Pros and cons regarding electronic patient files





Electronic patient dossiers

4 critical questions to Economiesuisse and FMH


How does a health economist and supporter of the electronic patient dossier respond to the critical questions of an FMH representative? And vice versa?


Crafft, 




Electronic patient dossiers are playing a central role in the digitalisation of healthcare. They are therefore the subject of controversial debate. We asked two proponents of different standpoints to put their questions to the other side. The answers reveal clear differences, particularly in the priorities.


Dr. med. Urs Stoffel is a member of the FMH central board and in this capacity is responsible for the subject of e-health. According to Stoffel, many doctors have yet to be convinced of the benefits of the electronic patient dossier. For him, another decisive factor is that the doctors must be reimbursed for maintaining the dossiers.


"Maintenance of the electronic patient dossiers is very time-consuming.”


Dr. med. Urs Stoffel


brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal


Dr. Fridolin Marty is head of health policy at Economiesuisse. In his opinion, the electronic patient dossier brings almost nothing but benefits. On the one hand, the patient data is more complete. On the other, data protection with the new systems will be better than it is today, where a lot of data is sent unencrypted via e-mail.


“Data protection will improve with the electronic patient dossier.”


Dr. Fridolin Marty


brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal


One thing is certain: e-health solutions like the electronic patient dossier offer huge potential. For this to be exploited, doctors, the industry and, not least, the patients must play their part.





Digital health for a healthy Switzerland


Thanks to innovative ICT-based solutions from Swisscom, doctors, hospitals and insurance companies can save valuable time and money. Patients gain an insight into their data and profit from efficient collaboration between their service providers.


Go to the solutions




Further Focus articles

Meta Navigation

Pro und Kontra elektronisches Patientendossier





Elektronische Patientendossiers

4 kritische Fragen an Economiesuisse und FMH


Was antwortet ein Gesundheitsökonom und Befürworter von elektronischen Patientendossiers auf die kritischen Fragen eines FMH-Vertreters? Und umgekehrt?


Crafft, 




Die elektronischen Patientendossiers spielen bei der Digitalisierung des Gesundheitswesens eine zentrale Rolle. Entsprechend kontrovers wird das Thema diskutiert. Wir haben zwei Vertreter von unterschiedlichen Positionen um ihre Fragen an die Gegenseite gebeten. Die Antworten zeigen insbesondere bei den Prioritäten deutliche Differenzen.


Dr. med. Urs Stoffel ist Mitglied des FMH-Zentralvorstandes und dort zuständig für das Thema eHealth. Laut Stoffel müssen viele Ärzte erst noch von den Vorteilen des elektronischen Patientendossiers überzeugt werden. Zudem ist für ihn entscheidend, dass die Ärzte für die Pflege der Dossiers entschädigt werden.


«Die Pflege von elektronischen Patientendossiers ist sehr aufwändig.»


Dr. med. Urs Stoffel


brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal


Dr. Fridolin Marty ist Leiter Gesundheitspolitik bei Economiesuisse. Er sieht im elektronischen Patientendossier fast nur Vorteile. Einerseits seien die Patientendaten vollständiger. Andererseits sei auch der Datenschutz mit den neuen Systemen besser als heute, wo viele Daten unverschlüsselt per E-Mail verschickt würden.


«Der Datenschutz wird besser mit dem elektronischen Patientendossier.»


Dr. Fridolin Marty


brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal


Fest steht: eHealth-Lösungen wie das elektronische Patientendossier bergen ein enormes Potenzial. Damit dieses genutzt werden kann, müssen die Ärzte, die Wirtschaft und nicht zuletzt auch die Patienten ihren Beitrag leisten.





Digital Health für eine gesunde Schweiz


Dank den innovativen ICT-basierten Lösungen von Swisscom sparen Ärzte, Spitäler und Versicherer wertvolle Zeit und Kosten. Patienten bekommen Einblick in ihre Daten und profitieren von der effizienten Zusammenarbeit ihrer Leistungserbringer.

Zu den Angeboten




Mehr zum Thema