The Fintech Scene in Switzerland

The young upstarts

Fintech isn’t limited to the showplaces in London, Berlin, Singapore and San Francisco. Almost 200 fintech companies, from start-ups to renowned vendors of banking software, are based in Switzerland.

Urs Binder

Zug doesn’t only appeal to lovers of cherry gateau and for commodity traders. The area around the canton’s administrative centre also exerts a special attraction on young new companies whose endeavours are focussed on the digital future of the financial sector. More than 20 fintech start-ups have meanwhile set up shop in the canton, which is renowned for being pro-business. This includes the world’s largest concentration of companies currently dedicating their efforts to advancing the development of blockchain technology, which is considered revolutionary. Having joined forces with established players such as Crypto, a world market leader in encryption, a veritable “Cryptovalley” has now been built up – and fittingly, Bitcoins were recently introduced as a payment option for government services in Zug.


The “Fintech Start-up Map” produced by the digital banking think-tank eForesight currently counts 185 fintech start-ups across all of Switzerland. Apart from Zug, the greatest concentration can be found in Zurich; however, Geneva can also hold its own. Events ranging from “Finance 2.0” to the “Swiss FinTech Award” and the “International Money-Tech” are bringing start-ups, investors and financial services providers together. A whole range of online media are also focussing on fintech, and the topic has also become an integral part of daily press reports. Fintech has definitely arrived in Switzerland.


Four highly promising approaches

It is, obviously, impossible to cover each and every interesting fintech company here. However, four examples should be able to illustrate the diversity: Monetas, Ethereum, Contovista and Descartes Finance exemplify the different areas of application and approaches for how digitalisation and software can turn the financial sector on its head.



Johann Gevers, who hails from South Africa, intends to make the financial system fairer: At the moment, it is extremely decentralised, with the majority of the world’s population unable to make use of it. For example, more than 80 percent of Africans do not have a bank account. These people are excluded from trading opportunities, at best only able to do business with their personal circle of acquaintances.


Monetas, which is based in Zug, will allow Johann Gevers and his team to change this state of affairs. The Monetas platform is based on cryptofinancial technology, and makes the transfer of money and other assets “unbelievably secure, fast and inexpensive,” according to the company’s mission statement. In contrast to digital currencies such as Bitcoin, which is based on a public blockchain with a relatively slow processing speed and high transaction costs, Monetas operates using a “digital notary public”, a contract platform that swiftly finalises transactions with no risk of manipulation using a deterministic procedure, and along with digital cash, can also handle contracts of all types. Monetas successfully completed a proof-of-concept with the Tunisian Post in autumn 2015, with pilot projects involving real money now to follow. Monetas is currently directing its primary focus on the African market, and intends to start operations there by working together with 12 national banks that can pay out digital money using the platform. This involves a wallet for the mobile phone, which allows the digital money to be held securely and allows direct transfers to other members to be made. Because even if most people in Africa don’t have a bank account: Many have a mobile phone to use.


Monetas is currently moving through its fourth round of investment, totalling more than CHF 15 million. Having already brought international angel investors on board, it now intends to attract more strategic investors from Switzerland, as Vitus Ammann, head of marketing, underlines. As the winner of the Swisscom StartUp Challenge 2015, the company has every chance of doing so.



Vitalik Buterin was born in Russia in 1994, and emigrated to Canada with his parents in 2000. He was already programming in C++ at the age of 10. When Bitcoin (BTC) became a hot topic in 2009, Buterin was fascinated by it, and started an intensive study of blockchain technology, developing it with a focus on a blockchain-based software platform that would not only allow cryptocurrencies to be realised, but also any number of distributed applications, known as “Dapps” (decentralised apps) in the form of so-called “Smart Contracts”. This is used as a basis for setting up decentralised, fully autonomous organisations (DAOs). Economist and author Hannes Grassegger speaks of a “company without people”. Buterin described this platform, which he named “Ethereum”, for the first time in 2013 in a white paper.


