Title topic: Collectively creative

The crowd goes professional

Crowdsourcing is developing from a marketing tool into a strategic innovation tool. While this does not make the company’s own development department obsolete, if used correctly it has an immense leverage effect.

Claudia Bardola

A resourceful mother from Castrop-Rauxel invents a toilet brush with a child safety lock, a retired physicist from New Mexico develops an environmentally friendly coating technology and a medical student from Osaka works on a more effective diabetes treatment for a Swiss pharmaceutical company – the research and development departments of companies have not only become global in nature over the past few years but, thanks to total networking, the “wisdom of crowds” can be tapped more and more easily. Through crowdsourcing, companies have access to an almost unlimited global pool of creative individuals who work with or in competition with one another and, in the process, frequently come up with better and, above all, more creative results than the internal development departments.


From a marketing tool to an innovation strategy

Until recently, crowdsourcing was primarily used as a cheap marketing tool: companies called on the crowd to take part in ideas competitions and product reviews or had them filter design proposals. The advantage of this is that companies no longer have to fly completely blind when developing their products and can simultaneously increase customer retention. ;


However, in the meantime, crowdsourcing has reached the next level: “A clear professionalisation can be seen,” says Oliver Gassmann, Professor for Innovation Management and Director of the Institute for Technology Management at the University of St. Gallen. The trend is moving towards more complex questions for which the crowd collaborates as a real problem solver and development partner. Not least in the face of ongoing competitive pressure, more and more companies are opening up their innovation process in this way instead of brooding over their ideas in a quiet room.


Where and who is my crowd?

But even with crowdsourcing 2.0, the principle applies: “If you place abstract problems online with no preparation or strategy, you will receive little or no input,” says Gassmann. This is encouraging the rise of a new industry – knowledge brokers. They lend a hand, for example with designing and formulating the task, collecting, selecting and evaluating the submitted solutions and finding the right group of people in the first place


because whether it’s with laypersons or a select group of experts, open or closed collaboration, selecting the right cloud has a decisive impact on the result.


1/8 Migros is considered to be a Swiss pioneer when it comes to crowdsourcing: the retailer’s customers have already developed more than fifty products via its Migipedia platform. This has already brought in over 40 million francs with retail successes such as mojito syrup and Blévita spelt biscuits with gruyere.

2/8 “Nivea Invisible for Black and White”, which was co-developed by customers, has seen the most successful market launch of a deodorant in the 130-year history of the Beiersdorf group. Users’ knowledge and the expertise of in-house developers are cleverly mixed during the ideas-generation phase, resulting in over four hundred ideas.

3/8 The crowd can also turn against something. The chocolate producer Ritter Sport demonstrated how to master “crowdslapping” with style. When crude suggestions for new chocolate variations appeared on the Internet, the company used its blog to provide a humorous commentary about the fakes, thus taking the wind out of the crowdslappers’ sails.

4/8 Toymaker Lego outsources part of its product development to the fans: users can submit ideas for new kits on the Lego Ideas platform. Anyone who can find a minimum of 10,000 supporters has a good chance of seeing their suggestion end up on shop shelves – as was the case for the “Mini-Big Bang Theory” set, which is based on an American sitcom.

5/8 Industry, too, is slowly getting a taste for crowdsourcing: Bühler, the Uzwil-based plant constructor, asked suppliers and employees worldwide for new ideas as part of an Innovation Challenge. The result is a compact maize mill called Isigayo, which aims to improve food security in rural Africa.

6/8 Don’t mess with the Crowd – the Town Council of Schwäbisch Gmünd went against this principle and snubbed one of the crowd’s decisions: thousands of people had voted online to name the new tunnel in the town after Bud Spencer. In spite of this, the town council called it the Einhorn Tunnel but they did name the open-air swimming pool after the hero of cowboy films and former elite swimmer.

7/8 Brilliant shape for an ice scoop, novel teaspoon strainer, space-saving multiple socket and the variable cake cover – coffee roaster and retailer Tchibo has its Tchibo Ideas online platform to cream off the best flashes of inspiration from its community and brings them to shop shelves.

8/8 Creativity of the crowd against genetic engineering: last year the environmental organisation Greenpeace appealed to designers and graphic artists from all over the world to design campaign motifs to dissuade the beef burger giant McDonald’s from using genetically modified food. A total of just under one thousand entries were received. “Flashing the finger” is one of the winning ideas.

1/8 Migros is considered to be a Swiss pioneer when it comes to crowdsourcing: the retailer’s customers have already developed more than fifty products via its Migipedia platform. This has already brought in over 40 million francs with retail successes such as mojito syrup and Blévita spelt biscuits with gruyere.

The range of crowdsourcing platforms is also large and diverse these days. “We have observed that these are increasingly specialised, for example in individual process steps, skills or industries,” notes Gassmann, and predicts: “In the future, these could evolve into central business ecosystems that cover all links in the value-creation chain: from ideas generation and creation to financing and marketing.”


The ideas platforms that have already been around for some time, such as Jovoto or the Swiss Atizo, are now being joined by research and development platforms like TecScout, Ninesigma or InnoCentive, which network companies with hundreds of thousands of scientists. Meanwhile, on Crowdspring and 99design, for example, marketeers and designers offer their creativity for sale, and even highly specialised industries are now working together with the crowd. For example, on Skipso you can find knowledgeable people and companies from the Cleantech field, and the Medical Valley Innovation platform connects more than 180 medical technology companies with a total of more than 16,000 employees, 18 universities and 22 research institutes.


Community-based crowdsourcing is also very popular. Those who have a reputed name and enough manpower establish their own platform with their own crowd. For example, Tchibo Ideas, Ideas4Unilever and My Starbucks Idea tap the valuable creative performance of their fan base. Here in Switzerland, Migros stands out in particular as a pioneer: on its Migipedia platform, consumers have already created more than 50 new products, bringing in around 40 million francs.


In general, a number of companies in Switzerland have already gained experience with crowdsourcing is Gassmann’s analysis: “But there is still significant potential that needs to be identified.” Here, it is remarkable that the gap between the crowdsourcing pioneers and those who avoid it is becoming ever wider: “Companies with a strong innovation culture and open employees, in particular, are opening themselves up to crowdsourcing. Less innovative companies, on the other hand, do not accept ideas from external sources and, metaphorically speaking, prefer to reinvent the wheel. In this way, crowdsourcing facilitates the principle of St. Matthew: Whoever has will be given more.”

«Companies with a strong innovation culture and open employees, in particular, are opening themselves up to crowdsourcing.»

Oliver Gassmann, Professor of Innovation Management at the University of St. Gallen

Employees form a crowd

A second trend: large enterprises above all are realising that the longer the chain, the more possibilities for using the collective intelligence of the company’s own employees. In this way, the boundaries between departments can be lifted, existing ideas made visible and developed further by as many people as possible.


This approach is also useful for Swisscom when it comes to its internal feedback tool Flux: with this tool, employees can easily and quickly load their prototypes onto the platform in visual form and ask colleagues for their opinions. It makes no difference whether this is a digital or physical product, an app, a campaign or a website. The person asking the question simply has to select who should give their opinion: their own team, experts such as designers, technicians or sales employees or the entire Flux community, which has more than 1,500 employees and a good 100 different job profiles. The tool automates the posing of the question and the delivery, and then provides a meaningful evaluation within 24 hours. “This is extremely efficient,” explains project manager Michael Baeriswyl, and adds: “Previously, companies developed a project for a number of years and then launched it onto the market once it was complete. This simply doesn’t work anymore today. The ever shorter product cycles require ideas to be tested increasingly early and quickly. However, the necessary access to customers or expertise is often unavailable and then expensive market researchers get involved.”


Flux is therefore based on speed, simplicity and perfect usability. The feedback process takes less than five minutes. “It should work the same way as in a physical shop: take a quick look at a product and form an opinion,” says Baeriswyl. This is well received among the employees: on average, every prototype receives feedback 100 times in 24 hours. In the meantime, Flux has become so popular within Swisscom that the tool will be available as a version for purchase and software as a service (SaaS) as of the end of the year.


