Column: How healthy are digitalised hospitals?



Gesünder mit E-Health


Column

Healthier with e-health


Yes, telemedicine, digital hospitals and robotic doctors are good for our health.


Michael Kurzidim (Illustration: Lisa Schweizer), 




Nobody likes being ill. As the famous saying goes, it’s better to be rich and healthy than poor and ill. And nobody would care to contradict this. However, thanks to major advances in medicine, guaranteeing optimal health care is becoming ever more challenging and, unfortu-nately, also increasingly expensive. Will we soon be heading towards class-tiered health care, providing top quality for some and only basic care for others? No. Digital e-health technology will help us gain con-trol of the dilemma between escalating costs and medical quality. Here are three examples.


Telemedicine – the digital GP

Medgate, which has its headquarters in Basel, runs the largest tele-medicine centre in Europe. Patients contact the attending physician by phone, Internet or the video system at more than 200 Swiss pharmacies with their symptoms. Photos – for example of skin or eye changes – are submitted in advance by e-mail or with the help of the Medgate app. One of the one hundred Medgate doctors then pre-pares a diagnosis and discusses therapy suggestions with the patient. Telemedicine services provide real relief in particular for older pa-tients in rural areas who find it difficult to get to the doctor. Medgate now provides up to 4,900 telephone consultations per day.


The digitalised hospital

Cardiance in Pfäffikon is the first fully digitalised cardiac clinic in Swit-zerland. Catheter procedures are performed ambulantly. Many pa-tients prefer to be able to go home after the procedure and recupe-rate in familiar surroundings. The hospital, in turn, can treat more patients as a result. An example from Germany: The Charité hospital in Berlin uses fast analysis technology for cancer treatment. Software compares thousands of patient histories to find the most promising treatment for an individual patient. The Charité has thus successfully squared the circle, as it were. Cancer treatments are becoming both cheaper and more successful.

Michael Kurzidim

has been writing for “Computerworld” for eight years, loves new technologies, and is convinced that technology makes the world a better place. He has been an ICT journalist for 25 years. Michael started off as a software developer and has a Master’s degree in philosophy and German/linguistics. In his private life, he is a pas-sionate cineaste, loves the Swiss mountains and, in the summer months, enjoys spending his time at the swimming pools around lake Zurich. He is also a fan of the German Bundesliga team Borussia Mönchengladbach.


Are we heading towards class-tiered health care, providing top quali-ty for some and only basic care for others? No. Digital e-health tech-nologies will prevent this.


Robotic doctors

Will we all soon be treated by fully automated, robotic doctors? Many patients respond to this with profound fear. Definitely not – I’m not letting any tin can touch me. However, experts admit that robots often operate with greater precision than humans. For example, the medical robot Da Vinci performs kidney surgery as well as colorectal and prostate cancer operations. However, it is controlled by a human. Medical professionals differentiate between robot-assisted surgery and fully automated systems. Robots that perform operations auto-nomously have – so far – failed to catch on.


The digital revolution

The digital revolution is not stopping short of the medical field, and all of us – doctors, hos-pitals, health insurers and patients – can benefit from this. However, this requires all patient data to be available in digitalised form. And that is the fly in the ointment, say those responsible for data protec-tion. To prevent patients from becoming “transparent”, the Swiss parliament has passed a federal law on the electronic patient record, which is to come into force in 2017. Patients will receive complete control of their data and can grant or refuse access rights to doctors, health insurance providers and hospitals. Theoretically, this will enti-rely eliminate data misuse.





Further Focus articles

Meta Navigation

Kolumne: Wie gesund sind digitalisierte Spitäler?



Gesünder mit E-Health


Kolumne

Gesünder mit E-Health


Ja, Telemedizin, digitale Spitäler und Roboterärzte sind gut für unsere Gesundheit. Davon ist unser Autor überzeugt.


Michael Kurzidim (Illustration: Lisa Schweizer), 




Niemand ist gerne krank. Besser reich und gesund als arm und krank, so lautet die gängige Volksweisheit. Keiner wird da widersprechen wollen. Eine optimale Gesundheitsfürsorge zu gewährleisten wird aber, dank gewaltiger Fortschritte in der Medizin, immer anspruchsvoller, und leider auch immer teurer. Steuern wir demnächst auf eine Mehr-Klassen-Medizin zu, Top-Qualität für die einen, Basisversorgung für die anderen? Nein. Digitale E-Health-Technologien werden uns dabei helfen, das Dilemma zwischen ausufernden Kosten und medizinischer Qualität in den Griff zu bekommen. Drei Beispiele.


