Work Smart in the Federal Office of Information Technology

The BIT is a pioneering new ways of working

How Work Smart works


The Federal Office for IT and Telecommunications is a trailblazer in new ways of working within the Federal Administration. Work Smart coaching is an important element on the path to the future world of work.


Text: Urs Binder, images: © Manuel Zingg,





“Work Smart” is a part of everyday life for Carlo Dietiker. The man in charge of customer and quotation management at the Federal Office for IT and Telecommunications (BIT) does not even have his own office: “My office is a rucksack, a laptop, a smartphone and a wireless mouse”, explained Dietiker, who fulfils the role of Vice-Director at the BIT. He is very keen on flexible working and actively drives the conversion of the Federal Administration to new ways of working. He does this completely in line with the Federal Administration's “Mobile Working” partial strategy: While the Federal Personnel Office (EPA) is taking care of general conditions under labour law, in its capacity as the internal ICT provider for the Federal Administration as a whole, the BIT should provide the computer equipment – starting with the BIT itself.


Coaching in Skype for Business

A key prerequisite for the introduction of new ways of working is a standardised communications platform. To that end, the BIT uses Skype for Business. The solution is already widely used. According to Dietiker, hundreds of thousands of sessions take place within the Federal Administration each week. The Work Smart coaching provided by Swisscom is equally responsible for ensuring a high rate of acceptance: Making use of the reverse mentoring principle, Swisscom trainees acting in the capacity of “Work Smart Specialists” showed BIT employees how they could put Skype for Business to good use on an everyday basis within their workplace.


The new generation is coming

“The average age at the BIT is around 45. That is not necessarily the age group that will adopt new ways of working on their own initiative”, stated Dietiker. However, this is definitely not the case with younger employees, particularly trainees belonging to the Millennial Generation: “The youth of today exchange views in group chats, get solutions from YouTube, are used to working with one another and generally use completely different methods and tools.”



It therefore makes sense to also make use of reverse mentoring in our own organisation. “Swisscom has young Work Smart Specialists, and I wanted the same for the BIT.” Around a dozen BIT trainees were given the opportunity to attend two workshops to learn about the working culture at Swisscom, while at the same time working on specific projects for the BIT. “It really took off”, said Dietiker, “the participants found the workshops to be very good and felt that they had returned full of the Work Smart spirit.” It is expected that, in the future, they will bring this enthusiasm for the new world of work to older employees, as well as providing in-house training to further trainees to enable them to become ambassadors. Carlo Dietiker expects this to result in improvements in efficiency – and the BIT will be able to position itself as an attractive employer for young talent.

The BIT

The Federal Office for IT and Telecommunications is the ICT provider for the whole of the Federal Administration. In 2016, its contract volume amounted to 430 million Swiss francs. The BIT employs around 1200 people across two sites, located in Bern and Zollikofen; four fifths of those employees are IT professionals and technicians. The BIT provides its customers with ICT services throughout the entire value chain, from business analysis to operation of the solutions.


“The youth of today exchange views in group chats, get solutions from YouTube and are used to working with one another.”


Carlo Dietiker Head of Customer and Quotation Management, BIT


The ambassadors also play an important role during the establishment of the internal Work Smart community. Together with Work Smart coaches, the use of a digital and physical community is defined – a point of contact for employees that provides expertise and support with regard to the new ways of working. Direct consulting with Work Smart experts regarding the simple technical handling of Skype, SharePoint and other such programs is just as much a part of this as an online platform; this could perhaps take the form of a SharePoint workspace with supporting information concerning typical use cases for employees.


“The participants found the workshops to be very good and felt that they had returned full of the Work Smart spirit.”


Carlo Dietiker Head of Customer and Quotation Management, BIT


In addition, like many organisations, the BIT is suffering from a severe case of information overload. “There are a great many different tools in existence, and often we do not know where to find the information we are looking for.” That is why the Management Board tasked Carlo Dietiker with developing a new knowledge and collaboration platform. He wanted to ensure that the younger generation was heavily involved in this.


The sticking point of organisational culture

If you look at the FlexWork phase model used by the University of Applied Sciences and Arts of Northwestern Switzerland, the BIT working environment and ICT equipment are very well positioned. As a result, in the new “Black Pearl” BIT building in Zollikofen, a room concept involving open-plan offices, project rooms and hourly-assignable “think tanks” was implemented. Initial fears concerning privacy and nuisance noise or odours failed to materialise. Job satisfaction, measured by means of regular pulse surveys, has increased.



