Things are doing it for themselves

Why industry 4.0? And what does a cow have to do with a 3D printer? And what does Schwamendingen have to do with the Rosetta comet sensor?

Christoph Hugenschmidt

Industry 4.0? Why not industry 12.3? Or 2.466 v3? After all, I’ve been told about one “industrial revolution” or another time and again over the past few decades. There was the launch of computer-controlled machines (CNC), the Internet that had revolutionised everything anyway up until the New Economy stock market crash, or globalisation with the fantastic phrase “extended workbench” that sounded so much nicer than “moving jobs to low-wage countries.” But fine: Industry 4.0 it is.


Now don’t go thinking Industry 4.0 means that cars drive themselves. This is related, but it’s known as IoT (Internet of Things) and the computer industry is almost more excited about it than about Industry 4.0. The latter means that the cars of the future will not only speed around without drivers in future, but will also first build themselves – and will do so on demand. You would like a more stylish car bonnet? Fiercer looking headlights or a softer rear? No problem – the required softer rear in crimson will be printed immediately. Your rear will “know” to which (future) car it belongs, will call a drone (which will of course control itself), and have this fly it to the assembly location close to you, where one of the last 23 employees in the automobile industry will attach it to your vehicle.


And it’s not just your car that will be manufactured in this way, but also your furniture, your crockery and your automatic rifle. The latter only if you can identify yourself as being authorised to procure an automatic rifle via iris scan or mobile ID, though (or if the software is malfunctioning). The only thing that it won’t be possible to manufacture using Industry 4.0 methods is milk. But let’s be honest: the cow that voluntarily walks over to the milking robot twice a day along with hundreds of others of its kind isn’t really all that different to a 3D printer.

“The cow that voluntarily walks over to the milking robot twice a day along with hundreds of others of its kind isn’t really all that different to a 3D printer.”

Now you will say that Industry 4.0 is impossible; a fantasy. Even the autonomously driving car won’t work and if it did it would be much too dangerous. Such a car couldn’t possibly overcome the pitfalls of daily traffic jams without the wise foresight of its driver and her passenger (“Left, leeeeeft I said; yeah, now it’s too late. Hey, didn’t you see that woman with the Zimmer frame?”). Well, you’re wrong.The people who not only gave a probe the pretty name Rosetta, but also managed to send it into space on a rocket, have it gain speed by swinging by first the moon and then some planets and, after a journey of around 6.4 billion kilometres, finally landed it precisely to the millimetre on a tiny heap of dust will also manage to steer a few cars through Schwamendingen electronically. And if they can do Schwamendingen, they can also manage New York.


Christoph Hugenschmidt

Christoph Hugenschmidt founded the online newspaper ten years ago and works there as a journalist and publisher. The 57 year old does not (yet) have a driving licence and thinks self-driving cars with crimson rears are an excellent idea.

Further Focus articles

Title topic

Totally individual layer by layer

With 3D printing technology, designs can be realised at the press of a button that were previously impossible.


«I can be persistently stubborn»

How Roland Brüniger invented self-heating soles with courage and persistence and why he is not interested in lucrative takeover offers.

Expert interview

“Many manufacturers are losing contact with the customer”

Machine data is the key to productivity and new services, Bernhard Lenzin, head of Industrial Industries at Swisscom, is convinced.

Kolumne

Selbst ist das Ding

Wieso Industrie 4.0? Und was hat eine Kuh mit einem 3-D-Drucker zu tun? Und was Schwamendingen mit der Kometensonde Rosetta?

Christoph Hugenschmidt

Industrie 4.0? Warum nicht Industrie 12.3? Oder 2.466 v3? Schliesslich erzählte man mir in den letzten paar Jahrzehnten immer wieder mal von dieser oder jener «industriellen Revolution». Da gab es die Einführung der computergesteuerten Maschinen (CNC), das Internet, das vor dem New-Economy-Börsencrash sowieso alles revolutioniert hat, oder die Globalisierung mit dem hübschen Wort «verlängerte Werkbank», das so viel netter tönte als «Jobs in Tieflohnländer verschieben». Aber bitte: dann halt «Industrie 4.0». 

