Digitalisation of the bank

Banks: One third have a digital strategy

In future, trust will remain at the core of the relationship between banks and customers. However, the interaction between them will change fundamentally and not all banks have made equal progress.

Urs Binder (Illustration: Lisa Schweizer)

Banks have reached the crossroads, and soon there will be the “bank without people”. This, at least, is what current headlines about digitalisation of the banking business would have you believe. Experts emphasise that digitalisation brings gains in efficiency, allows big data analyses to be used to gain new insights into customers and markets, and forms the basis for new ways of interacting with customers.


Revolution or continuing evolution

And it is set to continue: The blockchain is the “next revolution in banking”. This was what Annika Schröder put on the record at the fourth Swiss Digital Finance Conference in early February 2016. Schröder is responsible for innovations at the UBS, and maintains: “This technology has the potential to change the business model used by universal banks from the ground up.”


And this is true, because the blockchain is much more than a basis for disreputable cryptocurrencies like the Bitcoin. This could well end up producing a “bank without people” – if it weren’t for the customer. Because blockchain is just one of several topics related to digitalisation.


It is when dealing with the customer that digitalisation is having its most immediate impact. And the “millennials” demonstrate that the latest generation are not used to making calls or having to call into a branch. They want to communicate with the bank by chat and instant messaging, do their e-banking on their smartphones, and not have to hold a personal consultation every time they need advice. They would much rather use software to change their credit limit and to order bank products, or even open an account in the first place, than have to front up to the teller. The banks are therefore facing the challenge of giving customers access using as many channels as possible. With the major changeover from bank-specific in-house solutions to standardised core banking systems in the backend having been implemented, the front end is now the focus of upheavals.


Different levels of maturity

The banking barometer 2016 issued by EY reveals that only one third of the banks surveyed actually have a digitalisation strategy in place. Just 27 percent of them are expecting that digitalisation will result in fundamental changes to the financial industry, while two-thirds simply consider digitalisation to mean additional sales channels. The Digital Banking Expert Survey conducted across Europe by the consultancy company GFT comes to quite different conclusions. It shows that 58 percent of the Swiss financial institutes surveyed have a fully formulated digitalisation strategy – with this figure only being 34% across Europe. However, Switzerland is lagging behind when it comes to implementation: Just 6% have completed the implementation process, 76% are in the middle of the process, and 18% haven't even made a start.


Looking at the world of Swiss banking, the level of digitalisation in customer interaction presents highly varied pictures. A number of banks, including PostFinance, UBS and diverse cantonal banks, offer advanced online services such as personal finance management or e-banking by smartphone. Other use tablet PCs for consulting services, and offer a shared view of customer data and consultant information, or offer investment advice by means of robo advisors. UBS and Valiant offer integrated bookkeeping services with the account. Private banks continue to run their business traditionally, as previously the case.


The bank of the future

For Remo Schmidli, head of multichannel management at the Zürcher Kantonalbank, keeping a finger on the pulse is of utmost importance. “It’s best to observe the market attentively, and try out new technologies by using prototypes. This gives you a feeling within the company what it’s actually all about.” Once this level of maturity has been reached, then you are well equipped for the exponential growth that occurs when something is suddenly hyped. Schmidli goes on the explain what is important to remember while doing so: “All this only functions when the employees come along on the journey. If you neglect to involve them, then it’s difficult to really rollout a digital strategy.” The employees need to transform themselves from product vendors to customer coaches in a digitalised world of banking, and must be able to communicate with customers who are usually well informed as an equal.

Employees need to transform from product vendors to customer coaches in a digitalised world of banking.

Remo Schmidli, head of multichannel management, Zürcher Kantonalbank

There will still be banks around in 2030. “They will develop at the same pace as the technology, and cooperate with fintechs,” says Schmidli. And physical banks will also continue to exist. They will adapt to the changing customer requirements and will increasingly choose to focus on consultancy services. This means they will more or less cease to be transaction-oriented – with fewer and fewer customers going to branches to withdraw money. The trend is towards added value, offering the customer help by providing integrated advice, with a real flesh-and-blood person as a counterpart. There will be more cooperative ventures with fintech companies, and the range of services available will grow. Even products not usually associated with banks might be added to the portfolio.


UBS is heading the pack when it comes to digitalisation. It is a co-founder of the blockchain consortium R3, has set up an innovation laboratory of its very own at the London-based fintech incubator Level39, and operates the think-tank “Y”, which is concerned with visions for banking “after digitalisation” and develops visions through to the year 2040. Even then, as Markus Iofcea the head of Y says, trust will remain the hardest currency of all in banking. However: Everything has speeded up enormously, services need to be rendered immediately and without any problems, and customers are able to rate and assess everything they experience.


Further Focus articles

General Conditions for Swiss Fintech

The difficult road to a fintech hub

Switzerland has the opportunity to become an internationally recognised fintech hub. It's now high time to step on the gas!


10 million for fintech companies

Swisscom is founding a fintech cluster and providing funds of CHF 10 million in total to purchase of fintech companies. A competitor to banks?

Low Power Network

A network for the Internet of Things

A Low Power Network makes Smart Cities and the Internet of Things possible. The first pilot projects based on a new standard are off to a good start in Switzerland.

Digitalisierung der Bank

Vertrauen bleibt die härteste Währung für Banken

Auch in Zukunft bleibt das Vertrauen im Zentrum der Beziehung zwischen Bank und Kunde. Aber die Interaktion wird sich grundlegend wandeln – und nicht alle Banken sind auf dem Weg dahin gleich weit.

Urs Binder (Illustration: Lisa Schweizer)

Die Banken stünden am Scheideweg, bald gebe es die «Bank ohne Menschen». So oder ähnlich lauten aktuelle Schlagzeilen zur Digitalisierung des Bankgeschäfts. Digitalisierung bringe Effizienzgewinne, könne durch Big-Data-Analysen neue Erkenntnisse über Kunden und Märkte schaffen und sei die Basis für neue Formen der Kundeninteraktion, betonen Experten.

 

Revolution oder Weiterentwicklung

Und es geht noch weiter: Die Blockchain sei die «nächste Revolution im Banking». Dies hielt Annika Schröder an der vierten Swiss Digital Finance Conference Anfang Februar 2016 fest. Schröder ist bei der UBS für Innovationen verantwortlich und meint: «Diese Technologie hat das Potenzial, das Geschäftsmodell der Universalbanken grundlegend zu verändern.»

 

Das stimmt, denn die Blockchain ist weit mehr als eine Basis für anrüchige Kryptowährungen wie Bitcoin. Am Ende könnte durchaus eine «Bank ohne Menschen» stehen – wenn da nicht auch noch der Kunde wäre. Denn die Blockchain ist nur eines von mehreren Digitalisierungsthemen.

 

Am unmittelbarsten macht sich die Digitalisierung im Umgang mit den Kunden bemerkbar. Spätestens die «Millennials» sind sich kaum mehr gewohnt zu telefonieren oder gar irgendwo vorzusprechen. Sie wollen sich auch mit der Bank per Chat und Instant Messaging austauschen, E-Banking auf dem Smartphone erledigen und nicht für jeden Beratungsbedarf gleich ein persönliches Gespräch führen. Zum Anpassen der Kartenlimite und zum Bestellen von Bankprodukten bis hin zur Kontoeröffnung ist ihnen Software lieber als der Gang zum Schalter. Die Banken sind somit herausgefordert, den Kunden den Zugang über möglichst viele Wege zu gewähren. Nach der grossen Umstellung von bankspezifischen Eigenentwicklungen zu standardisierten Kernbankensystemen im Backend findet sich jetzt das Frontend im Zentrum der Umwälzung.

 

Reifegrad unterschiedlich

Gemäss dem Bankenbarometer 2016 von EY verfügt nur ein Drittel der befragten Banken über eine Digitalisierungsstrategie. Bloss 27 Prozent rechnen damit, dass Digitalisierung das Finanzgeschäft fundamental verändern wird; für zwei Drittel bedeutet Digitalisierung schlicht zusätzliche Vertriebskanäle. Das europaweite Digital Banking Expert Survey des Beratungsunternehmens GFT kommt zu anderen Resultaten. Demnach haben 58 Prozent der befragten Schweizer Finanzinstitute eine fertig ausformulierte Digitalisierungsstrategie – europaweit sind es nur 34%. Bei der Umsetzung hinkt die Schweiz jedoch hintennach: Erst 6% haben den Implementierungsprozess abgeschlossen, 76% stehen mittendrin und 18% haben nicht einmal angefangen.

