Title topic “ICT and innovation”

In competition with their own mentality

Swiss companies need to accelerate their development processes if they wish to avoid being overtaken by competitors. However, in the IT that is essential for agility, they are extremely conservative.

Daniel Meierhans

In a current study, Franz Brinken, CEO of the machine tool manufacturer Starrag, gets to the heart of the central challenges for the Swiss industry with a tangible comparison: “In Switzerland, the development, production and market launch of a machine takes up to five years. In Asia, these are on the market in a maximum of two years.” As a result, the study “Innovation – reinvented” by the consulting company Deloitte sees Swiss manufacturers as being under pressure. They need to accelerate their innovation processes and have the courage to take risks if they do not want to be overtaken by their global competitors.

 
Speed instead of absolute reliability

With this, Deloitte points out a development that not only affects Switzerland as an industrial location, but all globally active companies – in these markets, which have been increasingly volatile and even more fiercely competitive since the financial crisis, speed is becoming a key success factor. Within five years, a competitor can launch a solution that is perhaps not quite as good, but is less expensive. There is just as great a risk of the requirements changing fundamentally, for example if energy prices decrease or the customer segments in the recipient countries shift.

 

Ultimately, this confronts Switzerland with a mental challenge. Instead of absolute quality and reliability, there is increasing demand for a willingness to take risks and for flexibility. These properties are gaining additional significance because very few companies are still able to produce new products entirely independently. For specific expert knowledge, for example from IT, materials science or the interaction design, specialist development partners need to be consulted.

 

Focus on operations instead of change

The use of IT provides a perfect example of how much Swiss companies struggle with willingness to take risks and openness. “Only around ten percent of Swiss companies are using public cloud computing and even they are using it only to a modest extent. This indirectly shows that only very few companies have a cloud strategy,” observes Michael MacNicholas, Director Technology Advisory at Deloitte in Switzerland. According to the CIO Survey 2013 by Deloitte, in other industrial countries, in contrast, 23 per cent of companies are already using services from the public cloud.

1/4 The agendas of Swiss CIOs are dominated by operating and cost topics. Driving forward new digital business models only comes in fifth place. Internationally, the situation is precisely reversed. (Note: The response options were not exactly identical in the Swiss and international surveys)

2/4 Driving forward digital strategies has a low priority. This directly affects the possibilities available to IT to develop business innovations – the CIOs lack human and material resources.

3/4 Switzerland is among the countries with the highest IT spending per employee. Nevertheless, modern IT techniques are comparatively rarely used. Thus there is a risk – especially when it comes to the cloud – that we will fall behind in the area of innovative business models, too.

4/4 The Swiss CIOs point to data protection and legislation as external factors that are the main reason for the low level of cloud use. This is surprising as, today, many offers address precisely these issues.

1/4 The agendas of Swiss CIOs are dominated by operating and cost topics. Driving forward new digital business models only comes in fifth place. Internationally, the situation is precisely reversed. (Note: The response options were not exactly identical in the Swiss and international surveys)

The low cloud adaptation rate in Switzerland is an expression of a fundamentally more conservative attitude with regard to IT as compared to global competitors. While the CIOs of competitors place their main focus on the ability to implement changes as quickly as possible, in Switzerland maintaining operations is at the top of the priorities list. “However, this is also related to the fact that Swiss companies have built up comparatively high-quality and complex IT with a high degree of individuality,” MacNicholas relativises his statement.

«Instead of absolute quality and reliability, there is increasing demand for a willingness to take risks and for flexibility.»

Wait until drawbacks occur

In the past, Swiss companies have been spared a few overrated hypes with their reserved behaviour. However, now that the Internet of things, the 4.0 industry, big data, mobile commerce, bring your own device and other consumerisation technologies or an abruptly changing business environment are demanding increasingly rapid and, above all, flexible responses, such behaviour could soon become a drawback. According to MacNicholas, the ball is in the management’s court: «As our survey shows, the IT managers themselves would very much like to be active as innovation drivers. However, Swiss managers view IT above all as a service department and, in most cases, still do not fully recognise their innovation potential.»

