Wolf tests

Watertight for business and lifestyle

We tested the Samsung Galaxy S5 for business and personal use.

Peter Wolf

Large …

The display is comfortably large. However, this can lead to accidental activation of one of the buttons at the bottom edge of the screen with the ball of the thumb – either when reading in landscape format, when watching a video or while playing a game. It takes a while to get used to the perfect method of holding the device. 

... or small

Is your thumb too short or the display too large? In the settings under “Sound and Display”, you can activate “one-handed operation”, allowing you to reduce the displayed area by means of a quick swipe movement with the thumb from the edge of the screen to the middle and back. Then the navigation works as if you were holding a smaller smartphone. This is especially practical for operation with one hand. 


The keys make predictions

The virtual keyboard with the large keys attempts to predict what you are planning to write next. It gives suggestions for quick selection by tapping. The more you write, the better the prediction adapts to your style of writing. 


It’s best to take three

The finger print scanner can recognise up to three different fingers. Tip: As well as the index finger, scan in both thumbs so that you can also unlock the device with one hand. When reading in the thumb print, hold the device exactly as you will later to unlock it so that the thumb print is read in at a slight angle..

Communicate over short distances

An NFC (Near-Field Communication) reader is also included. This allows you to use all the possibilities that short-distance radio technology will some day provide. Be it activating and deactivating Bluetooth, light or WiFi, or location-dependent triggering of device actions or mobile payment using the smartphone. 

Don’t be afraid of water

The advantage of watertightness comes at a cost – slightly complicated handling when it comes to battery charging. The port cover needs to be opened before inserting the cable and carefully closed again after charging so that no water can get in. Here, it is worth investing in an inductive charging set so that the mobile phone can receive power without having to insert and remove the cable.. 


... and yet it’s still a mobile phone

The S5 is a fast, practical smartphone for business and personal use. Despite the very large display, it fits in the hand well enough to also be held to the ear as a mobile phone. 

Information and ordering

Further information on and ordering options can be found here:

Samsung Galaxy S5

Peter Wolf

Peter Wolf (49) has been involved with technology for as long as he can remember. For many years, he was a trend scout and social media expert at Ringier. He currenty works part time at e-research and thus came into contact with the Swisscom team in spring 2014. He also writes regular columns and app tests for various publications.

Wolf testet

Wasserdicht für Business und Lifestyle

Wir haben das Samsung Galaxy S5 für den Geschäfts- und Privatgebrauch getestet.

Peter Wolf

0114_Ins_Wol_Bild_01
Gross …

Das Display ist angenehm gross. Dies kann allerdings dazu führen, dass mit dem Handballen unbeabsichtigt eine der Tasten am unteren Bildschirmrand aktiviert wird – sei es nun beim Lesen im Querformat, beim Videoschauen oder beim Gamen. Es dauert ein bisschen, bis man sich eine perfekte Haltung angewöhnt hat. 

0114_Ins_Wol_Bild_02
… oder klein

Ist der Daumen zu kurz oder das Display zu gross? In den «Einstellungen» unter «Ton und Anzeige» lässt sich «Einhändiger Betrieb» aktivieren, so dass sich der angezeigte Bereich mit einer schnellen Wischbewegung des Daumens vom Bildschirmrand zu dessen Mitte hin und zurück verkleinern lässt. Und es navigiert sich, als ob man ein kleineres Smartphone in der Hand hätte. Vor allem bei einhändiger Bedienung ist dies praktisch. 

 

Tasten raten mit

Die virtuelle Tastatur mit den grossen Tasten versucht zu erraten, was Sie als Nächstes zu schreiben gedenken. Sie schlägt mehrere Möglichkeiten zur schnellen Auswahl durch Antippen vor. Je mehr Sie schreiben, desto genauer passt sich die Vorhersage Ihrem Schreibstil an. 

 

Am besten gleich drei

Der Fingerabdruck-Scanner erkennt bis zu drei verschiedene Finger. Tipp: Scannen Sie nebst dem Zeigefinger auch noch beide Daumen ein, damit Sie das Gerät auch einhändig entsperren können. Halten Sie das Gerät zum Einlesen des Daumenabdrucks dann genau so, wie Sie es auch später beim Entriegeln tun würden, damit der Daumenabdruck leicht schräg eingelesen wird.

0114_Ins_Wol_Bild_03
Über Kurzstrecken funken

Auch ein NFC-Leser (Near Field Communication) ist an Bord. Damit lassen sich alle Möglichkeiten nutzen, die diese Kurzstreckenfunk-Technologie dereinst bieten wird. Sei dies das Ein- und Ausschalten von Bluetooth, Licht oder WiFi oder das ortsabhängige Auslösen von Geräteaktionen oder mobiles Bezahlen mit dem Smartphone. 

0114_Ins_Wol_Bild_04
Keine Angst vor Wasser

Den Vorteil der Wasserdichtigkeit erkauft man sich mit leicht komplizierter Handhabung beim Akkuladen. Die Ladeabdeckung muss vor dem Einstecken des Kabels geöffnet und nach dem Ladevorgang wieder sorgfältig geschlossen werden, damit dort kein Wasser eindringen kann. Hier lohnt sich dann die Investition in ein induktives Ladeset, damit das Handy auch ohne Ein- und Ausstecken des Kabels Strom bekommt. 

 

… und trotzdem ein Handy

Das S5 ist ein schnelles, praktisches Smartphone für Beruf und privat. Trotz seinem sehr grossen Display passt es aber doch gut genug in die Hand, um auch als Handy ans Ohr gehalten zu werden. 

Infos und Bestellung

Weitere Informationen zum und Bestellmöglichkeiten finden Sie hier:

Samsung Galaxy S5

Peter Wolf

Peter Wolf (49) beschäftigt sich seit er denken kann mit Technik. Während mehrerer Jahre war er Trendscout und Social-Media-Experte bei Ringier. Heute arbeitet er Teilzeit bei e-research und ist damit im Frühjahr 2014 zur Swisscom Belegschaft gestossen. Er schreibt ausserdem regelmässig Kolumnen und App-Tests für diverse Publikationen.