Iron Man becomes an industrial worker

It is not possible to save the world with exoskeletons. However, they do make life better for patients in medical rehabilitation, and now they’re being made suitable for industrial deployment.

Beat Hochuli

How are Iron Man and Batman different to Superman? As David Carradine correctly points out in the film Kill Bill, Superman acquired his supernatural powers naturally, so to speak, while Iron Man and Batman have to change into their special suits before they can save the world. In other words, for their heroic acts they rely on what is known as exoskeletons – extremely high-tech body supports or armour.


Military experiments with little success

Just Hollywood fiction? Not at all – intelligent exoskeletons are currently on the increase. However, this was not always the case. The first models for military purposes were developed as early as the beginning of the 1960s by the US defense research agency, DARPA, together with its partner institutes and companies. However, unfortunately the project did not seem to want to work. 


The Man Amplifier, for example, built by Neil Mizen and his team at the Aeronautical Lab at Cornell University, was never used because the electronic joint strengtheners did not work correctly. The Hardiman Suit presented by General Electric in 1965 had a little more success – however, not the entire suit but only its exoskeletal arm, with which the user could lift weights of up to 370 kilograms. 


In the meantime, dozens of exoskeleton-based solutions have been developed and tested in the military field. However, none of them are particularly convincing, firstly because they limit the agility of the deployed soldiers and secondly because the battery life is limited, which can be extremely dangerous.



The chairless chairs are exoskeletons that are attached to the legs and shoes and, through this, largely support the body weight of industrial workers or those who work on conveyor belts.

Daewoo recognises the industrial potential

In the industrial industry, these two problems dissolve into thin air. On the one hand because, in a production area, the battery can be replaced or recharged at any time, and on the other hand, because the exoskeletal solution can be precisely tailored to individual work environments and sequences. 

With an exoskeleton, workers lift 30 kilograms without effort. 

One of the world’s largest shipyards, the South Korean Daewoo Shipbuilding and Marine Engineering, realised this. Their research and development department has thus developed an exoskeletal robotic helper for specialist workers, which allows them to lift 30 kilograms without effort. This is particularly important for work procedures in which special parts need to be used and welded – procedures for which robots would be unsuitable. Specialist workers have a great deal of expertise, intuitive fine-motor skills and flexibility – in other words, human capabilities that most fully automated machines are still lacking.


Chairless chair and rehabilitation

Also designed for industrial use is what is known as the chairless chair, developed by the Swiss start-up company Noonee in collaboration with the robotics laboratory at ETH Zurich. The chairless chairs are exoskeletons that are attached to the legs and shoes and, by means of controls and pressing a button, can be set so that the industrial or conveyer belt worker is largely relieved of the burden of his or her own body weight. 


The exoskeletons that have recently started to be used more in rehabilitative medicine work in a similar, but basically opposite manner. They help people whose movements are extremely restricted to slowly relearn their coordination. For example, the model by Ekso Bionics, which is currently being tested at the Nottwil paraplegics centre. Just like we said: the exoskeletons are on the increase.

Beat Hochuli

The author is a freelance ICT journalist. He observes the world of technology from Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia, where he has lived for several years.

Trendscout

Iron Man wird Industriearbeiter

Mit Exoskeletten lässt sich zwar die Welt nicht retten. Aber sie verbessern das Leben in der medizinischen Rehabilitation und werden jetzt auch fit gemacht für den Industrieeinsatz.

Beat Hochuli

Inwiefern unterscheiden sich Iron Man und Batman von Superman? Wie David Carradine im Film «Kill Bill» richtig feststellt, hat Superman seine übernatürlichen Kräfte sozusagen natürlicherweise erlangt, während Iron Man und Batman zuerst einmal in ihre Spezialanzüge steigen müssen, bevor sie die Welt retten können. Mit anderen Worten: Sie sind für ihre Heldentaten auf sogenannte Exoskelette angewiesen, äusserliche Hightechkörperstützen oder -panzer. 