Challenges in innovation

The study by Deloitte highlights how Swiss companies can react to the increasing pressure to innovate:

«Innovation reinvented»

Agility in IT

Agile IT covers the dimensions of flexibility and quality. Specifically, responses to new challenges should be fast (adapt core processes, continue developing software) and it should be possible to guarantee a high quality standard (fulfilling the functional requirements, service levels).

Agile IT

Further Focus articles

An interview with Sylvère Leu

«Customers don’t want innovation»

At Meyer Burger, Sylvère Leu steers the innovation capability. He does not personally chase every new development.

Expert interview

Get back control!

In the video, Swisscom cloud expert Eduard Modalek demands greater data control instead of shadow IT for companies.

Column by Andreas Von Gunten

The cloud computing rift

Many believe that there is only a small difference between cloud computing and classic IT – a fatal misjudgement.

Titelthema «ICT und Innovation»

Im Wettbewerb gegen die eigene Mentalität

Schweizer Unternehmen müssen ihre Entwicklungsprozesse beschleunigen, um nicht von Mitbewerbern überholt zu werden. In der für die Agilität grundlegenden IT sind sie aber ausgesprochen konservativ.

Daniel Meierhans

Franz Brinken, CEO des Werkzeugmaschinenherstellers Starrag, bringt in einer aktuellen Studie eine der zentralen Herausforderungen der Schweizer Industrie mit einem handfesten Vergleich auf den Punkt: «In der Schweiz dauern Entwicklung, Produktion und Markteinführung einer Maschine bis zu fünf Jahre. Die Asiaten sind in maximal zwei Jahren auf dem Markt.» Die Studie «Innovation – Neu erfunden» des Beratungsunternehmens Deloitte sieht denn auch die Schweizer Hersteller unter Zugzwang. Sie müssen ihre Innovationsprozesse beschleunigen und den Mut haben, Risiken einzugehen, wenn sie nicht von ihren weltweiten Mitbewerbern überholt werden wollen.

 

Geschwindigkeit statt absolute Zuverlässigkeit

Deloitte verweist damit auf eine Entwicklung, die nicht nur den Werkplatz Schweiz, sondern sämtliche international tätigen Unternehmen betrifft: In den seit der Finanzkrise immer volatileren und stärker umkämpften Märkten wird die Geschwindigkeit zu einem entscheidenden Erfolgsfaktor. Innerhalb von fünf Jahren kann ein Konkurrent eine zwar nicht ganz so gute, dafür aber kostengünstigere Lösung lancieren. Ebenso gross ist das Risiko, dass sich die Anforderungen grundsätzlich ändern, etwa wenn die Energiepreise fallen oder wenn sich in den Abnehmerländern die Kundensegmente verschieben. Die Schweiz steht damit nicht zuletzt auch vor einer mentalen Herausforderung. Statt absolute Qualität und Zuverlässigkeit sind vermehrt Risikofreude und Flexibilität gefragt. Diese Eigenschaften gewinnen zusätzlich an Gewicht, weil heute kaum mehr ein Unternehmen neue Produkte vollkommen eigenständig entwickeln kann. Für spezifisches Fach-Know-how, etwa aus der Informatik, den Materialwissenschaften oder dem Interaction Design, müssen spezialisierte Entwicklungspartner miteinbezogen werden.

 

Fokus auf Betrieb statt Veränderung

Wie schwer sich Schweizer Firmen mit Risikofreude und Offenheit tun, zeigt sich exemplarisch im IT-Einsatz. «Nur rund 10 Prozent der Schweizer Unternehmen nutzen bisher Public-Cloud-Computing und auch die nur in einem sehr bescheidenen Umfang. Dies zeigt indirekt, dass die wenigsten eine Cloud-Strategie haben», gibt Michael MacNicholas, Director Technology Advisory von Deloitte in der Schweiz, zu bedenken. In anderen Industrieländern nutzen laut der CIO Survey 2013 von Deloitte demgegenüber bereits 23 Prozent der Firmen Services aus der öffentlichen Cloud.

1/4 Die Agenden der Schweizer CIO werden von Betriebs- und Kostenthemen dominiert. Das Vorantreiben neuer digitaler Business-Modelle kommt erst an fünfter Stelle. International ist das genau umgekehrt. (Zu den Zahlen: Die Antwortoptionen waren für die Schweiz und international nicht genau gleich.)

2/4 Digitale Strategien voranzutreiben hat geringe Priorität. Dies wirkt sich direkt auf die Möglichkeiten der IT aus, Business-Innovationen zu entwickeln: Den CIO fehlen die personellen und materiellen Ressourcen.

3/4 Die Schweiz zählt zu den Ländern mit den höchsten IT-Ausgaben pro Mitarbeitender. Dennoch werden moderne IT-Techniken vergleichsweise wenig genutzt. Damit droht sie – speziell im Cloud-Bereich – auch in Sachen innovative Business-Modelle in Rückstand zu geraten.

4/4 Die Schweizer CIO führen mit dem Datenschutz und der Gesetzgebung einen externen Faktor als Hauptgrund für die geringe Cloud-Nutzung an. Dies überrascht insofern, als dass heute viele Angebote genau diese Fragen adressieren.

1/4 Die Agenden der Schweizer CIO werden von Betriebs- und Kostenthemen dominiert. Das Vorantreiben neuer digitaler Business-Modelle kommt erst an fünfter Stelle. International ist das genau umgekehrt. (Zu den Zahlen: Die Antwortoptionen waren für die Schweiz und international nicht genau gleich.)

Die tiefe Cloud-Adaptionsrate in der Schweiz ist Ausdruck einer im Vergleich mit den weltweiten Konkurrenten grundsätzlich konservativeren Haltung in Sachen IT. Während die CIOs der Mitbewerber ihren Hauptfokus darauf ausrichten, Veränderungen möglichst schnell implementieren zu können, steht hierzulande die Aufrechterhaltung des Betriebs zuoberst auf der Prioritätenliste. «Dies hängt allerdings auch damit zusammen, dass Schweizer Unternehmen eine vergleichsweise hochstehende und komplexe IT mit einem sehr grossen Individualisierungsgrad aufgebaut haben», wie MacNicholas relativiert.

«Statt absolute Qualität und Zuverlässigkeit sind vermehrt Risikofreude und Flexibilität gefragt.»

Abwarten, bis ein Pferdefuss wächst

In der Vergangenheit haben sich Schweizer Unternehmen mit ihrer Zurückhaltung zwar manchen überschätzten Hype erspart. Wenn nun aber das Internet der Dinge, die Industrie 4.0, Big Data, Mobile Commerce, Bring your own Device und andere Consumerization-Technologien oder ein sich abrupt veränderndes Geschäftsumfeld immer schnellere und vor allem flexiblere Antworten verlangen, könnte diese Haltung schon bald zum Pferdefuss mutieren. Der Ball liegt, laut MacNicholas, beim Management: «Wie unsere Umfrage zeigt, wären die IT-Verantwortlichen selber sehr gerne als Innovationstreiber aktiv. Die Schweizer Geschäftsleitungen sehen die IT aber vor allem als Serviceabteilung und erkennen ihr Innovationspotenzial in den meisten Fällen noch zu wenig.»

Herausforderung Innovation

Die Studie von Deloitte zeigt auf, wie Schweizer Firmen auf den steigenden Innovationsdruck reagieren können (englisch):

«Innovation reinvented»

CIO Barometer

Die Stellung der IT in Schweizer Unternehmen und wo der Schuh bei den Schweizer CIOs drückt:

Switzerland CIO Survey 2013

Agilität in der IT

Eine agile IT umfasst die Dimensionen Flexibilität und Qualität. Konkret soll auf neue Herausforderungen zeitnah reagiert werden (Kernprozesse anpassen, Software weiterentwickeln) und ein hoher Qualitätsstandard gewährleistet werden können (Erfüllen der Funktionsanforderungen, Service Levels).

Agile IT

Weitere Fokusartikel

Im Gespräch mit Sylvère Leu

«Kunden wollen keine Innovationen»

Bei Meyer Burger lenkt Sylvère Leu die Innovationsfähigkeit. Persönlich jagt er nicht jeder Neuentwicklung hinterher.

Experten-Interview

Get back control!

Swisscom Cloud-Experte Eduard Modalek fordert im Video mehr Datenkontrolle statt Schatten-IT für Unternehmen. 

Kolumne von Andreas Von Gunten

Der Cloud-Computing-Graben

Viele denken, der Unterschied zwischen Cloud und klassischer IT sei ein kleiner – eine fatale Fehleinschätzung.