Wolf tests

How revolutionary design can improve your life

We tested the Samsung Galaxy Note Edge.

Peter Wolf

The first thing you notice about the Samsung Galaxy Note Edge is that the display falls over the edge. On one side, the display curves around the edge. This is not simply a technical gimmick, but also provides benefits in everyday life: for example, you can see important information even when holding the mobile phone sideways or when it is lying on the table in front of you with the flap closed.



Discrete information

Although the cover is closed, you are always informed about incoming messages while in a meeting, for example, without everybody noticing.


Direct access

Swiping with your thumb across the curved edge takes you to the most frequently used apps and information. In this way, the side display keeps the main screen free from notifications.


Card holder

Even though business cards are becoming digital and credit cards are being transferred to the mobile phone, you always need at least one card, be it a badge, fuel card, a business card you’ve received or even your own, so that an honest finder can return the device. The card holder in the protective case has room for two or three such cards.




Large display, large keys on the virtual keyboard – yet you still keep mistyping? The integrated pen, which is also suitable for drawing and making notes, can help you here. Extremely practical: if you forget to replace the pen when you’re not using it, the phone notices and reminds you to return it.




Among other things, the Gear S smartwatch from Samsung can be connected with the Edge via Bluetooth. This then works as an additional display for the smartphone, allowing the phone itself to remain in your pocket more often. In addition, the watch can be used as an external screen for the mobile phone camera, which leads to exciting selfies on the one hand and, on the other hand, also allows you to peer around corners.



The Edge is a smartphone in the fastest category, meaning you can use the full network bandwidth when making calls and surfing. And thanks to fast-charging technology, the smartphone is also charged again within the shortest time.


The Swisscom extra tip

Surf on the Swisscom mobile ultra-bandwidth network with the latest technologies 4G/LTE and 4G+/LTE advanced. With LTE and smartphones of category 6, you reach surfing speeds of up to 150 Mbit/s. With LTE advanced, you can even reach speeds of 300 Mbit/s. With the new technologies, it is also possible for many more customers to surf simultaneously using mobile without any loss of speed.

More information on the network

Win the revolutionary design

dialogue is giving away a Samsung Note Edge in black with 32 GB internal memory. Good luck!

Peter Wolf (50) has been involved with technology for as long as he can remember. For many years, he was a trend scout and social media expert at Ringier. He currenty works part time at e-research and thus came into contact with the Swisscom team in spring 2014. He also writes regular columns and app tests for various publications.

Wolf testet

Wie revolutionäres Design Ihr Leben verbessern kann

Wir haben das Samsung Galaxy Note Edge getestet.

Peter Wolf

Was am Samsung Galaxy Note Edge als Erstes auffällt: dass die Anzeige über die Kante abfällt. Auf der einen Seite wölbt sich das Display über den Rand. Dies ist nicht nur ein technischer Gag, sondern bietet ebenfalls Vorteile im Alltag: So sieht man wichtige Informationen auch, wenn man das Handy seitlich hält oder es mit geschlossener Klappe vor einem auf dem Tisch liegt.

 

0115_Ins_Wol_Bild_01
Diskrete Information

Trotz geschlossenem Deckel ist man also zum Beispiel bei Sitzungen immer über eingehende Nachrichten informiert, ohne dass es alle mitbekommen. 

 

Direktzugriff

Mit einem Daumenwischen über die abgerundete Kante gelangt man zu den häufig verwendeten Apps und Infos. Das Seitendisplay hält auf diese Weise den Hauptbildschirm frei von Notifikationen. 

 

Kartenfach

Auch wenn Visitenkarten digital werden und die Kreditkarte ins Handy wandert: Irgendeine Karte braucht man immer, sei das der Badge, die Tankkarte, eine erhaltene Visitenkarte oder eine eigene, damit ein ehrlicher Finder das Gerät retournieren. Im Kartenfach der Schutzhülle haben drei, vier davon Platz.

 

0115_Ins_Wol_Bild_02
Eingabestift

Grosses Display, grosse Tasten auf dem virtuellen Keyboard – und trotzdem immer wieder Vertipper? Da hilft der integrierte Eingabestift, der sich auch zum Zeichnen und Skizzieren eignet. Sehr praktisch: Wenn man bei Nichtgebrauch vergisst, den Stift zurückzustecken, dann merkt das Handy dies und mahnt die Rückgabe an. 

 

0115_Ins_Wol_Bild_03
Zubehör

Unter anderem lässt sich auch die Smartwatch Gear S von Samsung via Bluetooth mit dem Edge verbinden. Sie funktioniert dann als weiteres Display des Smartphones, das so öfter mal in der Tasche verbleiben kann. Zudem lässt sie sich auch als externer Bildschirm der Handykamera verwenden, was einerseits zu spannenderen Selfies führt und andererseits auch Um-die-Ecke-Gucken ermöglicht.

 

Geschwindigkeit

Das Edge ist ein Smartphone der schnellsten Kategorie (6), das heisst, dass Sie mit ihm beim Telefonieren und Surfen die volle Netzbandbreite ausnützen können. Und dank Fast-Charging-Technologie ist das Smartphone innerhalb von kürzester Zeit auch wieder aufgeladen.

 

Der Swisscom-Extra-Tipp

Auf dem mobilen Ultrabreitbandnetz von Swisscom surfen Sie mit den neuesten Technologien 4G/LTE und 4G+/LTE advanced. Mit LTE kommen Sie mit Smartphones der Kategorie 6 auf Surfgeschwindigkeiten von bis zu 150 Mbit/s pro Sekunde. Mit LTE advanced erreichen Sie sogar Geschwindigkeiten von bis zu 300 Mbit/s pro Sekunde. Mit den neuen Technologien können zudem viel mehr Kunden gleichzeitig und ohne Abstriche mobil surfen.

Mehr Infos zum Netz

Gewinnen Sie revolutionäres Design

dialogue verlost ein Samsung Galaxy Note Edge in Schwarz mit 32 GB internem Speicher. Viel Glück.

Peter Wolf

Peter Wolf (50) beschäftigt sich seit er denken kann mit Technik. Während mehrerer Jahre war er Trendscout und Social-Media-Experte bei Ringier. Heute arbeitet er Teilzeit bei e-research und ist damit im Frühjahr 2014 zur Swisscom Belegschaft gestossen. Er schreibt ausserdem regelmässig Kolumnen und App-Tests für diverse Publikationen.