Wolf’s test

Virtual reality, or the man with the diving mask

Wolf is testing virtual reality, and it looks completely different de-pending on whether you are the outside or the inside.

Text: Peter Wolf, Video/Photography: Crafft

Skip in seconds
seconds to go


Looking at it from the outside, the wearer looks like someone wearing non-see-through diving goggles on their head, who is ecstatically throwing their head in all possible directions and might even be making comments about something no-one else can see.

Dive into another world: At 96°, the Samsung Gear VR provides a wide field of vision.


Looking from the inside, however, you are simply immersed! Completely. Once you have the headset on and can view the computed worlds that move shudder-free with your head every time you move it, then you’ll soon find yourself believing that this is reality. Especially when the appropriate sounds are coming out of the headphones.


Smartphone provides the processing capacity

The headset made by Samsung, the Gear VR, isn’t much more than a cradle for a smartphone, which is equipped with lenses, a motion sensor and a few control keys. The screen and the full processing power is provided by the smartphone, which is clicked into the headset. It needs to do a lot of processing for shudder-free computing of both images for both eyes, and so it’s not surprising that it starts to run really hot.


Headset + smartphone: The Gear VR functions with the Samsung Galaxy S6 and S7.


When first putting on the headset, the user might be a little irritated by the rather gritty screen resolution, but that soon goes unnoticed once you are immersed in the new world.


The combination of smartphone and headset is a starter kit, so to speak, which allows you to gain your first experience in virtual reality, try out what's on offer and discover different opportunities for use. Look at panorama photos and films, control three-dimensional games with head movements, look around places you’ve never been to, discover a new way of telling stories that allows the audience to stand right at the centre of events!


For gamers: Optimise your gaming experience with the optional Bluetooth controller!


Explain complex situations more easily

Sooner or later, virtual reality components will be integrated into our familiar workflows and the sooner you start learning all about them, the easier it will be to adapt to it. It’s not just the sports and gaming industry that will be using this technology, but also the tourism industry, education sector, product developers or service providers. It makes complex situations easier to explain, instructions can be structured interactively and in three dimensions, and processes can be tried out in a virtual dry run before being put into practice.


Swisscom provides an example of use: Instead of a 14-page presentation, all information is integrated into an interactive 360° image.

Tip: Don't wait until you have the headset on to purchase the apps – the store could use some improvement when it comes to ease of operation. Furthermore, you’ll also be given more information about, and diagrams showing, the app if you access the store with your mobile phone in your hand.


Device information

  • The image extends from the left to right field of vision; this is comparable to standing two metres away from a screen with a 4.5 metre screen diagonal.
  • Integrated motion sensors, motion-dependent image computation within 20 milliseconds
  • Enjoy 360-degree, shudder-free content; adaptable environment
  • Prerequisites: Oculus VR App and Galaxy S6 or S6 Edge or higher, which is clicked into the Gear VR2


Swisscom extra tip

The audience at the One FM Star Night concert, held in Geneva in May 2016, were able to hoist themselves onto centre stage and decide for themselves which angle of vision they would enjoy. This allowed the audience to come closer to the artists than even before, and enjoy the concert from the exclusive perspectives that this technology makes possible.

Swisscom Event & Media Solutions Ltd, a subsidiary company of Swisscom with 60 employees, made all this possible. As a technical agency, it offers end-to-end solutions for the digitalisation of live communication.

Peter Wolf

has been involved with technology for as long as he can remember. For many years, he was a trend scout and social media expert at Ringier. He currenty works part time at e-foresight and thus came into contact with the Swisscom team in spring 2014. He also writes regular columns and app tests for various publications.

Wolf testet

Virtual Reality oder der Mann mit der Taucherbrille

Peter Wolf testet die virtuelle Realität und diese sieht vollkommen unterschiedlich aus, je nachdem, ob Sie draussen oder drinnen sind.

Text: Peter Wolf, Video/Fotografie: Crafft

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

 

Von aussen betrachtet wirkt man wie jemand mit einer undurchsichtigen Taucherbrille auf dem Kopf, der verzückt den Kopf in alle möglichen Richtungen dreht und womöglich noch kommentiert, was sonst niemand sieht.

 

Eintauchen: Die Samsung Gear VR bietet mit 96° ein weites Sichtfeld.

 

Von innen betrachtet jedoch ist man einfach: drin! Komplett. Haben Sie erst einmal die Brille auf und sehen Sie die errechneten Welten, die sich verzögerungsfrei mit ihren Kopfbewegungen mitbewegen, dann glauben sie sehr schnell, dass dies die Realität ist. Vor allem, wenn dann noch die passenden Töne aus dem Kopfhörer kommen.

