Ready, set, develop!

More fun for developers, low costs, flexible and scalable – Platform as a Service provides a whole host of benefits for companies. Swisscom tested its own PaaS solution for the first time at HackZurich.

Urs Binder

Skip in seconds
seconds to go


Enough pizza to fill a tennis court, 20,280 working hours, almost 30 million keyboard strokes: HackZurich is the largest event of its kind in Europe and was sold out in 2015. More than 500 mostly young and extremely enthusiastic developers got together in the Zurich Technopark at the beginning of October; more than 1,200 had applied.


In a 40-hour, non-stop tour de force, the participants transformed their ideas into program codes – and the entire lobby of the Technopark into a hectic beehive with laptops, network cables, backpacks and sleeping mats. The programming was performed in small teams of two to four people.

The participants had little chance to relax between Friday evening and Sunday morning. Only with the help of a lot of caffeine could the 123 submitted projects be transformed into functioning software within the short timeframe. No wonder most of the hackers were almost impatient waiting for the hacking marathon to begin – not least because attractive prizes were awarded for the best projects.


1/5 Before the 40-hour hacking marathon gets under way, the participants seem really fresh. Pascal Reichmuth is taking part in HackZurich because of his passion for development – and because it gives him the opportunity to focus and achieve something for which he has no time in his day-to-day work.

2/5 Architecture and design are central elements of every software project. For planning, the HackZurich participants used all conceivable methods, from hand-drawn diagrams or Kanban boards through to project management software tools.

3/5 Intensive thinking requires sustenance for the body and mind. Thanks to sponsors, the HackZurich teams were well provided for. Over 4,000 square metres of pizza, thousands of sandwiches and huge volumes of Red Bull and coffee were consumed.

4/5 Code, build, test, review… a cycle that was repeated thousands of times during the Hackathon. The organisers recorded 29.7 million keystrokes, 2.18 terabytes of Internet traffic and six kilometres of Ethernet cable.

5/5 Very special Internet of Things on the periphery of HackZurich: Software-controlled mixing of drinks. Needless to say, the spirits didn’t come out until after the project had been completed.

1/5 Before the 40-hour hacking marathon gets under way, the participants seem really fresh. Pascal Reichmuth is taking part in HackZurich because of his passion for development – and because it gives him the opportunity to focus and achieve something for which he has no time in his day-to-day work.
Ready, set, develop!

The user experience specialist Pascal Reichmuth took part in HackZurich for the first time with three colleagues. “We just really enjoy developing and can do something here beyond everyday working life that we otherwise never find time for,” he says, explaining what motivated them to take part. The four already knew each other; they all work at the same company. “We already have an idea, but we want to gain additional inspiration from the sponsors’ workshops. Then we will decide what we want to develop and with which platform.” Reichmuth also emphasises that the point of a hackathon is not to create a market-ready, polished solution. The aim is to build an initial prototype so that people can see what the team has achieved.


New development and operating models

Very little time from the first line of code until the finished solution – a similar situation to that at HackZurich can also be found in business. Companies have to respond with agility to market requirements and cannot wait months until the project is implemented. The IT department, in turn, can provide the required agility only if it is relieved of the burden of routine tasks. Instead of spending a lot of time setting up servers first, they should complete such tasks immediately, not worry about operational details, and be able to scale the performance to the currently required level at any time.


Application Platform as a Service solutions (PaaS) promise to solve precisely this problem. They are cloud-based solutions that provide a complete platform for developing and executing software applications, complete with an operating system, middleware and runtime environment. Initially, PaaS services were used almost exclusively as development and test environments and were a niche in the market for a long time.


A Swiss premiere

Back to HackZurich. A new PaaS solution premiered here: The Swisscom Application Cloud was available to a broad group of users for the first time following a long test phase. Marco Hochstrasser, Head of Application Cloud at Swisscom, was very satisfied: “The platform was available to all HackZurich participants free of charge. The solution was extremely well received – more than 300 developers registered for the app cloud and the topic was actively discussed on Twitter and other social media channels.”


The basis for the Swisscom Application Cloud is the open source platform Cloud Foundry, which is a decisive criterion for Marco Hochstrasser: “Cloud Foundry is experiencing great momentum on the market. And because it is an open standard, customers using Cloud Foundry-based PaaS services can choose and switch between providers more easily than with proprietary platforms.”



According to Hochstrasser, Switzerland is around two to three years behind the USA when it comes to PaaS. “However, we are now seeing that many developers have been waiting for precisely what we are now providing – the interest is there and the market is now ready.” However, so is the competition: The Swisscom Application Cloud is not the first and not the only PaaS solution that Swiss developers can use. As well as industry giants such as Google, Amazon and Microsoft, some smaller providers in Switzerland are also providing PaaS services.


The Swisscom solution nonetheless compares favourably with the competition. In contrast to the global players, Swisscom can guarantee customers that all applications and data are stored exclusively in highly secure Swiss data centers. The costs are invoiced in Swiss francs, so there are no currency rate fluctuations to plan for. And, compared to smaller providers, customers enjoy the benefits of a highly scalable, multiple redundancy infrastructure with high service availability.


For developers and companies

Before the public launch, Swisscom tested the Application Cloud thoroughly and is already using it itself, as Marco Hochstrasser emphasises: “We not only want to promote the digitisation of Swiss companies with this solution, but also use the platform ourselves internally. It is important to us to transfer our own applications to this operating model more and more.” A number of business customers have also had the opportunity to test the Application Cloud already and will use it in the future, including an industrial company and an insurance company that do not want to serve the Swiss market only. “It is therefore essential that our solution also works globally,” Hochstrasser concludes.


A tired team, an objective achieved

“We didn’t win, but we had fun and learned a lot,” says Pascal Reichmuth, summarising his team’s experiences at HackZurich after the closing ceremony. “Along the way, we realised time and again that something extra was needed. By the end, we had integrated around ten different services into our application.”

“Taking part in HackZurich was definitely worthwhile, for the atmosphere alone, if nothing else”

Pascal Reichmuth, User Experience Architect 

The team developed an intelligent housing search, which takes into account not only the size of the property, but also personal preferences as well as the ability to reach various destinations with a focus on public transport. “We built two Node.js apps and used a MongoDB. We chose Swisscom Cloud for operation, initially mainly because we wanted to try something new – we were already familiar with the IBM and Microsoft clouds.” The fact that Swisscom had a large number of specialist personnel on site turned out to be a stroke of luck for Reichmuth’s team: “We had no experience with the Swisscom Cloud and made errors in our thinking process at first. Together with the Swisscom experts, we were able to solve the problem quickly.”


Reichmuth’s conclusion is that taking part in HackZurich was definitely worthwhile: “For the atmosphere alone, if nothing else. I also found it amusing that all the clichés about developers were fulfilled. It started with pizza, we drank litres of Red Bull and slept for a total of four hours.”


On cloud PaaS: get new software quickly and flexibly

Application Platform as a Service (PaaS for short) is the tool of the moment. But what does this mean for the future of software development?

To the article  

Swisscom Developer Portal

The Swisscom Developer Portal is where you register for the Application Cloud and find valuable information about technology and prices.



All about HackZurich 2015, including the program, list of winners, press review, photos and videos.


Further Focus articles


From the product to the services business

dorma+kaba relies on the Swisscom Application Cloud to develop new, high-availability access solutions with greater agility and bring them to market more quickly.

Application Platform as a Service

On cloud PaaS: get new software quickly and flexibly

Application Platform as a Service (PaaS for short) is the tool of the moment. But what does this mean for the future of software development?


“This is a first for Swisscom”

The Swisscom Application Cloud is an ambitious project. It was set up by 29-year-old Marco Hochstrasser in Silicon Valley.

HackZurich

Achtung, fertig, entwickeln!

Mehr Spass für Entwickler, tiefe Kosten, flexibel und skalierbar – Platform-as-a-Service hat viele Vorteile für Firmen. Swisscom hat am HackZurich erstmals ein eigenes PaaS-Angebot getestet.

