Digitalised-hospital-2027

Hospital efficiency

«We are putting all our effort into pursuing this vision»


The University Hospital of Zurich (UHZ) isn’t waiting for digitisation, it is driving it. This isn’t only for economic reasons, says Martin Matter, ICT director and member of hospital management.


Text: Roger Welti, Images: © Giorgia Müller, 21. August 2017




The «Digitisation of the health sector» is currently a hot topic. What’s it like being at the forefront of this transformation?


In comparison to other sectors, such as banking and industry, this transformation is only occurring with a few years’ delay in the health sector. This means it is currently proceeding with the corresponding dynamism. However, using IT to optimise hospital processes is nothing new. We’ve been doing this since we’ve had IT at the hospital.


Why do hospitals have more experience with this than other players in the health sector?


For a start, the potential we have is greater than average. At the hospital, we maintain round-the-clock operations for 365 days a year  and with maximum availability. This means that there are an enormous number of processes that are also being performed without interruption. The potential to keep questioning these procedures and continue improving them is correspondingly large.



«In the hospital, there are an enormous number of processes that are also being performed without interruption. The potential to continue improving them is correspondingly large.» (Martin Matter)


In order to save costs?


That is the second aspect. As a hospital, we need to operate between our obligation to provide services, and the list of tariffs defined for these services. We have correspondingly little room to influence the profits we make. Increasing the efficiency of our processes is just about the only leverage we have. And we exploit it too.


Has the federal law on electronic patient records (EPDG), which has been in force since last spring, been a catalyst for these efforts?


Yes, it certainly has. In the past, we concentrated on optimising our processes within the hospital. We're now dealing with a whole different dimension, and that’s why we’ve built up better networks between service providers and have now standardised, and thereby simplified, work processes.

Part of the largest eHealth project in Switzerland

The UHZ is one of the hospitals leading the way in shaping the establishment of the largest eHealth platform in Switzerland. Under the umbrella of the Axsana trustees and together with Swisscom Health, the cantons of Zurich and Bern are setting up a networking platform to allow use of electronic patient records and to structure data communication between service providers efficiently. The UHZ has been involved in this ground-breaking national eHealth project since the very beginning.


«Increasing the efficiency of our processes is just about the only leverage we have. And we exploit it too.»



Are you confident that this effect will bear fruit?


We are pursuing this vision with all our energy. However, no-one can currently say how quickly the desired effects will materialise. What is clear: Increases in efficiency must result in additional costs. The start-up funds totalling CHF 30 million provided by the federal government are unlikely to be sufficient. How further financing will proceed is currently being examined in different projects.



«In order for EPD to be successful, it is essential that patients’ experiences convince them of the benefits of eHealth in their everyday lives.» (Martin Matter)


The UHZ is actively working on the implementation of the EPDG despite this uncertainty. Why is it taking on this role?


With 44 clinics and institutes, we are the largest hospital in the Zurich canton. In 2016, we treated approximately 41,000 inpatients and counted more than 570,000 outpatient visits. If we exploit the potential for optimising administrative processes, this will have corresponding large effects. We intend to benefit from this as quickly as possible. That’s why it was immediately clear to hospital management that we shouldn’t wait until the EPDG has been implemented, and instead should lead the way.


What, specifically, are you promising?


We want to work together with other service providers to break down administrative barriers, which will allows us to make better use of UHZ capacity. Today we have bilateral agreements with all partners, for example. In the future, we will be able to structure administrative cooperation in an association comprised of all Swiss service providers. This will make us faster and will increase efficiency.


Could you provide an example?


Let’s take the discharge of a patient to a rehabilitation clinic. In future, we’ll be able to see at a glance the clinics in which an appropriate placement is available for this patient; we’ll be able to transfer him or her there quickly and in a straightforward manner. This helps us, the rehabilitation clinic and, of course, the patient as well.


Which other ways will the optimisations achieved by eHealth be tangible for patients at the hospital on an everyday basis?


In order for EPD to be successful, it is essential that patients’ experiences convince them of the benefits of eHealth in their everyday lives. This goes beyond the EPD, and is relevant for the hospital’s administrative processes in particular. The patient won’t have to provide basic data every time they go to a hospital, won’t have to wait as long, and will be better informed and better entertained when doing so. We are even considering showing how to get to where they will be treated on our premises by means of their smartphone.


«I think that a 10-year timeline is realistic. At the UHZ we’re likely to have introduced many compelling applications a lot earlier.»



So smart applications should convince patients of the benefits of eHealth?


Exactly. If we don’t succeed in doing so, then we will simply have two systems instead of one. We will tend to find that younger people will be inspired by eHealth, and others who will continue communicating with their doctor and hospital using analogue channels, as they did in the past. That would be very inefficient, and expensive.



Martin Matter, CIO University Hospital of Zurich


And how have the efforts to convince the hospital staff gone?