Ethereum started operating in July 2015. Its own cryptocurrency, “Ether” (ETH) has meanwhile reached a market capitalisation of almost US$ 860 million. Buterin decided to bank on crowdfunding for his initial financing: The very first Ether generated were sold for Bitcoins. This advance sale yielded the equivalent of more than $ 18 million.


The Ethereum Foundation, with headquarters in Baar, is working on continuing its development. Buterin and his core team have set up shop in a modern villa named “Holon 000” in Baar. The rest of the Ethereum developers are spread across the entire globe.


Ethereum is, to date, primarily focussed on developers. The vision maintained by the Ethereum Foundation is a second-generation blockchain, a “world computer”, the first “zero-infrastructure platform”. This might be described as rather ethereal, to use the jargon. However, the financial world has realised its disruptive potential, and regularly invites Buterin to presentations and, in a joint venture called R3 involving 45 financial services providers, including UBS, they are studying the technology in detail, along with the consequences of the blockchain, with a central focus being placed on the Ethereum technology.




Contovista initially intended to go into competition with banks, however the company directed by Gian Reto A Porta is now working in close cooperation with them. Contovista offers bank customers an innovative way of viewing their finances, be this by means of classic online banking using a browser, or on a smartphone. The co-founder of the company worked as a consultant to numerous banks before becoming an entrepreneur, having obtained extensive knowledge of core banking systems and banking business processes. The core team of the Schlieren-based fintech start-up now comprises 14 employees.


The Contovista solution uses its “intelligent account statement”, which automatically categorises payments and provides a semantic search function, along with diverse personal finance management functions. This makes obtaining an overview of finances and budgetary controls much more straightforward and convenient. According to Contovista, this boosts customer loyalty, and allows the bank to position itself as an innovative service provider. The modules used by the solution can be easily integrated into existing web frontends by importing a JavaScript file.


However, there’s a lot more to it: An analytics engine provides the banks with conclusive information for business analyses and marketing on the basis of the account data of their customers. Interfaces make the development of individual applications that operate using the Contovista data possible.


The company, which was founded in 2013, has been able to impress a variety of banks with its solution, including the ZKB and Finnova-based banks such as the Schwyzer Kantonalbank. The Aduno Group acquired a 14 percent share in Contovista AG in March 2016. Contovista is one of the few fintech start-ups already operating profitably. The course is clear for its CEO: “For international growth, we need to continue expanding our team. We can now expedite this thanks to the round of financing.”



Descartes Finance

For board member Rino Borini, the Zug-based Descartes Finance AG, founded in 2015, has developed a “digital investment platform (the buzzword here being Robo advisor) which is setting completely new standards in wealth management – the world has seen nothing like this before”. Company founder Adriano B. Lucatelli has proved that the founder of a start-up company doesn’t necessarily have to be 20 years old: The 50-year old used to work at Credit Suisse and the UBS, among others, and, as a financial market specialist, is a lecturer at the University of Zurich. Lucatelli would like to use his solution, which is based on scientific findings, to make it easier to invest intelligently, as he stated in the introduction to the presentation he held at Finovate 2016 in London.


The functions of this wealth management platform extend far beyond what robo advisors have been able to offer to date: Descartes allows the customer to choose between different asset management philosophies, “be it the classic mean-variance model according to Markovitz, or minimum-variance and so on...” In future, Descartes intends to offer the most diverse investment strategies possible, ones which have prevailed scientifically and in practice, and which can be modelled using an algorithm. The customer can have a portfolio managed automatically, or take a proactive role, and choose between the different strategies and products on offer. This will make Descartes the “iTunes of wealth management”, as Lucatelli maintains. “In just one minute, you can put together a truly global and sustainable portfolio that can be rebalanced at any time, be it automatically or manually.” Descartes is not a one size fits all solution with predefined portfolio models.


Those who wish to invest with Descartes must have at least CHF 50,000 at their disposal. The actual portfolio management is taken care of by its partners, UBS and Vontobel. The asset management companies Lakefield and OLZ are also on board, along with the ETF specialist iShares from BlackRock.