 

Glauben Sie jetzt nicht, Industrie 4.0 heisse, dass Autos selber fahren. Das hat zwar damit zu tun, heisst aber IoT (Internet of Things) und begeistert die Computerindustrie fast noch mehr als Industrie 4.0. Letzteres bedeutet, dass die Autos der Zukunft nicht nur ohne Fahrer herumrasen, sondern sich zuvor auch noch selber bauen werden, und zwar «on demand». Sie hätten gerne eine etwas schnittigere Kühlerhaube? Grimmigere Frontlichter, ein weicheres Heck? Kein Problem, das gewünschte weichere Heck in Karmesinrot wird sofort ausgedruckt. Ihr Heck wird «wissen», zu welchem (zukünftigen) Auto es gehört, wird eine (sich natürlich selbst steuernde) Drohne rufen, von dieser zur Assemblierungsstelle ganz in Ihrer Nähe geflogen werden, wo einer der letzten 23 Arbeiter der Autoindustrie es an die Karre heftet. 

 

So wird man nicht nur Ihr Auto herstellen, sondern auch Ihre Möbel, Ihr Geschirr und Ihr Schnellfeuergewehr. Letzteres aber nur, wenn Sie sich mittels Iris-Scan oder Mobile ID als Schnellfeuergewehr-Bezugsberechtigter ausweisen können (oder wenn die Software spinnt). Einzig Milch wird man nicht mit den Methoden der Industrie 4.0 herstellen können. Aber seien wir ehrlich: So sehr unterscheidet sich eine Kuh, die jeden Tag zweimal zusammen mit Hunderten von Artgenossinnen freiwillig zum Melkroboter latscht, doch auch wieder nicht von einem 3-D-Drucker. 

«So sehr unterscheidet sich eine Kuh, die jeden Tag freiwillig zum Melkroboter latscht, doch auch wieder nicht von einem 3-D-Drucker.»

Nun werden Sie sagen, Industrie 4.0 sei unmöglich, ein Hirngespinst. Schon das selbstfahrende Auto werde nicht funktionieren und sei, wenn es denn funktionieren täte, viel zu gefährlich. So ein Auto könne unmöglich ohne die weise Voraussicht der Fahrerin und ihres Begleiters («Links, liiiinks hani gseit, ja jetz isch tschpaat. Uuiui, häsch diä mit em Rollator nöd gseh?») die Tücken des täglichen  Staus bewältigen. Sie täuschen sich. Die Leute, die eine Sonde nicht nur auf den hübschen Namen Rosetta taufen, sondern sie mit einer Rakete ins All schiessen, sie dann erst vom Mond und dann von Planeten mittels Vorbeischwungmanöver Schwung holen lassen und nach einer Reise von etwa 6,4 Milliarden Kilometer millimetergenau auf einem winzigen Staubhaufen landen lassen können, werden es wohl auch fertigbringen, ein paar Bagnoles elektronisch durch Schwamendingen zu steuern. Und wer Schwamendingen kann, kann auch New York.

0115_Fok_Kol_Aut
Christoph Hugenschmidt

hat vor zehn Jahren die Online-Zeitung inside-it.ch gegründet und ist dort Journalist und Verleger. Der 57-Jährige hat (noch) keinen Führerschein und findet selbstfahrende Autos mit karmesinrotem Heck eine sehr gute Idee. 

Weitere Fokusartikel

Titelthema

Schicht für Schicht total individuell

Mit 3D-Drucktechniken lassen sich Konstruktionen per Knopfdruck realisieren, die bisher nicht möglich waren.

Porträt

«Ich kann penetrant hartnäckig sein»

Wie Roland Brüniger mit Mut und Hartnäckigkeit selbstwärmende Sohlen erfunden hat und warum ihn lukrative Übernahmeangebote nicht interessieren.

Experten-Interview

«Viele Hersteller verlieren den Kontakt zum Kunden»

Maschinendaten sind der Schlüssel zu Produktivität und neuen Services, ist Bernhard Lenzin, Head of Industrial Industries von Swisscom, überzeugt.