Telemedizin - der digitale Hausarzt

Medgate mit Hauptsitz in Basel betreibt das grösste telemedizinische Zentrum Europas. Patienten melden sich bei Beschwerden per Telefon, per Internet oder über das Videosystem von über 200 Schweizer Apotheken beim behandelnden Arzt. Fotos etwa von Haut- oder Augenveränderungen werden vorab, entweder via Mail oder mithilfe der Medgate-App, eingesandt. Danach erstellt einer der hundert Medgate-Ärzte zusammen mit dem Patienten die Diagnose und bespricht Therapievorschläge. Besonders für ältere Patienten in ländlichen Regionen, denen der Arztbesuch zu beschwerlich ist, bedeuten telemedizinische Dienste eine echte Erleichterung. Medgate zählt mittlerweile bis zu 4900 Telekonsultationen pro Tag.


Das digitalisierte Spital

Cardiance in Pfäffikon ist die erste voll digitalisierte Herzklinik der Schweiz. Kathetereingriffe werden ambulant durchgeführt. Vielen Patienten ist es angenehmer, nach dem Eingriff nach Hause gehen zu können und in vertrauter Umgebung zu genesen. Das Spital wiederum kann dadurch mehr Patienten versorgen. Ein Beispiel aus Deutschland: Die Charité in Berlin setzt schnelle Analyse-Technologie in der Krebsbehandlung ein. Software vergleicht Tausende von Patientenhistorien und findet dadurch die für einen Einzelpatienten vielversprechendste Therapie. Der Charité gelingt dadurch die berühmte Quadratur des Kreises. Krebsbehandlungen werden gleichzeitig kostengünstiger und erfolgreicher.

Michael Kurzidim

schreibt seit acht Jahren für Computerworld, ist begeistert von neuen Technologien und davon überzeugt, dass Technik die Welt zu einem besseren Ort macht. Er ist seit 25 Jahren ICT-Journalist. Ursprünglich ist Michael Software-Entwickler und hat einen Master in Philosophie und Germanistik/Linguistik. Privat ist er leidenschaftlicher Cineast, liebt die Schweizer Berge und ist im Sommer am liebsten in den Badis am Zürisee. Ausserdem ist er Fan vom Bundesligaclub Borussia Mönchengladbach.


Steuern wir auf eine Mehr-Klassen-Medizin zu, Top-Qualität für die einen, Basisversorgung für die anderen? Nein, dank E-Health-Technologien nicht.


Roboterärzte

Werden wir bald voll automatisiert von Roboterärzten behandelt werden? Viele Patienten reagieren darauf mit einem ausgeprägten Angstreflex. Auf keinen Fall, eine solche Blechbüchse lasse ich nicht an mich heran. Experten aber geben zu, dass ein Roboter oftmals präziser operiert als ein Mensch. Der Medizin-Roboter Da-Vinci etwa führt Nieren-OPs, Darmkrebs- und Prostatakrebs-Operationen durch. Gesteuert wird er allerdings immer noch von einem Menschen. Die Mediziner unterscheiden zwischen roboterassistierter Chirurgie und vollautomatisierten Systemen. Der autonom operierende Roboter hat sich – bislang – noch nicht durchgesetzt.


Die digitale Revolution

Die digitale Revolution macht auch vor der Medizin nicht halt, und wir alle – Ärzte, Spitäler, Krankenkassen und Patienten – können davon profitieren. Voraussetzung dafür ist aber, dass sämtliche Patientendaten in digitalisierter Form vorliegen. Und an dieser Stelle liegt der Hase im Pfeffer, sagen die Datenschützer. Um dem gläsernen Patienten vorzubeugen, hat deshalb das Parlament ein Bundesgesetz zum elektronischen Patientendossier verabschiedet, das 2017 in Kraft treten soll. Die Patientin oder der Patient erhält die volle Kontrolle über die Daten, kann Zugriffsrechte an Ärzte, Krankenkassen und Spitäler vergeben, oder verweigern. Datenmissbrauch ist dadurch – theoretisch – gänzlich ausgeschlossen.





Mehr zum Thema