Expert interview

Modalek demands: Get back control!

The video interview makes it clear that cloud technologies can do more than just save costs. They deliver speed and flexibility – and they allow companies to regain control of their data. It is a unique opportunity for CIOs.

Daniel Meierhans

The cloud cannot be locked out of companies – if the internal IT department does not provide useful answers to the employees’ and business units’ requirements, they will simply set up “shadow IT”. Eduard Modalek is convinced that, when it comes to the cloud, for companies the issue is ultimately the need to regain control of their data. In a video interview, the Swisscom cloud expert explains how this can be done in practice, what opportunities the digitisation opens up for CIOs and how three hundred developers can create two hundred applications in just five weeks.

Swisscom offer

Gain an overview here:

Agile IT

Eduard Modalek

Eduard Modalek is responsible for business development for the new Swisscom cloud. For twenty years, he has held various management roles in the IT and consulting sector and is involved with topics such as cloud, ASP, mobility and Internet technologies. Previously, he studied telecommunications technology and business administration.

Further Focus articles

Column by Andreas Von Gunten

The cloud computing rift

Many believe that there is only a small difference between cloud computing and classic IT – a fatal misjudgement.

Title topic “ICT and innovation”

In competition with their own mentality

Speed instead of quality and reliability. Swiss companies are finding the changing market priorities difficult to deal with.

An interview with Sylvère Leu

«Customers don’t want innovation»

At Meyer Burger, Sylvère Leu steers the innovation capability. He does not personally chase every new development.

Experten-Interview

Modalek fordert: Get back control!

Das Video-Interview macht deutlich: Cloud-Technologien können mehr als Kostensparen. Sie bringen Geschwindigkeit und Flexibilität – und sie ermöglichen es den Unternehmen, die Kontrolle über ihre Daten zurückzuerhalten. Für die CIO ist das eine einmalige Chance.

Daniel Meierhans

Die Cloud lässt sich nicht aus den Unternehmen aussperren: Wenn die interne IT keine brauchbaren Antworten auf die Bedürfnisse der Mitarbeitenden und der Business Units bietet, bauen diese einfach eine Schatten-IT auf. Beim Thema Cloud geht es für die Unternehmen deshalb nicht zuletzt auch darum, die Kontrolle über ihre Daten zurückzuerhalten, ist Eduard Modalek überzeugt. Im Video-Interview erklärt der Cloud-Experte von Swisscom, wie das in der Praxis gelingen kann, welche Chancen die Digitalisierung für CIOs eröffnet und wie dreihundert Entwickler in nur fünf Wochen zweihundert Applikationen fertigstellen können.

Whitepaper zu Agile IT

Kürzere Time-to-Market, neue Geschäftsmodelle und die zunehmend digitale Kommunikation fordern Flexibilität, Zuverlässigkeit und Skalierbarkeit der IT.

Whitepaper herunterladen

Swisscom Angebot

Hier erhalten Sie den Überblick:

Agile IT

Eduard Modalek

Modalek verantwortet das Business Development für die neue Swisscom Cloud. Seit zwanzig Jahren hat er verschiedene leitende Funktionen in der IT- und Beratungsbranche inne und beschäftigt sich mit Themen wie Cloud, ASP, Mobilität und Internet-Technologien. Zuvor studierte er Nachrichtentechnik und Betriebsökonomie.

Weitere Fokusartikel

Kolumne von Andreas Von Gunten

Der Cloud-Computing-Graben

Viele denken, der Unterschied zwischen Cloud und klassischer IT sei ein kleiner – eine fatale Fehleinschätzung.

Titelthema «ICT und Innovation»

Im Wettbewerb gegen die eigene Mentalität

Geschwindigkeit statt Qualität und Zuverlässigkeit. Schweizer Unternehmen tun sich schwer mit den veränderten Marktprioritäten.

Im Gespräch mit Sylvère Leu

Kunden wollen keine «Innovationen»

Bei Meyer Burger lenkt Sylvère Leu die Innovationsfähigkeit. Persönlich jagt er nicht jeder Neuentwicklung hinterher.