“I have sent desktop PC and laptop into retirement”

What’s it like, when you’re the only person at the company who still has their own office? Thomas Vellacott, Manager of WWF Switzerland, knows the answer.

Claudia Bardola

“Since we converted our offices in the heritage-protected warehouse in Zurich’s Hohlstrasse to an open-plan office landscape, I am the only person left at our company who still has a separate office. However, as I travel a lot, the room is primarily used as a meeting room that is open to all employees. Accordingly, there are very few personal items in my office. Other than a small Kubus, a bookcase and pandas in every possible variation – which you unavoidably receive as the boss of WWF – the room is comparatively bare. I don’t need trinkets any more than a wall full of family photos – I don’t want to be the kind of father who only knows what his children look like thanks to photos. 


However, if employees, who by the way also have a fixed desk in the office landscape, want to personalise their space with photos, knick-knacks or smiling lucky cats, that doesn’t bother me. The main thing is that they feel comfortable and can concentrate on their work. 


I myself don’t have a real desk any more – as the room is used primarily for meetings, a meeting table is more practical. I have largely virtualised my work processes. I no longer need a desktop PC or laptop. The devices I use consist of a smartphone, iPad and smartpen, with which notes are instantly digitised. I like to use paper for notes, but otherwise I have little use for it. For one thing, it is much easier to search for a digital document than to rifle through a stack of paper and, for another, I can process information just as well without any dead trees. My employees are occasionally annoyed when I request all documents in electronic form. 


But in this way I am mobile and have everything I need with me. This is important because I spend a large amount of the day on the go; in discussions, at meetings with companies, media representatives, other environmental organisations or with politicians. As a counterbalance to all the meetings, I regularly go jogging, preferably in the woods, so that I don’t get cabin fever.


I also try to integrate as many experiences of nature as possible into my everyday life – for example, I visit WWF projects or occasionally spend my lunch break diving in the Limmat river with work colleagues.

“I no longer need a desktop PC or laptop. The devices I use consist of a smartphone, iPad and smartpen, with which notes are instantly digitised.”

An ecological lifestyle is also important to me in my free time. I don’t own a car, but I use public transport and cycle to work. I try to avoid flying whenever possible, for instance by means of Web conferences. I am a vegetarian and at home we heat using solar power and wood. But I could still improve a few things about my lifestyle. The thing that ruins my environmental record the most remains flying. It is often simply impossible to avoid it when it comes to international meetings and project visits. In addition, I travel to England several times a year to visit family and friends. I try to make this journey by train whenever I can. Admittedly this takes longer, but I can concentrate much better on my work and, during the stop in Paris, enjoy some good food.”

Thomas Vellacott

Thomas Vellacott joined WWF Switzerland in 2001 and has been CEO of the largest Swiss environmental organization for around two and a half years. Before that, he was employed in private banking at Citibank and was a consultant at McKinsey in Zurich. The 43-year-old is a passionate diver, has two children and lives in Zurich Altstetten.

Further Focus articles

Expert interview

“It was a huge culture shock...”

How do you see whether or not an organisation practises smart working?

Column by Thomas Vašek

“Work-life balance? Work-life bullshit!”

Work gives us a sense of purpose and enriches our lives. However, we need to adapt work to people and not the other way round.

Title topic: Work Smart

From the office to the office landscape

If office clerks are going to become knowledge workers, the space in which they work also needs to change. Activity-Based Working is the magic word.

Porträt

«Desktop-PC und Laptop habe ich in Rente geschickt»

Wie ist das so, wenn man als Einziger im Betrieb noch ein eigenes Büro hat? Das weiss Thomas Vellacott, Chef von WWF Schweiz.

Claudia Bardola aufgezeichnet

«Seit wir unsere Büroräume im denkmalgeschützten Lagerhaus an der Zürcher Hohlstrasse zu einer offenen Office-Landschaft umgebaut haben, bin ich der Einzige in unserer Organisation, der über ein separates Büro verfügt. Da ich aber viel unterwegs bin, wird der Raum zu einem grossen Teil als Sitzungszimmer verwendet, der allen Mitarbeitenden offen steht. Entsprechend wenig Persönliches findet sich in meinem Büro: Bis auf einen kleinen Kubus, ein Bücherregal und Pandas in allen erdenklichen Variationen – die man als WWF-Chef unweigerlich geschenkt bekommt – ist es vergleichsweise nüchtern. Schnickschnack benötige ich ebenso wenig wie eine Wand voller Familienfotos – ich will kein Vater sein, der nur dank Bildern weiss, wie seine Kinder aussehen. 