We are also working on this at the UHZ. We have a special process team that we’re sending around the entire hospital. The group analyses the current processes with teams and individual employees, and suggests optimisations that are now possible thanks to the innovative use of IT. Sometimes employees are a bit sceptical to begin with. However, once they experience how much easier it makes things, they are soon enthusiastic about it. We have, for example, standardised the schedule used to allocate patients to doctors and treatment rooms across all of our 44 clinics for the first time. This makes our daily work noticeably easier in one go.


When will patients and employees be able to experience the full potential of eHealth at the hospital, and be able to use it?


I think that a 10-year timeline is realistic. At the UHZ we’re likely to have introduced many compelling applications a lot earlier. However, it will take some time and persuasion before eHealth prevails throughout the health sector and before patients fully get on the bandwagon. Personally, I find it extremely exciting to experience and help shape this process. And I am fully convinced that the effort will pay off.



Martin Matter


Martin Matter has been the Director of ICT and a member of the UHZ hospital management board since 2014. Matter, who holds a degree in business economics, was responsible for ICT-related topics at Oerlikon Contraves and Sulzer Metco. He then worked for the canton of Aargau, most recently spending five years as the head of IT for Aargau. AT the UHZ, Matter and his team are continuing to develop the hospital’s information technology to ensure that it contributes to the safety and quality of diagnosis and treatment of patients.





More on the topic

Digitalisiertes Spital 2027

Effizienz im Spital

«Wir verfolgen diese Vision mit allen Kräften»


Das Universitätsspital Zürich (USZ) wartet mit der Digitalisierung nicht zu, sondern geht voran. Das hat nicht zuletzt ökonomische Gründe, sagt Martin Matter, Direktor ICT und Mitglied der Spitaldirektion.


Text: Roger Welti, Bilder: © Giorgia Müller, 21. August 2017




Die «Digitalisierung des Gesundheitswesens» ist aktuell in aller Munde. Wie erleben Sie an der Front diese Transformation?


Das Gesundheitswesen erlebt diesen Wandel gegenüber anderen Branchen wie dem Bankensektor oder der Industrie mit einigen Jahren Verzögerung. Entsprechend gross ist die Dynamik derzeit. Dass im Spital Prozesse mittels IT optimiert werden, ist allerdings nichts Neues. Das machen wir, seit es IT im Spital gibt.


Warum haben Spitäler da mehr Erfahrung als andere Akteure im Gesundheitswesen?


Erstens ist das Potenzial bei uns überdurchschnittlich gross. Im Spital halten wir 365 Tage einen Rund- um-die-Uhr-Betrieb aufrecht – und zwar mit höchster Verfügbarkeit. Es gibt also enorm viele Prozesse, die zudem pausenlos ausgeführt werden. Entsprechend gross ist das Potenzial, diese Abläufe immer wieder zu hinterfragen und zu verbessern.



 «Im Spital gibt es enorm viele Prozesse, die zudem pausenlos ausgeführt werden. Entsprechend gross ist das Potenzial, diese Abläufe immer wieder zu verbessern.» (Martin Matter)


Und damit Kosten zu sparen?


Das ist der zweite Aspekt. Als Spital agieren wir zwischen definiertem Leistungsauftrag und ebenso vorgegebener Tarifliste für diese Leistungen. Der Handlungsspielraum, unsere Erträge zu beeinflussen ist entsprechend klein. Die Effizienz bei unseren Abläufen zu steigern, ist fast der einzige Hebel. Und den nutzen wir natürlich.


Wirkt das seit diesem Frühling geltende Bundesgesetz zum Elektronischen Patientendossier (EPDG) als Katalysator für diese Anstrengungen?


Das tut es sicherlich. Bisher haben wir unsere Prozesse vornehmlich innerhalb des Spitals optimiert. Jetzt geht es um eine neue Dimension, darum, dass wir uns zwischen den Leistungserbringern besser vernetzen und Abläufe standardisieren und damit vereinfachen.

Teil des grössten eHealth-Projektes der Schweiz

Das USZ ist eines der Spitäler, die an vorderster Front den Aufbau der grössten eHealth-Plattform der Schweiz prägen. Unter dem Dach des Trägervereins Axsana und gemeinsam mit Swisscom Health bauen die Kantone Zürich und Bern eine Vernetzungsplattform auf, die den Betrieb des elektronischen Patientendossiers und den effizienten Datenaustausch zwischen Leistungserbringern ermöglichen wird. Das USZ ist seit der ersten Stunde an diesem wegweisenden, überregionalen eHealth-Projekt beteiligt.


«Die Effizienz bei unseren Abläufen zu steigern, ist fast der einzige Hebel. Und den nutzen wir natürlich.»



Sind Sie zuversichtlich, dass dieser Effekt eintreten wird?


Wir verfolgen diese Vision mit allen Kräften. Wie schnell sich die gewünschten Effekte einstellen werden, kann heute aber niemand sagen. Was klar ist: Die Effizienzgewinne dürfen nicht dazu führen, dass zusätzliche Kosten entstehen. Die Anschubfinanzierung des Bundes von 30 Millionen Franken wird da sicher nicht ausreichen. Wie die weitere Finanzierung vonstattengehen soll, wird derzeit in verschiedenen Projekten geprüft.



«Es ist absolut zwingend für den Erfolg des EPD, dass die Patienten den Nutzen von eHealth in ihrem Alltag überzeugend erleben.» (Martin Matter)


Das USZ geht die Umsetzung des EPDG trotz dieser Unsicherheiten aktiv an. Warum diese Rolle?


Wir sind mit 44 Kliniken und Instituten das grösste Spital im Kanton Zürich. 2016 haben wir rund 41'000 Patienten stationär behandelt und über 570'000 ambulante Besuche gezählt. Entsprechend gross ist der Effekt, wenn wir das Potenzial für Prozessoptimierungen in der Administration ausschöpfen. Davon wollen wir so rasch wie möglich profitieren. Darum war es für die Spitaldirektion sofort klar, dass wir bei der EPDG-Umsetzung nicht zuwarten, sondern vorangehen.


Was versprechen Sie sich konkret?


In der Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Leistungserbringern wollen wir administrative Hürden abbauen, um das USZ dadurch noch besser auszulasten. Heute haben wir zum Beispiel mit allen Partnern bilaterale Abkommen. Künftig können wir die administrative Zusammenarbeit im Verbund aller Schweizer Leistungserbringer gestalten. Das macht uns schneller und erhöht die Effizienz.


Können Sie ein Beispiel geben?


Nehmen wir die Entlassung eines Patienten in eine Reha-Klinik. Wenn wir künftig online auf einen Blick sehen, in welchen Kliniken aktuell ein passender Platz für diesen Patienten frei ist, können wir ihn rasch und unkompliziert dorthin überweisen. Das hilft uns, der Reha-Klinik und natürlich auch dem Patienten.


Wie werden Patienten die Optimierung dank eHealth im Spitalalltag sonst noch spüren?


Es ist absolut zwingend für den Erfolg des EPD, dass die Patienten den Nutzen von eHealth in ihrem Alltag überzeugend erleben. Das geht über das EPD hinaus und betrifft im Spital vor allem die administrativen Prozesse. Der Patient wird seine Stammdaten nicht bei jedem Spitalbesuch erneut erfassen müssen, weniger Wartezeiten haben und während diesen besser informiert und unterhalten werden. Wir denken sogar darüber nach, ihm über sein Smartphone den Weg zum Behandlungsort auf unserem Gelände anzuzeigen.


«Ich denke, ein Horizont von 10 Jahren ist realistisch. Im USZ werden wir sicher früher viele überzeugende Anwendungen eingeführt haben.»



Smarte Anwendungen sollen den Patienten also von eHealth überzeugen?


Genau. Gelingt uns das nicht, werden wir statt einem System einfach zwei haben. Wir werden tendenziell jüngere Personen haben, die sich von eHealth begeistern lassen, und andere, die wie gehabt auf analogen Kanälen mit ihrem Arzt und ihrem Spital kommunizieren werden. Das wäre sehr ineffizient und teuer.



Martin Matter, CIO Universitätsspital Zürich


Und wie steht es mit der Überzeugungsarbeit beim Spitalpersonal?


Auch daran arbeiten wir beim USZ. Wir haben eine spezielle Prozessgruppe, die wir im ganzen Spital umherschicken. Die Gruppe analysiert mit Teams und einzelnen Mitarbeitenden die aktuellen Prozesse und schlägt Optimierungen vor, die dank innovativem IT-Einsatz möglich werden. Die Mitarbeitenden sind dabei anfangs manchmal skeptisch. Wenn sie die erzielten Erleichterungen erleben, sind sie aber schnell begeistert. So haben wir zum Beispiel die Disposition von Patienten zu Ärzten und Behandlungsräumen erstmals über alle unsere 44 Kliniken vereinheitlicht. Das macht den Alltag auf einen Schlag merklich einfacher.


Wann werden Patienten und Mitarbeitende das Potenzial von eHealth im Spital in vollen Zügen erleben und auch nutzen können?


Ich denke, ein Horizont von 10 Jahren ist realistisch. Im USZ werden wir sicher früher viele überzeugende Anwendungen eingeführt haben. Bis eHealth aber das gesamte Gesundheitswesen durchdringt und auch die Patienten voll auf den Zug aufspringen, wird es noch etwas Zeit und Überzeugungsarbeit brauchen. Ich finde es persönlich enorm spannend, diese Zeit mitzuerleben und mitgestalten zu können. Und ich bin der festen Überzeugung, dass sich die Anstrengungen lohnen werden.



Martin Matter


Seit 2014 ist Martin Matter Direktor ICT und Mitglied der Spitaldirektion des USZ. Zuvor war der diplomierte Betriebsökonom bei Oerlikon Contraves und Sulzer Metco mit ICT-Themen betraut. Danach war Matter beim Kanton Aargau tätig, zuletzt während fünf Jahren als Leiter Informatik Aargau. Im USZ entwickeln Matter und sein Team die Informationstechnologie des Spitals laufend weiter, so dass sie zur Sicherheit und Qualität der Diagnose und Behandlung der Patientinnen und Patienten beiträgt.





Mehr zum Thema