Urs Binder

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

 

Pizza in der Fläche eines Tenniscourts, 20’280 Arbeitsstunden, fast 30 Millionen Tastenanschläge: Der HackZurich ist die grösste Veranstaltung seiner Art in Europa und war 2015 voll ausgebucht. Über 500 meist junge und äusserst enthusiastische Entwickler kamen Anfang Oktober im Zürcher Technopark zusammen, mehr als 1200 hatten sich beworben.

 

Die Teilnehmer verwandelten in einer 40-stündigen Nonstop-Par-force-Tour ihre Ideen in Programmcodes – und die gesamte Lobby des Technoparks in einen hektischen Bienenstock mit Laptops, Netzwerkkabeln, Rucksäcken und Schlafmatten. Programmiert wurde in kleinen 2er- bis 4er-Teams.

Viel Erholung konnten sich die Teilnehmer von Freitagabend bis Sonntagmorgen nicht gönnen. Nur mit ordentlich Koffein liessen sich die 123 eingereichten Projekte in der knappen Zeit zu funktionsfähiger Software vorantreiben. Kein Wunder, dass die meisten Hacker fast schon ungeduldig auf den Startschuss zum Hacking-Marathon warteten. Nicht zuletzt auch deshalb, weil für die besten Projekte attraktive Preise vergeben wurden.

 

1/5 Vor dem Beginn des 40-stündigen Hacking-Marathons machen die Teilnehmer einen absolut frischen Eindruck. Aus Leidenschaft am Entwickeln nimmt Pascal Reichmuth am HackZurich teil – und weil er hier fokussiert etwas umsetzen kann, wofür im Arbeitsalltag keine Zeit bleibt.

2/5 Architektur und Design sind zentrale Elemente jedes Softwareprojekts. Für die Planung nutzten die Teilnehmer des HackZurich alle denkbaren Methoden, von handgezeichneten Diagrammen über Kanban-Boards bis zu Projektmanagement-Tools in Softwareform.

3/5 Intensives Denken erfordert adäquate Nahrung für Körper und Gehirn. Die HackZurich-Teams waren dank Sponsoren gut versorgt. Zum Einsatz kamen beispielsweise über 4000 Quadratmeter Pizza, Tausende von Sandwiches und Unmengen von Red Bull und Kaffee.

4/5 Code, Build, Test, Review, … Dieser Zyklus dürfte am Hackathon zigtausendmal abgelaufen sein. Die Organisatoren verzeichneten 29.7 Millionen Tastenanschläge, 2.18 Terabyte Internet-Traffic und sechs Kilometer Ethernet-Kabel.

5/5 Internet of Things am Rand des HackZurich auf ganz besondere Art: Drinks mixen per Softwaresteuerung. Die Alkoholika kamen selbstverständlich erst nach Projektabschluss ins Spiel.

1/5 Vor dem Beginn des 40-stündigen Hacking-Marathons machen die Teilnehmer einen absolut frischen Eindruck. Aus Leidenschaft am Entwickeln nimmt Pascal Reichmuth am HackZurich teil – und weil er hier fokussiert etwas umsetzen kann, wofür im Arbeitsalltag keine Zeit bleibt.
Achtung, fertig, entwickeln!

Der User-Experience-Spezialist Pascal Reichmuth nahm zusammen mit drei Kollegen zum ersten Mal am HackZurich teil. «Wir haben einfach Spass am Entwickeln und können hier ausserhalb des Arbeitsalltags etwas machen, wozu wir sonst keine Zeit finden», schildert er die Motivation für die Teilnahme. Die vier kannten sich bereits, sie arbeiten alle beim gleichen Unternehmen. «Eine Idee haben wir schon, wir wollen uns aber zusätzlich von den Workshops der Sponsoren inspirieren lassen. Dann entscheiden wir, was wir mit welchen Plattformen entwickeln wollen.» Reichmuth betont auch, dass es an einem Hackathon nicht darum geht, eine marktreif polierte Lösung zu erstellen. Das Ziel sei, einen ersten Prototyp zu bauen, damit man sieht, was das Team erreicht hat.

 

Neue Entwicklungs- und Betriebsmodelle

Sehr wenig Zeit von der ersten Codezeile bis zur fertigen Lösung – eine ähnliche Entwicklung wie am HackZurich zeigt sich auch in der Wirtschaft. Unternehmen müssen agil auf Marktanforderungen reagieren und können nicht Monate warten, bis das Projekt umgesetzt ist. Die IT-Abteilung ihrerseits kann die geforderte Agilität nur bieten, wenn sie von Routineaufgaben entlastet wird. Statt zuerst zeitaufwendig Server aufzusetzen, sollte sie solche Aufgaben erstens sofort erledigen, sich zweitens nicht um die Details des Betriebs kümmern und drittens die Leistung jederzeit auf das gerade benötigte Niveau skalieren können.

 

Application-Platform-as-a-Service-Angebote (kurz PaaS) versprechen, genau diese Probleme zu lösen. Es handelt sich dabei um cloudbasierte Dienste, die eine komplette Plattform für Entwicklung und Ausführung von Software-Anwendungen samt Betriebssystem, Middleware und Runtime-Umgebung bereitstellen. Anfangs kamen PaaS-Dienste praktisch ausschliesslich als Entwicklungs- und Testumgebung zum Einsatz und fristeten lange Zeit ein Nischendasein.

 

Schweizer Premiere

Zurück zum HackZurich. Hier hatte ein neues PaaS-Angebot seine Premiere: Die Swisscom Application Cloud stand nach einer längeren Testphase erstmals einem breiten Nutzerkreis zur Verfügung. Marco Hochstrasser, Head of Application Cloud bei Swisscom, war hoch- zufrieden: «Die Plattform stand allen HackZurich-Teilnehmern kostenlos zur Verfügung. Das Angebot kam sehr gut an, über 300 Entwickler haben sich für die App Cloud registriert, und das Thema wurde auf Twitter und anderen Social-Media-Kanälen rege diskutiert.»

 

Als Basis für die Swisscom Application Cloud dient die Open-Source-Plattform Cloud Foundry, für Marco Hochstrasser ein entscheidendes Kriterium: «Cloud Foundry erlebt im Markt einen grossen Schwung. Und da es sich um einen offenen Standard handelt, können Kunden von Cloud-Foundry-basierten PaaS-Diensten einfacher zwischen Anbietern wählen und wechseln als bei proprietären Plattformen.»

 

Präsentation der Gewinner: «Gewonnen haben wir zwar nicht, aber es hat Spass gemacht und wir haben viel gelernt», fasst Pascal Reichmuth zusammen.

 

Bezüglich aPaas hinkt die Schweiz laut Hochstrasser den USA zwar 2 bis 3 Jahre hinterher. «Aber wir sehen, dass viele Entwickler genau darauf gewartet haben, was wir nun anbieten – das Interesse ist da, der Markt ist jetzt bereit.» Der Wettbewerb allerdings auch: Die Swisscom Application Cloud ist nicht das erste und nicht das einzige aPaaS-Angebot, das Schweizer Entwickler nutzen können. Neben Branchengrössen wie Google, Amazon oder Microsoft offerieren einige kleinere Anbieter aus der Schweiz aPaaS-Dienste.

 

Das Swisscom Angebot steht jedoch gut da. Im Gegensatz zu den globalen Playern kann Swisscom den Kunden garantieren, dass alle Anwendungen und Daten ausschliesslich in hochsicheren Schweizer Rechenzentren untergebracht sind. Die Kosten werden in Schweizer Franken verrechnet, es ist nicht mit Währungsschwankungen zu rechnen. Und im Vergleich zu kleineren Anbietern geniessen die Kunden die Vorteile einer hochskalierbaren, mehrfach redundant angelegten Infrastruktur mit hoher Serviceverfügbarkeit.

