Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact
Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact

Swisscom as security services leader

Study: ISG Provider Lens 2020

Cyber security services are in high demand – Swisscom is leading the way

Increasingly complex cyber attacks are just one of the reasons why companies are looking to cyber security services. The study by ISG Provider Lens analysed current trends and Swiss security service providers, and positioned Swisscom as the leading provider of managed security services in Switzerland.

Text: Andreas Heer, image: Adobe Stock

A total of 20,000 security breaches were reported to the FBI in the first half of 2020. This is as many breaches as were reported in all of 2019. The COVID-19 pandemic has resulted in a noticeable increase in cyber attacks. This has also translated to more reports being made to the Swiss National Cyber Security Centre (NCSC, formerly MELANI). The NCSC registered just under 400 incidents at the high point of the pandemic, three times as many as at the beginning of the year.

 

And as if more proof were needed that IT security will continue to be an important topic for companies, the notorious Emotet Trojan became active again in mid-July. These are developments that could cause serious headaches for IT security officers. After all, not only is the number of attacks on the rise, but the attacks themselves are growing increasingly sophisticated. CIOs and CISOs are faced with the task of endlessly adapting their companies’ IT security measures in an attempt to counteract the continually evolving attack patterns. A process that according to the authors of the study ‘ISG Provider Lens: Cyber Security Solutions & Services’ is made more difficult by the fight for a share of tight investment budgets.

Boom in managed security services

The current situation favours the outsourcing of IT security work to cyber security service providers. After all, managed security services (MSS) are calculable and do not require costly investment in IT security equipment or a search for qualified specialists, who are few and far between.

 

In the latest Provider Lens study ‘Cyber Security Solutions & Services’, the international technology research and consulting firm Information Services Group (ISG) compared providers in Switzerland. The criteria included market relevance, portfolio attractiveness, strategy, vision and innovative strength. As was the case in the last study of this kind four years ago, the authors ranked Swisscom as the leading provider of MSS in Switzerland. In addition to a comprehensive range of services, the study also emphasised Swisscom’s proximity to its customers; for example, through its Security Operation Centre (SOC) in Switzerland. According to the authors: ‘Together with its subsidiary United Security Providers, Swisscom has created the largest cyber security competence cluster in Switzerland.’

ISG Quadrant MSS

In addition to the comprehensive MSS, the study also analysed technical services, such as integration and maintenance, and strategic consulting offers. The study considered providers that do not focus solely on their own products and which offer ‘best-of-breed’ solutions. The authors confirmed that Swisscom offers a comprehensive range of products and services and an in-depth understanding of Swiss companies. These factors contributed to the study positioning Swisscom as the leader on the Swiss market in both ‘Strategic Security Services’ and ‘Technical Security Services’.

SOCs in Switzerland offer an advantage

As data protection requirements become stricter as the result of the GDPR, the location of a SOC becomes more important. After all, a company must be able to ensure that the relevant legal requirements are met. Companies subject to the current regulations are not the only ones that benefit from a location in Switzerland. International companies can also benefit from this factor; for example, when they are active in both Switzerland and the EU. This is also true for larger SMEs for which, according to the study, MSS are becoming increasingly attractive.

 

However, the study also says that MSS providers need to stay innovative in order to master the growing complexity of the attacks. And with a helping hand from a ‘digital friend’: in future, artificial intelligence at the cyber defence centre will make it easier to identify cyber attacks – come what may.

Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?



More on the topic:

Login Partner Netzstatus Newsletter Kontakt
Login Partner Netzstatus Newsletter Kontakt

Swisscom als Leader bei Security Services

Studie: ISG Provider Lens 2020

Cyber Security Services sind gefragt – Swisscom als Leader

Immer komplexere Cyberangriffe sind mit ein Grund, weshalb Unternehmen vermehrt nach Cyber Security Services fragen. Die Studie «ISG Provider Lens» hat aktuelle Trends und Schweizer Sicherheitsanbieter analysiert – und positioniert Swisscom als den führenden Anbieter von Managed Security Services in der Schweiz.

