Wolf tests

Good sound for the office and at home

We tested the HTC One (M8) for business and personal use.

Peter Wolf


The sound is amazing not only through headphones – the two BoomSound™ frontal speakers also give videos, songs and hands-free calls an amazing sound. The microphone can pick up extremely loud sounds without any distortion and remove background noise in the event of quiet parts – which will please the person you are talking to.



The camera has 4 million pixels, more than in other cameras, and thus produces the image quality. Modes like focus correction, picture in picture with front and back cameras, all-round panorama or various video themes all help with setting up photos.


Dot view cover

The perforated flip cover gives the high-resolution 5" super LCD3 display a charming retro style and, on tapping or swiping, reveals call, message or weather information. 


Remote control and access control

It may seem unusual that infrared is still built into today’s mobile phones. However, this allows remote control of television sets (via infrared) and TV boxes, like Swisscom TV 2.0 (via Bluetooth), from the same device. Thanks to the built-in NFC function (Near Field Communication) and the Tapit app, the mobile phone can be used as a badge for access control or even used for mobile payments.


More information on Tapit


The Swisscom extra tip

Did you know that, with the Swisscom TV 2.0 app, you can watch TV in high picture quality on your smartphone? The only condition: you need to be online. With the app, you can receive more than 170 stations, all with seven day replay. Plan or access your recordings via mobile phone and browse the TV guide. At home, you can also use your smartphone or tablet as a remote control via Bluetooth.

Peter Wolf

Peter Wolf (49) has been involved with technology for as long as he can remember. For many years, he was a trend scout and social media expert at Ringier. He currenty works part time at e-research and thus came into contact with the Swisscom team in spring 2014. He also writes regular columns and app tests for various publications.

Wolf testet

Guter Sound für das Büro und das Zuhause

Wir haben das HTC One (M8) für den Geschäfts- und den Privatgebrauch getestet.

Peter Wolf

Sound

Nicht nur via Kopfhörer ist der Sound bombastisch: Auch die beiden BoomSound™-Frontlautsprecher bescheren Videos, Songs oder Hands-free-Telefonaten einen grossartigen Klang. Das Mikrofon kann sehr lauten Sound verzerrungsfrei aufnehmen und bei leisen Passagen Nebengeräusche ausblenden – das freut den Gesprächspartner beim Telefonieren.

0214_Ins_Wol_Bild_01
Bild

Die Kamera hat 4 Millionen Pixel, die grösser sind als in anderen Kameras, was der Bildqualität entgegenkommt. Der Bildgestaltung förderlich sind Modi wie Fokuskorrektur, Bild im Bild mit Front- und Rückseitenkamera, Rundumpanorama oder verschiedene Videothemen.

 

0214_Ins_Wol_Bild_02
Dot View Cover

Die gelöcherte Flip-Hülle zwingt dem hochauflösenden 5"-super LCD3-Display einen charmanten Retro-Style auf und offenbart auf Klopfen und Wischen hin Anruf-, Nachrichten- oder Wetterinformationen.

 

0214_Ins_Wol_Bild_03
Fernbedienung und Zugangssteuerung

Es mag aussergewöhnlich scheinen, dass in Mobiltelefonen heutzutage noch Infrarot verbaut ist. Dadurch lassen sich aber Fernsehapparate  (via Infrarot) und TV-Boxen wie die von Swisscom TV 2.0 (via Bluetooth) vom selben Gerät aus fernsteuern. Dank eingebauter NFC-Funktion (Near Field Communication) und der App Tapit lässt sich das Handy wie ein Badge zur Zutrittssteuerung verwenden oder es kann zum mobilen Bezahlen eingesetzt werden.

 

Mehr Informationen zu Tapit

 

Der Swisscom-Extra-Tipp

Haben Sie gewusst, dass Sie mit der Swisscom TV-2.0-App Fernsehen in einer ausgezeichneten Bildqualität auf dem Smartphone schauen können? Einzige Bedingung: Sie müssen online sein. Mit der App empfangen Sie über 170 Sender, alle mit sieben Tagen Replay. Planen oder rufen Sie Ihre Aufnahmen mobil ab und stöbern Sie im TV-Guide. Zuhause können Sie Ihr Smartphone oder Tablet via Bluetooth auch als Fernbedienung nutzen.

Peter Wolf

Peter Wolf (49) beschäftigt sich seit er denken kann mit Technik. Während mehrerer Jahre war er Trendscout und Social-Media-Experte bei Ringier. Heute arbeitet er Teilzeit bei e-research und ist damit im Frühjahr 2014 zur Swisscom Belegschaft gestossen. Er schreibt ausserdem regelmässig Kolumnen und App-Tests für diverse Publikationen.