On the move

Through the door and into the network with Tapit

Following mobile credit cards, the Tapit NFC app is now bringing access systems to smartphones. With this, the badge receives an Internet connection. This opens up numerous completely new possibilities.

Daniel Meierhans

For many employees, the badge is an everyday companion – just like their smartphone. Now Tapit is bringing the two together. Thanks to partnerships with the leading manufacturers of access systems, Siemens and LEGIC Identsystems, the app for central consolidation and administration of NFC services (Near Field Communications) reaches around 90% of Swiss badge users.

 

Tapit started last July with contact-free credit cards. Among other things, this allows contact-free payments of small sums simply by tapping the reading device. Access control now provides a second type of use that is interesting for companies.

 

A badge with smartphone capabilities

Here, the smartphone can not only take over all the functions of an ordinary badge – from a personal door opener to print authorisation and a means of payment in the cafeteria. “It’s the direct Internet connection and the screen that make the real difference,” explains Hugo Straumann, head of the NFC Access department at Swisscom IT, Network & Innovation. Additional functions such as a room reservation, requests for fast on-site support or ordering devices for a meeting can be connected directly to use of the badge as online applications. 

«A temporary access authorisation can easily be sent to the smartphone via mobile communication.»

Hugo Straumann

In addition, there are practical simplifications for administration. For example, mobile communication can be used to send temporary access authorisation for a service technician from the headquarters directly to his or her mobile phone without an employee needing to be present on site.

 

From applications to worlds of experience

“Connecting the NFC authentication to the smartphone opens up almost unlimited possibilities,” Straumann says, looking to the future. This means not only companies can seamlessly integrate badge use into their business applications. For example, retailers also have the option to directly combine customer card usage with online worlds of experience – from a personalised offer to location-specific services, games or ad-hoc prize draws to added value services, such as an allergy app that gives the alert when a problematic product is purchased.

“By simplifying the handling for end users with Tapit, we increase their willingness to use NFC. In the end, all providers benefit from this as every additional application also increases the use of other NFC applications,” as Straumann knows from his previous practical experience.

 

From applications to worlds of experience

“Connecting the NFC authentication to the smartphone opens up almost unlimited possibilities,” Straumann says, looking to the future. This means not only companies can seamlessly integrate badge use into their business applications. For example, retailers also have the option to directly combine customer card usage with online worlds of experience – from a personalised offer to location-specific services, games or ad-hoc prize draws to added value services, such as an allergy app that gives the alert when a problematic product is purchased.

“By simplifying the handling for end users with Tapit, we increase their willingness to use NFC. In the end, all providers benefit from this as every additional application also increases the use of other NFC applications,” as Straumann knows from his previous practical experience.

 

“We don’t want to set up a new competitor but, as a partner, provide the manufacturers and integrators with a secure platform with which they can bring their services to the smartphone without too much personal effort,” says Straumann. This means the users’ previous investments are also protected. And they also receive an additional option for all employees with an NFC-capable smartphone.

 

System renewal as an entry point

The time for implementing Tapit as access control is currently ideal, according to Straumann: “Many companies need to renew their access systems because the older versions are no longer secure. This is a good opportunity to also implement the smartphone extension and thus create the basis for combining additional functions and services with the access system.” The system manufacturer’s usual integration partners will perform the implementation at the companies.

 

Safe deposit box for applications

In addition to an NFC-capable smartphone and the app, Tapit requires a special SIM card, which can be procured free of charge from the website tapit.ch. This works even when the mobile phone is switched off but can be specifically deactivated. In addition, it has much more memory than an ordinary SIM card. This contains a special security element in which separated areas can be created, to which only the application provider in question has access. In these “safe deposit boxes”, authorisation information and additional functions, such as the connection to certain Internet sites, can be securely managed. A current NFC SIM card has space for more than 30 different safe deposit boxes.

tapit.ch

Why NFC?

Near field communications (NFC) is a short distance radio technology from the RFID (Radio Frequency Identification) technology family. It was developed specially for contact-free transmission of data across distances of a few centimetres. With a mobile phone – depending on the security requirements – both passive data transmission, initiated by the reader, and active data transmission are present. The intended main field of application is contact-free authentication, for example for access systems, ticketing, contact-free payments or customer retention programmes. For this, the involved industries –the mobile communications providers, most mobile phone producers, financial service providers, card issuers, retail traders and the manufacturers of access solutions – have all agreed to NFC as the standard.

