The electronic patient record tested in practice

Electronic patient record (EPR)

It won’t fail due to the technology


From the middle of 2018, it should be possible to open the first electronic patient records (EPR). The technology for this will be ready. The persons responsible at the Federation have assumed this based on the first comprehensive tests. 


Text: Roger Welti, Bild: Raphael Schaller Photography, ©eHealth Suisse,





A marathon of a different kind took place in the last week of September in Köniz near Bern that involved 1500 metres of cable and 100 starters in 16 teams from 4 countries. Perched together in the same room and with the same goal, they came together to thoroughly test the technology for the electronic patient record (EPR) for the first time.


The more tests, the more you find out

“Projectathon” was the name the organisers gave to the four-day gathering on the premises of the Federal Office of Public Health. The reference to a marathon was altogether justified. IT specialists from different manufacturers needed all their endurance and concentration during the extended tests. There weren’t many breaks either, because they wanted to find out as much as possible in the time available.

 

“We set up and ran the IT infrastructure for a community that will allow an EPR to be opened and enable all defined use cases in the future,” explains Tino Mahn, head of the ten-man team from Swisscom Health. A large number of use cases were then trialled with the teams from other manufacturers. These included authenticating patients or health professionals with absolute certainty, opening and managing records, testing access rights, and transferring documents between parties. In doing so, it was necessary to follow a precisely defined procedure in all cases. “A team of arbitrators monitored the tests and evaluated them,” states Tony Schaller, Technical Project Manager for the Projectathon.

 

The team judged whether the specified standards and what are called integration profiles had been complied with. These IHE profiles describe standards for data exchange in the healthcare sector. Since the standards that are currently available internationally could not fulfil certain requirements of the EPR, specific profiles had to be defined first prior to the Projectathon. Depending on the success of a test, the independent arbitrators judged it as either “verified”, “partially verified” or “failed”.

 

According to Tony Schaller, the main focus was on the interoperability of the systems and the exchange of experiences between the participants, and not the race to get as many tests verified as possible. This is the reason why the organisers did not publish a list of team rankings. And yet, “The number of successful tests is certainly a measure of how advanced our solutions for the EPR already are,” states Tino Mahn.

 

The communities

Digital data from patients relevant to their treatment is stored locally at doctors’ practices, hospitals and other service providers. The electronic patient record (EPR) gives the patients access to this data and allows them to determine who they want to make it accessible to. What are referred to as communities facilitate opening and managing an EPR. These communities are made up of health professionals and their institutions, such as associations or hospitals, and in some cases cantons. As a technology partner for communities, Swisscom is setting up the IT infrastructure required for the EPR in the cantons of Zurich, Schaffhausen, Bern, Solothurn and Basel, and also for the Principality of Lichtenstein.





Swisscom Health as a vehicle for knowledge

The performance by Swisscom Health was very positive. The stability and performance of the eHealth platform which Swisscom Health operates for the EPR was impressive in the 29 tests performed. Thanks to the agility of the team, tiny problems could be rectified on-site, so that the solution could be tested again. The independent judges ranked no less than 26 tests as “verified” and three as “partially verified”. As a result, Swisscom Health was involved in one sixth of all successful tests, and, out of the 16 participating teams, performed well above average. “The quality assurance for our EPR solution clearly achieved its goal,” emphasises Thomas Bähler, Head of eHealth at Swisscom Health. He went on to add, “Throughout the tests, we were clearly seen as a vehicle for knowledge, not only by the organisers, but also by the other participants.”


On the right path to certification

Project Manager Tony Schaller also gave the participants a good report. When one considers how little time the developers must have had from the time the executive right for the federal law on the EPR was published, the standard was high. Schaller is convinced that, “If introducing the EPR fails in the coming year, it will certainly not be because of the technology”.