Benefits versus sex appeal

“Fintech should primarily focus on providing customer benefits and added value,” as investor Marc P. Bernegger states. The relevant business cases are often rather unspectacular, and don’t offer a lot of excitement. Specific solutions to problems are needed, and not “another app that looks like a lot of fun, but which no-one really needs”.

“Specific solutions to problems are needed, and not another fun app.”

Marc P. Bernegger, serial web entrepreneur and fintech investor

A recognisable benefit is clearly provided by three of the start-ups described here, and Ethereum is acknowledged as having an enormous potential for the future – not as a profitable company, but rather as a revolutionary technology. Highly promising fintech companies often work in the background. Examples include online services for bookkeeping such as RunMyAccounts, financial services providers such as Advanon or the digital insurance broker Knip, which has managed to turn the otherwise rather dull topic of insurance policies into a hot topic for consumers. Fintech companies that have long since moved on from the start-up phase demonstrate what really matters: Avalog and Leonteq are good examples of successful fintechs. Many other companies that seem interesting at the first glance will, in contrast, fail to survive, having never managed to reach a critical size. And even if this revolution radiates a high level of sex appeal: Previous experience has shown that those fintechs that do not try to compete with banks and insurance companies, but rather work together with financial services providers, have an advantage.



Further Focus articles

General Conditions for Swiss Fintech

The difficult road to a fintech hub

Switzerland has the opportunity to become an internationally recognised fintech hub. It's now high time to step on the gas!


10 million for fintech companies

Swisscom is founding a fintech cluster and providing funds of CHF 10 million in total to purchase of fintech companies. A competitor to banks?

Digitalisation of the bank

Banks: One third have a digital strategy

The level of digitisation of Swiss banks varies enormously. An overview of the status quo, and future prospects.

Fintechszene Schweiz

Die jungen Wilden

Fintech findet nicht nur in London, Berlin, Singapore und San Francisco statt. In der Schweiz finden sich gegen 200 Fintech-Unternehmen vom Startup bis zum renommierten Anbieter von Bankensoftware.

Urs Binder

Zug hat nicht nur für Liebhaber der Kirschtorte und für Rohstoffhändler seinen Reiz. Eine besondere Anziehungskraft übt die Gegend rund um den Kantonshauptort auch auf junge Unternehmen aus, die sich mit der digitalen Zukunft des Finanzwesens beschäftigen: Über 20 Fintech-Startups haben sich im unternehmensfreundlichen Kanton angesiedelt. Darunter findet sich die weltweit wohl grösste Ansammlung von Firmen, die sich die Weiterentwicklung der als revolutionär geltenden Blockchain-Technologie auf die Fahnen geschrieben haben. Zusammen mit etablierten Playern wie Crypto, einem Weltmarktführer für Verschlüsselung, hat ein eigentliches «Cryptovalley» etabliert – passend dazu können in Zug seit kurzem Behördendienstleistungen auf Wunsch mit Bitcoins bezahlt werden.

 

Gesamtschweizerisch zählt die «Fintech Startup Map» vom Digital-Banking-Think-Tank eForesight aktuell 185 Fintech-Startups auf. Neben Zug findet sich die grösste Konzentration in Zürich, und auch Genf ist gut vertreten. Veranstaltungen von «Finance 2.0» über den «Swiss FinTech Award» bis zur «International Money-Tech» bringen Startups, Investoren und Finanzdienstleister zusammen. Mit Fintech befasst sich eine ganze Reihe von Online-Medien, und auch aus der Tagespresse ist das Thema nicht mehr wegzudenken. Fintech ist definitiv in der Schweiz angekommen.

 

Vier vielversprechende Ansätze

Es ist selbstverständlich unmöglich, in diesem Rahmen sämtliche interessanten Fintech-Unternehmen zu berücksichtigen. Vier Beispiele sollen die Vielfalt verdeutlichen: Monetas, Ethereum, Contovista und Descartes Finance stehen stellvertretend für verschiedene Anwendungsbereiche und Ansätze, wie Digitalisierung und Software das Finanzwesen umkrempeln können.

 

 

Monetas

Der Südafrikaner Johann Gevers will das Finanzsystem gerechter machen: Es ist heute extrem zentralisiert, und ein Grossteil der Weltbevölkerung ist davon ausgeschlossen. So haben mehr als 80 Prozent der Afrikaner keinerlei Bankkonto. Diese Menschen sind vom Handel ausgeschlossen und können allenfalls mit ihrem persönlichen Bekanntenkreis Geschäfte machen.

 

Mit Monetas, beheimatet in Zug, wollen Johann Gevers und sein Team dies ändern. Die Monetas-Plattform basiert auf Kryptofinanztechniken und macht die Übertragung von Geld- und anderen Werten «unglaublich sicher, schnell und kostengünstig», wie das Mission-Statement der Firma besagt. Im Gegensatz zu digitalen Währungen wie Bitcoin, die auf einer öffentlichen Blockchain mit relativ langsamer Verarbeitungsgeschwindigkeit und hohen Transaktionskosten basieren, arbeitet Monetas mit einem «digitalen Notar», einer Vertragsplattform, die mit einem deterministischen Verfahren Transaktionen in kürzester Zeit unmanipulierbar abwickelt und neben digitalem Geld auch mit Verträgen aller Art umgehen kann. Im Herbst 2015 führte Monetas erfolgreich einen Proof-of-Concept mit der tunesischen Post durch, nun sollen Pilotprojekte mit echtem Geld folgen. Monetas zielt momentan vor allem den afrikanischen Markt an und will dort mit Finanzinstituten und Nationalbanken zusammenarbeiten, die mit Hilfe der Plattform digitales Geld herausgeben können. Dazu kommt ein Wallet für das Mobiltelefon, mit dem das Digitalgeld sicher verwahrt und Direktüberweisungen zu anderen Teilnehmern getätigt werden können. Denn auch wenn die wenigsten Afrikaner ein Bankkonto haben: Über ein Mobiltelefon verfügen viele.

 

Monetas befindet sich aktuell in der vierten Investitionsrunde über 15 Millionen Franken. Nach internationalen Angel-Investoren will man nun auch vermehrt strategische Investoren aus der Schweiz anziehen, wie der Marketingverantwortliche Vitus Ammann betont. Als Gewinner des Swisscom Startup Challenge 2015 hat das Unternehmen gute Chancen dazu.

 

 

Ethereum

Vitalik Buterin wurde 1994 in Russland geboren und wanderte mit seinen Eltern im Jahr 2000 nach Kanada aus. Bereits mit 10 Jahren programmierte er in C++. Als 2009 Bitcoin (BTC) zum Thema wurde, war Buterin fasziniert, begann sich intensiv mit der Blockchain-Technologie zu befassen und entwickelte diese weiter in Richtung einer Blockchain-basierten Softwareplattform, mit der nicht nur Kryptowährungen, sondern beliebige verteilte Anwendungen, genannt «Dapps» (decentralized apps) in Form so genannter «Smart Contracts» umgesetzt werden können. Auf dieser Basis lassen sich völlig autonom arbeitende dezentrale Organisationen (DAOs) aufbauen. Ökonom und Autor Hannes Grassegger spricht von «Firmen ohne Menschen». Diese Plattform, die er «Ethereum» nannte, beschrieb Buterin erstmals 2013 in einem White Paper.

 

Im Juli 2015 startete Ethereum den Betrieb. Die zugehörige Kryptowährung «Ether» (ETH) erreicht heute eine Marktkapitalisierung von gegen 860 Millionen US-Dollar. Für die Anfangsfinanzierung seiner Plattform setzte Buterin auf Crowdfunding: Die ersten generierten Ether wurden gegen Bitcoin verkauft. Dieser Vorverkauf erzielte umgerechnet über 18 Millionen Dollar.