0214_Tre_Unt_Aut
Hugo Straumann

As an NFC and security specialist, Hugo Straumann has been developing NFC services at Swisscom Innovation since 2001. At the moment, the master of science in systems engineering is product manager for the Tapit access solution. In 2008, Hugo Straumann, an avid skier and dancer, was responsible for the security of the communications infrastructure for the European Football Championship in Switzerland.

Unterwegs

Mit Tapit durch die Tür und ins Netz

Nach mobilen Kreditkarten bringt die NFC-App Tapit jetzt auch Zutrittssysteme auf das Smartphone. Der Badge erhält dadurch einen Internetanschluss. Das eröffnet völlig neue Möglichkeiten.

Daniel Meierhans

Der Badge gehört für viele Arbeitnehmerinnen und Arbeitnehmer zu den alltäglichen Begleitern – genauso wie das Smartphone. Tapit führt die zwei jetzt zusammen. Durch Partnerschaften mit den führenden Herstellern von Zutrittssystemen, Siemens und LEGIC Identsystems, erreicht die App zur zentralen Konsolidierung und Verwaltung von NFC-Diensten (Near Field Communications) gegen 90 Prozent der Schweizer Badge-Nutzer. 

 

Gestartet wurde Tapit im vergangenen Juli mit kontaktlosen Kreditkarten. Unter anderem lassen sich damit Kleinbeträge durch ein einfaches Antippen des Lesegeräts kontaktlos bezahlen. Die Zutrittskontrolle bietet jetzt eine zweite Anwendungsart, die für Unternehmen interessant ist. 

 

Ein Badge mit Smartphone-Fähigkeiten

Das Smartphone kann dabei nicht nur alle Funktionen eines herkömmlichen Badge übernehmen – vom persönlichen Funktüröffner über die Druckerfreigabe bis zum Bezahlen in der Cafeteria. «Den grossen Unterschied machen der direkte Internetanschluss und der Bildschirm aus», erklärt Hugo Straumann, Leiter des Bereichs NFC-Access bei Swisscom IT, Network & Innovation. Zusätzliche Funktionen wie eine Raumreservation, Anfragen für einen schnellen Vor-Ort-Support oder das Bestellen von Geräten für ein Meeting können als Onlineapplikation direkt mit der Badge-Nutzung verbunden werden. 

«Eine temporäre Zutrittsberechtigung kann einfach per Mobilfunk auf das Smartphone gesendet werden.»

Hugo Straumann

Dazu kommen praktische Vereinfachungen in der Verwaltung. Per Mobilfunk kann beispielsweise eine temporäre Zutrittsberechtigung für einen Servicetechniker von der Zentrale auf sein Smartphone gesendet werden, ohne dass ein Mitarbeiter vor Ort anwesend sein muss.

 

Von Applikationen bis zu Erlebniswelten

«Die Verbindung der NFC-Authentifizierung mit dem Smartphone eröffnet praktisch unbegrenzte Möglichkeiten», schaut Straumann in die Zukunft. Nicht nur Unternehmen können so die Badge-Nutzung nahtlos in ihre Business-Applikationen integrieren. Auch Retailer erhalten beispielsweise die Möglichkeit, die Kundenkartennutzung unmittelbar mit Onlineerlebniswelten zu verbinden: vom personalisierten Angebot über ortsspezifische Services, Games oder Ad-hoc-Verlosungen bis zu Mehrwertdiensten wie eine Allergie-App, die Alarm schlägt, wenn ein problematisches Produkt eingekauft wurde. «Indem wir mit Tapit das Handling für die Endanwender vereinfachen, erhöhen wir deren Bereitschaft, NFC einzusetzen. Am Ende profitieren alle Anbieter davon, weil jede zusätzliche Anwendung auch die Nutzung der anderen NFC-Applikationen steigert», wie Straumann aus den bisherigen Praxiserfahrungen weiss. 