However, before that happens, the Federation first has to certify the EPR communities. The Projectathon tackled important hurdles that need to be overcome for this to happen. “The good results we achieved in the Projectathon show us and our customers that we are well on the way to achieving certification,” states Thomas Bähler of Swisscom Health. In the coming months, all the participants will continue making progress in developing their solutions. And we may well meet up again in 2018, when the next Projectathon is expected to take place.


The Projectathon


The Federal Office of Public Health (BAG), IHE Suisse and eHealth Suisse held the EPR Projectathon in the last week of September 2017 in Köniz outside Bern. At the event, all stakeholders and organisations were able to test their IT systems interactively and against an EPR reference environment. This enabled them to prepare for the practical deployment of the electronic patient record, also with regard to subsequent certification in line with EPR law.








More on the topic

Das elektronische Patientendossier im Praxistest

Elektronisches Patientendossier (EPD)

An der Technik wird's nicht scheitern


Ab Mitte 2018 sollen erste elektronische Patientendossiers (EPD) eröffnet werden können. Die Technik dafür wird bereit sein. Davon gehen die Verantwortlichen beim Bund nach ersten ausgiebigen Tests aus.


Text: Roger Welti, Bild: Raphael Schaller Photography, ©eHealth Suisse,





Es war ein Marathon der anderen Art, der in der letzten Septemberwoche in Köniz bei Bern stattfand. 1500 Meter Kabel, 100 Starter in 16 Teams aus 4 Ländern. Alle in einem einzigen Raum und mit einem gemeinsamen Ziel: Die Technologie für das elektronische Patientendossier (EPD) erstmals auf Herz und Nieren zu testen.


Je mehr Tests, desto mehr Erkenntnisse

"Projectathon" nannten die Veranstalter die vier Tage auf dem Gelände des Bundesamtes für Gesundheit. Die Anlehnung an einen Marathon war durchaus berechtigt. IT-Spezialisten unterschiedlicher Hersteller brauchten während den ausgiebigen Tests einen langen Atem und ihre ganze Konzentration. Pausen gab es zudem nur wenige, da in der verfügbaren Zeit möglichst viele Erkenntnisse gewonnen werden sollten.

«Wir haben die IT-Infrastruktur einer Stammgemeinschaft aufgebaut und betrieben, die künftig die Eröffnung und alle definierten Anwendungsfälle eines EPD ermöglichen wird», erklärt Tino Mahn, der das zehnköpfige Team von Swisscom Health anführte. Mit den Teams anderer Hersteller wurde dann eine Vielzahl von Use Cases durchgespielt. Unter anderem mussten Patienten oder Gesundheitsfachpersonen zweifelsfrei authentifiziert, Dossiers eröffnet und verwaltet, Zugriffsrechte getestet oder Dokumente zwischen Akteuren übertragen werden. Dabei galt es, nach genau definiertem Ablauf vorzugehen. «Ein Team von Schiedsrichtern überwachte die Tests und wertete diese aus», so Tony Schaller, technischer Projektleiter des Projectathons.

Beurteilt wurde dabei, ob die vorgegebenen Normen und so genannten Integrationsprofile eingehalten wurden. Diese IHE-Profile beschreiben Standards für den Datenaustausch im Gesundheitswesen. Weil gewisse Anforderungen des EPD mit den bisher international verfügbaren Standards nicht erfüllt werden konnten, mussten gewisse Profile vor dem Projectathon erst definiert werden. Je nach Erfolg eines Tests wurde dieser von den unabhängigen Schiedsrichtern als «verified», «partially verified» oder «failed» bewertet.

Im Vordergrund stand gemäss Tony Schaller die Interoperabilität der Systeme und der Erfahrungsaustausch unter den Teilnehmenden – nicht die Jagd nach möglichst vielen bestandenen Tests. Die Veranstalter publizieren daher auch keine Rangliste der Teams. Und trotzdem: «Wie viele Tests wir erfolgreich absolviert haben, ist natürlich ein Gradmesser dafür, wie weit unsere Lösungen für's EPD bereits sind», sagt Tino Mahn.