 

Militärische Versuche mit geringem Erfolg

Nur eine Hollywoodfiktion? Mitnichten, denn intelligente Exoskelette  sind derzeit buchstäblich im Vormarsch. Das war allerdings nicht immer so. Die ersten Modelle für militärische Zwecke wurden zwar bereits Anfang der Sechzigerjahre des vergangenen Jahrhunderts von der US-Rüstungsforschungsbehörde DARPA zusammen mit ihren Partnerinstituten und -firmen entwickelt. Aber so richtig klappen wollte das Ganze lange nicht. 

 

Der Man Amplifier beispielsweise, der von Neil Mizen und seinem Team am Aeronautical Lab der Cornell University gebaut wurde, kam nie zum Einsatz, weil die elektronischen Gelenkverstärker nicht richtig funktionierten. Etwas mehr Erfolg war dann dem 1965 von General Electric präsentierten Hardiman Suit beschieden – allerdings nicht dem ganzen Anzug, sondern bloss seinen exoskelettalen Armen, mit denen der Benutzer Gewichte von 370 Kilogramm heben konnte. 

 

Mittlerweile sind im militärischen Bereich Dutzende von exoskelettbasierten Lösungen entwickelt und getestet worden. Richtig überzeugend sind sie aber alle nicht, weil sie erstens die Soldaten im Einsatz in ihrer Agilität einschränken und zweitens die Batterielaufzeit beschränkt ist, was dann richtig gefährlich werden kann.

 

0214_Tre_Tre_Bild_01

Die stuhllosen Stühle sind Exoskelette, die an Beinen und Schuhen fixiert werden und dadurch Industrie- oder Fliessbandarbeiter weitgehend vom eigenen Körpergewicht entlasten.

Daewoo erkennt das industrielle Potenzial

Im industriellen Umfeld lösen sich beide Probleme in Luft auf. Einerseits, weil in einer Produktionsstätte der Akku jederzeit ersetzt oder aufgeladen werden kann, und andererseits, weil sich die exoskelettalen Lösungen exakt auf einzelne Arbeitsumgebungen und -abläufe abstimmen lassen. 

Mit einem Exoskelett heben Arbeiter 30 Kilo ohne jede Mühe. 

Das hat zum Beispiel eine der weltgrössten Schiffswerften, die südkoreanische Daewoo Shipbuilding and Marine Engineering, erkannt. Ihre Forschungs- und Entwicklungsabteilung hat deshalb eine exoskelettale Roboterhilfe für Facharbeiter entwickelt, mit der sich 30 Kilogramm ohne jegliche Mühe heben lassen. Das ist vor allem für Arbeitsabläufe wichtig, in denen Spezialteile eingesetzt und geschweisst werden müssen – Abläufe also, für die der Einsatz von Robotern ungeeignet wäre. Denn Facharbeiter verfügen über ein grosses Know-how, intuitives feinmotorisches Geschick und Flexibilität – über menschliche Fähigkeiten also, die Vollautomaten bisher noch weitgehend fehlen.

 

Stuhlloser Stuhl und Rehabilitation

Ebenfalls für den Industrieeinsatz konzipiert ist der sogenannte Chairless Chair, den das Schweizer Start-up-Unternehmen Noonee in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Robotiklabor der ETH Zürich entwickelt hat. Die stuhllosen Stühle sind Exoskelette, die an Beinen und  Schuhen fixiert werden und sich per Steuerung und Knopfdruck so einstellen lassen, dass sie den Industrie- oder Fliessbandarbeiter weitgehend von seinem eigenen Körpergewicht entlasten. 

 

Ähnlich, aber sozusagen umgekehrt funktionieren die Exoskelette, die in jüngster Zeit vermehrt in der Rehabilitationsmedizin eingesetzt werden. Sie helfen Menschen, die in ihren Bewegungen stark eingeschränkt sind, ihre Koordination langsam wieder zu erlernen. So beispielsweise das Modell von Ekso Bionics, das gegenwärtig im Paraplegiker-Zentrum Nottwil getestet wird. Wie gesagt: Die Exoskelette sind im Vormarsch.

0214_Tre_Tre_Aut
Beat Hochuli

Der Autor ist freischaffender ICT-Journalist. Er beobachtet die Technologiewelt aus Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia, wo er seit mehreren Jahren lebt.