 

Betrachtet man die Schweizer Bankenwelt, stellt sich der Digitalisierungsgrad bei der Kundeninteraktion sehr unterschiedlich dar. Einige Banken, darunter Postfinance, UBS und diverse Kantonalbanken bieten erweiterte Online-Dienste wie Personal Finance Management oder E-Banking per Smartphone an. Andere nutzen beim Beratungsgespräch das Tablet und bieten eine gemeinsame Sicht auf Kundendaten und Beraterinformationen oder offerieren Anlageberatung per Robo-Advisor. UBS und Valiant bieten mit dem Konto integrierte Buchhaltungsdienste an. Privatbanken betreiben ihr Geschäft nach wie vor am liebsten auf traditionelle Weise.

 

Die Bank der Zukunft

Für Remo Schmidli, Leiter Multichannel-Management bei der Zürcher Kantonalbank, ist es wichtig, am Ball zu bleiben. «Am besten beobachtet man den Markt aufmerksam und probiert neue Technologien anhand von Prototypen aus. So bekommt man unternehmensintern das Gefühl, worum es sich eigentlich handelt.» Habe man diesen Reifegrad erreicht, sei man bereits gut gerüstet für das exponentielle Wachstum, wenn etwas zum Hype werde. Wichtig dabei, so Schmidli weiter: «Das alles funktioniert nur, wenn auch die Mitarbeitenden mit auf die Reise kommen. Wenn man das vernachlässigt, wird es schwierig, eine Digitalstrategie auch wirklich auszuliefern.» Die Mitarbeiter müssen sich in einer digitalisierten Bankenwelt vom Produktverkäufer zum Kundencoach wandeln, der auf Augenhöhe mit den meistens schon gut informierten Kunden kommuniziert.

 

«Die Mitarbeiter müssen sich in einer digitalisierten Bankenwelt vom Produktverkäufer zum Kundencoach wandeln.»

Remo Schmidli, Leiter Multichannel-Management, Zürcher Kantonalbank

Auch 2030 wird es noch Banken geben. «Sie wachsen mit der Technologie mit und kooperieren mit Fintechs», meint Schmidli. Die physischen Standorte wird es weiterhin geben. Sie passen sich an die veränderten Kundenbedürfnisse an und sind vermehrt auf Beratungsdienstleistungen ausgerichtet. Sie werden also kaum noch transaktionsorientiert sein – immer weniger Kunden besuchen eine Filiale um Geld abzuheben. Es geht in Richtung Mehrwert, dem Kunden Hilfe bieten mit gesamtheitlicher Beratung und einem Menschen aus Fleisch und Blut als Gegenüber. Es wird noch mehr Kooperationen mit Fintech-Unternehmen geben, und das Dienstleistungsangebot wird sich erweitern. Dabei kommen selbst bankfremde Angebote infrage.

 

Ganz vorne bei der Digitalisierung dabei ist die UBS. Sie ist Mitgründerin des Blockchain-Konsortiums R3, hat im Londoner Fintech-Inkubator Level39 ein eigenes Innovationslabor eingerichtet und unterhält den Think-Tank «Y», der sich mit Visionen für das Banking «nach der Digitalisierung» befasst und Visionen bis ins Jahr 2040 entwickelt. Auch dann, so Y-Leiter Markus Iofcea, bleibt Vertrauen die härteste Währung im Banking. Aber: Die Geschwindigkeit ist enorm gestiegen, Dienste müssen sofort und fehlerlos erbracht werden und sind einer permanenten Bewertung durch den Kunden unterworfen.

 

Weitere Fokusartikel

Rahmenbedingungen

Der schwierige Weg zum Fintech-Hub

Die Schweiz hat Chancen, zum weltweit anerkannten Fintech-Hub zu werden. Es ist jedoch höchste Zeit, Gas zu geben.

Interview

10 Millionen für Fintech-Firmen

Swisscom gründet einen Fintech-Cluster und stellt 10 Millionen Franken für den Kauf von Fintech-Firmen bereit. Eine Konkurrenz zu Banken?

Low Power Network

Internet der Dinge: Die Schweiz beginnt zu Fühlen

Sollen Geräte, Maschinen und Gebäude in einem Internet der Dinge vernetzt werden, braucht es ein zuverlässiges, kostengünstiges und energiesparendes Funknetz.