Work-Sport Balance in the Office

Work Smart

World championship skiing as a team event in the office


The skiing world championship delights sports fans but is a headache for IT and HR management. Occupational psychologists recommend using this major event as an opportunity to strengthen team culture within the company.


Jörg Rottweiler,




While the skiing world championship 2017 delights sports fans for two weeks and live streaming portals report record traffic figures – many HR and IT managers are walking through the office red-faced with frustration as they work out how to get a handle on sport-loving employees. As a survey shows, there is no panacea for this. The range of solutions ranges from great freedom to blocking – such as in major banks, the SBB and in many municipal and cantonal administrative offices. For example: “TV and video streams are blocked on the proxies of the city of Zurich for capacity reasons with only a few exceptions such as for communications staff,” explains Martin Otzenberger, Communications Manager, Organisation and IT, Zurich.


Networks at the limit

It's understandable. What could happen if users overdo it with streaming could be seen on 23 January 2014 when the networks of the St. Gallen cantonal administration and federal government nearly collapsed during an Australian Open match featuring Stan Wawrinka.


Despite this, the Federal Office for IT and Telecommunications is not planning on blocking streaming during the skiing world championship. “We'll monitor the load on the internet connections and intervene if the traffic load is impairing work. Otherwise the Federal Office for IT and Telecommunications issues no rules on Internet surfing. That is left to the individual administration units,” explains Sonja Uhlmann-Haenni, Director of Managerial Staff and Media Spokesperson at the Federal Office for IT and Telecommunications.

Public screening in the office: The legal situation

For public screenings in a private setting, it is sufficient if the private TV reception is registered with Billag Ltd.
A copyright fee is due outside of such private settings, for example in the office. This is regarded as having been paid if the company is registered with Billag Ltd for commercial TV reception and the screen diagonal is a maximum of three metres. Companies only intending to make such a screen available for the skiing world championship can enjoy the events live and legally with the public screening package from Swisscom.

Application examples
& functions


“We don't make any restrictions, we simply appeal to common sense. This has proven to work in the past.”


Daniel Piazza, Director of Company Communications (Central Swiss Power Stations)


Advantage for sporty superiors

Many companies such as Central Swiss Power Stations take a “sporty” approach to the skiing world championships. Daniel Piazza, Director of Company Communications: “We don't make any restrictions, we simply appeal to common sense. This has proven to work in the past.”


PwC Switzerland goes one step further. The company has enjoyed great success with its streaming infrastructure that is primarily used for internal communications and enables the simultaneous distribution of audio-visual communications to all 3,000 employees at 15 locations in Switzerland and Liechtenstein. Claudia Sauter, Head of PR & Communications: “It's taken on an exciting, encouraging life of its own. Many teams and entire locations organise public screenings for these communications and this helps boost team spirit.”


Carpe diem

Work psychologists know this effect. Prohibitions cause a lot of frustration and are difficult to implement – anybody who wants to follow the world championship can do so on their own smartphone. Instead public screenings promote internal networking, motivation and loyalty among employees. Therefore it can be worth using the skiing world championship 2017 as a test lab and finding out if public screening in your company aids team spirit. There has never been a better opportunity. As most decisions are taken between 12:00 and 14:00, the possible loss of working time is not too drastic. And the copyright fees for public screenings in the workplace are also not too high.




More on the topic

Skirennen im Büro

Work Smart

Ski-WM als Team-Event im Büro


Die Ski-WM freut den Sport-Fan, bereitet dem IT- und HR-Management aber Kopfschmerzen. Arbeitspsychologen empfehlen indes, den Grossanlass zur Stärkung der firmeninternen Teamkultur zu nutzen.


Jörg Rottweiler,




Wenn während der Ski-WM 2017 zwei Wochen lang das Sportfieber grassiert, vermelden Live-Streaming-Portale Rekordauslastungen – und viele HR- und IT-Verantwortliche laufen mit roten Köpfe durch die Büros und überlegen, wie man allzu sportbegeisterte Mitarbeitende zügeln kann. Patentrezepte dazu gibt es nicht, wie eine Umfrage zeigt. Die Palette reicht von grosser Freiheit bis zur Sperrung – etwa bei Grossbanken, der SBB und in vielen Kantons- und Stadtverwaltungen. Beispielsweise sind «TV/Video-Streams auf den Proxies der Stadt Zürich mit wenigen Ausnahmen, etwa für Kommunikationsfachleute, aus Kapazitätsgründen gesperrt», erklärt Martin Otzenberger, Kommunikationsleiter Organisation und Informatik Zürich.