 

Partnerschaft mit Investitionsschutz

Um eine möglichst breite Nutzung zu erreichen, verfolgt Tapit eine bewusst offene Strategie. Die Eigenentwicklung von Swisscom wird als selbstständige Marke positioniert und steht auch den anderen Telekommunikationsprovidern und ihren Kunden offen. Sie setzt zudem auf die bestehenden Technologien in den jeweiligen Branchen. Bei der Zutrittskontrolle ersetzt die Tapit-App beispielsweise nur den Badge und integriert sich nahtlos in die vorhandene Hard- und Softwareinfrastruktur. Die Lesegeräte der aktuellen Generation sind bereits standardmässig NFC-fähig. 

 

«Wir wollen keine neue Konkurrenz aufbauen, sondern den Herstellern und Integratoren als Partner eine sichere Plattform bieten, mit der sie ihre Dienste ohne grossen Eigenaufwand auf das Smartphone bringen können», betont Straumann. Damit sind auch die bisherigen Investitionen der Anwender geschützt. Sie erhalten vielmehr eine zusätzliche Möglichkeit für alle Mitarbeitenden mit einem NFC-fähigen Smartphone. 

 

Systemerneuerung als Einstieg

Der Zeitpunkt für die Einführung von Tapit als Zutrittskontrolle ist laut Straumann derzeit optimal: «Viele Unternehmen müssen ihre Zutrittssysteme erneuern, weil die älteren Versionen nicht mehr sicher sind. Das ist eine gute Gelegenheit, die Smartphone-Erweiterung miteinzuführen und sich damit die Basis zu schaffen, zusätzliche Funktionen und Services an das Zutrittssystem zu koppeln.» Die Implementation in den Unternehmen übernehmen die gewohnten Integrationspartner der Systemhersteller.

 

Sichere Schliessfächer für die Anwendungen

Tapit benötigt zusätzlich zu einem NFC-fähigen Smartphone und zur App auch eine spezielle SIM-Karte, die auch auf der tapit-Webseite gratis bezogen werden kann. Sie funktioniert auch bei ausgeschaltetem Handy, kann aber gezielt deaktiviert werden. Zudem ist sie mit einem wesentlich grösseren Speicher als die herkömmliche SIM-Karte ausgestattet. Dieser enthält ein spezielles Sicherheitselement, indem voneinander getrennte Bereiche erstellt werden können, zu denen nur der entsprechende Anwendungsprovider Zugriff hat. In diesen Schliessfächern lassen sich die Berechtigungsinformationen und Zusatzfunktionen wie die Verbindung zu bestimmten Internetseiten sicher verwalten. Auf einer aktuellen NFC-SIM-Karte ist für über 30 unterschiedliche Schliessfächer Platz.

tapit.ch

Wieso NFC?

Near Field Communications (NFC) ist eine Kurzstreckenfunktechnologie aus der Familie der RFID-Technologien (Radio Frequency Identification). Sie wurde speziell für die kontaktlose Übertragung von Daten über Strecken von wenigen Zentimetern entwickelt. Mit dem Handy sind dabei – je nach Sicherheitsanforderung – sowohl eine durch das Lesegerät initiierte, passive wie auch eine aktive Datenübertragung möglich. Das vorgesehene Hauptanwendungsfeld ist die kontaktlose Authentifizierung etwa bei Zutrittssystemen, beim Ticketing, beim kontaktlosen Bezahlen oder für Kundenbindungsprogramme. Dafür haben sich die involvierten Industrien von den Mobilfunkprovidern und den meisten Handyherstellern über die Finanzdienstleister, Kartenherausgeber und Detailhändler bis zu den Herstellern von Zutrittslösungen auf NFC als Standard geeinigt.

0214_Tre_Unt_Aut
Hugo Straumann

Hugo Straumann entwickelt als NFC- und Security-Spezialist bei Swisscom Innovation seit 2001 NFC-Dienste. Derzeit ist der Master of Science in Systems Engineering Produktmanager der Access-Lösung von Tapit. 2008 war der begeisterte Skifahrer und Tänzer für die Sicherheit der Kommunikationsinfrastruktur der Fussball-EM in der Schweiz verantwortlich.