Pitfalls with all varieties

A study by the German Chamber of Industry and Commerce also showed that crowdsourcing is worthwhile. According to this, development times can be reduced by up to 42% and costs cut by up to 20%. However, such successes do not occur by themselves and all varieties involve any number of pitfalls, as Gassmann knows from practical experience: “Often opportunities and risks are not given enough consideration when publishing a question. It is important to bear in mind that if Hilti, for example, advertises a project publically, its competitor Würth will follow it closely, and vice versa. Patent topics are also frequently carelessly overlooked. A public discussion can quickly have a negative impact on subsequent patentability.”


The selection of the most suitable incentive system is also crucial, as this varies depending on the crowd: for example, various projects have shown that rewarding a broad crowd with money can destroy the entire project as the participants feel as though they are being misused as cheap labour. Here, it is more effective to use gamification elements like rankings or to issue exclusive prototypes. On the other hand, professional idea generators are hardly prepared to work for free. On expert platforms, they are also increasingly rewarded with a share in the profits. In the future, such incentive systems will expand and professionalise the innovator communities even more.


Gassmann views raising awareness among the employees as a key internal success factor: “Often, crowdsourcing is still seen as a replacement for innovation rather than a knowledge accelerator that can move your own groups forward. However, if a company manages to implement the right approach, this generates immense leverage effects for the company’s own innovative strength.”


How much crowd?

Crowdsourcing is part of the open-innovation paradigm, in which companies open up their innovation processes to external groups and involve customers, suppliers, universities and experts in the value-creation process in an interactive manner. Crowdsourcing defines the outsourcing of work processes, creative processes and other processes to the masses – usually via the Internet.

The varieties include, for example, micro- or clickworking, in which easy mini-tasks that can be performed electronically, such as indexing or categorising images, are outsourced to the masses for an extremely small fee. In the case of crowdtesting, which is becoming increasingly popular, the community performs software tests, and with co-creation, companies work on product development together with their customers or employees from different departments. Crowdvoting, on the other hand, involves putting something to a vote – anything from product and design ideas to political questions. Crowd donation refers to the web-based collection of donations. Crowdfunding is a web-supported form of financing that is provided by the masses – usually in return for a reward such as property or rights. In contrast, with Crowdlending, the community gives dedicated loans to companies.

Further reading:

Large collection of news and videos in English on the topic of crowdsourcing Overview of numerous crowdsourcing platforms

Further Focus articles

Column by Christoph Hugenschmidt

Give a T-shirt as a gift!

Does the crowd mean the end of capitalism or is it more a trick to increase exploitation? Or is the whole thing really a dream?


“Co-creation also means giving up control”

According to Frank Seifert and Thomas Robinson, Customer Experience specialists at Swisscom, companies need to open up to customers if they are to develop good products.


Hacks as a challenge, dance as a passion

At a hackathon, Marica Bertarini easily bashes out hundreds of lines of code on her keyboard for 40 hours – with style, heart and soul.

Titelthema: Kreativ im Kollektiv

Die Crowd wechselt ins Profilager

Crowdsourcing entwickelt sich von einem Marketingtool zum strategischen Innovationswerkzeug. Dies macht die eigene Entwicklungsabteilung zwar nicht obsolet, erzielt richtig eingesetzt aber eine enorme Hebelwirkung.

Claudia Bardola

Die findige Familienfrau aus Castrop-Rauxel erfindet für einen Haushaltswarenhersteller eine WC-Bürste mit Kindersicherung, der pensionierte Physiker aus New Mexico entwickelt eine umweltfreundliche Beschichtungstechnik und der Medizinstudent aus Osaka tüftelt für einen Schweizer Pharmakonzern an einer effektiveren Diabetesbehandlung – die Forschungs- und Entwicklungsabteilungen der Unternehmen sind in den letzten Jahren nicht nur weltumspannend geworden. Dank der totalen Vernetzung lässt sich die sogenannte «Weisheit der vielen» immer einfacher anzapfen. Mittels Crowdsourcing haben Unternehmen Zugriff auf einen praktisch unbegrenzten globalen Pool an kreativen Köpfen, die mit- oder gegeneinander arbeiten und dabei häufig zu besseren und vor allem kreativeren Ergebnissen kommen als die internen Entwicklungsabteilungen. 

 

Vom Werbetool zur Innovationsstrategie

Bis vor Kurzem wurde Crowdsourcing vornehmlich als günstiges Marketingtool eingesetzt: Firmen riefen die Masse zu Ideenwettbewerben und Produktebewertungen auf oder liessen sie Designvorschläge filtern. Das hat den Vorteil, dass Firmen nicht mehr im totalen Blindflug ihre Produkte entwickeln müssen und gleichzeitig die Kundenbindung steigern können. 

 

Doch mittlerweile hat Crowdsourcing das nächste Level erreicht: «Es ist eine deutliche Professionalisierung auszumachen», weiss Oliver Gassmann, Professor für Innovationsmanagement und Leiter des Instituts für Technologiemanagement an der Universität St. Gallen. Der Trend geht hin zu komplexeren Fragestellungen, bei denen die Crowd als echter Problemlöser und Entwicklungspartner mitwirkt. Nicht zuletzt angesichts anhaltenden Wettbewerbsdrucks öffnen immer mehr Unternehmen auf diese Weise ihre Innovationsprozesse, statt im stillen Kämmerlein über ihren Ideen zu brüten. 

 

Wo und wer ist meine Crowd?

Doch auch bei Crowdsourcing 2.0 gilt: «Wer ohne Vorbereitung und Strategie seine abstrakten Probleme online stellt, wird keinen oder nur wenig Input erhalten», so Gassmann. Und das leistet dem Entstehen einer neuen Branche, den Knowledge-Brokern, Vorschub. Diese bieten etwa Hand bei der Ausgestaltung und Formulierung der Aufgabenstellung, beim Sammeln, Selektieren und Auswerten der eingereichten Lösungen und dabei, überhaupt erst den richtigen Schwarm zu finden.

 

Denn ob grosser Laien- oder ausgesuchter Expertenkreis, der offen oder geschlossen zusammenarbeitet – die Wahl der richtigen Crowd hat entscheidenden Einfluss auf das Ergebnis.

 

1/8 Migros gilt als Schweizer Pionierin in Sachen Crowdsourcing: Über ihre Plattform Migipedia hat sich die Detailhändlerin von ihren Kunden schon über 50 Produkte entwickeln lassen. Mit Kassenschlagern wie dem Mojito-Sirup oder dem Blévita-Dinkelgebäck mit Gruyère hat sie bereits über 40 Millionen Franken eingespielt.

2/8 Das von Kunden mitentwickelte «Nivea Invisible for Black and White» ist die erfolgreichste Markteinführung eines Deos in der über 130-jährigen Firmengeschichte des Beiersdorfer-Konzerns. Während der Ideengenerierungsphase wurden Anwenderwissen und die Expertise der hauseigenen Entwickler clever gemixt – das Resultat: über 400 Ideen.

3/8 Der Schwarm kann sich auch gegen einen wenden. Wie man souverän mit «Crowdslapping» umgeht, hat Schokoladenfabrikant Ritter Sport bewiesen: Als im Internet krude Vorschläge für neue Schoggi-Variationen auftauchten, kommentierte die Firma die Fakes humoristisch im Unternehmens-Blog und nahm den Crowdslappern so den Wind aus den Segeln.

4/8 Spielwarenhersteller Lego lagert einen Teil seiner Produkteentwicklung an die Fans aus: Auf der Plattform Lego Ideas können Nutzer Ideen für neue Bausätze einreichen. Wer dafür mindestens 10 000 Unterstützer findet, hat gute Chancen, dass sein Vorschlag in den Verkaufsregalen landet – wie etwa das Set «Mini-Big Bang Theory», das auf einer amerikanischen Sitcom basiert.

5/8 Auch die Industrie kommt langsam auf den Crowdsourcing-Geschmack: In einer Innovation Challenge fragte der Uzwiler Anlagenbauer Bühler Lieferanten und Mitarbeiter weltweit nach neuen Ideen. Das Resultat: eine kompakte Maisvermahlungslösung namens Isigayo, die die Lebensmittelsicherheit im ländlichen Afrika verbessern soll.