Netzwerke am Limit

Verständlich. Denn was passiert, wenn es die User beim Streaming übertreiben, zeigte sich am 23. Januar 2014, als während des Australien-Open-Matches von Stan Wawrinka die Netzwerke der Kantonsverwaltung St. Gallen und des Bundes fast kollabierten.


Trotzdem plant das Bundesamt für Informatik und Telekommunikation (BIT) keine Streamingsperre während der Ski-WM. «Wir werden die Auslastung der Internetverbindungen beobachten und einschreiten, wenn die Verkehrslast zu Arbeitsbeeinträchtigungen führt. Ansonsten erlässt das BIT keine Vorgaben zum Umgang mit Internet-Surfing. Dies ist den einzelnen Verwaltungseinheiten überlassen», erklärt Sonja Uhlmann-Haenni, Leiterin Direktionsstab und Mediensprecherin BIT.

Public Viewing im Büro: Die Rechtslage

Für PV im privaten Rahmen genügt es, wenn der private TV-Empfang bei der Billag angemeldet ist.
Ausserhalb der Privatsphäre – etwa im Büro – ist eine Urheberrechtsvergütung fällig. Diese gilt als bezahlt, wenn die Firma bei der Billag für den gewerblichen (kommerziellen) TV-Empfang angemeldet ist und die Diagonale der Bildfläche maximal drei Meter beträgt. Firmen, die nur während der Ski-WM eine solche Bildfläche zur Verfügung stellen möchten, sind mit dem PV-Paket der Swisscom live und legal mit von der Partie.

Anwendungsbeispiele
& Funktionen


«Wir schränken nicht ein, appellieren an den gesunden Menschenverstand. Das hat sich bewährt.»


Daniel Piazza, Leiter Unternehmenskommunikation bei CKW


Vorteil für sportliche Vorgesetzte

Auch viele Unternehmen, etwa die Centralschweizerischen Kraftwerke (CKW), gehen die Ski-WM «sportlich» an. Daniel Piazza, Leiter Unternehmenskommunikation: «Wir schränken nicht ein, appellieren an den gesunden Menschenverstand. Das hat sich bewährt.»


Noch einen Schritt weiter geht PwC Schweiz. Das Unternehmen feiert mit seiner Streaming-Infrastruktur, die primär der internen Kommunikation dient und die simultane Verteilung audiovisueller Kommunikationen an alle 3000 Mitarbeitenden an 15 Standorten in der Schweiz und Liechtenstein erlaubt, grosse Erfolge. Claudia Sauter, Head of PR & Communications: «Es haben sich spannende, erfreuliche Eigendynamiken entwickelt: Viele Teams und ganze Standorte organisieren eigenständig Public Viewings zu diesen Kommunikationen – was den Teamgeist fördert.»


Die Gunst der Stunde nutzen

Ein Effekt, den Arbeitspsychologen kennen. Verbote erzeugen viel Frust und sind überdies kaum durchsetzbar: Wer die WM live verfolgen will, kann dies auch auf dem privaten Smartphone tun. Dagegen fördert das gemeinschaftliche Mitfiebern vor dem Bildschirm interne Vernetzung, Motivation und Loyalität der Mitarbeitenden. Daher könnte es sich lohnen, anhand des «Testlabors» Ski-WM 2017 herauszufinden, ob Public Viewing auch im eigenen Unternehmen Vorteile für die Teamkultur bringen kann. Die Gelegenheit ist günstig wie nie. Da die meisten Entscheidungen zwischen 12 und 14 Uhr stattfinden, hält sich der mögliche Arbeitsausfall in Grenzen. Und auch die Urheberrechtsvergütung für Public Viewing am Arbeitsplatz kostet nicht die Welt.






Wie gehen Sie mit dem Kulturwandel um?


Um den Kulturwandel in Ihrem Unternehmen mühelos zu bewältigen, bietet das Work Smart Coaching Team von Swisscom Beratung und Begleitung an.

Mehr erfahren




Mehr zum Thema