Close more information

Login/account box

  • 🔎

    Global search

    Often searched






Accepting responsibility and taking a positive position

Sustainability has established itself as a long-term trend, also outside of the global warming debate. There are several reasons for this. An example is the quality of the air in major Chinese cities, which demonstrates to impressive effect how an economy that focuses so heavily on resource consumption jeopardises its own long-term development potential. The flip side of the coin is represented by regions that pursue a more cautious environment policy, like Northern Europe, Canada, or Switzerland. These countries rank high not only in matters of quality of life. Compared to less sustainable neighbouring regions, they also experience better economic development, not least because they are attractive places for highly-qualified people to live due to their intact environment.

It also has been discovered in recent years that sustainable business is also worthwhile for individual businesses in several ways. Exercising care in the use of resources and the deployment of new, low-consumption technologies not only reduces energy and raw material costs. On the whole, they result in more efficient processes within the business, for example by reducing travel with the more restrained use of local resources and enabling storage to be optimised. The development of unproductive reserve ICT capacity can be minimised by switching to modern cloud technologies. The sharing economy expands this principle of resource sharing to personal tools like the car.

This makes sustainability a driving force for ongoing optimisation and innovation.

Added to this are positive effects on revenues, because each purchase decision includes an emotional element. Products and services that convey a positive feeling can be positioned in a higher-class segment and achieve better customer loyalty.

Especially among the young generation, sustainability is increasingly becoming a critical sales and recruitment argument. "Digital natives" are adverse to the idea of ruining their and their children's future. They sense a strong need, both in how they work and how they consume, to do something good. Interestingly, surveys have shown that this is not only the case in cities in the developed world, but that this also reflects the wishes and needs of the young generation in the emerging markets of Asia and South America.

The latest developments in communications are intensifying this. Social platforms like Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Xing are used not only to exchange ideas and thoughts but also especially to maintain a person's own image. It's better to not have a bad reputation on these platforms. Friendships and connections with individual persons, organisations and businesses are held in high esteem, however, and these have a positive effect on a person's own standing.

Added to these more or less directly quantifiable factors are the indirect effects of a positive attitude of any given employee towards the company. Sustainability provides – from the simple employee to the CEO – a firm personal sense of attachment that generates commitment beyond the average.

Which challenges do you face with Sustainability?

Your personal contact:

Ms Bigna Salzmann

Corporate Responsibility Manager

Direct telephone number:

+41 58 225 88 70

Establishing home office capability

A secure and user-friendly communications and collaboration infrastructure, including the seamless integration of mobile work resources, enables home office support and other flexible working models.

Cloud storage services

High-availability storage services ensure that employees, business partners and customers can access company data at all times, regardless of the device they are using to access it, and can work together on documents.

Optimising your IT infrastructure

Converged Data Centre Solutions provide businesses with extensive support in developing and optimising their own server, storage and network infrastructure.

Navigation

Login/Benutzerkonto-Feld

Symbolleiste

  • 🔎

    Globale Suche

Sustainability

Sustainability

 

Sustainability

 

Verantwortung übernehmen und sich positiv positionieren



Nachhaltigkeit hat sich - auch unabhängig von der Klimadebatte - als langfristiger Trend etabliert. Das hat mehrere Gründe. Zum einen zeigt beispielsweise die Luftqualität in den chinesischen Metropolen eindrücklich auf, wie eine Wirtschaft, die einseitig auf Ressourcenverbrauch beruht, ihre langfristigen Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten selber in Frage stellt. Auf der Gegenseite stehen Regionen, die eine bewusste Umweltpolitik verfolgen wie Nordeuropa, Kanada oder die Schweiz. Sie rangieren nicht nur in Sachen Lebensqualität weltweit an der Spitze. Sie entwickeln sich im Vergleich mit weniger nachhaltigen Nachbarregionen auch wirtschaftlich besser, weil sie unter anderem dank der intakten Umwelt als Wohnort für Hochqualifizierte attraktiv sind.