6/8 Don’t mess with the Crowd – entgegen diesem Grundsatz hat der Gemeinderat von Schwäbisch Gmünd eine Entscheidung der Crowd boykottiert: Tausende votierten online dafür, den neuen Stadttunnel nach Bud Spencer zu benamsen. Der Gemeinderat hat ihn dennoch auf Einhorn-Tunnel getauft, dafür aber immerhin das Freibad nach dem Haudrauf-Westernhelden und ehemaligen Leistungsschwimmer benannt.

7/8 Genialer Eiskugelformer, Originelles Teelöffelsieb, platzsparende Mehrfachsteckdose oder die variable Tortenhaube – Kaffeerösterin und Einzelhändlerin Tchibo schöpft auf ihrer Online-Plattform Tchibo Ideas die besten Geistesblitze ihrer Community ab und bringt sie in die Verkaufsregale.

8/8 Kreativ im Schwarm gegen Gentechnik: Die Umweltschutzorganisation Greenpeace rief im letzten Jahr Designer und Grafiker aus der ganzen Welt auf, Kampagnenmotive zu entwerfen, die den Burger-Giganten McDonald’s von Genfood abbringen. Insgesamt wurden knapp 1000 Beiträge eingereicht. Die erhobene „Stinkekralle“ ist eine der Gewinnerideen.

1/8 Migros gilt als Schweizer Pionierin in Sachen Crowdsourcing: Über ihre Plattform Migipedia hat sich die Detailhändlerin von ihren Kunden schon über 50 Produkte entwickeln lassen. Mit Kassenschlagern wie dem Mojito-Sirup oder dem Blévita-Dinkelgebäck mit Gruyère hat sie bereits über 40 Millionen Franken eingespielt.

Gross und differenziert ist mittlerweile auch das Angebot an Crowdsourcing-Plattformen. «Wir beobachten, dass sich diese zunehmend spezialisieren, etwa auf einzelne Prozessschritte, Kompetenzen oder Branchen», führt Gassmann aus und prognostiziert: «Künftig könnten daraus zentrale Business-Ökosysteme entstehen, die alle Glieder der Wertschöpfungskette abdecken: von der Ideengenerierung über die Erstellung bis hin zur Finanzierung und zur Vermarktung.»

 

Zu den bereits länger bestehenden Ideen-Plattformen à la Jovoto oder der Schweizer Atizo gesellen sich mittlerweile Forschungs- und Entwicklungsplattformen wie TecScout, Ninesigma oder InnoCentive, die Unternehmen mit Hunderttausenden Wissenschaftlern vernetzen. Auf Crowdspring, 99design  und Co. bieten derweil Marketeers und Designer ihre Kreativität feil und auch hoch spezialisierte Branchen spannen inzwischen mit der Crowd zusammen. So finden sich auf Skipso Wissensträger und Unternehmen aus dem Bereich Cleantech, und die Plattform Medical Valley Innovation verbindet über 180 Medizintechnikunternehmen mit insgesamt über 16’000 Mitarbeitern, 18 Hochschulen und 22 Forschungsinstituten.

 

Daneben steht auch communitybasiertes Crowdsourcing hoch im Kurs. Wer einen bekannten Namen hat und über genügend Manpower verfügt, baut sich selbst eine Plattform mitsamt eigener Crowd. So zapfen etwa Tchibo Ideas, Ideas4Unilever oder My Starbucks Idea die wertvolle Kreativleistung ihrer Fanbasis an. Hierzulande hat sich vor allem Migros als Pionierin hervorgetan: Auf ihrer Migipedia-Plattform haben Konsumenten mittlerweile über 50 neue Produkte geschaffen und damit rund 40 Millionen Franken eingespielt.

 

Grundsätzlich hätten in der Schweiz bereits einige Unternehmen Erfahrungen bezüglich Crowdsourcing gesammelt, analysiert Gassmann: «Aber es ist noch grosses Potenzial auszumachen.» Auffallend sei dabei die Tatsache, dass die Lücke zwischen Crowdsourcing-Vorreitern und -Verweigerern immer weiter auseinanderklaffe: «Vor allem Unternehmen mit einer starken Innovationskultur und offenen Mitarbeitern öffnen sich dem Crowdsourcing. Wenig innovative Firmen hingegen nehmen externe Ideen nicht an und erfinden das Rad im übertragenen Sinn lieber zum zweiten Mal neu. Damit begünstigt Crowdsourcing das Matthäus-Prinzip: Dem, der hat, wird gegeben.»

«Vor allem Unternehmen mit einer starken Innovationskultur und offenen Mitarbeitern öffnen sich dem Crowdsourcing.»

Oliver Gassmann, Professor für Innovationsmanagement an der Universität St. Gallen

Mitarbeiter formieren sich zum Schwarm

Ein zweiter Trend: Vor allem Grossunternehmen entdecken je länger,  je mehr die Möglichkeit, mit internem Crowdsourcing die kollektive Intelligenz der eigenen Mitarbeiter zu nutzen. Auf diese Weise lassen sich Abteilungsgrenzen aufheben, bestehende Ideen sichtbar machen und von möglichst vielen weiterentwickeln.

 

Diesen Ansatz nutzt auch Swisscom bei ihrem internen Feedbacktool Flux: Mitarbeiter können damit einfach und schnell ihre Prototypen als Visualisierung auf die Plattform laden und die Kollegen um ihre Meinung bitten. Ob es sich dabei um ein digitales oder physisches Produkt handelt, um eine App, eine Kampagne oder Website, spielt keine Rolle. Der Fragesteller muss lediglich auswählen, wer sein Meinung abgeben soll: das eigene Team oder Experten wie Designer, Techniker oder Sales-Mitarbeiter oder die gesamte Flux-Community mit über 1500 Mitgliedern und gut 100 verschiedenen Jobprofilen. Das Tool automatisiert die Fragestellung und den Versand und liefert innert 24 Stunden eine aussagekräftige Auswertung. «Das ist extrem effizient», erklärt Projektleiter Michael Baeriswyl und ergänzt: «Früher entwickelten Unternehmen jahrelang ein Produkt und warfen es fertig auf den Markt. Das funktioniert heute schlicht nicht mehr. Die immer kürzeren Produktzyklen verlangen, dass die Ideen immer früher und schneller getestet werden. Doch häufig fehlt dafür der nötige Zugang zu Kunden oder das Know-how und dann kommen teure Marktforscher ins Spiel.»

 

Flux setzt deshalb auf Tempo, Einfachheit und eine perfekte Usability. Der Feedbackprozess dauert keine fünf Minuten. «Es soll wie im physischen Laden funktionieren: Produkt kurz anschauen und sich eine Meinung bilden», so Baeriswyl.  Das kommt bei den Mitarbeitern gut an: Im Durchschnitt erhält jeder Prototyp innert 24 Stunden 100 Feedbacks. Inzwischen ist Flux innerhalb von Swisscom so erfolgreich, dass es das Tool ab Ende Jahr auch als Kaufversion und als Software-as-a-Service (SaaS) geben wird.

 

Fallstricke bei allen Spielarten

Dass sich Crowdsourcing lohnt, zeigt auch eine Untersuchung der deutschen Industrie- und Handelskammer. Demnach lassen sich die Entwicklungszeiten um bis zu 42% stauchen und die Kosten um bis zu 20 Prozent senken. Solche Erfolge stellen sich allerdings nicht von alleine ein, warten doch bei allen Spielarten jede Menge Stolperfallen, wie Gassmann aus der Praxis weiss: «Oftmals werden Chancen und Risiken bei der Veröffentlichung einer Fragestellung zu wenig abgewogen. Man muss bedenken, dass wenn beispielsweise Hilti ein Projekt öffentlich ausschreibt, dies von Konkurrent Würth ganz genau mitverfolgt wird und umgekehrt. Auch Patentthemen werden häufig leichtsinnig übersehen. Rasch wirkt sich eine öffentliche Diskussion auf eine spätere Patentierbarkeit negativ aus.»

 

Ebenfalls matchentscheidend ist die Auswahl des geeigneten Anreizsystems, das je nach Crowd variiert: So haben etwa verschiedene Projekte gezeigt, dass die monetäre Entlöhnung einer breiten Crowd das ganze Projekt verhageln kann, da sich die Teilnehmer dadurch als billige Arbeitskräfte missbraucht fühlen. Effektiver sind hier der Einsatz von Gamification-Elementen wie Ranglisten oder die Abgabe von exklusiven Prototypen. Auf der anderen Seite sind professionelle Ideengeber kaum zur Gratisarbeit bereit. Auf Expertenplattformen werden sie denn auch immer häufiger mit Erfolgsbeteiligungen belohnt. Derartige Anreizsysteme werden die Innovatoren-Communitys künftig noch stärker erweitern und professionalisieren.

 

Als wichtigen internen Erfolgsfaktor sieht Gassmann die Sensibilisierung der Mitarbeiter: «Crowdsourcing wird noch zu oft als Innovationsersatz gesehen, statt als Wissensbeschleuniger, der die eigenen Gruppen vorwärtsbringt. Gelingt einem Unternehmen aber der richtige Einsatz, so entstehen enorme Hebeleffekte für die eigene Innovationskraft.»

 

Crowd wie viel?

Crowdsourcing ist Teil des Open-Innovation-Paradigmas, bei dem Unternehmen ihre Innovationsprozesse nach aussen öffnen und Kunden, Lieferanten, Hochschulen und Fachexperten interaktiv in den Wertschöpfungsprozess einbinden. Crowdsourcing definiert die Auslagerung von Arbeits-, Kreativ- und anderen Prozessen an die Masse – in der Regel über das Internet.

Zu den Spielarten gehören etwa das Micro- oder Clickworking, bei dem gegen äusserst geringe Bezahlung einfache und elektronisch bearbeitbare Miniaufgaben wie Verschlagwortung oder Bilderkategorisierung an den Schwarm ausgelagert werden. Beim immer populärer werdenden Crowdtesting erledigt die Community Softwaretests und bei Co-Creation spannen Unternehmen mit ihren Kunden oder Mitarbeitern aus verschiedenen Abteilungen bei der Produkteentwicklung zusammen. Bei Crowdvoting wird hingegen etwas zur Abstimmung gestellt – von der Produkt- und Designideen bis hin zu politischen Fragen. Crowddonation bezeichnet das webbasierte Sammeln von Spendengeldern. Bei Crowdfunding handelt es sich um eine webgestützte Form der Finanzierung, die von der Masse – in der Regel gegen eine Gegenleistung wie Sachwerte oder Rechte – getragen wird. Dagegen vergibt der Schwarm beim Crowdlending dedizierte Kredite an Unternehmen.

Zum Weiterlesen:

Grosse englischsprachige Sammlung von News und Videos zum Thema Crowdsourcing Übersicht zahlreicher Crowdsourcing-Plattformen

Einsteigen ins Crowdsourcing

Der Leitfaden des deutschen Digitalverbands Bitkom gibt einen gut geordneten Überblick über das Thema:

«Crowdsourcing für Unternehmen»

Eine gute erste Anlaufstelle im deutschsprachigen Raum zum Thema Crowdsourcing:

crowdsourcingblog.de

Weitere Fokusartikel

Kolumne von Christoph Hugenschmidt

Verschenken Sie ein T-Shirt!

Bedeutet die Crowd das Ende des Kapitalismus oder ist sie vielmehr ein Trick zur Verschärfung der Ausbeutung? Oder ist das Ganze am Ende nur ein Traum?

Interview

«Co-Creation heisst auch Kontrolle abgeben»

Sich Kunden öffnen und Nähe herstellen: Das raten Frank Seifert und Thomas Robinson von Swisscom den Unternehmen.

Porträt

Hacks als Herausforderung, Tanz als Leidenschaft

Marica Bertarini haut an einem Hackathon problemlos 40 Stunden lang Hunderte von Codezeilen in die Tastatur – mit Stil, Style und Herzblut.