 

Wenn Mitarbeiter, die übrigens auch in der Office-Landschaft über einen fixen Schreibtisch verfügen, ihren Platz mit Fotos, Nippes oder lächelnden Winkekatzen personalisieren wollen, stört mich das aber nicht weiter. Hauptsache, es ist ihnen wohl und sie können konzentriert arbeiten. 

 

Ich selbst habe keinen eigentlichen Schreibtisch mehr – da der Raum vor allem für Meetings genutzt wird, ist ein Sitzungstisch praktischer. Meine Arbeitsprozesse habe ich weitgehend virtualisiert. Desktop-PC und Laptop benötige ich nicht mehr. Mein Gerätepark besteht aus Smartphone, iPad und einem Smartpen, mit dem Notizen sofort digitalisiert werden. Papier verwende ich gerne für Notizen, ansonsten habe ich dafür aber wenig Verwendung. Zum einen ist es viel einfacher, nach einem digitalen Dokument zu suchen, als einen Stapel Papier zu durchwühlen, zum anderen kann ich Informationen auch gut ohne tote Bäume verarbeiten. Meinen Mitarbeitern geht es bisweilen auf den Wecker, wenn ich alle Dokumente in elektronischer Form anfordere.

 

Aber ich bin auf diese Weise mobil und habe alles dabei, was ich brauche. Denn: Ich bin einen Grossteil des Tages unterwegs; in Sitzungen, an Treffen mit Firmen, Medienvertretern, anderen Umweltorganisationen oder mit Politikern. Als Gegengewicht zu all den Sitzungen gehe ich regelmässig laufen, am liebsten im Wald, damit mir die Decke nicht auf den Kopf fällt. 

 

Auch sonst versuche ich, mir im Alltag möglichst viele Naturerlebnisse zu verschaffen; beispielsweise indem ich WWF-Projekte besuche oder ab und zu mit Kollegen aus dem Geschäft über Mittag einen kurzen Tauchgang in der Limmat unternehme.

«Desktop-PC und Laptop benötige ich nicht mehr. Mein Gerätepark besteht aus Smartphone, iPad und einem Smart-Pen, mit dem Notizen sofort digitalisiert werden.»

Ein ökologischer Lebensstil ist mir auch in meiner Freizeit wichtig. Ich besitze kein Auto, nutze den öffentlichen Verkehr und fahre mit dem Velo zur Arbeit. Flugreisen versuche ich wann immer möglich zu vermeiden, etwa durch Webkonferenzen. Ich ernähre mich vegetarisch und unser Haus heizen wir mit Sonne und Holz. Trotzdem lässt sich an meinem Lebensstil noch einiges verbessern. Was bei meiner Ökobilanz am meisten einschenkt, sind nach wie vor die Flugreisen. Sie sind bei internationalen Treffen und Projektbesuchen oft unumgänglich. Zudem reise ich mehrmals pro Jahr zu Familie und Freunden nach England. Das mache ich wann immer möglich mit dem Zug. So dauert es zwar länger, aber ich kann viel konzentrierter arbeiten und komme beim Zwischenstopp in Paris erst noch zu einem guten Essen.»

Thomas Vellacott

Thomas Vellacott stiess 2001 zum WWF Schweiz, seit rund zweieinhalb Jahren ist er CEO der grössten Schweizer Umweltorganisation. Davor arbeitete er im Private Banking der Citibank und war Berater bei McKinsey in Zürich. Der 43-Jährige ist passionierter Taucher, hat zwei Kinder und wohnt in Zürich Altstetten.

Weitere Fokusartikel

Experten-Interview

«Es war ein gewaltiger Kulturschock …»

Woran man merkt, ob eine Organisation smart arbeitet oder eben nicht.

Kolumne von Thomas Vašek

«Work-Life-Balance? Work-Life-Bullshit!»

Arbeit gibt uns Sinn und bereichert uns. Dafür müssen wir sie allerdings an die Menschen anpassen – und nicht umgekehrt.

Titelthema: Work smart

Vom Büro zur Office-Landschaft

Wenn aus Bürolisten Wissensarbeiter werden, müssen sich auch die Räume verändern. Activity Based Working heisst das Zauberwort.