Skip in seconds
seconds to go

Wolf tests

From manager to film director in three minutes

How a smartphone instantly transforms into a complete control console: Peter Wolf tests the Huawei P8.

Peter Wolf

The first thing you notice about the Huawei P8 is the packaging. Unusually, the device sits on its edge in the packaging, presenting its thinnest side first – and at 6.4 mm, it really is impressively thin. After all, all smartphones now have impressive screens (1920×1080 pixels) ...


Camera plus

The 13-megapixel camera and the supplied functions promote creativity: For example, at night you can create “light paintings”. The time-lapse function compresses long films to short sequences. In director mode, the smartphone can be used as a control console and edit film material from up to three other Android smartphones live. With a bit of practice, this is more efficient than editing together the material from several different sources afterwards.



The Talkband B2 provides business benefits, not only counting your steps and reminding you to stand up and get moving after you have been sitting for a while. The watch can also be removed from the wristband in one movement and then becomes Bluetooth headphones.

Additional functions

The screenshot function is practical because it works intuitively and you do not have to remember a key combination. Simply tap the screen with your knuckle twice and voilà: the photo of the screen content is created. This allows you to make productive use of screenshots: timetables, route descriptions, appointment details and much more are available in the album without you having to open the various apps.

A small but nice design detail: the buttons for switching the device off and turning the volume up/down are on the same side of the device, so you are not constantly switching off the phone when you want to change the volume with one hand.


Swisscom’s special tip

Want to take better videos or photos with your smartphone? Or are you interested in the latest apps? Then you’re in the right place with the offers from Swisscom Academy. The courses allow you to get the most from your smartphone and tablet, get to know Swisscom products and services perfectly and make you more assured when working in the digital world.

More information on the Swisscom Academy offers

Peter Wolf

Peter Wolf (50) has been involved with technology for as long as he can remember. For many years, he was a trend scout and social media expert at Ringier. He currently works part-time at e-foresight and thus joined the Swisscom team in spring 2014. He also writes regular columns and app tests for various publications.

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

Wolf testet

Vom Manager zum Regisseur in 3 Minuten

Wie ein Smartphone kurzerhand zum kompletten Regiepult wird: Peter Wolf testet das Huawei P8.

Peter Wolf

Als Erstes fällt beim Huawei P8 die Verpackung auf. Völlig atypisch ruht das Gerät hochkant in seiner Verpackung und präsentiert sich erstmal von seiner dünnsten Seite – und die ist mit 6.4 mm beeindruckend schmal. Ein beeindruckendes Display (1920×1080 Pixel) hat heutzutage schliesslich jedes Smartphone …

 

0315_Ins_Wol_Bild1
Kamera plus

Die 13-Megapixel-Kamera und die mitgelieferten Funktionen fördern die Kreativität: So lassen sich beispielsweise des Nachts Lichtmalereien erstellen. Die Zeitrafferfunktion komprimiert lang dauernde Abläufe zu kurzen Sequenzen. Im Regisseurmodus lässt sich das Handy als Regiepult verwenden und kann das Bewegtbildmaterial von bis zu drei weiteren Android-Handys live schneiden. Mit ein bisschen Übung ist das effizienter als im Nachhinein das Material von mehreren Quellen zusammenzuschneiden. 

 

 
Wearable

Einen Businessnutzen bietet das Talkband B2, das nicht nur Schritte zählt oder einen nach langem Sitzen daran erinnert, wieder mal aufzustehen und sich zu bewegen. Die Uhr kann mit einem Griff vom Armband gelöst werden und ist dann ein Bluetooth-Kopfhörer. 

0315_Ins_Wol_Bild3
Zusatzfunktionen 

Die Screenshotfunktion ist deswegen so praktisch, weil sie intuitiv funktioniert und man sich keine Tastenkombinationen merken muss. Mit dem Knöchel zweimal aufs Display geklopft und voilà: Das Foto vom Bildschirminhalt ist erstellt! Auf diese Weise erst lassen sich Screenshots produktiv nutzen: Fahrpläne, Wegbeschreibungen, Termindetails und vieles mehr sind auf diese Art im Album abrufbar, ohne dass man die verschiedenen Apps öffnen muss. 

Ein kleines, aber feines Designdetail: Die Tasten für Ausschalten und Laut/Leise befinden sich auf derselben Seite des Gehäuses, sodass man nicht immer versehentlich das Handy ausschaltet, wenn man einhändig die Lautstärke verstellen will. 

 

Der Swisscom-Extra-Tipp

Möchten Sie professionelle Videos oder Fotos mit ihrem Smartphone machen? Im Foto-Workshop von Swisscom Academy finden Sie heraus, wie Sie Ihre Smartphone-Fotos dank besserer Bildgestaltung, Zubehör (z.B. Stativ oder Fisheye) und angesagten Foto-Apps optimieren. Und im Video-Workshop lernen Sie, wie Sie tolle Filme mit Ihrer Smartphone-Kamera erschaffen – inklusive Drehbuch und Schnitt.

Informationen und Anmeldung

Peter Wolf

Peter Wolf (50) beschäftigt sich, seit er denken kann, mit Technik. Während mehrerer Jahre war er Trendscout und Social-Media-Experte bei Ringier. Heute arbeitet er Teilzeit bei e-foresight und ist damit im Frühjahr 2014 zur Swisscom Belegschaft gestossen. Er schreibt ausserdem regelmässig Kolumnen und App-Tests für diverse Publikationen.