Text: Andreas Heer, Bild: Adobe Stock

20'000 Sicherheitsvorfälle wurden dem FBI im ersten Halbjahr 2020 gemeldet. Das sind gleich viele wie im gesamten 2019. Die Corona-Pandemie hat zu einem spürbaren Anstieg der Cyberangriffe geführt. Das schlägt sich auch in den Meldungen beim Nationalen Zentrum für Cybersicherheit (NCSC, ehemals MELANI) nieder. Knapp 400 Vorfälle registrierte die Sicherheitszentrale auf dem Höhepunkt der Pandemie, drei Mal mehr als noch zu Beginn des Jahres.

 

Und wie wenn es noch einen weiteren Beweis dafür bräuchte, dass IT-Security ein wichtiges Thema für Unternehmen bleibt, so wurde Mitte Juli auch der berüchtigte Trojaner Emotet wieder aktiv. Entwicklungen, die manchem IT-Security-Verantwortlichen Kopfzerbrechen bereiten dürften. Denn nicht nur steigt die Zahl der Attacken, sie werden auch immer ausgeklügelter. Den CIOs und CISOs stellt sich die Daueraufgabe, die IT-Security-Massnahmen in ihren Unternehmen auf die stetig wandelnden Angriffsmuster auszurichten. Ein Vorgang, der gemäss den Autoren der Studie «ISG Provider Lens: Cyber Security – Solutions & Services» durch den Kampf um die knappen Investitionsbudgets erschwert wird.

Managed Security Services im Aufwand

Die aktuelle Situation begünstigt die Auslagerung von IT-Security-Aufgaben an Cyber Security Services Provider. Denn Managed Security Services (MSS) sind kalkulierbar und erfordern keine hohen Investitionen in IT-Security-Equipment und in die Suche nach raren Spezialisten.

 

Das international tätige Technologieforschungs- und Beratungsunternehmen Information Services Group (ISG) hat in der aktuellen Provider-Lens-Studie zum Thema «Cyber Security – Solutions & Services» verschiedene Anbieter in der Schweiz verglichen. Kriterien waren etwa Marktrelevanz, Breite und Tiefe des Portfolios, Strategie und Vision sowie der Innovationsgrad. Und wie schon bei der letzten derartigen Studie vor vier Jahren stuften die Autoren Swisscom als die führende Anbieterin von Managed Security Services in der Schweiz ein. Neben einem umfassenden Dienstleistungsangebot hebt die Studie auch die Kundennähe hervor, etwa mit den Security Operations Center in der Schweiz. Und, so die Autoren: «Zusammen mit der Tochterfirma United Security Providers bildet Swisscom den grössten Cybersecurity-Kompetenzcluster der Schweiz.»

ISG Quadrant MSS

Neben den umfassenden Managed Security Services untersuchte die Studie auch technische Dienstleistungen wie Integration und Wartung und strategische Beratungsangebote. Berücksichtigt wurden dabei Anbieter, die sich nicht nur auf eigene Produkte fokussieren und «Best of Breed»-Lösungen anbieten. Dabei attestierten die Autoren Swisscom ein umfassendes Angebot und ein tiefes Verständnis für die Bedürfnisse von Schweizer Unternehmen. Diese Faktoren trugen mit dazu bei, dass die Studie Swisscom bei den «Strategic Security Services» und «Technical Security Services» ebenfalls als Leader im Schweizer Markt positioniert.

SOC mit Standort Schweiz als Vorteil

Mit den verschärften Datenschutzbestimmungen wie beispielsweise der DSGVO gewinnt der Standort eines SOC an Bedeutung. Denn die gesetzlichen Vorgaben müssen garantiert eingehalten werden. Vom Standort Schweiz profitieren also nicht nur Unternehmen, die hiesigen Regulatorien unterliegen. Auch internationale Firmen können davon profitieren, etwa, wenn sie in der Schweiz und in der EU tätig sind. Ebenso grössere KMU, für die gemäss der Studie MSS vermehrt interessant werden.

 

Um die zunehmende Komplexität der Angriffe zu bewältigen, müssen die MSS-Provider aber innovativ bleiben, so die Studie. Und einen «digitalen Freund» zu Hilfe nehmen: Künstliche Intelligenz sorgt im künftigen Cyber Defense Center dafür, dass Cyberattacken besser erkannt werden – komme, was wolle.

Newsletter

Möchten Sie regelmässig spannende Artikel und Whitepaper zu aktuellen ICT-Themen erhalten?



Andere Leser interessierte auch: