An interview with Sylvère Leu

“Customers don’t want innovation”

As the Chief Innovation Officer of Meyer Burger, Sylvère Leu actively steers the innovation capability of the technology group, which has a focus on the solar industry. Personally, Leu is currently not chasing every new development.

Claudia Bardola

Mr Leu, what is the greatest contradiction with regard to innovation that you have been confronted with on the real market?

In reality, customers don’t want innovations, just to manufacture more powerful products faster and at a lower cost. Innovations are required on our part in order to provide this. A key part of our strategy is therefore to clarify to what extent customers are even prepared to go along with the planned innovations.

 

In what concrete ways has this contradiction expressed itself?

Many years ago, a man from China told me that he couldn’t purchase our systems because our technology cannot be copied. He had no intention of recreating our system, but was afraid of becoming too dependent on us because competitors are not capable of creating comparable technologies.

 

Do it alone or work together wherever possible – what is your approach?

Both are necessary. Today, nobody can be in control of every area at a high level. Even as technology leaders, we need development partners. As a rough estimate, one third of a new development is based on ideas that are derived from collaboration with customers. One third is contributed by external scientific and industrial partners, while we create one third in our own laboratories.

1/4 For the Meyer Burger technology group, which has a focus on the solar industry, development partners are a central factor for enhancing innovation capability.

2/4 Problem solver Leu works a lot and enjoys doing so: “When you put your heart and soul into your work, you do it easily and well.”

3/4 Always with him and much used – innovator Sylvère Leu records flashes of inspiration and creative ideas in his little black notebook.

4/4 Sylvère Leu is available to his company almost 24 hours a day – even during the holidays: “I haven’t been brave enough yet to leave my mobile phone at home. At the same time, it soothes my conscience to have contact with the company, my home base, so to speak, while I’m on holiday.”

1/4 For the Meyer Burger technology group, which has a focus on the solar industry, development partners are a central factor for enhancing innovation capability.

And how do you personally handle technical innovation? Do you have all the latest gadgets and smartphones, or do you prefer an old mobile phone and paper diary?

I no longer own a paper diary, but to be honest I don’t participate in every new development and innovation, but use my devices for a relatively long time. Partly for ecological reasons, but also partly so that I am not constantly having to learn new things..

 

Who is Mr Leu, the manager?

Networked, but at the same time adapted to the situation.

«Many years ago, a man from China told me that he couldn’t purchase our systems because our technology cannot be copied.»

So how do you approach new challenges?

I am the analytical type, who always tries to understand things first. Afterwards, I have to try them out to see what and how something actually works. For example, after four years as an electrical engineer, I wanted to understand the economic side of production better, so I completed an additional course of studies in economics at the HSG Saint Gall University. At Zurich Technical University (ETH), one learns to think convergently – a change to the system has a specific effect. Business managers, on the other hand, think divergently. They run through as many versions as possible in order to assess the spectrum of possible effects. I find such differences fascinating..

 

You sound like a born problem solver.

Yes, and that’s why I can’t imagine working outside the innovation area. I find a great deal of excitement and satisfaction in finding precisely the moment at which an idea gels and needs to be implemented.

Further Focus articles

Expert interview

Get back control!

In the video, Swisscom cloud expert Eduard Modalek demands greater data control instead of shadow IT for companies.

Column by Andreas Von Gunten

The cloud computing rift

Many believe that there is only a small difference between cloud computing and classic IT – a fatal misjudgement.

Title topic “ICT and innovation”

In competition with their own mentality

Speed instead of quality and reliability. Swiss companies are finding the changing market priorities difficult to deal with.

Im Gespräch mit Sylvère Leu

«Kunden wollen keine Innovationen»

Als Chief Innovation Officer von Meyer Burger lenkt Sylvère Leu aktiv die Innovationsfähigkeit der auf die Solarindustrie fokussierten Technologiegruppe. Persönlich jagt Leu derweil nicht jeder Neuentwicklung hinterher.

Claudia Bardola

Herr Leu, welches ist der grösste Widerspruch in Sachen Innovation, mit dem Sie in der Marktrealität konfrontiert sind?

Eigentlich wollen Kunden ja keine Innovationen, sondern nur schneller und günstiger leistungsfähigere Produkte herstellen können. Innovationen sind auf unserer Seite nötig, um ihnen das bieten zu können. Ein wichtiger Teil unserer Strategie ist es darum, abzuklären, inwieweit die Kunden überhaupt bereit sind, die geplanten Innovationen mitzumachen.

 

Wie hat sich denn dieser Widerspruch schon konkret geäussert?

Ein Chinese hatte mir vor Jahren einmal gesagt, er könne unsere Anlagen nicht kaufen, weil man unsere Technologie nicht kopieren könne. Er wollte dabei nicht unsere Anlage nachbauen. Vielmehr hatte er Angst, zu stark von uns abhängig zu sein, weil die Mitbewerber nicht in der Lage sind, vergleichbare Technologien zu entwickeln.

 

Alleine machen oder möglichst zusammenarbeiten: Was ist Ihr Ansatz?

Es braucht beides. Heute kann keiner mehr jedes Teilgebiet auf höchstem Niveau beherrschen. Wir benötigen auch als Technologieführer Entwicklungspartnerschaften. Grob geschätzt verteilt sich der Anteil an einer Neuentwicklung heute zu einem Drittel auf Impulse, die aus der Zusammenarbeit mit den Kunden kommen. Ein Drittel steuern externe wissenschaftliche und industrielle Partner bei und ein Drittel erarbeiten wir in unseren eigenen Labors.

1/4 Für die auf die Solarindustrie fokussierte Technologiegruppe Meyer Burger sind Entwicklungspartnerschaften ein zentraler Faktor zur Erhöhung der Innovationsfähigkeit.

2/4 Problemsolver Leu arbeitet viel und gerne: «Wenn man mit Herzblut bei der Arbeit ist, geht sie einem leicht und gut von der Hand.»

3/4 Immer dabei und vielgenutzt: In seinem kleinem, schwarzen Notizbüchlein hält Innovationsmensch Sylvère Leu Blitzgedanken und kreative Ideen fest.

4/4 Sylvère Leu ist praktisch 24-Stunden für sein Unternehmen erreichbar – sogar in den Ferien: «Ich hatte noch nie den Mut, das Handy zuhause zu lassen. Gleichzeitig beruhigt es mein Gewissen, wenn ich auch im Urlaub Kontakt zur Firma, quasi meiner Homebase, habe.»

1/4 Für die auf die Solarindustrie fokussierte Technologiegruppe Meyer Burger sind Entwicklungspartnerschaften ein zentraler Faktor zur Erhöhung der Innovationsfähigkeit.

Und Sie persönlich, wie handhaben Sie technische Innovation?

Besitzen Sie jeweils die neusten Gadgets und Smartphones, oder setzen Sie eher auf einen alten Quasselknochen und Papieragenda? Eine Papieragenda besitze ich zwar nicht mehr, aber ehrlich gesagt mache ich auch nicht jede Entwicklung und Innovation mit, sondern benutze meine Geräte relativ lange. Zum einen aus ökologischen Gründen, zum anderen auch, um nicht ständig umlernen zu müssen.

 

Wer ist Herr Leu, der Manager?

Vernetzend und gleichzeitig situativ angepasst.

«Ein Chinese hatte mir vor Jahren einmal gesagt, er könne unsere Anlagen nicht kaufen, weil man unsere Technologie nicht kopieren könne.»

Wie packen Sie demnach neue Herausforderungen an?

Ich bin ein analytischer Typ, der zuerst immer versucht, die Dinge zu verstehen. Danach muss ich sie ausprobieren, um zu sehen, was und wie etwas wirklich funktioniert. So wollte ich nach vier Jahren als Elektroingenieur die wirtschaftliche Seite der Produktion besser verstehen und habe darum zusätzlich ein Wirtschaftsstudium an der HSG gemacht. An der ETH lernt man, konvergent zu denken: Eine Änderung im System hat eine bestimmte Wirkung. Betriebswissenschaftler denken demgegenüber divergent. Sie spielen möglichst viele Varianten durch, um das Spektrum der möglichen Wirkungen abschätzen zu können. Solche Unterschiede faszinieren mich.

 

Das klingt nach dem geborenen Problemlöser.

Ja, und deshalb kann ich mir auch nicht vorstellen, ausserhalb des Innovationsbereichs tätig zu sein. Es birgt für mich eine unglaubliche Spannung und Befriedigung, jeweils genau den Moment zu finden, in dem eine Idee eingefroren werden und zur Umsetzung gebracht werden muss.

Weitere Fokusartikel

Experten-Interview

Get back control!

Swisscom Cloud-Experte Eduard Modalek fordert im Video mehr Datenkontrolle statt Schatten-IT für Unternehmen.

Kolumne von Andreas Von Gunten

Der Cloud-Computing-Graben

Viele denken, der Unterschied zwischen Cloud und klassischer IT sei ein kleiner – eine fatale Fehleinschätzung.

Titelthema «ICT und Innovation»

Im Wettbewerb gegen die eigene Mentalität

Geschwindigkeit statt Qualität und Zuverlässigkeit. Schweizer Unternehmen tun sich schwer mit den veränderten Marktprioritäten.