 

Smartphone liefert Rechenpower

Die Brille von Samsung, die Gear VR, ist nicht viel mehr als eine Halterung fürs Smartphone mit Linsen, einem Bewegungssensor und ein paar Steuerungstasten. Den Bildschirm und die ganze Rechenleistung liefert das Smartphone, das in die Brille eingeklinkt wird. Es wird stark gefordert beim ruckelfreien Errechnen der beiden Bilder für die beiden Augen und so erstaunt es nicht, dass es dabei ziemlich heissläuft.

 

Brille + Smartphone: Die Gear VR funktioniert mit den Samsung Galaxy S6 und S7.

 

Nach dem Aufsetzen der Brille mag man irritiert sein über die etwas grobkörnige Bildschirmauflösung, aber dies legt sich schon bald, wenn man in die neue Welt eingetaucht ist.

 

Die Kombination aus Smartphone und Brille ist quasi ein Starterkit, mit dem Sie jetzt bereits Erfahrungen in der virtuellen Welt sammeln, Angebote ausprobieren und Anwendungsmöglichkeiten entdecken können. Schauen Sie sich Rundum-Fotos und -Filme an, steuern Sie dreidimensionale Games mit Kopfbewegungen, sehen Sie sich an unbekannten Orten um, Entdecken Sie die neue Art des Geschichtenerzählens, wenn der Zuschauer mitten im Geschehen stehen kann!

 

Für Gamer: Mit dem optionalen Bluetooth-Controller machen Spiele richtig viel Spass!

 

Komplexe Zustände leichter erklären Virtual-Reality-Komponenten werden früher oder später in unsere gewohnten Arbeitsabläufe integriert werden, und je eher man sich damit auseinandersetzt, desto leichter fällt die Umstellung. Nicht nur die Sport- und Spiele-Industrie, auch die Tourismusbranche, der Bildungsbereich, Produktentwickler oder Serviceunternehmen werden sich dieser Technologie bedienen. Komplexe Zustände lassen sich damit einfacher erklären, Anleitungen können interaktiv und dreidimensional gestaltet werden und Abläufe sind in einer Trockenübung zuerst einmal virtuell durchspielbar.

 

Praxisbeispiel Swisscom: Anstatt einer 14-seitigen Präsentation sind die Infos in ein interaktives 360°-Bild integriert.

Tipp: kaufen Sie die Apps nicht erst, wenn Sie die Brille schon auf dem Kopf haben – der Store ist punkto Bedienbarkeit noch verbesserungswürdig. Ausserdem bekommen Sie mehr Informationen und Abbildungen zur App, wenn Sie den Store mit dem Handy in der Hand aufrufen.

 

Geräte-Informationen

  • Bild reicht von der linken bis zur rechten Sichtperipherie; vergleichbar zu zwei Meter Abstand vor einem Bildschirm mit 4,5 Meter Diagonale
  • Integrierte Bewegungssensoren; bewegungsabhängige Bildberechnung innerhalb von weniger als 20 Millisekunden
  • 360 Grad-Inhalte ruckelfrei geniessen; anpassbare Umwelt
  • Voraussetzungen: Oculus VR App und Galaxy S6 oder S6 Edge oder höher, das in Gear VR2 eingelegt wird

 

Der Swisscom-Extratipp

An der One FM Star Night im Mai 2016 in Genf konnten sich die Konzertbesucher mittels einer Virtual Reality-Brille mitten auf die Bühne hieven und dabei den Blickwinkel komplett selbst bestimmen. Der Zuschauer kam damit seinem Künstler so nah wie nie zuvor und erlebt das Konzert aus exklusiven Perspektiven, die dank dieser Technologie möglich werden. Verantwortlich dafür war die Swisscom Event & Media Solutions AG, eine Tochterfirma der Swisscom mit 60 Mitarbeitenden. Als technische Agentur bietet sie End2End-Lösungen für die Digitalisierung der Live-Kommunikation.

Peter Wolf

Peter Wolf (50) beschäftigt sich, seit er denken kann, mit Technik. Während mehrerer Jahre war er Trendscout und Social-Media-Experte bei Ringier. Heute arbeitet er Teilzeit bei e-foresight und ist damit im Frühjahr 2014 zur Swisscom Belegschaft gestossen. Er schreibt ausserdem regelmässig Kolumnen und App-Tests für diverse Publikationen.