Zum anderen hat man in den letzten Jahren gelernt, dass sich ein nachhaltiges Handeln auch für die einzelnen Unternehmen in mehrfacher Hinsicht lohnt. Der bewusste Umgang mit den Ressourcen und der gezielte Einsatz von neuen, sparsamen Technologien senken nicht nur die Energie- und Rohstoffkosten. Sie führen in den Unternehmen ganz grundsätzlich zu effizienteren Abläufen, indem zum Beispiel durch die bewusste Nutzung lokaler Ressourcen Fahrten reduziert und die Lagerhaltung optimiert werden können. Der Aufbau von unproduktiven ICT-Reservekapazitäten lässt sich durch die Umstellung auf moderne Cloud-Technologien minimieren. Die Sharing Economy weitet dieses Prinzip des Ressourcenteilens auf Gebrauchsgegenstände des persönlichen Lebens wie das Auto aus.



Nachhaltigkeit wird damit zu einer treibenden Kraft für die dauernde Optimierung und für Innovation.


Dazu addieren sich positive Auswirkungen auf die Umsätze, denn jeder Kaufentscheid beinhaltet eine emotionale Komponente. Produkte und Dienstleistungen, die ein positives Gefühl vermitteln, können in einem höherwertigen Segment positioniert werden und bewirken eine bessere Kundenbindung.



Speziell für die junge Generation wird Nachhaltigkeit immer mehr zu einem massgebenden Verkaufs- und Rekrutierungsargument. Die sogenannten Digital Natives wollen sich und ihren Kindern die Zukunft nicht verbauen. Sie haben vielmehr ein starkes Bedürfnis, sowohl mit ihrer Arbeit als auch mit ihrem Konsum etwas Sinnvolles zu tun. Interessanterweise zeigen Umfragen, dass dies nicht nur in den Städten der entwickelten Welt gilt, sondern genauso die Wünsche und Bedürfnisse der jungen Generation in den aufstrebenden Volkswirtschaften Asiens und Südamerikas reflektiert.



Zusätzlich verstärkend wirken sich dabei die jüngsten Entwicklungen im Kommunikationsbereich aus. Auf sozialen Plattformen wie Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin oder Xing wird neben dem Gedankenaustausch vor allem auch das eigene Image gepflegt. Mit einem schlechten Ruf verbindet man sich dabei lieber nicht. Hoch im Kurs stehen dagegen Freundschaften und Verlinkungen mit Einzelpersonen, Organisation und Unternehmen, die positiv auf das eigene Prestige ausstrahlen.



Zu diesen mehr oder weniger direkt messbaren Faktoren kommen die indirekten Auswirkungen einer positiveren Einstellung jedes einzelnen Mitarbeitenden zum Unternehmen. Nachhaltigkeit liefert - vom einfachen Angestellten bis zum CEO - eine solide persönliche Sinnbasis für ein überdurchschnittliches Engagement.




Welche Herausforderung haben Sie im Bereich Sustainability?



Ihr persönlicher Kontakt:

Frau Bigna Salzmann

Corporate Responsibility Manager

Direkte Telefonnummer:

+41 58 225 88 70




Home Office etablieren

Eine sichere und nutzerfreundliche Kommunikations- und Collaboration-Infrastruktur inklusive der nahtlosen Einbindung der mobilen Arbeitsmittel ermöglicht Home Office und andere flexible Arbeitsmodelle.


Cloud-Storage-Services

Hochverfügbare Storage-Services stellen sicher, dass Mitarbeitende, Partner und Kunden jederzeit unabhängig vom Zugangsgerät auf Unternehmensdaten zugreifen und gemeinsam an Dokumenten arbeiten können.


IT-Infrastruktur optimieren

Converged Data Center Solutions unterstützen Unternehmen umfassend im Aufbau und in der Optimierung ihrer eigenen Server-, Storage- und Netzwerkinfrastruktur.