“I can be persistently stubborn”

How Roland Brüniger invented his self-heating soles Chili-Feet with courage, persistence and idealism and why he is not interested in lucrative takeover offers from enterprises.

Claudia Bardola

As a Graubünden native who was washed down to the lowlands, you would expect me to be largely resistent to the cold. And yet, previously, I was plagued by icicle toes from autumn onwards. For many years, I wracked my brains for ways to solve this problem sustainably, without using electricity or chemicals. As an engineer, I simply didn’t want to believe that nowhere in the world had a material been invented that allowed energy to be converted to heat while walking.


Initial investigations showed that this should be possible with polyurethane as a source material. So I set three development teams to work on the development, two from industry and one from a university environment. After numerous experiments, the academic team forfeited. The professor responsible assured me that my plan was extremely ambitious and on the verge of feasibility. Did this put a damper on things? No way, it spurred me on! I’ve always agreed with Walt Disney: all our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them. In addition, I can be persistently stubborn, as my wife occasionally likes to rub in my face.


Finally, a team from Vorarlberg hit the bull’s eye. They delivered the basic material for Chili-Feet as we sell them today. But two weeks before the market launch disaster struck: the machine that a Swiss laminating company was using to stick the upper and lower material for the soles together was obviously not intended for large quantities. We had to improve 20,000 soles by hand. Sad but true: our search for an alternative failed to bear fruit anywhere in Switzerland. That’s why Chili-Feet are now laminated in South Germany.


Despite my invention I wouldn’t call myself an inventor. The Chili-Feet are simply a solution to a problem that had been bothering me for a while. As far as finances are concerned, I always say: we have financial accounting but no payroll accounting. I wisely don’t make a note of the time I invest in the project.


“Despite my invention I wouldn’t call myself an inventor”

This is only possible because I earn my crust through my engineering office for technical systems. In addition, Wafe Technology, which sells Chili-Feet, is a true family company. My wife takes care of accounting, my daughter is responsible for social media and logistics, and my son is in charge of IT. In addition, our house is just 300 metres away from the company. Combining work and family has always been high up on my agenda for life. For me, that’s true luxury.


The functional principle of the soles is actually quite simple: the material converts some of its deformation energy to heat in a process known as dissipation. The effect: a temperature increase of up to 10 degrees. But when it comes to the material, the soles are a complex, high-tech product. This is exactly the reason that I didn’t have them patented. For this, we would have to reveal the recipe and it would thus be possible to copy us. A patent dispute would be the end of us.


1/5 “Keep it simple” is Brüniger’s motto when working with his company. For this reason, he does not provide the heated insoles in different sizes – they must be cut to size by the future wearers themselves. This ensures efficiency in production as well as logistics.

2/5 Idealist Roland Brüniger works passionately on his project and politely declines takeover bids from corporate groups running into the billions.

3/5 A host of investigations, experts and material tests were necessary before the ideal source material for the Chili-Feet was found.

4/5 At Brüniger, the whole family is involved: Son Andreas takes care of IT, his wife Evelyn does the accounts. Daughter Patricia has just earned herself a language stay abroad through her work at the company.

5/5 With Chili-Feet, Brüniger has also solved a problem within the family: “My wife and I always used to have cold feet come the autumn. This is now a thing of the past.”

1/5 “Keep it simple” is Brüniger’s motto when working with his company. For this reason, he does not provide the heated insoles in different sizes – they must be cut to size by the future wearers themselves. This ensures efficiency in production as well as logistics.

I financed the entire project through private means. That guarantees me independence – one of my basic instincts. I rejected the offer of a takeover from a multi-million group without even getting into concrete negotiations. After all, my entire heart and soul went into the Chili-Feet and I want to watch this little seedling grow into a strong tree.


Although my work days are long and intensive – work-life balance is extremely important to me. I achieve balance among other things through cycling, swimming and playing tennis, spending time with my family and meditating. The latter is a legacy from my travels to India and Nepal during my youth. Today, it grounds me.

Roland Brüniger

Roland Brüniger is not just an inventor, but also the owner and managing director of R. Brüniger AG, an engineering office for technical systems. Due to a specific research mandate, he frequently comes into contact with various innovative technologies. Brüniger is married, has two children and lives and works in Ottenbach in the Zurich region.