 

Um die Weiterentwicklung kümmert sich die Ethereum Foundation mit Sitz in Baar. Dort, genauer gesagt in einer modernen Villa namens «Holon 000», hat sich auch Buterin mit einem Kernteam niedergelassen. Weitere Ethereum-Entwickler finden sich über den ganzen Planeten verteilt.

 

Ethereum richtet sich bis dato in erster Linie an Entwickler. Die Vision der Ethereum Foundation ist eine Blockchain der zweiten Generation, ein «Weltcomputer», die erste «Zero-Infrastructure Platform». Das klingt ziemlich ätherisch, um in der Terminologie zu bleiben. Aber die Finanzwelt hat das disruptive Potential erkannt, lädt Buterin regelmässig zu Präsentationen ein und befasst sich im Joint-Venture R3 unter Beteiligung von 45 Finanzdienstleistern, darunter die UBS, ausführlich mit der Technik und den Konsequenzen der Blockchain mit starken Augenmerk auf die Technologie von Ethereum.

 

 

Contovista

Zuerst wollte Contovista die Banken konkurrenzieren, jetzt arbeitet das von Gian Reto A Porta geleitete Unternehmen eng mit ihnen zusammen. Contovista bietet Bankkunden eine neuartige Sicht auf ihre Finanzen, sei es im klassischen Online-Banking im Browser oder auf dem Smartphone. Der Co-Firmengründer hat vor seinem Debüt als Unternehmer zahlreiche Banken beraten und umfangreiche Kenntnisse in Kernbankensystemen und Banking-Geschäftsprozessen erlangt. Das Kernteam des Schlieremer Fintech-Startups umfasst heute 17 Mitarbeitende.

 

Die Contovista-Lösung macht mit dem «intelligenten Kontoauszug», der Zahlungen automatisch kategorisiert und eine semantische Suchfunktion bietet, und mit diversen Personal-Finance-Management-Funktionen die Übersicht über die Finanzen und die Budgetkontrolle einfacher und angenehmer. Dadurch, so Contovista, erhöht sich die Kundenbindung, und die Bank kann sich als innovativer Dienstleister positionieren. Die Module der Lösung lassen sich durch Import einer JavaScript-Datei sehr einfach in bestehende Web-Frontends integrieren.

 

Dahinter steckt aber viel mehr: Eine Analytics-Engine liefert den Banken aufgrund der Kontodaten ihrer Kunden aufschlussreiche Informationen für Businessanalyse und Marketing. Schnittstellen ermöglichen die Entwicklung individueller Anwendungen, die mit den Contovista-Daten arbeiten.

 

Das 2013 gegründete Unternehmen konnte nicht nur verschiedene Banken von seiner Lösung überzeugen, darunter die ZKB sowie Finnova-basierte Banken wie die Schwyzer Kantonalbank. Im März 2016 hat sich die Aduno-Gruppe mit 14 Prozent an der Contovista AG beteiligt. Contovista zählt zudem zu den wenigen Fintech-Startups, die bereits profitable arbeiten. Der Kurs ist für den CEO klar: «Für das internationale Wachstum müssen wir unser Team weiter ausbauen. Dies können wir nun dank der Finanzierungsrunde beschleunigen.»

 

 

Descartes Finance

Für Verwaltungsrat Rino Borini entwickelt die 2015 gegründete Zuger Descartes Finance AG eine «Digitale Anlageplattform (das Buzzword dazu wäre Robo-Advisor), die im Wealth-Management komplett neue Massstäbe setzt – wir haben so etwas weltweit bisher noch nicht gesehen». Firmengründer Adriano B. Lucatelli beweist, dass ein Jungunternehmer nicht zwingend um die 20 Jahre alt sein muss: Der 50-Jährige war zuvor unter anderem bei der Credit Suisse und der UBS tätig und doziert als Finanzmarktspezialist an der Universität Zürich. Mit seiner Lösung möchte es Lucatelli auf Basis wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse einfach machen, intelligent zu investieren, wie er seine Präsentation an der Finovate 2016 in London einleitete.