Die Stammgemeinschaften

Behandlungsrelevante digitale Daten von Patientinnen und Patienten sind dezentral bei Ärzten, in Spitälern und bei anderen Leistungserbringern abgelegt. Über das elektronische Patientendossier (EPD) erhalten die Patienten Zugriff auf diese Daten und bestimmen, wem sie diese zugänglich machen wollen. Die Eröffnung und Verwaltung eines EPD ermöglichen so genannte Stammgemeinschaften, in denen sich Gesundheitsfachpersonen und deren Einrichtungen (z.B. Verbände oder Spitäler) sowie teilweise auch Kantone zusammenschliessen. Swisscom baut als Technologiepartnerin für Stammgemeinschaften in den Kantonen Zürich, Schaffhausen, Bern, Solothurn und Basel sowie für das Fürstentum Lichtenstein die für das EPD notwendige IT-Infrastruktur auf.





Swisscom Health als Know-how-Träger

Die Bilanz von Swisscom Health fällt sehr positiv aus. Die von ihr betriebene eHealth-Plattform für das EPD überzeugte in den insgesamt 29 durchgeführten Tests durch ihre Stabilität und Leistungsfähigkeit. Kleinere Unzulänglichkeiten konnten dank der Agilität des Teams rasch vor Ort behoben und sogleich erneut getestet werden. Insgesamt wurden nicht weniger als 26 Tests von unabhängiger Seite als «verified» beurteilt, drei als «partially verified». Damit war Swisscom Health an einem Sechstel aller erfolgreich absolvierten Tests beteiligt und lag damit bei 16 teilnehmenden Teams weit über dem Durchschnitt. «Die Qualitätssicherung für unsere EPD-Lösung hat ihr Ziel eindeutig erreicht», unterstreicht Thomas Bähler, Leiter eHealth von Swisscom Health. Mehr noch: «Wir wurden während der Tests klar als Know-how-Träger gesehen – und zwar nicht nur von den Veranstaltern, sondern auch von den anderen Teilnehmern.»


Auf gutem Weg zur Zertifizierung

Auch Projektleiter Tony Schaller stellt den Teilnehmern ein gutes Zeugnis aus. Das Niveau sei hoch gewesen, wenn man bedenke, wie wenig Zeit die Entwickler seit Publikation des Ausführungsrechts zum Bundesgesetz über das EPD gehabt hätten. «An der Technik wird die Einführung des EPD im kommenden Jahr ganz bestimmt nicht scheitern», ist Schaller überzeugt.

Bevor es soweit ist, müssen sich die EPD-Stammgemeinschaften aber zuerst vom Bund zertifizieren lassen. Hierfür wurden am Projectathon wichtige Hürden genommen. «Unsere guten Resultate am Projectathon zeigen uns und unseren Kunden, dass wir auf gutem Wege sind zu dieser Zertifizierung», sagt Thomas Bähler von Swisscom Health. In den nächsten Monaten werden alle Teilnehmer weitere Fortschritte in der Entwicklung ihrer Lösungen machen. Und 2018 trifft man sich vielleicht wieder. Denn dann soll es den nächsten Projectathon geben.


Der Projectathon


Das Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG), IHE Suisse und eHealth Suisse haben in der letzten Septemberwoche 2017 in Köniz bei Bern den EPD-Projectathon durchgeführt. Alle interessierten Personen und Organisationen konnten dort ihre IT-Systeme untereinander und gegen eine EPD-Referenzumgebung testen. So konnten sie sich auf den Praxiseinsatz für das elektronische Patientendossier vorbereiten, auch im Hinblick auf eine nachfolgende Zertifizierung gemäss EPDG.





Newsletter

Jetzt Newsletter abonnieren und über Trends, Branchen-News und Benchmarks informiert bleiben.





Mehr zum Thema