Further Focus articles

Expert interview

“Many manufacturers are losing contact with the customer”

Machine data is the key to productivity and new services, Bernhard Lenzin, head of Industrial Industries at Swisscom, is convinced.

Column by Christoph Hugenschmidt

Things are doing it for themselves

Why industry 4.0? And what does a cow have to do with a 3D printer? And what does Schwamendingen have to do with the Rosetta comet sensor?

Title topic

Totally individual layer by layer

With 3D printing technology, designs can be realised at the press of a button that were previously impossible.

Porträt

«Ich kann penetrant hartnäckig sein»

Wie Roland Brüniger mit Mut, Hartnäckigkeit und Idealismus seine selbstwärmenden Sohlen Chili-Feet erfunden hat und warum ihn lukrative Übernahmeangebote von Konzernen nicht interessieren.

Claudia Bardola

Als ein ins Unterland geschwemmter Bündner müsste ich weitgehend kälteresistent sein, sollte man meinen. Und trotzdem plagten mich früher ab Herbst regelmässig meine Eiszapfenzehen. Jahrelang hirnte ich daran herum, wie diesem Problem nachhaltig, ohne Elektronik und Chemie beizukommen wäre. Als Ingenieur wollte es mir nicht in den Kopf, dass weltweit noch kein Material erfunden worden war, mit dem sich die Energie beim Gehen in Wärme umwandeln liess. 

 

Erste Abklärungen zeigten, dass dies mit Polyurethan als Ausgangsmaterial möglich sein sollte. Also setzte ich drei Entwicklungsteams, zwei davon aus der Industrie, eines aus dem Fachhochschulbereich auf die Entwicklung an. Nach unzähligen Versuchen gab das akademische Team Forfait. Der zuständige Professor bescheinigte mir, dass mein Vorhaben sehr ehrgeizig und am Rande der Realisierbarkeit sei. Ein Dämpfer? Von wegen, es hat mich angespornt! Ich habe es schon immer mit Walt Disney gehalten: Alle Träume können wahr werden, wenn wir den Mut haben, ihnen zu folgen. Zudem kann ich penetrant hartnäckig sein, wie mir meine Frau gelegentlich unter die Nase reibt. 

 

Den Volltreffer hat schliesslich ein Team aus Vorarlberg gelandet. Es lieferte das Grundmaterial der Chili-Feet, wie wir sie heute verkaufen. Zwei Wochen vor Markteinführung dann aber der Super-GAU: Die Maschine, mit der das Ober- und Untermaterial der Sohlen bei einem Schweizer Kaschierunternehmen aufgeklebt wurde, war offensichtlich nicht für grosse Mengen ausgelegt. Wir mussten 20’000 Sohlen von Hand nachbessern. Traurig, aber wahr: Auf der Suche nach einer alternativen Firma wurden wir in der ganzen Schweiz nicht fündig. Deshalb werden die Chili-Feet heute in Süddeutschland kaschiert. 

 

Trotz meiner Erfindung würde ich mich nicht als Tüftlerhirn bezeichnen. Die Chili-Feet sind vielmehr die Lösung für ein Problem, das mich schon lange umgetrieben hat. Was die Finanzen anbelangt, sage ich immer: Wir haben eine Finanzbuchhaltung, aber keine Lohnbuchhaltung. Die Zeit, die ich in das Projekt stecke, schreibe ich wohlweislich nicht auf.

«Trotz meiner Erfindung würde ich mich nicht als Tüftlerhirn bezeichnen.»

Möglich ist das nur, weil die Brötchen von meinem Ingenieurbüro für technische Anlagen kommen. Zudem ist die Wafe Technology, über die die Chili-Feet vertrieben werden, ein waschechter Familienbetrieb. Meine Frau erledigt die Buchhaltung, die Tochter ist für Social Media und die Logistik zuständig und mein Sohn für die IT. Dazu gehört auch, dass unser Zuhause nur 300 Meter von der Firma entfernt ist. Dass Arbeit und Familie zusammengehen, stand auf meiner Lebensagenda schon immer ganz weit oben. Für mich ist das wahrer Luxus.

