Wolf tests

BlackBerry is back!

Resurrected: why the BlackBerry Priv is impressing again .

Peter Wolf

Skip in seconds
seconds to go


Back when mobile phones were capable of very little and the BlackBerry already allowed mobile e-mailing and calendar management, you could consider yourself lucky if your company provided you with this means of accelerating productivity. Privately, it wasn’t even possible to use the BlackBerry – a server maintained by corporate IT was required. The black device with the scroll wheel was a real status symbol. And not only did it have the best in-built keypad available at the time, it also used data and energy sparingly and was considered to be very secure and robust.


Those who now have the new BlackBerry can also be happy – but for different reasons.


Practical: the removeable keypad is also a touchpad.


Astonishingly, the physical keypad – which I, as a BlackBerry veteran, have missed the most on all my other smartphones – isn’t even the main argument. It is still as good as ever for typing (after all, back then I wrote all my articles on the BB), but the virtual keyboard with its predicitve text suggestions can also be used just fine.

Those who now have the new BlackBerry can be happy – but for different reasons than before.

There are other reasons that speak for the slide-out keyboard: it makes the phone longer. In addition, it can be used as a touchpad. Together, these two features ensure that you can scroll through long e-mails, lists or websites without covering the image on the screen with your fingers. Furthermore, it also makes it easier to enter shortcuts, passwords or short texts.


Innovative: the clever password protection with a combination of images and numbers.


With its curved edges, the OLED screen looks modern and feels good in your hand.


And the fact that the loudspeaker is on the front of the casing, directly below the keyboard so that you do not cover it when holding the phone in your hand, is another plus. But that’s enough about the exterior features.


The interior is impressive, too.

When it comes to the interior features, a lot has changed: the BlackBerry Priv has dispensed with its own operating system and now runs on Android. First and foremost, this means that, for the first time, BlackBerry users can choose from a sufficient range of good apps! Nevertheless, users are not deserted when it comes to security: the on-board app “DTEK by BlackBerry” assesses the device’s security status, explains the verdict and provides recommendations as to where improvements can be made.


Secure: the “DTEK by BlackBerry” app continually monitors the security status.


The excellent BlackBerry Messenger BBM, which is now also available for other operating systems, and the BlackBerry Hub, which bundles and displays messages from all manner of sources, have been retained from previous models.


The Swisscom extra tip

Mobile Security enables you to access your applications and data securely at any time and from any location. Swisscom analyses your business requirements and reduces the integration of smartphones and tablets to the relevant aspects. For secure use, Swisscom then derives solution proposals from this with suitable technologies. This includes secure integration of mobile devices in your company, protected access to business-critical applications, and secure use of private and business data on a device.

More information

Peter Wolf

has been involved with technology for as long as he can remember. For many years, he was a trend scout and social media expert at Ringier. He currenty works part time at e-foresight and thus came into contact with the Swisscom team in spring 2014. He also writes regular columns and app tests for various publications.

Wolf testet

BlackBerry is back!

Auferstanden: Warum das BlackBerry Priv wieder überzeugt.

Peter Wolf

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

 

Früher, als Mobiltelefone noch kaum etwas konnten und der BlackBerry aber schon mobiles E-Mailen und Kalenderbewirtschaften ermöglichte, da konnte man sich glücklich schätzen, wenn einen die Firma mit einem solchen Produktivitätsbeschleuniger ausstattete. Denn privat konnte man einen BlackBerry gar nicht benutzen, dafür war ein von der Firmen-IT gepflegter Server nötig. Das schwarze Gerät mit dem Scrollrad war ein echtes Statussymbol. Und es hatte nicht nur die beste aller damals verbauten Tastaturen, es war auch sehr sparsam im Verbrauch von Daten und Energie, galt als sehr sicher und robust.

 

Auch heute kann sich freuen, wer den neuen BlackBerry hat – allerdings aus anderen Gründen.

 

Praktisch: Die herausschiebbare Tastatur ist auch ein Touchpad.

 

Die physische Tastatur, die ich als BlackBerry-Veteran bei all meinen anderen Smartphones am schmerzlichsten vermisst hatte, ist erstaunlicherweise nicht das Hauptargument. Sie eignet sich zwar nach wie vor gut zum Tippen (schliesslich schrieb ich damals alle meine Artikel auf dem BB), aber auch die virtuelle Tastatur mit ihren Wortvorschlägen ist gut brauchbar.

Auch heute kann sich freuen, wer den neuen BlackBerry hat – allerdings aus anderen Gründen als früher.

Es gibt andere Gründe, die für die herausschiebbare Tastatur sprechen: Sie macht das Handy länger. Zudem kann sie als Touchpad funktionieren. Diese beiden Eigenschaften zusammengenommen sorgen dafür, dass man durch lange Mails, Listen oder Webseiten scrollen kann, ohne mit den Fingern das Bild auf dem Display abzudecken. Zudem können so auch einfacher Tastaturkürzel, Passwörter oder kurze Texte eingegeben werden.

 

Innovativ: Die clevere Passwortsperre mit einer Kombination aus Bild und Zahl

 

Das seitlich abgerundete OLED-Display sieht modern aus und fühlt sich in der Hand gut an.

 

Auch dass der Lautsprecher auf der Gehäusevorderseite sitzt, direkt unter der Tastatur, und so nicht von der haltenden Hand abgedeckt wird, ist ein Plus. Soviel zu den Äusserlichkeiten.

 

Auch Innen überzeugend

Bei den inneren Werten hat sich einiges getan: Der BlackBerry Priv hat sich von einem eigenen Betriebssystem verabschiedet und läuft nun unter Android. Das bedeutet vor allem: Erstmals kann ein BlackBerry-User unter genügend vielen guten Apps wählen! Trotzdem wird er punkto Sicherheit nicht alleingelassen: Die bordeigene App «DTEK by BlackBerry» beurteilt den Gerätesicherheitsstatus, erläutert das Verdikt und gibt Empfehlungen, wo noch etwas verbessert werden kann.

 

Sicher: Die App «DTEK by BlackBerry» prüft laufend den Sicherheitsstatus.

 

Aus den alten Zeiten geblieben sind der hervorragende BlackBerry Messenger BBM, den es  mittlerweile auch für andere Betriebssysteme gibt, und der BlackBerry Hub, der Nachrichten aus verschiedensten Quellen bündelt und anzeigt.

 

Der Swisscom-Extratipp

Mit Mobile Security greifen Sie überall und jederzeit sicher auf Ihre Applikationen und Daten zu. Swisscom analysiert Ihre Business-Anforderungen und reduziert die Integration von Smartphones und Tablets auf die relevanten Aspekte. Für die sichere Nutzung leitet Swisscom daraus Lösungsvorschläge mit den passenden Technologien ab. Dazu gehört die sichere Integration von Mobile Devices in Ihr Unternehmen, der geschützter Zugriff auf unternehmenskritische Anwendungen und die sichere Nutzung privater und geschäftlicher Daten auf einem Gerät.

Mehr Informationen

Peter Wolf

Peter Wolf (50) beschäftigt sich, seit er denken kann, mit Technik. Während mehrerer Jahre war er Trendscout und Social-Media-Experte bei Ringier. Heute arbeitet er Teilzeit bei e-foresight und ist damit im Frühjahr 2014 zur Swisscom Belegschaft gestossen. Er schreibt ausserdem regelmässig Kolumnen und App-Tests für diverse Publikationen.