Give a T-shirt as a gift!

Does the crowd mean the end of capitalism or is it more a trick to increase exploitation? Or is the whole thing really a dream?

Christoph Hugenschmidt

“Finally! Capitalism is on its way out. This crowd thing will change everything. The banks have served their purpose, financial capital is being shared out among the working masses and knowledge and research is being crowdsourced and opened up. Sugar?,” asked Karl Marx and poured the tea. He didn’t really like Vladimir, but neither of them had many friends anymore, so Karl and Vladi occasionally met for tea under a cloud that was lit by a perpetual sunset.


“Yes please!,” Lenin replied and looked angrily at the pink cloud. “You’ll always be a dreamer. This crowd thing is just a trick to increase exploitation. And anyway: power grows out of the barrel of a gun.”


The incorrectly attributed quote awakened me from my pink cloudy dream. Should I make an appointment with my therapist?


On the other hand, maybe my subconscious was trying to draw my attention to an economic megatrend? Banks need to think about their future if people are starting to procure loans and risk capital on an Internet platform from just anybody. Taxi companies, hotel chains, tourist offices, market research companies, bicycle courier associations, development departments and cohorts of well-paid software testers and documenters: all of these are unnecessary because everything can be crowdsourced and “share-economy-ed”.

“This crowd thing is just a trick to increase exploitation.”

Your company needs to develop new products? Ask your customer crowd and you can save at least half of your expensive developers. You need to provide a large number of customers with support? Form a user community, give the user who solves the most customer problems a T-shirt, and your support costs will sink. You have developed a mobile payment solution and now need to test it? No problem: give every test user 100 francs and they will occupy themselves with your app in their free time for weeks. You want to produce a film, write a book, become the next Bill Gates or provide a hip new housing estate with vegan food by bike? Forget the months of working on a business plan, the degrading trips to the banks, where tie-wearing youngsters sweep your sure-fire venture from the table. Publish your project on the crowdfunding platform of your choice and make sure you select the right one. The vegan food bike is best placed with the hipsters on RonOrp, the app with global market potential is most at home on the crowd platform provided by a bank platform’s VC platform, the start-up for a small brewery in beautiful Passau on and the film, of course, with


The psychiatrist reassured me: “Dreaming about Karl Marx is not a symptom of illness. At least not always.” Relieved, I thought: “Karl, you are a dreamer.”

Christoph Hugenschmidt

founded the online newspaper eleven years ago and works for it as a journalist and publisher. The 57 year old is half glad that decent journalism cannot be crowdsourced.

Further Focus articles

Title topic: Collectively creative

The crowd goes professional

Crowdsourcing is developing from a marketing tool into a strategic innovation tool and – if used correctly – has a real leverage effect.


Hacks as a challenge, dance as a passion

At a hackathon, Marica Bertarini easily bashes out hundreds of lines of code on her keyboard for 40 hours – with style, heart and soul.


“Co-creation also means giving up control”

According to Frank Seifert and Thomas Robinson, Customer Experience specialists at Swisscom, companies need to open up to customers if they are to develop good products.

Kolumne

Verschenken Sie ein T-Shirt!

Bedeutet die Crowd das Ende des Kapitalismus oder ist sie vielmehr ein Trick zur Verschärfung der Ausbeutung? Oder ist das Ganze am Ende nur ein Traum?

Christoph Hugenschmidt

«Finally! Der Kapitalismus steht vor dem Aus. Diese Crowd-Sache verändert alles. Die Banken haben ausgedient, das Finanzkapital verteilt sich auf die arbeitenden Massen und Wissen sowie Forschung werden crowdgesourced und open. Zucker?», fragte Karl Marx und schenkte Tee ein. Er mochte Wladimir zwar nicht wirklich, aber so viele Freunde hatten beide nicht mehr, weshalb sich Karl und Vladi manchmal zum Tee auf einer vom ewigen Abendrot beschienenen Wolke trafen.

 

«Gerne!», sagte Lenin und blickte säuerlich auf die rosa Wölkchen. «Du bist und bleibst ein Fantast. Dieses Crowd-Zeugs ist doch nur ein Trick zur Verschärfung der Ausbeutung. Und überhaupt: Alle Macht kommt aus den Gewehrläufen.»

 

Das falsch zugeschriebene Zitat schreckte mich aus meinem rosawolkigen Traum. Ob ich einen Termin mit meinem Therapeuten abmachen sollte? 

 

Andererseits wollte mich mein Unterbewusstsein ja vielleicht auf einen ökonomischen Megatrend aufmerksam machen? Banken müssen sich über ihre Zukunft Gedanken machen, wenn die Leute beginnen, sich Kredite und Risikokapital auf einer Internetplattform von irgendwem zu beschaffen. Taxi-Unternehmen, Hotelketten, Offices de Tourisme, Marktforschungsunternehmen, Velokuriergenossenschaften, Entwicklungsabteilungen und Kohorten von gut bezahlten Software-Testern und ‑Dokumentierern: Alles unnötig, denn alles kann gecrowdsourced und ge-share-economy-ed werden. 

«Dieses Crowd-Zeugs ist doch nur ein Trick zur Verschärfung der Ausbeutung.»

Ihre Firma soll neue Produkte entwickeln? Fragen Sie Ihre Kunden-Crowd und sparen Sie sich mindestens die Hälfte der teuren Entwickler. Sie müssen eine grosse Menge von Kunden mit Support unterstützen? Bilden Sie eine User-Gemeinde, schenken Sie dem User, der die meisten Kundenprobleme gelöst hat, ein T-Shirt, und die Kosten für Support werden sinken. Sie haben eine Mobile-Payment-Lösung entwickelt und müssen sie nun testen? Kein Problem: Geben Sie jedem Test-User 100 Franken und er wird sich während Wochen in seiner Freizeit mit Ihrer App beschäftigen. Sie wollen einen Film produzieren, ein Buch schreiben, der nächste Bill Gates werden, eine hippe Neubausiedlung mit veganem Food per Bike versorgen? Vergessen Sie das monatelange Feilen am Businessplan und die demütigenden Gänge zu den Banken, wo krawattengeschmückte Jünglinge Ihr todsicheres Venture vom Tisch wischen. Schreiben Sie Ihr Projekt auf der Crowd-Funding-Plattform Ihrer Wahl aus und achten Sie darauf, die richtige zu wählen. Das Vegan-Food-Bike eher bei den Hippstern von RonOrp, die App mit Weltmarktpotenzial bei der Crowd-Plattform einer VC-Plattform einer Bankplattform, den Start-up für eine Kleinbrauerei im schönen Passau bei Krautstarter.de und den Film natürlich bei Wemakeit.com. 

 

Der Psychiater beruhigte mich: «Von Karl Marx zu träumen, ist kein Krankheitssymptom. Wenigstens nicht immer.» Erleichtert dachte ich: «Karl, you are a dreamer.»

0115_Fok_Kol_Aut
Christoph Hugenschmidt

hat vor elf Jahren die Online-Zeitung inside-it.ch gegründet und ist dort Journalist und Verleger. Der 57-Jährige ist halb froh, dass man brauchbaren Journalismus nicht crowdsourcen kann. 

Weitere Fokusartikel

Titelthema: Kreativ im Kollektiv

Die Crowd wechselt ins Profilager

Crowdsourcing entwickelt sich von einem Marketingtool zum strategischen Innovationswerkzeug und erzielt – richtig eingesetzt – eine enorme Hebelwirkung.

Porträt

Hacks als Herausforderung, Tanz als Leidenschaft

Marica Bertarini haut an einem Hackathon problemlos 40 Stunden lang Hunderte von Codezeilen in die Tastatur – mit Stil, Style und Herzblut.

Interview

«Co-Creation heisst auch Kontrolle abgeben»

Sich Kunden öffnen und Nähe herstellen: Das raten Frank Seifert und Thomas Robinson von Swisscom den Unternehmen.