoning a project and starting again. In order to learn, you need a culture in which mistakes are considered normal and dealt with positively.


2. Speed and iteration are essential

These days, it is virtually impossible for a company to continue working on a product until it is perfect. Instead of fiddling about for ages behind closed doors, it is better to use iterative methods and release beta versions, make constant improvements and establish interfaces with new technologies. Fast prototyping is a promising strategy, enabling customer or user feedback to be collated quickly, before it gets expensive. ‘Time to market’ is also considerably shorter with this approach.


3. Promoting digital skills and transformation

Companies should involve their staff in digital transformation because it concerns everyone, trainees as much as board members. Companies wishing to access the full potential of digitisation would be well advised to educate their staff early on and take them with them through the transformation process. The high speed of digitisation and the associated iterative approach also require a complete rethink of the management system. Strict hierarchies and control systems do not work well, whereas agile organisations and network leadership are on the up.

Nicolas Fulpius, Head of Digital Enterprise Solutions and CDO, Swisscom Enterprise Customers

After several years in private equity and venture capital, Nicolas Fulpius was appointed CEO of Veltigroup, which was bought by Swisscom in 2015. He became Chief Digitalization Officer at Swisscom Enterprise Customers in July 2015 and head of the Digital Enterprise Solutions department in June 2016. Nicolas Fulpius has an MBA from the University of St. Gallen and an MSc in engineering from Stanford University.




More on the topic

Wie Firmen digitale Geschäftsideen entwickeln





Wie Unternehmen die digitale Transformation anpacken können

Drei Schritte in die Digitalisierung


Erfolgreiche Unternehmen sind digitalisierte Unternehmen, diese Aussage scheint zunehmend an Gültigkeit zu gewinnen. Doch es stellt sich die Frage: Wie starten?


Nicolas Fulpius, CDO Swisscom Enterprise Customers,




Die Digitalisierung ist zwar in aller Munde – doch neu ist sie nicht. Neu ist hingegen die Geschwindigkeit, mit welcher die Digitalisierung immer mehr Bereiche unseres (Arbeits-)Lebens erfasst. Sie eröffnet unzählige Möglichkeiten, vernetzte Technologien in der eigenen Wertschöpfungskette einzusetzen:

  •  In der Neudefinition von Geschäftsprozessen: Voll digitalisiert und ohne Medienbrüche, effizient und günstig.
  •  In der Schaffung von ganz neuen Geschäftsmodellen: Service statt Produkt – also Sauberkeit statt Kehrmaschine, Mobilität statt Fahrzeuge.
  •  In der Gestaltung von individuellen Kundenerlebnissen: Personalisierte Informationen, alles aus einer Hand. In der Art wie wir arbeiten: Zeit- und standortunabhängig dank Work Smart.  

Kein Erfolgsrezept, doch ein Start

Wer glaubt, die Digitalisierung betreffe ihn nicht, spielt der – oft branchenfremden – Konkurrenz in die Hände. Es gilt sofort loszulegen. Aber wie? Die hohe Geschwindigkeit der Digitalisierung macht zuverlässige und allgemeingültige Prognosen fast unmöglich. Was wir heute wissen, ist morgen bereits veraltet. Unternehmen sollten lernen, mit dieser Unsicherheit umzugehen. Im Zentrum steht die Frage: Wie kann die Digitalisierung gewinnbringend in das eigene Geschäftsmodell integriert werden?


Wenn auch kein Erfolgsrezept, so doch drei konkrete Schritte, um zu starten:


1. Digitalisierung ist Teil der Unternehmensstrategie

Die Digitalisierung hat Auswirkungen auf alle Ebenen eines Unternehmens und betrifft nicht nur die IT. Deshalb soll sie in der Unternehmensstrategie verankert sein. Die Geschäftsleitung entscheidet, welche Teile des Unternehmens für die digitale Transformation geeignet sind und was mit welcher Priorität digitalisiert wird. Dazu ist Mut gefordert: Das Management darf nicht in verabschiedeten Strategien und Entscheiden verharren – selbst wenn es bedeutet, ein angefangenes Projekt zu stoppen und wieder von vorne zu beginnen. Um zu lernen, braucht es eine Fehlerkultur.


2. Geschwindigkeit und Iteration als A und O

Eine Firma kann es sich heute kaum mehr leisten, an einem Produkt bis zur Perfektion zu arbeiten. Statt lange hinter verschlossenen Türen zu tüfteln, ist es besser, ein Projekt in iterativen (Beta)-Versionen zu realisieren, laufend zu verbessern und die Schnittstellen zu neuen Technologien herzustellen. Ein vielversprechender Ansatz ist Fast-Prototyping: Das Kunden- oder Benutzerfeedback fliesst schnell ein, bevor hohe Kosten entstehen. Ausserdem lässt sich das "Time to Market" mit diesem Ansatz erheblich verkürzen.


3. Digitale Kompetenzen und Transformation fördern

Unternehmen sollten ihre Mitarbeitenden in die Transformation einbinden, denn sie betrifft alle: den Praktikanten genauso wie den Verwaltungsrat. Um das volle Potenzial der Digitalisierung zu nutzen, sind Unternehmen gut beraten, ihre Mitarbeitenden frühzeitig zu sensibilisieren und auf die Transformationsreise mitzunehmen. Die hohe Geschwindigkeit und der iterative Ansatz der Digitalisierung bedingen zudem ein Umdenken im Führungssystem. Strenge Hierarchien und Kontrollsysteme funktionieren schlecht. Stattdessen erleben agile Organisationen und Netzwerk-Leadership einen Aufschwung.

Nicolas Fulpius, Leiter Digital Enterprise Solutions und CDO Swisscom Enterprise Customers

Nach mehrjähriger Tätigkeit in den Bereichen Private Equity et Venture Capital war Nicolas Fulpius CEO der Veltigroup, die 2015 von Swisscom gekauft wurde. Seit Juli 2015 ist er Chief Digitalization Officer bei Swisscom Enterprise Customers und seit Juni 2016 zusätzlich Leiter des Bereiches Digital Enterprise Solutions. Nicolas Fulpius verfügt über einen MBA der Universität St. Gallen und promovierte an der Stanford University in Ingenieurwissenschaften.




Mehr zum Thema