 

Die Funktionen der Vermögensverwaltungsplattform gehen über das hinaus, was Robo-Advisor bisher geboten haben: Descartes lässt dem Kunden die Wahl zwischen verschiedenen Asset-Management-Philosophien, «sei es das klassische Mean-Variance-Modell nach Markovitz oder Minimum-Variance und so weiter…» In Zukunft will Descartes die unterschiedlichsten Anlagestrategien anbieten, die sich in Wissenschaft und Praxis bewiesen haben und sich mit einem Algorithmus abbilden lassen. Der Kunde kann sein Portfolio automatisch verwalten lassen oder selbst aktiv werden und aus den verschiedenen Strategien und Angeboten wählen. So werde Descartes zum «iTunes der Vermögensverwaltung», meint Lucatelli. «In nur einer Minute kann man ein wirklich globales und nachhaltiges Portfolio zusammenstellen, das sich jederzeit neu balancieren lässt, sei es automatisch oder manuell.» Descartes sei keine One-Size-Fits-All-Lösung mit vordefinierten Portfolio-Modellen.

 

Wer mit Descartes investieren will, muss mindestens 50'000 Franken zur Verfügung haben. Die eigentliche Depotführung besorgen die Partner UBS und Vontobel. Mit im Boot sind zudem die Vermögensverwalter Lakefield und OLZ sowie der ETF-Spezialist iShares von Blackrock.

 

Nutzen versus Sex-Appeal

«Primär sollte es bei Fintech darum gehen, Kundennutzen und Mehrwert zu liefern», stellt Investor Marc P. Bernegger fest. Die relevanten Business Cases seien häufig wenig spektakulär und eher unsexy. Konkrete Problemlösungen seien gefragt, und nicht «noch eine App, die superlustig aussieht, die aber niemand braucht».

«Konkrete Problemlösungen sind gefragt, nicht noch eine superlustige App.»

Marc P. Bernegger, Serial Web Entrepreneur und Fintech-Investor

Ein erkennbarer Nutzen ist bei drei der vorgestellten Startups klar gegeben, und Ethereum hat anerkanntermassen riesiges Zukunftspotential – nicht als profitable Firma, sondern als revolutionäre Technologie. Erfolgsversprechende Fintech-Unternehmen arbeiten oft im Hintergrund. Beispiele sind Online-Services für Buchhaltung wie RunMyAccounts, Finanzierungsdienstleister wie Advanon oder der digitale Versicherungsbroker Knip, der das den Konsumenten eher wenig begeisternde Thema Versicherungen plötzlich wieder interessant macht. Fintech-Unternehmen, die längst der Startup-Phase entwachsen sind, zeigen, worauf es ankommt: Avaloq und Leonteq sind gute Beispiele von Fintechs, die es geschafft haben. Viele andere auf den ersten Blick interessante Unternehmen werden dagegen wieder untergehen, weil sie nie die kritische Grösse erreichen. Und auch wenn die Revolution einen hohen Sex-Appeal ausstrahlt: Die bisherige Erfahrung zeigt, dass diejenigen Fintechs die Nase vorn haben, die nicht gegen Banken und Versicherungen antreten, sondern mit den Finanzdienstleistern zusammenarbeiten.

 

 

Weitere Fokusartikel

Rahmenbedingungen

Der schwierige Weg zum Fintech-Hub

Die Schweiz hat Chancen, zum weltweit anerkannten Fintech-Hub zu werden. Es ist jedoch höchste Zeit, Gas zu geben.

Interview

10 Millionen für Fintech-Firmen

Swisscom gründet einen Fintech-Cluster und stellt 10 Millionen Franken für den Kauf von Fintech-Firmen bereit. Eine Konkurrenz zu Banken?

Digitalisierung der Bank

Vertrauen bleibt die härteste Währung für Banken

Der Digitalisierungsgrad der Schweizer Banken ist höchst unterschiedlich. Ein Blick auf den Status Quo und die Zukunft.