“However, technology and infrastructure develop significantly faster than culture. It does not stop with the provision of IT equipment and rooms”: this is one of the most important lessons learned from the Work Smart transformation to date. It is necessary to carry out a fundamental discussion of values. For example, this could address the fact that flexible working is equivalent to fixed working hours, regardless of the time and the day of the week. In that sense, as far as Dietiker is concerned, the process has only just begun at the Federal Administration.

 

In the future, the Vice-Director hopes to achieve a widely-supported Work Smart culture, barrier-free access to knowledge in accordance with the open book principle and a less pronounced hierarchy. The result will be a strong feeling of togetherness and, ultimately, improved quality and lower prices for the BIT’s customers. Thanks to Work Smart coaching and the internal Work Smart ambassadors, the foundation has now been laid for this.




Provision of Work Smart coaching at the BIT by Swisscom


  • Co-creation consulting with managers
  • Skype for Business training with floorwalking by Swisscom trainees
  • Training course to enable BIT trainees to become Work Smart ambassadors
  • Imparting of possibilities for new ways of working from a purely technical point of view




More on the topic

Work Smart im Bundesamt für Informatik

Das Bundesamt für Informatik ist Vorreiter für neue Abeitsformen

Wie Work Smart geht


Das Bundesamt für Informatik und Telekommunikation ist in der Bundesverwaltung Vorreiter für neue Arbeitsformen. Work Smart Coaching ist ein wichtiges Element auf dem Weg in die Arbeitswelt der Zukunft.


Text: Urs Binder, Bilder: © Manuel Zingg, 27





Für Carlo Dietiker ist «Work Smart» Alltag. Ein eigenes Büro hat der Leiter Kunden- und Angebotsmanagement des Bundesamts für Informatik und Telekommunikation (BIT) nicht: «Mein Büro ist ein Rucksack, ein Laptop, ein Smartphone und eine kabellose Maus», meint Dietiker, der beim BIT im Rang eines Vizedirektors arbeitet. Er ist begeistert vom flexiblen Arbeiten und treibt die Transformation der Bundesverwaltung hin zu neuen Arbeitsformen aktiv voran. Dies ganz im Sinn der Teilstrategie «Mobiles Arbeiten» des Bundes: Während sich das Eidgenössische Personalamt (EPA) um die personalrechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen kümmert, soll das BIT als interner IKT-Provider für die gesamte Bundesverwaltung die Informatikmittel bereitstellen – angefangen beim BIT selbst.


Coaching für Skype for Business

Ein Grundpfeiler für neue Arbeitsformen ist eine einheitliche Kommunikationsplattform. Das BIT setzt dafür auf Skype for Business. Die Lösung wird bereits rege genutzt. Laut Dietiker finden in der Bundesverwaltung jede Woche hunderttausende Sessions statt. Mitverantwortlich für die gute Akzeptanz ist das Work Smart Coaching von Swisscom: Nach dem Reverse-Mentoring-Prinzip haben Swisscom-Lernende als «Work Smart Specialists» Mitarbeitenden des BIT an ihrem Arbeitsplatz gezeigt, wie sich Skype for Business im Alltag nutzbringend einsetzen lässt.


Die neue Generation kommt

«Der Altersdurchschnitt liegt im BIT bei rund 45 Jahren. Das sind nicht unbedingt die Jahrgänge, die neue Arbeitsformen von sich aus annehmen», hält Dietiker fest. Ganz anders die jüngeren Mitarbeitenden, allen voran die Lernenden der Millennials-Generation: «Die Jungen von heute tauschen sich in Gruppenchats aus, holen sich Lösungen von YouTube, sind sich gewohnt zusammenzuarbeiten und setzen generell ganz andere Methoden und Instrumente ein.»



Es lag deshalb nahe, Reverse Mentoring auch für die eigene Organisation zu nutzen. «Swisscom hat junge Work Smart Specialists und genau das wollte ich fürs BIT auch.» Rund ein halbes Dutzend Lernende des BIT konnten in zwei Workshops die Arbeitskultur bei Swisscom kennenlernen und gleichzeitig konkrete Projekte für das BIT erarbeiten. «Das hat gezündet», sagt Dietiker, «die Teilnehmer fanden die Workshops sehr gut und meinten, sie hätten viel Work Smart Spirit mitbekommen.» Diesen Geist der neuen Arbeitswelt sollen sie künftig den älteren Mitarbeitenden nahebringen und intern weitere Lernende zu Ambassadoren ausbilden. Carlo Dietiker verspricht sich davon einen Effizienzgewinn – und das BIT könne sich als attraktiver Arbeitgeber auch für junge Talente positionieren.

Das BIT

Das Bundesamt für Informatik und Telekommunikation ist der IKT-Provider für die gesamte Bundesverwaltung. Das Auftragsvolumen lag 2016 bei 430 Millionen Franken. An zwei Standorten in Bern und Zollikofen sind rund 1200 Mitarbeitende tätig, davon gegen vier Fünftel Informatiker und Techniker. Das BIT versorgt seine Kunden entlang der kompletten Wertschöpfungskette mit IKT-Dienstleistungen, von der Business-Analyse bis zum Betrieb der Lösungen.


Die Jungen von heute tauschen sich in Gruppenchats aus, holen sich Lösungen von YouTube und sind sich gewohnt zusammen zu arbeiten.»


Carlo Dietiker Leiter Kunden- und Angebotsmanagement, BIT


Die Ambassadoren spielen auch beim Aufbau der internen Work Smart Community eine wichtige Rolle. Zusammen mit Work Smart Coaches wurde der Nutzen einer digitalen und physischen Community definiert – eine Anlaufstelle für die Mitarbeitenden, die Wissen und Unterstützung rund um die neuen Arbeitsformen vermittelt. Direkte Beratung durch Work-Smart-Experten über den blossen technischen Umgang mit Skype, SharePoint & Co. hinaus gehört ebenso dazu wie eine Online-Plattform, etwa in Form eines SharePoint-Workspace mit fördernden Informationen zu typischen Use-Cases der Mitarbeitenden.


«Die Teilnehmer fanden die Workshops sehr gut und meinten, sie hätten viel Work-Smart-Spirit mitbekommen.»


Carlo Dietiker Leiter Kunden- und Angebotsmanagement, BIT


Das BIT leidet wie viele Organisationen zudem an einer überbordenden Informationsflut. «Es existieren viele unterschiedliche Instrumente und oft weiss man nicht, wo die gewünschte Information zu finden ist.» Carlo Dietiker hat von der Geschäftsleitung deshalb den Auftrag erhalten, eine neue Wissens- und Kollaborationsplattform zu entwickeln. Dabei möchte er die junge Generation stark einbinden.


Knackpunkt Organisationskultur

Betrachtet man das FlexWork-Phasenmodell der Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz, steht das BIT punkto Arbeitsumgebung und IKT-Instrumente gut da. So wurde im neuen BIT-Gebäude «Black Pearl» in Zollikofen ein Raumkonzept mit offenen Büros, Projekträumen und stundenweise belegbaren «Think Tanks» konsequent umgesetzt. Anfängliche Ängste bezüglich Privatsphäre, Geräusch- oder Geruchsbelastung haben sich nicht bestätigt. Die Arbeitsplatzzufriedenheit, gemessen mit regelmässigen Puls-Checks, ist gestiegen.



«Aber Technik und Infrastruktur entwickeln sich massiv schneller als die Kultur. Mit der Bereitstellung von Informatikmitteln und Räumen ist es nicht getan», lautet eine Haupterkenntnis aus dem bisherigen Verlauf der Work-Smart-Transformation. Es sei eine grundlegende Wertediskussion nötig. Zum Beispiel darüber, dass flexibles Arbeiten gleichwertig sei wie gestempelte Arbeitszeiten. Und zwar unabhängig von Zeit und Wochentag. Hier stecke die Bundesverwaltung noch in den Anfängen, meint Dietiker.


Für die Zukunft erhofft sich der Vizedirektor eine breit abgestützte Work-Smart-Kultur, hindernisfreien Wissenszugang nach dem Open-Book-Prinzip und eine weniger ausgeprägte Hierarchie. Daraus ergebe sich ein stärkeres Wir-Gefühl und letztlich bessere Qualität und günstigere Preise für die Kunden des BIT. Der Grundstein ist mit dem Work Smart Coaching und den internen Work-Smart-Ambassadoren gelegt.



Work Smart Coaching beim BIT durch Swisscom


  • Co-Creation-Beratung mit Führungskräften
  • Skype-for-Business-Schulung mit Floorwalking durch Swisscom-Lernende
  • Ausbildung von Lernenden des BIT zu Work-Smart-Ambassadoren
  • Vermittlung der neuen Arbeitsmöglichkeiten über die rein technischen Aspekte hinaus





Newsletter

Jetzt Newsletter abonnieren und über Trends, Branchen-News und Benchmarks informiert bleiben.





Mehr zum Thema