 

Das Funktionsprinzip der Sohlen ist eigentlich simpel: Das Material wandelt durch sogenannte Dissipation einen Teil der Deformationsenergie in Wärme um. Der Effekt: eine Temperaturerhöhung von bis zu 10 Grad. Materialtechnisch sind die Sohlen aber ein komplexes Hightechprodukt. Genau aus diesem Grund habe ich sie auch nicht patentieren lassen. Dafür müssten wir nämlich die Rezeptur offenlegen und wären somit kopierbar. Und ein Patentrechtsstreit wäre unser Ende.

 

1/5 «Keep it simple» ist eine der Maximen, nach denen Brüniger mit seiner Firma agiert. Deshalb bietet er die Wärmesohlen auch nicht in verschiedenen Grössen an – sie müssen vom künftigen Träger selber zugeschnitten werden. Das sorgt für Effizienz in der Herstellung sowie in der Logistik.

2/5 Idealist Roland Brüniger arbeitet mit Leidenschaft an seinem Projekt und lehnt Übernahmeangebote von milliardenschweren Konzernen dankend ab.

3/5 Unzählige Abklärungen, Experten und Materialtests waren notwendig, bis das perfekte Ausgangsmaterial für die Chili-Feet gefunden war.

4/5 Bei Brüniger packt die ganze Familie mit an: Sohn Andreas kümmert sich um die IT, seine Frau Evelyn um die Buchhaltung. Tochter Patricia hat sich durch ihre Mitarbeit in der Firma gerade einen Sprachaufenthalt im Ausland verdient.

5/5 Mit den Chili-Feet hat Brüniger auch ein familien-internes Problem gelöst: «Früher hatten meine Frau und ich ab Herbst immer kalte Füsse. Das ist jetzt passé.»

1/5 «Keep it simple» ist eine der Maximen, nach denen Brüniger mit seiner Firma agiert. Deshalb bietet er die Wärmesohlen auch nicht in verschiedenen Grössen an – sie müssen vom künftigen Träger selber zugeschnitten werden. Das sorgt für Effizienz in der Herstellung sowie in der Logistik.

Finanziert habe ich das gesamte Projekt aus privaten Mitteln. Das garantiert mir Unabhängigkeit – einer meiner Urtriebe. Das Angebot eines Milliardenkonzerns, die Technology zu übernehmen, habe ich abgewiesen, ohne überhaupt in konkrete Verhandlungen zu gehen. Schliesslich steckt mein ganzes Herzblut in den Chili-Feet und ich möchte aus dem heute noch zarten Pflänzchen einen starken Baum heranwachsen sehen. 

 

Auch wenn meine Arbeitstage lang und intensiv sind – die Work-Life-Balance ist mir sehr wichtig. Ausgleich finde ich unter anderem bei Velofahren, Schwimmen und Tennisspielen, beim Zusammensein mit meiner Familie und auch beim Meditieren. Letzteres ist quasi ein Überbleibsel aus meiner Jugend mit Reisen nach Indien und Nepal. Heute erdet es mich. 

Roland Brüniger

Roland Brüniger ist nicht nur Erfinder, sondern auch Inhaber und Geschäftsführer der R. Brüniger AG, eines Ingenieurbüros für technische Anlagen. Dabei kommt er durch ein spezifisches Forschungsmandat immer wieder mit diversen, neuartigen Technologien in Berührung. Brüniger ist verheiratet, hat zwei Kinder und wohnt und arbeitet im zürcherischen Ottenbach.

www.chili-feet.ch

Weitere Fokusartikel

Experten-Interview

«Viele Hersteller verlieren den Kontakt zum Kunden»

Maschinendaten sind der Schlüssel zu Produktivität und neuen Services, ist Bernhard Lenzin, Head of Industrial Industries von Swisscom, überzeugt.

Kolumne von Christoph Hugenschmidt

Selbst ist das Ding

Wieso Industrie 4.0? Und was hat eine Kuh mit einem 3-D-Drucker zu tun? Und was Schwamendingen mit der Kometensonde Rosetta?

Titelthema

Schicht für Schicht total individuell

Mit 3D-Drucktechniken lassen sich Konstruktionen per Knopfdruck realisieren, die bisher nicht möglich waren.