 

Für Entwickler und Unternehmen

Vor der öffentlichen Lancierung hat Swisscom die Application Cloud ausgiebig getestet und nutzt sie bereits selbst, wie Marco Hochstrasser unterstreicht: «Wir wollen damit nicht nur die Digitalisierung der Schweizer Unternehmen fördern, sondern setzen die Plattform auch intern ein. Es ist uns wichtig, die eigenen Applikationen mehr und mehr in dieses Betriebsmodell zu führen.» Auch einige Geschäftskunden konnten die Application Cloud schon ausprobieren und werden sie künftig einsetzen, darunter ein Industrieunternehmen und eine Versicherung, die nicht nur den Schweizer Markt bedienen wollen. «Unser Angebot muss also zwingend auch global funktionieren», hält Hochstrasser fest.

 

Team müde, Ziel erreicht

«Gewonnen haben wir zwar nicht, aber es hat Spass gemacht und wir haben viel gelernt», fasst Pascal Reichmuth nach der Schlusszeremonie die Erfahrungen seines Teams am HackZurich zusammen. «Auf dem Weg haben wir immer wieder gemerkt, dass es noch etwas Zusätzliches braucht. Zum Schluss haben wir in unsere Anwendung rund 10 verschiedene Dienste integriert.»

«Es hat sich nur schon wegen des Spirits gelohnt, am HackZurich teilzunehmen»

Pascal Reichmuth, User Experience Architect 

Das Team hat eine intelligente Wohnungssuche entwickelt, die neben der Grösse des Objekts auch persönliche Vorlieben sowie die Erreichbarkeit verschiedener Ziele mit Fokus auf öffentliche Verkehrsmittel berücksichtigt. «Wir haben zwei Node.js-Apps gebaut und nutzen eine MongoDB. Für den Betrieb haben wir die Swisscom Cloud gewählt, zunächst vor allem, weil wir etwas Neues ausprobieren wollten – die Clouds von IBM und Microsoft kannten wir bereits.» Dass Swisscom viel Fachpersonal vor Ort hatte, erwies sich für Reichmuths Team als Glücksfall: «Wir hatten noch keine Erfahrungen mit der Swisscom Cloud und machten anfangs einen Überlegungsfehler. Im Tandem mit den Swisscom Leuten konnten wir das Problem schnell lösen.»

 

Es habe sich definitiv gelohnt, am HackZurich teilzunehmen, zieht Reichmuth sein Fazit, «nur schon wegen dem Spirit. Lustig fand ich auch, dass alle Klischees über Entwickler erfüllt wurden. Es hat mit Pizza angefangen, wir haben tonnenweise Red Bull vernichtet und insgesamt nur 4 Stunden geschlafen.»

 

Auf Wolke PAAS: So sieht Software-Entwicklung der Zukunft aus

Application-Platform-as-a-Service-Angebote (kurz PaaS) sind die Werkzeuge der Stunde. Doch was bedeutet das für die Zukunft der Software-Entwicklung?

Zum Artikel 

Swisscom Developer Portal

Über das Swisscom Developer Portal registriert man sich für die Application Cloud und erfährt alles Wissenswerte über Technik und Preise.

developer.swisscom.com

HackZurich

Alles über den HackZurich 2015 mit Programm, Siegerliste, Pressespiegel, Fotos und Videos.

www.hackzurich.com

Weitere Fokusartikel

dorma+kaba

Weg vom Produkt, hin zum Servicegeschäft

dorma+kaba setzt auf die Swisscom Application Cloud, um neue, hochverfügbare Zutrittslösungen agiler zu entwickeln und schneller an den Markt zu bringen.

Titelthema: Application Cloud

Auf Wolke PaaS: Flexibel und schnell zur neuen Software

Application-Platform-as-a-Service-Angebote (kurz PaaS) sind die Werkzeuge der Stunde. Doch was bedeutet das für die Zukunft der Software-Entwicklung?

Interview

«Das hat Swisscom überhaupt noch nie gemacht»

Die Swisscom Application Cloud ist ein ehrgeiziges Projekt. Aufgebaut wurde es vom 29-jährigen Marco Hochstrasser im Silicon Valley.