The Blockchain breaks old chains

Bitcoin may remain just a passing phase. However, the Blockchain technology for the cryptocurrency has what it takes to become a revolution. The dubious whistle-blower platform Darkleaks shows what’s possible.

Beat Hochuli

The number of “peer-to-peer revolutionaries” is increasing daily and start-ups relating to the Blockchain concept are springing up like mushrooms. Above all in the finance industry, the decentral transaction technology is triggering feverish activity: for example, UBS is establishing a specialised research centre in London and in the south-east Asian financial metropolis Singapore, people are digging deep. The globally active technology incubator Startupbootcamp Fintech is aiming to ensure that the Lion City on the equator becomes the undoubted Asia-Pacific hub of the Blockchain revolution.


Trusted “Smart Contracts”

But why this euphoria surrounding the foundation on which the cryptocurrency Bitcoin is based? In principle, it is nothing more than a giant log or general ledger, in which all transactions made by all Bitcoin members are registered and summarised in blocks that are strung together – nothing particularly spectacular, one might think. “Completely wrong!” the enthusiasts protest – and they’re right. Blockchain is completely decentral and is not stored on any Internet server. Every Bitcoin user has access to the entire log on his or her client, and this is continuously updated to the latest status. As this means that every transaction can be seen and checked by all users, a purchase contract verifies itself, so to speak – securely and with integrated encryption. This creates trust between those involved and exactly this is the point that Blockchain fans are so fascinated by. This is because, apart from quick and easy exchange of information of every type, they are imagining a future with “Smart Contracts” – intelligent validly signed contracts that practically ensure themselves that they are adhered to through digital supplementary technology. This would mean that no trusted bank, trust company, lawyer or state agencies would be required any more.

“This will also make Blockchain-based e-voting possible, which will greatly exceed the current solutions when it comes to security.”
From whistle-blowing to e-voting

The recently launched whistle-blower platform Darkleaks provides an initial impression of the potential of this technology. Via this platform, those with access to secrets can sell information of all types anonymously – that’s right, sell: they are rewarded with Bitcoin amounts. This is, of course, controversial and is likely to draw all kinds of dubious characters. But it will be impossible to stop. The platform makes use of the fact that any information can be attached to even the smallest unit of Bitcoin and sent via the peer-to-peer network in encrypted form. This procedure is known as “colouring”. It can be used to process every possible digital transaction securely and in a trustworthy manner. This will also make, for example, Blockchain-based e-voting possible, which will greatly exceed the current solutions when it comes to security. The correctness of the vote can be subsequently checked in the chain and – as with the dubious Darkleaks – anonymity is still guaranteed.


Beat Hochuli

is a freelance ICT journalist and lives in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia.

Trendscout

Die Blockchain sprengt alte Ketten

Bitcoin mag eine Episode bleiben. Die Blockchain-Technologie der Kryptowährung aber hat das Zeug zur Revolution. Die zwielichtige Whistleblower-Plattform Darkleaks zeigt auf, was möglich wird.

Beat Hochuli

Die Zahl der «Peer-to-Peer-Revolutionäre» steigt täglich und Start-ups rund um das Blockchain-Konzept schiessen wie Pilze aus dem Boden. Vor allem in der Finanzindustrie löst die dezentrale Transaktionstechnologie fieberhafte Aktivitäten aus: So baut etwa UBS in London ein spezialisiertes Forschungszentrum auf und in der südostasiatischen Finanzmetropole Singapur richtet man mit der ganz grossen Kelle an. Der weltweit aktive Technologie-Inkubator Startupbootcamp Fintech soll dafür sorgen, dass die Löwenstadt am Äquator zum unumstrittenen asiatisch-pazifischen Hub der Blockchain-Revolution wird. 

 

Vertrauenswürdige «Smart Contracts»

Aber weshalb diese Euphorie um die technologische Grundlage, auf der die Kryptowährung Bitcoin aufsetzt? Sie ist im Prinzip nichts anderes als ein riesiges Log- oder Hauptbuch, in dem sämtliche Transaktionen aller Bitcoin-Anwender registriert und in aneinandergereihten Blöcken zusammengefasst sind – nichts eigentlich Spektakuläres, möchte man meinen. «Weit gefehlt!», protestieren die Euphoriker – und sie haben recht. Denn die Blockchain ist komplett dezentralisiert und findet sich auf keinem Internet-Server. Jeder Bitcoin-User verfügt auf seinem Client über das gesamte Logbuch, das sich laufend automatisch auf den aktuellen Stand bringt. Da auf diese Weise jede Transaktion durch alle Anwender einsehbar und überprüfbar ist, verifiziert sich ein Kaufvertrag sozusagen selber – sicher und mit integrierter Verschlüsselung. Das schafft Vertrauen zwischen den Beteiligten und genau dies ist der Punkt, der die Blockchain-Fans so fasziniert. Neben einem schnellen und effizienten Austausch von Informationen jeder Art schwebt ihnen nämlich eine Zukunft mit «Smart Contracts» vor – mit intelligenten unterschriftsgültigen Verträgen, die mittels digitaler Zusatztechnologien quasi selber dafür sorgen, dass sie eingehalten werden. Dafür wären dann keine vertrauenswürdige Bank, keine Treuhandfirma, kein Anwalt und auch keine staatlichen Stellen mehr notwendig. 

«So wird auch ein Blockchain-basiertes E-Voting möglich, das die bisherigen Lösungen punkto Sicherheit bei Weitem übertrifft.»
Vom Whistleblowing bis zum E-Voting

Einen ersten Eindruck vom Potenzial der Technologie vermittelt die kürzlich lancierte Whistleblower-Plattform Darkleaks. Über sie können Geheimnisträger Informationen aller Art anonym verkaufen – ja, verkaufen, denn sie werden mit Bitcoin-Beträgen belohnt. Das ist zwar umstritten und dürfte allerlei zwielichtige Gestalten anlocken. Es wird sich aber nicht stoppen lassen. Die Plattform macht sich zunutze, dass auch an die kleinste Einheit der Bitcoins beliebige Informationen angehängt und verschlüsselt über das Peer-to-Peer-Netz verschickt werden können. «Colouring» - Einfärben – nennt sich das Verfahren. Mit ihm lassen sich alle möglichen digitalen Transaktionen sicher und vertrauenswürdig abwickeln. So wird beispielsweise auch ein Blockchain-basiertes E-Voting möglich, das die bisherigen Lösungen punkto Sicherheit bei Weitem übertrifft. Die korrekte Stimmabgabe kann in der Chain nachträglich überprüft werden und trotzdem bleibt – ie beim zwielichtigen Darkleaks – die Anonymität gewahrt.

0214_Tre_Tre_Aut
Beat Hochuli

ist freischaffender ICT-Journalist und lebt in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia.